Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Renovated high end historic home 2 blocks from Pearl st mall

Bedrooms 3
Space 1,250 sq ft
Property type house


About the property

Beautiful 3 bedroom, 2 bath brick home. Best location.

Located in the middle of the best Boulder has to offer- 1 block from Frascas - Boulders best restaurant. 1 block from restaurants like Pizza Locale, Zeal, Snooze, Mateos, cafes like The Cup, Boxcar & Laughing Goat. Beautiful historic home, over 100 years old, but renovated with exposed brick walls, high end kitchen, steam room, jetted tub, Deliberately understated front facade; lovely back yard with great BBQ facilities. Great international art, high end bedding & mattresses & furniture, off street parking and all necessary cooking & living amenities.

The City of Boulder requires a statement of maximum occupancy- we are allowed to rent to no more than 4 unrelated people. Rental license # RHL2014-00350

If you need to contact me please do so at anytime

More Details

Hillary Griffith
Member since: 2016
Speaks: english, french, spanish, portuguese, italian
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Hillary Griffith

I travel extensively, including to Gambia, West Africa, where I help run a lodge hotelnemasu and help with some local projects there. I welcome you to my home and would like to make your stay special.

Hillary Griffith purchased this house in 2014

Why Hillary Griffith chose Downtown

I love the historic nature of the house with its exposed brick and old woodwork- yet its now comfortable and set up with high end furniture & art. I also love being able to walk everywhere- so fun!

What makes this house unique

Apart from location & history, the luxury additions are great- jetted tub, steam room, high end sound system, beautiful kitchen. Also- you'll sleep like a baby- our mattresses and linens are top of the line. It makes a big difference!

Guestbook comments from the owner

A beautiful home in the perfect location! Hillary was an incredibly accommodating host! She was made the whole weekend so simple and enjoyable. Hillary's house was the ideal place for a few of our close friends/wedding guests to stay while enjoying memorial day weekend in Colorado.
May 2015
  • 1 of 5


Downtown House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1250 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Events Allowed
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower , bidet
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Note- shower upstairs is has a diverter that is on the back of the bath spout, to send water to shower head. There is also a small valve where water comes out of wall, to increase / decrease flow.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
  • We have 2 king beds and one full size futon; sleeps 6 but maximum 4 unrelated. Bedding for the futon is in the closet and in the ottoman in the lounge
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
8% Complete
Renovated high end historic home 2 blocks from Pearl st mall
average rating of 4.5 based on 17 reviews
Boulder, CO

Perfect house and great location.

  • 5 of 5

We rented this recently remodeled home for my parents over Christmas and it was perfect for them. The lower bedrooms and living space meant that they didn't have to content with stairs. The kitchen was modern and equipped enough for them to host a meal with friends. It was just a block off of Pearl St., the main shopping avenue, so they could walk to meet us for dinner most nights. I would definitely rent this place again.

  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2016
  • Stayed: December 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Great place, great location

  • 5 of 5

The house has a very nice, large central area. It was in easy walking distance to downtown and other areas, and parking was convenient.

Upstairs suite for two was roomy and pleasant.

Kitchen was well equipped.

Back deck was pleasant and private.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location and communication with home owner.

  • 5 of 5

Location can't be beat. Comfortable, clean house with great kitchen and also has washer/dryer. We loved it and hopefully will be back soon!

  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great downtown home!

  • 5 of 5

The place is very cute! Spacious and unique. Large beautiful kitchen, quaint back yard with area to grill. Third bedroom only has futon. Location is fantastic. Walked to Pearl street every day within minutes and walked to concerts at Folsum Field in about 25 minutes. Owner stopped by to help with anything we needed and communication with owner via text was immediate. We would stay here again!! Thanks Greg and Hillary!

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Funky house close to downtown

  • 4 of 5

Enjoy walking a few blocks to downtown Boulder's shops and restaurants from this eclectic two story house with a great little backyard and deck plus off street parking. Front yard could have been more manicured (i.e., grass cut) but I think in Boulder that is not a high priority in this neighborhood. Overall, a cozy place that worked well for four of us and included a full size washer and dryer, tv's in most rooms and updated bathrooms. Would stay there again.

  • Submitted: May 18, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Extremely poor experience

  • 1 of 5

This property was very disappointing in all aspects from the booking process to the house itself. The owner/manager was unavailable and in Cuba supposedly. The alternate contact person at the VRBO knew nothing about the property. We had no address until a few days before the rental date and no information about the key entry until 1 days before the rental. This was accompanied by so much difficulty that I should have cancelled the rental at that time. I had friends coming from out of town for my son's wedding which is the reason that I did not.

On arriving at the property, it had snowed and we had to clean that in order to get into the house. The key was left in the mailbox which made me uncomfortable as no one was available to check out the property with us. The house was full of these large black flies especially in the kitchen and bathroom. Scary, because we had to get them out and we thought something might be dead as the house really smelled bad. The 2nd bedroom and bath was an attic room which was so hot we had to open the windows to tolerate the heat.

The ceiling was so low it was almost impossible not to hit your head unless you were 4 ft. tall or in the middle of the room. There were no linens for the futon so we had to wash some extra sheets in the laundry room and use extra towels for blankets. The house was totally misrepresented. It was not a high end updated house and there was no parking in the back. We would have to go thru private property to get to the back of the house. We parked on the street in front of the house the whole 4 days/nights. The linens and rugs in the bathroom were not clean and had to be washed prior to use. The dishwasher leaked all over the kitchen and was not usable. I could go on but I think that you get my drift.

I could not contact anyone and until our departure on the way home did the owner contact us demanding her money ASAP. She was supposed to meet us at the house the day before leaving but never showed up. The balance included $400.00 for additional guests?? At this time, this has not been addressed satisfactorily despite multiple attempts and more than adequate time. We are refusing payment for the entire stay and will have to go thru the process with HOME AWAY gaurantee. I learned a lot about VRBO being my second time to do so. The first time was a fabulous experience. My advice is to avoid this property and management or do so at your own risk.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate most reviews, and use them to improve our service. Every one of our reviews has been positive: there are areas we can improve; but the feedback has been that our property is in a great location, is a beautiful home, and our customer service has been very good. This woman did not mention any problem at all during her entire stay, and then threatened us with a negative review if we didn't refund her most of her bill. I'm not sure where to start in responding to her specific complaints, or that it's entirely relevant, but to be brief: -the booking process is managed by HomeAway; we have little to do with that -the address of the property and entry instructions are sent in an automatic email -the attic room is 90" in the center- not 4'. There are photos in the listing- there should be no surprise -You don't go through private property to get to our parking area- there is an easement through a neighboring parking lot to our parking area; it's very simple. There's room for 2 small cars there, and easily one car. - linens and blankets for the futon are in the closet of the futon room; - all linens were clean, of course; - rugs and floors were swept and vacuumed; - HomeAway keeps a record of all contact attempts: there were none until after this woman left. This review did teach us to be more careful with whom we book, and to make sure in writing that the Guest is completely satisfied, when they arrive. This person has had no previous trips- (it's on her membership record), and I believe always planned to avoid payment. In summary, as a potential guest, I encourage you to look at the other reviews, as they give a more realistic picture of our home. If you have questions or concerns, don't hesitate to contact us. We sincerely hope that all our guests have a happy, wonderful experience, and we're constantly working to achieve that goal.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
Car: not necessary

Welcome to Boulder and welcome to my historic home in Boulder, Colorado. Please read all the information in this packet as it will help you have an enjoyable stay. And, at anytime if you have any questions or needs don’t hesitate to reach out to me, or my assistant.



This historic home was built in the 1930’s. Our family has carefully restored the home since. You’ll have the best of a beautiful historic space with modern comfort in the heart of downtown Boulder. There are two bedrooms with king size beds, and one room with a futon that opens to a queen size bed. There are two bathrooms one with a steam room and one with a spa tub!

The home has an old-fashioned, wood burning fire place for winter fun, outdoor fenced in backyard and BBQ, a large kitchen, and a massage chair. There is wifi and cable tv service. But, the best feature of the house is its proximity to some of the best of Boulder including the Pearl Street Mall, Creek path, local trails and public buildings such as the library and BMOC Museum.



To get to the house you can easily take public transportation. The house is about a 10 minute walk from the downtown Boulder transit center (Where Boulder Skyride AB Bus line arrives and departs). The bus has wifi service and costs approximately $16.

BUS: For information on bus service to/from the airport see : getSchedule.action?routeId=AB

UBER and LYFT both work in the region. Yellow Taxi’s also do. A typical ride is approximately $60/US. See for information.

SUPER SHUTTLE: also run but often take longer than the bus and are more expensive. See


From Denver, drive in on Highway 36. Continue on Highway 36 as it becomes 28th street. Follow this street until Canyon then turn west (or left) until 17th street. Make a right and then another right onto Walnut (one block north).


There is room for one car at the back of the house. To get to this parking space you enter via the building 1830 17th Street. You pull into the buildings garage and drive to the end of the garage. There is a parking space that is not paved but has stones. This is where you may park. Please park ONLY on the stones. Neighbors are VERY sensitive to parking issues in the garage please don’t park anywhere but the stones even to unload. Enter via the back door to the house or back gate to get to the front door.


At the front of the house there is free parking on most of the South side of Walnut and metered parking on the north side. Additional free parking can be found on 18th street or further down Walnut. The driveway to the right of the front of the house belongs to the neighbors please do not pull in here or use this drive either.


A key to the house will either be provided to you at the time of check-in if we have scheduled a meeting or will be left for you in the mailbox. Please advise us of your arrival time so we can coordinate cleaning and making sure everything is ready for your arrival. Check-in is 3pm unless otherwise requested and confirmed. A spare key is usually left on the dining table.


Boulder is a great city for walking. Our famous walking mall (Pearl Street) is only a few blocks from the house. A local, organic grocery store also a few blocks along with the Boulder farmers market. The city is very walking friendly!

You can also reach Boulder hiking trails easily from the house. The fastest route is to access open space via the Boulder bike path which is only one block away. For a trail map link here: https://


The home is located one block from the Boulder Creek path which can link you to over 300 miles of Boulder bike paths! For a map of bike paths in Boulder see: https:// There are also many bike lanes where paths don’t exist.

Additionally, you can rent bikes via Boulder Bicycle https:// hourly or daily or locally for the week at University Bikes located at 9th and Pearl street.



By local bus: By Uber, Taxi, or Lyft.


The Wifi Network is listed as “WALNUT” the password is Walkabout, or Walkabout1 . Cable TV is available. See the attached video on how to work the remote.


We have bins for both trash and recycling. Please recycle! Boulder is an Eco-conscious place and we appreciate you joining us in protecting the environment in the ways you can.

Trash and recycling bins are located to the side of the house (north/west side). Trash day is Wednesday each day, if you can we appreciate you bringing the bins to the curb if full and you are staying on a Wednesday.


The home has heating and air conditioning throughout


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $250
Cleaning $95
Tax Rate 12.5%

50% due at time of booking; no refund on deposit & full payment due if cancelled within 30 days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties