Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Sunny Historical West End 2BR

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 30 nights

Overview

About the property

Charming large first floor 2BR, 1bath is close to everything in Portland!

Our charming and bright apt in Portland's historic West End is walking distance to everything: fantastic restaurants, museums, music, the West Prom, Old Port, and more. Clean, renovated, cozy. Fireplace, wireless, cable, laundry.

DESCRIPTION

Our historical house (in the West End historical district) was built in 1899 and is an 'American Foursquare.' It still retains its original features (high ceilings, hardwood floors, original windows, layout, etc) but it's been updated sensitively to make it very cozy and pleasant.

The apt is about 900 sq ft with two lovely bay windows in the front facing our very quiet street. We have a fully stocked eat-in kitchen with a table that accommodates 6; a living room with cable TV; and a bedroom with a queen bed. We also have a larger second bedroom with two twin beds. We can also provide a portable crib for a little one with advance notice.

The entire place is very sunny and uncluttered with simple furnishings and artwork. We love it and stay there ourselves as often as we can. It can accommodate 4 people very comfortably.

The full-sized kitchen is well-stocked with everything you need to cook with -- spices, pots and pans, microwave, coffeemaker, etc. The stove is gas. There is wireless internet throughout the apt.

ACCESS

There is ample off-street free parking on our street and in the neighborhood. If you prefer, there are two reasonably priced parking garages about 9 blocks from the house.

We have a washer and drier in the basement that you are welcome to use. There is also a full-service laundromat just a block from the house.

INTERACTION WITH GUESTS

Since this is our Portland pied-a-terre, you are unlikely to see us during your visit. But we're just a text or email or phone call away and would still love to give you advice about where to go for great food (Portland is amazing!), hikes, music, etc. We also have an in-town Portland contact for any issues that arise that need immediate local attention (like locking yourself out of the house :-)

OUR NEIGHBORHOOD

Our neighborhood is the most sought after neighborhood in Portland -- the West End. We are 1.5 blocks from Aurora's (an amazing upscale deli/sandwich shop) and there are numerous excellent restaurants and coffee shops within 1-4 blocks. A drug store and a natural grocery store are just 2 blocks from the house. The Portland Art Museum, the Arts District, and plenty of shopping along the main street (Congress) is only a few blocks away as is the Western Promenade --- a beautiful walk along the bluffs overlooking the working bay. There is a public pool 1 block from the house. The more tourist-oriented (but fun!) Old Port is also an easy walk. There's really no need for a car unless it's raining. Portland is a very walkable town.

Our street is particularly quiet as it doesn't connect anything to anything. The area is very safe --- mostly families and young people.

GETTING AROUND

There are two city bus stops near the house. One is just on the corner nearby and the other a block away. You could easily do without a car altogether.

We are about 10 minutes from the Portland Jetport ($13 cab ride) and even closer to the bus and train station (easy access to Boston). We are also only a short walk to the major hospital (Maine Medical Center).

HOUSE RULES

We don't allow pets or smoking. And we ask guests to leave their shoes at the door. So please bring slippers! (Although we have some you can borrow during your visit, if you forget :-)

Since there are 2 apts in the house and nice neighbors nearby, we ask that you be considerate about noise levels. Quiet hours: 10PM - 7AM out of consideration, please!

Currently, the fireplace is out of commission, but we expect to resolve that by the summer: But we can't promise that at this time! When it is working again: We ask that you use only Duraflame logs (we will provide 1 log for short visits and 2 for longer ones). Why not 'real' wood? Duraflame logs are cleaner, safer (don't spark), eco-friendly, leave little ash, don't smoke, don't over-flame, and are easy to light. So our house stays cleaner and safer. Duraflame logs ARE a wood product, so this is not just a 'fake' fire. We live in the backwoods of Maine with 2 wood-burning stoves and know how much dirt, smoke, and ash can be produced, especially with inexperienced wood burners :-) Even we use the Duraflames when in Portland.

More Details

Owner
Sarah Sloane-Barton
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
November 7, 2017

About Sarah Sloane-Barton

We are two college professors and recent empty nesters. Drew is a Forest Ecologist and Sarah is an Animal Behaviorist. We bought this adorable historic house because we wanted an income property/pied-a-terre. Our college is in a very small town closer to the mountains and we needed some big city time! And we love Portland! We have been very successful hosts on another vacation rental site for 3 years (with a different property, of course!) and decided to give VRBO a try for this one. We love travel, music , and fine food. Portland fits most of those criteria :-)

Sarah Sloane-Barton purchased this apartment in 2014

Why Sarah Sloane-Barton chose West End

If you know Portland, you would know why we chose the West End. It's not touristy, but still has everything nearby. It still has an arty feel, but is undergoing tremendous renovations. It's safe and historic. Just walking the neighborhood is a pleasure. The West End is well known for fabulous restaurants, coffee shops, and museums. Everything you could need is within walking distance.

The house itself is adorable and solid. Lovely wood floors, high ceilings, but a modern kitchen and bathroom. And it has a classic fireplace that actually works! A nice mix of old and new.

What makes this apartment unique

The absolute best part of this apartment is the location. You are literally walking distance to everything. That's what we wanted in our pied-a-terre for ourselves and so that's what we got. Fine restaurants, musical venues, shops, museums, the Old Port, Arts District, Western Promenade, etc are all walking distance. You don't need a car except for, perhaps, access to a big grocery store. But there are Mom and Pop stores nearby, so that's good enough for us. There's a good bus system too, so you can get farther afield if you wish (mall, etc).

Map

Portland Museum of Art
"The biggest and best art museum in Portland. Just a 15 min walk from the apartment. "
Old Port
"Touristy, but fun! This is a pretty older section of the city with restaurants, bars, music..."
Longfellow Square
"Both the square at the corner of Pine and Congress as well as the name of a music venue ther..."
Children's Museum & Theatre of Maine
"A wonderful museum for kids (and we think it's fun too). Easy walk and right next to the Po..."
Local 188
"Great food and a relaxed (but a bit loud) atmosphere. Right near Longfellow Square."
Petite Jacqueline
"Fantastic French restaurant. Right on Longfellow Square. "
Old Port
"Touristy, but fun! This is a pretty older section of the city with restaurants, bars, music..."
Aurora Provisions
"Love this place. It's a treat to step out, walk just 2 blocks and get a cup of coffee in th..."
Car: not necessary

Amenities

West End Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full bath with bathtub and shower. Recently renovated.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(30 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
20% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Sunny Historical West End 2BR
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 30 reviews
Austin, Texas
5

Wonderful apartment!

  • 5 of 5

It was everything the owners said it was. Located in a very charming neighborhood with everything within walking distance. It was very clean and well maintained. Great restaurants just a few blocks away. I would not hesitate to recommend this place. The owners were very responsive to any questions we had. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being great guests and for your patience and help with the TV situation! You are welcome back any time :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Charming

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful home in a great neighborhood

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Sweet apartment in a great location

  • 5 of 5

The convenient West End location is made better by this clean, nicely laid out apartment. Close to downtown and the waterfront, our stay was surprisingly quiet. We enjoyed the gas fireplace and the well appointed kitchen.

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so please you enjoyed your stay. Please come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
WNY, NJ
5

Charming 2 bedroom!

  • 5 of 5

A great living space with a fireplace for everyone to come together and enjoy each others company, you won't even need the television on. All bedrooms have comfortable beds, but the master stands out due to the street view and great amount of natural light coming into the room. Aside from the Cleanliness and comfort of the apartment, you will appreciate the proximity to the downtown area while still enjoying the silence of a quiet street.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Perfect weekend

  • 5 of 5

Booked this place for the weekend with plans to run the Maine half marathon, and it did not disappoint! The location was PERFECT, super close to downtown, awesome restaurants, etc., but on a nice quiet street. Everything was clean, comfortable and convenient. Thank you Sarah for an excellent weekend!

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are so welcome!! And thanks for being a great guest :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Seattle, WA, United States
5

Excellent location, very comfortable

  • 5 of 5

Excellent location, comfortable beds, all basics taken care of. Good supply of visitor information. Nice neighbors.

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful guests! Very responsive and took great care of our little place. Welcome back anytime :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $50
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 9.0%

We charge a $200 fully refundable damage deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties