Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Amazing mtn views of Ober Ski Slopes and Mt LeConte, pool, hot tubs 55" TV wif

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 930 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Bear Cub Vista is a wonderful mountain retreat only 3 miles from Gatlinburg

NOTE: We are going to remodel this condo, April 1st it will become a 2 bedroom 1 bath with shower which will include the 2 twin beds in the loft and a bedroom downstairs with a queen bed. We are converting the current master bedroom for our own personal use. Our rate will also be reduced but the unit will still be as nice as ever and will then sleep 4.

Watch the skiers coming down the slopes from our balcony in the winter! Relax in our vacation condo! There's room for the whole family here, the kids will love the loft and there are two bedrooms downstairs with queen beds for parents and grand parents. This condo also has its own private internet service. We are so excited to be sharing our condo with others. We are doing all we can to make this a special place for our guests so that they will want to visit time and time again. Ask about our military and senior discounts. Also if you have a larger group and want condos close together ask me about reserving our 2 bedroom condo in a building nearby in the same complex.

Sit on your balcony first thing in the morning to enjoy a cup of coffee and the views of the clouds drifting through the mtns. Watch as wild life, (which may include bears) roam through the complex (typically late afternoon or early morning). In the winter enjoy looking down at the skiers on the slopes at Ober Gatlinburg.

Enjoy the heated pool (between Memorial Day and Labor Day)) and relax in a nice warm hot tub. Nestle into the comfy recliner to read a book or to surf the web (free private internet). As you unwind from a day of sightseeing or shopping enjoy one of many cable channels or a movie on the big screen TV. We have stocked several DVD Hallmark and other family movies for your entertainment and there is a Bluray/DVD player. The instant start electric fireplace will lend a nice atmosphere for your evening!

The condo is close to The Smoky Mountain National Park, and it is just a short drive down the mountain to the entrance where you can experience the beauty via an auto tour or by hiking one of the many trails to a waterfall, or to panoramic overlooks. Spend the day in Gatlinburg where you will find plenty shopping, dining, shows, museums, and a great Aquarium. Nearby Pigeon Forge hosts Dollywood Theme Park and a splash park, outlet shopping, live shows, museums, helicopter tours and amusement fun for kids of all ages!

High Chalet Condos are in the Chalet Village area near the top of Ski Mountain and they offer beautiful mountain views as you walk along the grounds. The condo is only about a mile from Ober Gatlinburg which offers year round family fun and it is a short 15 minute drive (about 3 miles) to downtown Gatlinburg. Be aware that bears often cross the road so drive carefully. The road is one of two main roads up the mountain but is winding and steep at times so be sure to be alert when going up and down. You get used to it I promise. Once in the complex you will find plenty parking (much of it level) near the entrance to the stairwell going up to our unit.

If you need a ground unit condo we also have a 2 bedroom condo in a building nearby, see vrbo 721628 If you check there, you will see that we have excellent reviews! Check in is at 4pm and check out is at 10 am. This gives our cleaning crew time to get things fresh and clean between guests. We aim to keep both our units nice and clean. Unlike some owners, we even send our linens out to a commercial sterilization company after every guest checks out. We go above and beyond to make our condos the best vacation home our guests have ever had!

More Details

Owner
Karen Hoblit
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 17, 2017

About Karen Hoblit

As a child growing up in middle Tennessee one of my favorite things to do was to go to the Smokies! I used to love wading the creeks, hiking up trails to waterfalls and watching candy makers stretch taffy in the candy shops in Gatlinburg. It was like being in a fantasy world. It took us away from all the chores at home and school.

As an adult I have traveled to many places both in and out of our country and I still rank the Smoky Mountains as one of those places where you love to come back to, over and over again. There is always something new to see and experience. It takes me back to a slower time where people were more into nature and just sitting on the front porch soaking up the view.

Karen Hoblit purchased this condo in 2014

Why Karen Hoblit chose Chalet Village

This is a small quiet complex high above the crowds of Gatlinburg. You can enjoy the mountain scenery and wildlife up here, yet be within a few minutes of downtown. The property grounds are well kept and many of the units are privately owned rather than vacation rentals so there is much less traffic coming and going into the complex.

What makes this condo unique

The beauty of the Smoky Mountains is always changing, some mornings the clouds drift below you while you sip coffee on the balcony yet other days you may see a bear or two wandering along the parking lots. It is a world away from the busy rat race of daily life and a quiet retreat for families and couples.

Amenities

Chalet Village Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 930 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , Hall Bathroom
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Master Bathroom
  • The main bathroom has a shower.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , The queen size bed has a 4' memory foam topper
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , trundle bed in loft makes 2 twins or a king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , The queen bed in this room has a 3' memory foam topper.
  • The bedrooms downstairs are each equipped with a flat screen TV with cable. Loft bedroom is equipped with a TV with Bluray DVD player for movies but no cable.
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Sauna ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountaineering
  • skiing
  • swimming
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
The High Chalet is located a short drive up the mountain near Ober Gatlinburg. It only takes about 15 minutes to get the 3.5 miles to the downtown strip in Gatlinburg and is close to the by pass. The road up to the complex is one of the first to be cleared in case of bad weather. You may even see a bear family on the grounds but if so, be sure to avoid them and do not feed them. Spring and summer are the best times for sightings.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(42 traveler reviews)

64% Complete
30% Complete
2% Complete
2% Complete
0% Complete
Amazing mtn views of Ober Ski Slopes and Mt LeConte, pool, hot tubs 55" TV wif
average rating of 4.571429 based on 42 reviews
5

Outstanding!

  • 5 of 5

I can’t really say enough good things about this condo. We’ve stayed at this property several times over a number of years and this is overall the nicest unit we’ve stayed in, and definitely the cleanest. Someone checked out the day we checked in and you’d never even know it. The unit is updated, which if a definite plus. If you’ve stayed in vacation rentals before this isn’t always the case. Additionally, the WiFi actually worked. I can’t tell you how many rentals I’ve stayed in which stated they had WiFi but it never worked. This one worked flawlessly. There’s also a local number for someone to contact if you ever have a maintenance issue with the unit. Most places don’t have that either. Lastly, I’ve seen a few people comment on the drive up. Yes it’s curvy and steep, but you get used to it pretty quick and the view is worth it. I don’t think I’ve ever stayed in a vacation rental twice, but as long as it’s abailable, we will return to this one.

  • Submitted: Oct 26, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for such a great review Steve! I actually live at the complex 6 or 7 months out of the year so I pour a lot of my time and attention into making our two rentals as comfortable and nice as possible. Each day is different, with clouds blowing through the parking lot some days and bears roaming through others. I look forward to beautiful sunrises and sunsets reflecting on Mt LeConte during all seasons. It is fun to watch the skiers on the slopes at Ober in winter and folks riding up on the chairlifts to the alpine slides in summer. Our other rental is vrbo number 721628 which is a 2 bedroom ground unit with great views of Mt LeConte as well. Come back again sometime! Many thanks, Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great!!!

  • 5 of 5

Great time loved it !!!

Prefect size for our family and very cozy and festive for holidays

  • Submitted: Nov 23, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your nice review Donald! I am happy that you liked our place. This is our family home when we go up normally and we love it. It is snowing up there now and no one is staying there to see the beautiful ski slopes and skiers today! I can just picture myself sitting by the fireplace with a cup of hot chocolate enjoying the view. You guys come back again! We appreciate your business. Karen :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Beautiful mountain views

  • 4 of 5

Condo was nice. Looked exactly as pictured. Getting to the condo was a beautiful drive up a steep narrow mountain road. I never imagined it would be so high atop the mountain. A little scary, driving back down in the snow. Over all it was a great stay. Karen was a pleasure to work with, she updated us on the bad weather that was heading our way. Our only disappointment was the hot tub, wasn't hot.

We definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 31, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We do our best to make our place special. Someone may have forgotten to close the hot tub lid properly after they used it which would cause the water to cool down some if the weather is cold. Of course that is true of any hot tub. They are set to 104 degrees which is the standard setting according to health department guidelines. There are two hot tubs and if one isn't at the 104 degrees for some reason then the other usually will be. Always check both hot tubs and/or check back a little later if you do happen to find one isn't as hot as you would desire. The water is changed a couple times a week and you may have checked them when new water was heating up. I wish you had mentioned this to me when you were here and I would have made sure there wasn't any problem with them. I have been here at the complex for 7 months and our property mgr is always making sure things are in top notch working order. The snow was beautiful! I snapped a lot of pretty pictures and saw some guests building snowmen. What a nice way to welcome winter! Thanks again for staying! Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

PERFECT!

  • 5 of 5

Our condo was perfect. Extremely comfortable and was truly home away from home. Would love to make it an annual trip.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Pebbles, I am delighted that you enjoyed our home! We hope that you will come back again and again. We love our guests, especially our regulars. You treated our home as your home and we appreciate the care you showed. Our whole resort is being updated right now so that it will soon be more beautiful than ever and we are excited to be sharing it with others. Many thanks, Karen
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
alexander city, al
4

Condo was perfect for us!

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed the condo very much!! The beds were so comfortable and the living room was nice and comfortable too!! It was clean and the views were amazing!! The sunrise over the mountain every morning will get you ready for the day!! One thing I will say is the upstairs sleeping arrangements has changed. It now has 2 twin beds that I really liked! The only reason I did not give it 5 stars is that the kitchen was a little dated, not to say it did not meet our needs, it did. We would stay here again any day!!!

  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you liked our home! I stay in our unit next door and love the views when I am up at the resort for the summer. I decided to change the beds upstairs to twins because folks didn't like having to pull out the trundle and my grand children are growing up to the point they will be staying up there soon. I also like it better and will post some updated pictures soon. We have thought about installing granite counter tops in the kitchen but don't have it in the budget yet. Maybe next year! We hope that you will be coming back soon and that you will tell your friends about our home. Many thanks, Karen :)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Had a great time...

  • 4 of 5

Booked this one for my two daughter's birthdays. Everything went as planned and we enjoyed our stay. Nice pool, hot tub, and view from our balcony. I would recommend staying here if you are looking for peace and quiet. Very peaceful.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your nice recommendation, we sure do appreciate our guests and try to do all we can to make our condos comfortable.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

This condo is located up near Ober Gatlinburg, only 3.7 miles from the main street in Gatlinburg and the entrance to The Great Smoky Mountains National Park. The Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge area is teaming with things to do including live shows, water parks, skiing, tubing, hiking, go carts, arcades, shopping, mountain arts and crafts, festivals etc... No matter the season, there is always something fun to do!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $60 + Tax
Tax Rate 12.75%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.