Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Sunny Historical West End 2BR

Bedrooms 2
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 2 - 30 nights


About the property

Charming large first floor 2BR, 1bath is close to everything in Portland!

Our charming and bright apt in Portland's historic West End is walking distance to everything: fantastic restaurants, museums, music, the West Prom, Old Port, and more. Clean, renovated, cozy. Fireplace, wireless, cable, laundry.


Our historical house (in the West End historical district) was built in 1899 and is an 'American Foursquare.' It still retains its original features (high ceilings, hardwood floors, original windows, layout, etc) but it's been updated sensitively to make it very cozy and pleasant.

The apt is about 900 sq ft with two lovely bay windows in the front facing our very quiet street. We have a fully stocked eat-in kitchen with a table that accommodates 6; a living room with cable TV; and a bedroom with a queen bed. We also have a larger second bedroom with two twin beds. We can also provide a portable crib for a little one with advance notice.

The entire place is very sunny and uncluttered with simple furnishings and artwork. We love it and stay there ourselves as often as we can. It can accommodate 4 people very comfortably.

The full-sized kitchen is well-stocked with everything you need to cook with -- spices, pots and pans, microwave, coffeemaker, etc. The stove is gas. There is wireless internet throughout the apt.


There is ample off-street free parking on our street and in the neighborhood. If you prefer, there are two reasonably priced parking garages about 9 blocks from the house.

We have a washer and drier in the basement that you are welcome to use. There is also a full-service laundromat just a block from the house.


Since this is our Portland pied-a-terre, you are unlikely to see us during your visit. But we're just a text or email or phone call away and would still love to give you advice about where to go for great food (Portland is amazing!), hikes, music, etc. We also have an in-town Portland contact for any issues that arise that need immediate local attention (like locking yourself out of the house :-)


Our neighborhood is the most sought after neighborhood in Portland -- the West End. We are 1.5 blocks from Aurora's (an amazing upscale deli/sandwich shop) and there are numerous excellent restaurants and coffee shops within 1-4 blocks. A drug store and a natural grocery store are just 2 blocks from the house. The Portland Art Museum, the Arts District, and plenty of shopping along the main street (Congress) is only a few blocks away as is the Western Promenade --- a beautiful walk along the bluffs overlooking the working bay. There is a public pool 1 block from the house. The more tourist-oriented (but fun!) Old Port is also an easy walk. There's really no need for a car unless it's raining. Portland is a very walkable town.

Our street is particularly quiet as it doesn't connect anything to anything. The area is very safe --- mostly families and young people.


There are two city bus stops near the house. One is just on the corner nearby and the other a block away. You could easily do without a car altogether.

We are about 10 minutes from the Portland Jetport ($13 cab ride) and even closer to the bus and train station (easy access to Boston). We are also only a short walk to the major hospital (Maine Medical Center).


We don't allow pets or smoking. And we ask guests to leave their shoes at the door. So please bring slippers! (Although we have some you can borrow during your visit, if you forget :-)

Since there are 2 apts in the house and nice neighbors nearby, we ask that you be considerate about noise levels. Quiet hours: 10PM - 7AM out of consideration, please!

Currently, the fireplace is out of commission, but we expect to resolve that by the summer: But we can't promise that at this time! When it is working again: We ask that you use only Duraflame logs (we will provide 1 log for short visits and 2 for longer ones). Why not 'real' wood? Duraflame logs are cleaner, safer (don't spark), eco-friendly, leave little ash, don't smoke, don't over-flame, and are easy to light. So our house stays cleaner and safer. Duraflame logs ARE a wood product, so this is not just a 'fake' fire. We live in the backwoods of Maine with 2 wood-burning stoves and know how much dirt, smoke, and ash can be produced, especially with inexperienced wood burners :-) Even we use the Duraflames when in Portland.

More Details

Sarah Sloane-Barton
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About Sarah Sloane-Barton

We are two college professors and recent empty nesters. Drew is a Forest Ecologist and Sarah is an Animal Behaviorist. We bought this adorable historic house because we wanted an income property/pied-a-terre. Our college is in a very small town closer to the mountains and we needed some big city time! And we love Portland! We have been very successful hosts on another vacation rental site for 3 years (with a different property, of course!) and decided to give VRBO a try for this one. We love travel, music , and fine food. Portland fits most of those criteria :-)

Sarah Sloane-Barton purchased this apartment in 2014

Why Sarah Sloane-Barton chose Portland

If you know Portland, you would know why we chose the West End. It's not touristy, but still has everything nearby. It still has an arty feel, but is undergoing tremendous renovations. It's safe and historic. Just walking the neighborhood is a pleasure. The West End is well known for fabulous restaurants, coffee shops, and museums. Everything you could need is within walking distance.

The house itself is adorable and solid. Lovely wood floors, high ceilings, but a modern kitchen and bathroom. And it has a classic fireplace that actually works! A nice mix of old and new.

What makes this apartment unique

The absolute best part of this apartment is the location. You are literally walking distance to everything. That's what we wanted in our pied-a-terre for ourselves and so that's what we got. Fine restaurants, musical venues, shops, museums, the Old Port, Arts District, Western Promenade, etc are all walking distance. You don't need a car except for, perhaps, access to a big grocery store. But there are Mom and Pop stores nearby, so that's good enough for us. There's a good bus system too, so you can get farther afield if you wish (mall, etc).


West End Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
Building Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • Full bath with bathtub and shower. Recently renovated.
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • limited accessibility
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • water skiing


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

68% Complete
24% Complete
8% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Sunny Historical West End 2BR
average rating of 4.6 based on 25 reviews
Austin, Texas

Wonderful apartment!

  • 5 of 5

It was everything the owners said it was. Located in a very charming neighborhood with everything within walking distance. It was very clean and well maintained. Great restaurants just a few blocks away. I would not hesitate to recommend this place. The owners were very responsive to any questions we had. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Sep 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for being great guests and for your patience and help with the TV situation! You are welcome back any time :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean and comfortable home in a great location.

  • 5 of 5

Owners are fast to respond. Had a welcome basket when arrived. Very clean and charming hom. walkable distance to lots of stores and restaurants. Would love to stay here again on our next trip to Portland. Thank you again for sharing your home with our family.

  • Submitted: Nov 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great location and neat older home

  • 3 of 5

What a cool place and great location. The home is a clean, nicely updated older home with tall ceilings and cool wood floors. Just four blocks over the edge of downtown Portland starts, easy walking distance. The location is convenient for driving out of town also as there are bridges or main roads nearby. It was nice that things like WIFI, coffee and a good coffee maker, soap, bottle of wine, etc. were provided. As it turns out my wife needed to wash a couple clothing items, so the convenient washer and dryer was allowed us to relax a little easier. We were in and out a lot and found nearby on street parking all the time except once. Like any older home there were a few nuisance items like; most of the room doors didn’t shut easily/ got stuck (like the bathroom), in the front bedroom you are supposed to open the window(s) in the evening for the cool air but they were stuck or broken, the bathroom sink drained really slow - just FYI. The reason for only three stars was getting sleep. The mattresses are basic foam that have caved in at the center. Also, the instructions say that after 10 pm is quiet time, but the tenants upstairs apparently don’t know that. The couple that slept in the front bedroom said one night the people upstairs were moving furniture or something well past midnight.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am am so sorry you had trouble with the bedroom windows! The only non-opening window I'm aware of is the single side window in the front bedroom, which needs repair (and has a sign on it). But the other three should have worked well. Thank you for bringing it to my attention. If you had contacted us during your stay, we would have looked into it right away. The bathroom sink drain has been repaired as it was brought to our attention by our current guests. Our plumber took care of that immediately. The mattresses are not foam. They are organic cotton futons with memory foam toppers. So I'm not certain what the problem was and I haven't had any issues with other guests to my knowledge. But I will check to be sure the foam hasn't slipped in some way. They are less than a year old. I do remember you having an issue with the upstairs tenants the first night, but no issues after I spoke with them the next day! I'm happy you enjoyed your stay overall and hope you plan to come back soon :-)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

The apartment was clean and had a nice home feel.

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay the only negative was the parking. Easy walk to the Portland waterfront and shopping. The apartment fit our needs perfectly. I would recommend this property.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: Vacation Rentals, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Adorable, welcoming, clean!

  • 4 of 5

This West End apartment was perfect for our girl's weekend in Portland. The home was clean and stocked with plenty of towels! There was coffee in the kitchen and all the amenities to feel perfectly at home. $6-$10 Uber ride to downtown area, or if you prefer a walk - it's an enjoyable mile.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Charming Maine home.

  • 5 of 5

I recently stayed in the Lewis House with my husband and 3 kids (8,5, and 7 months). The first thing we noticed when we walked in was the beautiful high ceilings, and the sunny rooms. The house is absolutely beautiful. Sarah had left some food in the pantry which was great that first night we were there. She also left us a bottle of wine which we enjoyed the second night we were there. There was plenty of space for all of us. The house is near a few really cute markets, and about a 5-10 minute walk to the edge of downtown. We were easily able to get around and really enjoyed our stay. Parking was a bit tricky, but I believe that was due to us being there over the fourth of July weekend.

We had one minor noise issue while we were there (the upstairs neighbors) but Sarah texted them immediately and took care of it, again I think this was just because it was the fourth of July weekend. There were great suggestions of food (Abelines had amazing brunch), and entertainment (Sasquatch museum) in the guest book. It was an amazing stay and if we return to Portland we will stay here again. I recommend this house to anyone staying in the Portland area.

  • Submitted: Jul 9, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Portland Museum of Art
"The biggest and best art museum in Portland. Just a 15 min walk from the apartment. "
Old Port
"Touristy, but fun! This is a pretty older section of the city with restaurants, bars, music..."
Longfellow Square
"Both the square at the corner of Pine and Congress as well as the name of a music venue ther..."
Children's Museum & Theatre of Maine
"A wonderful museum for kids (and we think it's fun too). Easy walk and right next to the Po..."
Local 188
"Great food and a relaxed (but a bit loud) atmosphere. Right near Longfellow Square."
Petite Jacqueline
"Fantastic French restaurant. Right on Longfellow Square. "
Old Port
"Touristy, but fun! This is a pretty older section of the city with restaurants, bars, music..."
Aurora Provisions
"Love this place. It's a treat to step out, walk just 2 blocks and get a cup of coffee in th..."
Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $50
Damage Deposit $200

We charge a $200 fully refundable damage deposit.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties