Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Modern Country House in the Catskills

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 1,600 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed, 2.5 Baths (Sleeps 6-8)

Located on a quiet country lane in the Catskill Park, this house is a perfect getaway, just two hours north from the GW bridge. Our beautiful, newly renovated, modern country house features an open floor plan on the first floor with a fully stocked cook's kitchen and bar counter, 12 person expandable dining table, a sitting area and a full bath just off the kitchen. The main room has 3 skylights and 2 french doors that provide plenty of light even on rainy days. The second floor has a half bath, master bedroom with a king size bed and en suite bathroom with spa shower, a bedroom with a queen size bed, and a third bedroom with a toddler bed and twin size bed with trundle that converts to a king size bed. There is a pool table and foosball table in the unfinished garage and an upright piano and cabinet full of board games in the main room. Wireless internet is available if you want to stay connected but when you arrive you will just want to sit back, relax and enjoy the quiet wonder of it all.

Outside is a large deck and an above ground pool (does it really matter if it's above ground - it's a pool!). The deck box houses all sorts of outdoor games including badminton and volleyball. There is also an outdoor woodburning fireplace - great way to stay warm in the evenings while marveling at the gazillion stars in the sky. Don't forget the hot chocolate and smores! Beyond the deck is a large open field on two acres populated with century old apple trees and swing sets for kids and adults.

More Details

Meilan Chiu
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
May 23, 2017

About Meilan Chiu

We are a family of four with two young kids. We love to get away from the City for a relaxing weekend at our house. Our 4 year old daughter aptly calls our weekends in the Catskills 'an escape from the City'.

Meilan Chiu purchased this house in 2009

Why Meilan Chiu chose New York

We started taking weekend trips to the Catskills many years ago and just fell in love with the beauty of the area. We started looking for a weekend place after we got married. As we were driving up Lackawack Hill Road the first time and feeling the openness of the mountain top, we knew the property would be right even before we saw it. It was a bright, sunny Spring day, the grass was green, the air was crisp and it just felt right. The house needed some work (which turned out to be a lot of work) but it's all worth it when our kids tell us how much they love going to the Catskills.


Napanoch House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1600 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Local Maps
  • Mobile Phone
  • Parking Off Street
  • Sofa Bed
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • 4 Ring Stove
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Full 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Full 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Half 1 - toilet
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 twin/ single , 1 child bed , Twin bed with trundle converts to King
    Living Room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Sofabed
  • Pack n play and toddler bed available.
  • Books for Kids
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Games for Kids
  • Piano
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Game Console ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Child's Swing
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Wood Deck
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
  • autumn foliage
  • caves
  • forests
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • horseback riding
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • skiing
  • spelunking
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

Modern Country House in the Catskills
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews

Great house in the country!!

  • 5 of 5

We really enjoyed staying at this home. My kids loved all the toys, the play ground and the pool! The house was clean, modern and very comfortable!

We hope to come back again maybe in the winter but hopefully again next summer!

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We had a great vacation. The house was nicer than we expected, and the yard was huge. Because we live in the city, the room for the children to run around was an unexpected bonus. We spent most of the week enjoying the use of the pool, which was the main attraction for us. However, we also went hiking and found a beautiful waterfall nearby. The scenery was breathtaking!

Meilan and her husband were very helpful and available whenever we had a question. We would recommend this as a great family vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Wonderful time away

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at this lovely house for 2 nights with another family.

The house match the pictures. The kitchen was perfect for a large family, outdoors was spacious and we enjoyed a friendly deer visiting :).

At night you could sit outside and enjoy the lovely site of fire flies.

The house is secluded yet close to town.

You should bring your own toilet paper, paper towels and such. Otherwise the place is neat, clean and well stocked.

The wireless internet had issues and unfortunately the mifi wasn't working very well.

There is a land line if you need service, which was super helpful.

The owners are kind, attentive and fast to answer any questions.

The small bedroom can fit 3 young ones, but its very tight space.

Overall, we had a lovely time and would go back.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Great getaway

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here with my family and we had a great time. The kids loved the pool and the slide and swing set. Kitchen was very modern and spacious with all amenities needed to prepare a meal. The pictures provided are accurate description of the house. AC were available in the house but it got so breezy at night that they weren't needed. The daytime was a bit warmer so we used the AC then. The open skylight provided a nice breeze. State Park, scenic views and grocery stores were a short drive away. Overall it was a nice getaway from the city life and I would stay here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Queens, NY

Great Family Getaway!

  • 5 of 5

This was an ideal getaway for the family. Incredibly quiet and peaceful area. The house is modern/updated and very kid-friendly. The grounds are very large and make a great place for kids to run around and play. The owner was great and really a pleasure to deal with it. This is a perfect place for a relaxing vacation.

  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

It's not 5 stars.

  • 3 of 5

After reading 5 star reviews, I had high expectations for this property. I was disappointed. The house was not ready or organized to receive guests. No bath towels to be found. No paper towels in the kitchen. No toilet paper. Every "softsoap" container in the bathrooms and the kitchen were 1/2 filled with water to look as though there was soap in them. In both showers there was used bar soap. Additionally, the house is full of the owners excess property. Every closet is packed with garbage bags full of clothes, and other stuff so if you need to hang anything there is no space available. The game system in the garage doesn't work. There is no air conditioning but a ton of fans. There is no wifi. The refrigerator and freezer had old food in it. No screened doors on the first floor to let any breeze in beyond the couple of windows. On the last evening of our stay the power went out. There was no candles or flashlights in the house to help navigate this issue. Overall, this place was fair to average.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We can't address any issues we are not aware of so we encourage all guests to call us and let us know if there are any issues (we provide two cell phone contact numbers). We try the best we can to resolve all issues when it is brought to our attention. We do work hard to make sure guests are satisfied. I informed Carolyn prior to her stay that lightning struck the telephone line by the house causing a surge of electricity into the house which compromised some of the appliances and amenities including the washer and wifi. We restored all services as quickly as we could. The washer was fixed during her stay. Unfortunately, the wifi and satellite internet were not yet fixed but now are operating fine (we have a modem available on-site for dial-up access if this happens again). Carolyn called me on her arrival to inquire about the location of the towels. I told her where the towels are and asked if there were any other issues and was told everything was fine. I followed up the next morning to make sure everything was OK and she assured me everything else was fine. Because the washer was not working before Carolyn's arrival, the housekeeper had to go to a laundromat to do laundry and in her haste, forgot to re-stock some other items and did not place the towels where it should be. If Carolyn had informed me of her issues, it would have been easily remedied by informing her where the supplies are located. The gaming system in the garage works - the powerstrip just needs to be turned on. There is a hanging bug screen for one set of french doors and there are 3 skylights that can be opened to circulate air (using the remote on the wall by the thermostat). We actually do not advertise that we have air conditioning in the house. However, we do have air conditioning at the house now which is available if you need it but the nights are generally cool enough that you don't. We also have a whole house fan to cool the house down quickly. There are candles in the kitchen drawer next to the dishwasher in case of a power outage. Unfortunately, the lightning strike occurred just prior to Carolyn's stay and there was a power outage during her stay and she did not communicate her all her concerns to us. This is our home away from home and we love it, we sincerely want guests to enjoy their time visiting and return.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0


The house is close to year round activities including hiking trails at Sam's Point Preserve (20 mins), Minnewaska State Park (20 mins), or Mohonk Mountain Preserve (25 mins). Many of the trails are old carriage trails so it is great for hiking with kids. Horseback riding is available year round. The Shawungunk Wine Trail includes 12 vineyards and wineries of the Hudson Valley and is just 20 mins away. Amazing culinary experiences in Kerhonkson, Rosendale and Stoneridge are about 20 minutes away.

In the Fall, against the backdrop of vibrant foliage, pick your own fruit at the many local orchards. Stone Ridge Orchard, about 25 minutes away is an orchard we particularly love. In the winter, cross country and downhill skiing and ice climbing are available in Belleayre, Hunter and Windham, about 45 mins away.


Rates & Availability

Napanoch House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $150
Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning Fee $125

Rates are subject to change until reservation is confirmed. Holiday weekends require a 3 night minimum stay. Inquire about last minute specials.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message

You might like these similar properties