expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

Breathtaking sunrise mountain views at Dancing Bears Cabin

Old Fort, NC, USA
  • Cabin1450 sqft
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay3 - 4 nights

3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

This log home is nestled within 5+ acres near Black Mountain, Lake Lure and Asheville. Convenient to everything, but a million miles away. Perfect for enjoying nature and recharging. In a gated community featuring paved roads and driveway. Whether you’re looking for a memorable family retreat or romantic getaway, Dancing Bears Cabin is a one-level, 3-bedroom, 2-bath log cabin. It’s located in beautiful Gateway Mountain, a 3,000-acre hardwood forest, nature preserve and wildlife sanctuary. Enjoy majestic, layered Blue Ridge Mountain views from the deck and toast marshmallows in the outdoor fire pit. Gaze at a peaceful night sky full of stars and constellations. Cook -- or don't cook -- in a modern kitchen. Curl up on a comfy sofa and enjoy a crackling fire. Surround yourself with natural stone and beautiful woodwork and fresh air. Gateway Mountain’s amenities include a private lake for swimming, a trout pond for catch-and-release fishing (no license required), hiking trails and a waterfall park. Dancing Bears Cabin features Wi-Fi high-speed Internet, 2 high-definition TVs connected to DirecTV (150+ channels), a king-size bed, queen-size bed and 3 bunk beds (6 twin-size beds). Master bedroom and living room enjoy views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Head into Asheville for delicious restaurants, shopping and entertainment. Lake Lure is nearby for big-lake swimming and boating. Explore quirky shops and restaurants in Black Mountain. Or, never step foot off the mountain. Enjoy your home away from home any way you like! Look forward to welcoming you!

Please note: Because we're in the mountains, Wi-Fi is offered via satellite. Although it's fast and perfect for checking emails, Facebook (social media), and surfing the web, please do not stream movies or music or engage in high-bandwidth activities (playing Internet-based games). Doing so will cause Internet connectivity to slow to a crawl. Instead, DirecTV offers many music channels for your listening pleasure and 150 TV channels. Also, the driveway is steep, but it's paved, and there is plenty of parking at the cabin.

Due to allergies, no smoking and no pets, please.

Property Manager

Greybeard Rentals

Member Since 2000
Response time:
within one hour
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 20, 2018

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
        • 1 King bed, 1 Queen bed, 6 Twin beds

        Bathrooms

        • 2 Bathrooms

            Location Type

              • Mountain View

                General

                  • Air Conditioning
                  • Clothes Dryer
                  • Fireplace
                  • Internet
                  • Linens Provided
                  • Washing Machine

                    Kitchen

                      • Coffee Maker
                      • Dishes & Utensils
                      • Dishwasher
                      • Kitchen
                      • Microwave
                      • Oven
                      • Pantry Items
                      • Refrigerator
                      • Stove
                      • Toaster

                        Entertainment

                          • DVD Player
                          • Satellite / Cable
                          • Television

                            Outside

                              • Deck / Patio
                              • Outdoor Grill

                                Local Services & Businesses

                                  • groceries

                                    House Rules

                                    Check-in: 4:00 PM

                                    Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                    38 Reviews

                                    Wonderful4.9/5

                                    Latest reviews

                                    A Christmas to Remember!

                                    Rating Details:

                                    The property manager was very helpful.

                                    The vacation rental was spotless.

                                    I was very happy with the location.

                                    I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                    Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

                                    Reviewer Comments:

                                    Our stay at Dancing Bears was just what my family needed! We were able to remove ourselves from the chaos of holiday activities and spend time as a family. We lacked for nothing while at the cabin. The cabin is beautiful and has most anything you need. We enjoyed cozying up to the fire as we watched Christmas movies. The coffee table was a great place for puzzles and Christmas crafts. Food prep was a breeze as the kitchen has most every bowl, pot, pan or accessory you might need. The cabin was small enough for us to stay connected, but there were plenty of rooms to escape to if you needed a break. The beds were very comfortable and plenty of linens were provided. We have no complaints and hope to be able to make a return visit in the future!

                                    Owner's Response:

                                    Wow, sounds like a wonderful respite from the holiday bustle to enjoy family time! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay at Dancing Bears Cabin. Great choice in cabin! -Greybeard Rentals

                                    Weekend getaway

                                    A guest from Savannah, GASavannah, GA

                                    Rating Details:

                                    The property manager was very helpful.

                                    The vacation rental was very clean.

                                    I was very happy with the location.

                                    I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                    Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

                                    Reviewer Comments:

                                    My family had a wonderful time. Better than I imagined. We did excursions for 2 of the days to Ashville and Chimney Rock both of which the kids (5&8 y/0) and my wife and I had wonderful time. I am already thinking of visiting again and using same cabin as I appreciated it being in gated community and very well maintained and enough outside that I could keep my 2 boys busy.

                                    Owner's Response:

                                    Great! I'm so glad you and your family had a wonderful time in Chimney Rock and Asheville as well as at the cabin.

                                    Fantastic mountain top getaway

                                    Amanda H.Oviedo, FL

                                    Rating Details:

                                    The property manager was very helpful.

                                    The vacation rental was spotless.

                                    I was very happy with the location.

                                    I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                    Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

                                    Reviewer Comments:

                                    Our family enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Dancing Bear. The cabin was beautiful - inside and out! The house was just perfect for us. It had all the anmenties we needed. It was close enough to excursions and also private so you felt like you were on top of your own mountain.

                                    Owner's Response:

                                    Great! I'm so glad you had a nice family stay at Dancing Bears Cabin! Come back soon to stay with us. - Greybeard Rentals

                                    Eclipse vacay

                                    Gregory S.Macclenny, FL

                                    Rating Details:

                                    The property manager was very helpful.

                                    The vacation rental was spotless.

                                    I was very happy with the location.

                                    I was very satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                    Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

                                    Reviewer Comments:

                                    Had a great time, loved the cabin, beautiful property, very clean, saw deer and turkeys out in the woods by the fence.

                                    Owner's Response:

                                    Great! Glad to hear this, and very cool that you saw some wildlife in the Gateway Mountain development.

                                    Dancing bear eight days

                                    Chuck P.Jacksonville, FL

                                    Rating Details:

                                    The property manager was very helpful.

                                    The vacation rental was spotless.

                                    I was very happy with the location.

                                    I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                    Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

                                    Reviewer Comments:

                                    The location is fabulous everything was available to us we had an electrical issue of which Mike Evans the maintenance man on the mountain took care of immediately the dishwasher needs to have instructions how to use it it just didn't seem to work. Disappointed that the electric he didn't work we had a four-year-old and we were hoping that would keep them in so that was very disappointing I believe my bride let some additional notes thanks CFP

                                    Owner's Response:

                                    I'm glad you had a wonderful time! I checked with our work order coordinator and she reviewed what you're referring to with the electrical. I now understand that you may be referring to the electric gate for the driveway which is not in use (we don't advertise it). I'm sorry you were disappointed by that! I understand that there were also some outlets in the master bedroom that were tripped and that one of our maintenance men came and fixed that issue once it was reported. The message the dishwasher was giving you was asking for additional rinse aid which was fixed. The owner also plans to replace the dishwasher in early September with a new dishwasher. Thank you for the feedback!

                                    Almost ... perfect

                                    Rating Details:

                                    The property manager was very helpful.

                                    The vacation rental was spotless.

                                    I was more than happy with the location.

                                    I was more than satisfied with the condition of the vacation rental.

                                    Overall, I recommend this vacation rental.

                                    Reviewer Comments:

                                    Things were great with two imperfections. The major one is the hallway bathroom has an awkward step over, causing one of our family to trip and fall. Minor imperfection is there are no eating utensils. There were cooking utensils.

                                    Owner's Response:

                                    Thanks for your helpful feedback that will help us improve future experiences at Dancing Bears Cabin! There actually ARE utensils at Dancing Bears Cabin and I'm so sorry that they were not clearly visible during your stay. There is a note next to the kitchen phone about the utensils being stored in a large wooden hutch next to the dining room, but we will work on better highlighting where these are stored so that is more visible for future visits. We hadn't heard the feedback about the area between the hallway and bathroom before. We were in contact with the homeowner and we all feel badly about the fall and hope your family member is okay! The homeowner plans to examine the transition (molding) from the wooden floor in the hallway to the tiled floor in the bathroom. Thanks again, and I'm glad you had a great stay overall!

                                    Location

                                    Old Fort, NC, USA

                                    Availability

                                    Additional information about rental rates

                                    Rates shown above do not include taxes and fees

                                    $216avg/night
                                    38 Reviews
                                    Wonderful 4.9/5
                                    Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                    Instant Confirmation
                                    For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                    Property # 990464

                                    x