Wake up in 'Jurassic Park' - Stunning Waterfalls Await You!
You sent a message to this owner.
- Minimum stay:N/A
- Pets allowed:No
- Wheel chair accessible:No
***Be sure to scroll down and check out our 50 guest reviews and view our 24 photos of this truly unique property.*** Hawaii License #W01460418-01
Enjoy the peace and serenity of a true tropical rainforest. Situated at the end of a small quiet street, this secluded guest house has unobstructed panoramic 180° views of Hawaii's magnificent Koolau Mountains (Pali). These mountains were featured in the original movie Jurassic Park. This majestic backdrop often has over a dozen waterfalls dropping down the 3000 foot vertical face. (The waterfalls run after about one hour of steady rain.) This one acre property is located in Ahuimanu, near Valley of the Temples but is actually inside the East boundary of the Waiahole Forest Reserve and offers spectacular mountain, rainbow and waterfall views. Don't worry, just because it is located in a tropical rainforest setting, this location gets plenty of sun too.
Check out one of Hawaii's best guidebooks; 'DRIVING AND DISCOVERING HAWAII-OAHU' In this book he writes about our little street. . .'Here, the homes are built practically touching the perpendicular face of the Pali. The striking effect that these 3000' giant, towering, sheer walls have - looming overhead and dispensing countless veils of tumbling waterfalls after a rain is quite literally dizzying. On Oahu, you probably cannot get any closer to the pali's behemoth cliff face than this, without a difficult hike.'
Let the sound of the year round stream constantly flowing through the property put you to sleep each night. Wake to the songs of Native Hawaiian Birds every morning and the sun glistening off the mountains. Experience the true sights and sounds of a tropical rain forest.
A truly secluded paradise for those who want to experience life in one of Hawaii's most beautiful places. Amazing but true... This vacation rental is located on a small public street, only three to four minutes (less than two miles) off the main highway. Centrally located on the island it is only 12 minutes away from famous Kualoa Beach Park (Chinaman's Hat) and Kualoa Ranch with horseback riding, ATV rides, movie tours and buffet lunches. Less than 30 minutes from Honolulu International Airport and Pearl Harbor, this is a vacation property that offers you close proximity to most all points on the island, but still has the peace and serenity of a true rainforest experience. Quite literally centrally located to most points of interest on the island it is a short 15-20 minute drive to Kailua's beautiful white beaches and the Mokulua Islands. 30 minutes up to the Polynesian Cultural Center for the day (a must see) or keep going and check out our world famous North Shore surf spots and big waves in the winter months. Less than 30 minutes out of Honolulu, this location gives you access to Waikiki nightlife if you want it and you can still wake up in paradise.
This is a large 400 square foot studio. It was originally designed as a guest accommodation to the main house for the owners live in nurse. It is the perfect 'vacation rental', with a large, well equipped kitchen and Serta Perfect Sleeper Queen Bed you will feel right at home. This is an ideal studio for couples. First offered as a vacation rental in 2004 it was totally remodeled then, right down to the studs. Recently renovated in late 2011 with fresh paint, nicely appointed tile floors and a tropical decor, with a new 26' flat screen HDTV in the bedroom and 20' color TV and sofa in the kitchen. Your special little place in paradise awaits you!
We encourage you to read the previous 'Guest Comments' on all VRBO properties you are interested in. Guest comments are like E-Bay feedback. They are a good source of information for potential guests to evaluate properties via unbiased visitors such as yourselves. As owners we cannot edit or delete comments that are less than favorable. The only way to eliminate negative comments is to 'kill your guestbook' and restart it. Check the bottom of our VRBO webpage you will find that VRBO lists the original publish date for the listing and you can see that all our guest comments date back to 2004. If you find other listings without a guestbook ask yourself what they are hiding? The guestbook service is free to owners. If your photos are accurate and you run a quality property they why wouldn't you want people to write reviews about your property? As of December 2012 we have 45 unsolicited reviews. 39 reviews rate us with 5 out of 5 stars and two reviews rates us 4 out of 5 star, 2 ratings at 3 out of 5 stars and one 2 out of 5. :(
Please check our availability calendar before sending an email, it is updated with each new booking for your convenience. This rental has a very high occupancy rate, we encourage you to place your reservation early. If we don't have the dates you are looking for, please click on 'ALL MY RENTAL LISTINGS' link on the lower part of this page to view our other two great vacation rentals. We have a Laie Beachfront Studio at $115.00 per/nt with full kitchen and separate bath. Laie Beachfront Studio VRBO Listing #35796 or click on the link 'ALL MY RENTAL LISTINGS'. Easy return access to this VRBO® page at anytime.
Traveling to the Big Island to see the volcano, check out our fabulous 'Heavens Door', with a year round stream, 79,000 gallon lake and koi pond all in a 100% private, 2 acre tropical dream property. Year round weekly special rates start at $135.00 per/nt or $875.00 per/wk for 2 guests. Check out all it's 100% 5-Star reviews and photos at VRBO #149612. Or click the 'All MY RENTAL LISTINGS' link on this page.
All our rentals are non-smoking properties!
SCROLL ALL THE WAY DOWN TO VIEW ALL 24 PHOTOS OF THIS PROPERTY.
Keywords: Private Guest accommodation to the main house, located on 1 full acre. This large 3 room studio has a separate full kitchen and bath.
- Vacation Rental
- Guests Provide Their Own Meals
- Non Smoking Only
- Pets Not Allowed
- 0 Bedrooms, Sleeps 2, Beds for 2
- Queen size Beds (1)
- 1.0 Bathrooms
- Bathroom 1
Kitchen & Dining
- Dishes & Utensils
- Coffee Maker
- Cooking Utensils
- Hair Dryer
- Iron & Board
- Linens Provided
Full size 4-Burner Electric Stove & Oven, full size refrigerator, Ceiling Fans, Hair Dryer, Iron & Ironing Board, Soaps, Shampoo and Conditioner, Boogie Boards & Beach Towels. Sorry there is no washer/dryer or diswasher at this rental due to restrictions imposed by the City/County on amount of waste water discharge. This property is within the Waiahole Rainforest watershed....morecollapse
- Satellite / Cable:
- CD Player
- Outdoor Grill
- Deck / Patio
- Away From It All
Location & View
- Medical Services
- Mountain Biking
- Jet Skiing
- Basketball Court
- Deepsea Fishing
- Scuba Diving Or Snorkeling
- Fitness Center
- Health/Beauty Spa
- Botanical Garden
- Bird Watching
- Eco Tourism
- Whale Watching
- Horseback Riding
- Sight Seeing
- Wildlife Viewing
- Surf Fishing
Centrally located this studio is only 30 min, to Pearl Harbor & Polynesian Cultural Center, two of Oahu's top attractions, For the adventuresome types there is hiking, horseback hiding and ATV rides all within a few of minutes of your door. There is also a 10 plex Theatre and supermarket within 5 minutes. See historic Hawaii at the Bishop Museum or spend the day a Kualoa Ranch horseback riding or exploring on ATV's, Then there's alway's Sightseeing. You can venture to some of Oahu's most beautiful beaches in Kailua with views of the Mokulua Islands only 15-20 minutes. Winter brings big waves and surf contests on our famous North Shore, just up the road 35-45 minutes. Hike, explore our botanical gardens or if you are really adventuresome check out the tandem sky dives or glider rides at Dillingham Airfield. Or you can just sit back and relax and enjoy the view:) Live Hawaii, share the dream....morecollapse
ReviewsWrite a review
Perfect Honolulu Escape with Aloha Spirit
Perfect Honolulu Escape with Aloha Spirit
We were pleased in every respect with this rental. It was clean & comfy, secluded, quiet, and a bit more spacious than the photos suggest. Loved the gorgeous Ko'olau view with blooming African Trumpet trees in the foreground. Added bonuses were the VERY friendly cats, plenty of beach supplies, and helpful information from Pat, who stayed next door. For instance, we probably would have missed viewing the hula performances that weekend from the Merrie Monarch Festival on TV (they took place on the Big Island) if she hadn't reminded us. And the parting gift of Big Island cookies was to die for. [husband] Yes, just perfect for lounging around and ideal for all the Windward side exploring we did: North shore surf (unusual 20' waves!), shrimp shacks, Laie beaches and ridge hike, Kailua shopping and beach time. Tile floors easy to keep clean as was the great stainless cookware. And the road, Ahuimanu, was good for my early morning walks with plenty of entertaining "jungle fowl" and goats. Can't wait for our next visit so we can escape the Alaska winter! Thanks Linda, Pat and Ken.
- Guest WaveWatcher
- Date of stay 03/31/13
- Review Submitted 04/14/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing, pet owners, romantic getaway.
My husband and I were very happy with our stay at Jurassic Park. The view of the mountains is just breathtaking. Low lying clouds in the morning gave way to lush green mountains and watrfalls!! You would hardley know that you had neighbors, It is very quit and and only a 3-5 minute drive from the grocery store and resturants. The laundromat is a stones throw away. The rooms are quite clean and is perfect for 2 people.We perfer to stay out of Honolulu when we visit and its only a 20 minute drive to get to, We had friends staying in Honolulu and brought them over to see where we were staying they too were amazed at the location of the property and the size of the rooms. The kitchen had all the basic necessities that one needs to prepare a meal. The daily rate is alnost unheard of. We found the place very relaxing and pleasant and would recomend it to others.Linda and Ken even allowed us to stay later than 11 amcheck out time on the day we left since we had a night flight. Thank you for a very restful and peaceful property. We will recomend it to anyone we know who will be visiting Ohau.
- Guest Marine mom
- Date of stay 03/25/13
- Review Submitted 04/07/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, romantic getaway.
Very nice place
Very nice place
We stayed 6 nights and did not miss anything. Very clean and spaceous. Very friendly contact with owner. The view at the mountains is awesome. We would like to come back.
- Guest Tomkam
- Date of stay 02/02/13
- Review Submitted 03/10/13
Recommended for: Tourists without a car, sightseeing.
Quiet, green paradise.
Quiet, green paradise.
My wife and I recently spent 4 nights at Linda's excellent guest space, and enjoyed every minute of it. As someone who has spent a lot of time trying to find a decent place to stay on Oahu for under $100/night, I know this place is a great deal. Linda was even very flexible and allowed us to come early when I called two days before our scheduled stay to see if her space was open that day (high trade winds and higher-than-normal precipitation made our camping reservation much less appealing). We loved (and made use of) the option to cook our own meals, and ate our breakfasts and dinners looking up at the amazingly green cliffs just behind the house. The heavy rain even gave us some of the advertised waterfalls! The bed was comfortable and the lanai out back was great. As long as you don’t require oceanside accommodations, you can’t go wrong with this place. The location up in a local neighborhood was just far enough away from Kane’ohe and Kailua that we felt removed from the somewhat frenetic pace of this crowded island. Highly recommended for a couple. Thanks Linda!
- Guest Matt!
- Date of stay 02/20/13
- Review Submitted 03/04/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing, romantic getaway, adventure seekers.
We enjoyed our stay at Jurassic park. The studio was clean and comfortable. It was centrally located to all the major sites of Oahu. There were a few negatives which are beyond the owners control. There were loud parties the first two nights of our stay. Monday morning, the trash pick up woke us up about 6:15 AM. The driveway was a problem. We had a Ford Fusion and the underside of the car only had about an inch of clearance when backing in. The angle of backing in had to be just right as my husband came within a foot of the wall on two occasions. I think a large car or one low to the ground would have problems with the driveway. Despite the negatives, I would definitely recommend Jurassic Park to others.
- Guest john5
- Date of stay 02/16/13
- Review Submitted 02/26/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing, adventure seekers.
Owner response: Thank you for your honest comment about our Jurassic Park studio. We're very sorry that your four day vacation was not as peaceful as many other guests have experienced. Unfortunately, your stay fell on a 3-Day Federal Holiday, I suspect this was the reason for the neighbors weekend long party as well as the garbage man coming extra early on Monday morning so to get off early. We appreciate your understanding that there are some things beyond our control, this is usually a very quiet and peaceful little street. I'm sorry you found the driveway difficult, it is 12 ft. wide. Overall most guests and the vast majority of rental vehicles do not have any issues with the driveway. Mahalo for taking the time to comment. Linda
Gecko greeters :)
Gecko greeters :)
I was looking for this place to recommend it to a friend who is looking for a place to stay while in Oahu and realized that we'd never left a review! I stayed in this rental while visiting friends stationed at Kaneohe Bay Marine Corps Base and had a lovely time! My friends were not used to having ACTUAL food cooked for them and so I had at least 2 guests over for dinner most nights and found the kitchen to be perfectly adequate. The only complaint that I had was the centipede that decided to crawl up my leg while I was cooking... but after some screaming a neighbor came to my rescue and flushed him! Haha I loved all the teeny tiny geckos that were everywhere and seeing the waterfalls after the rain. I had no complaints as to cleanliness nor issues with noise. I enjoyed the kitty visitors and found the space to be quite adequate! I do wish you could hike up to the falls, but I did find other sites where it was allowed that were nearby. :) I felt like this place was a steal compared to the hotel prices and would absolutely recommend this place to others (as I am currently doing!) and know they'll love it as well.
- Guest Natasha
- Date of stay 02/15/12
- Review Submitted 02/11/13
Recommended for: Age 55+, girls getaway, sightseeing, romantic getaway, adventure seekers.
Spent several peaceful nights at Jurassic Park
Spent several peaceful nights at Jurassic Park
We enjoyed our time at this property. We have read the previous 2 comments and wondered if we stayed at the same place. This studio certainly met our needs. Yes there were 2 dogs that greeted us when we arrived but we didn't hear anything from them throughout our stay. It was a quiet location and certainly lived up to the expectations of being close to nature. The island has had 52% below-average rainfall this year even the Waimea Waterfalls were dry much to our disappointment. Linda the owner was very solicitous to our needs and followed up to make sure we had everything we needed. We found it very convenient to travel around the island from this location.We would certainly recommend this property - it is a very good deal for the price.
- Guest Peter and Lynn
- Date of stay 12/09/12
- Review Submitted 12/19/12
photos are accurate
photos are accurate
If you look closely, you'll see there's no washer, dryer, dishwasher or even a drying rack for wet towels, etc. (The clean towels smelled pretty musty) And cabinet & counter space in the kitchen is pretty limited. Also limited is the selection of cooking pots and utensils -- very basic, at best. We could have used a teapot, pancake griddle, containers for leftovers, extra coffee mugs, vegetable steamer, grater, eggbeaters. We expected a higher level of quietness and serenity -- There are two barking dogs almost under the kitchen window and some noisy neighbors and even an occasional gunshot. We didn't feel like lounging and spent our daylight hours seeing the sights of the north and windward coasts -- kite boarding at Kailua beach and surfing at Waimea, the excellent (and free!) Hoomaluhia botanical garden, the challenging trails of Kahana valley state park -- and of course the Polynesian Cultural Center (afternoon programs were genuine; the evening was Las Vegas style).
- Guest Steve
- Date of stay 11/24/12
- Review Submitted 12/01/12
Recommended for: Sightseeing, adventure seekers.
Owner response: Thank you for your comments, we're sorry this rental wasn't up to your expectations. This property is "within" the boundary of the Waiahole Rainforest therefore the City/County restricts us in the amount of waste water we can generate (ie: no additional laundry & dishwasher for the guest accommodation). I'm sorry that you felt the kitchen was inadequately supplied. We do provide dish service & glassware for 4, silverware for 8, pots, pans, cooking utensils, cutting boards, colander, toaster, blender, bake ware, Pyrex containers, microwave as well as a full size fridge and stove. Unfortunately, it is only a studio with very limited cabinet & drawer space and not a full house with a lot of room for all of the items you requested (cheese grater, eggbeater, pancake griddle, teapot, etc.). We were very surprised to read that you found this property noisy (dogs, neighbors, gunshots???) We have never had anyone else complain or post any noise issues about the dogs or the neighbors (they do have a party on occasion) both whom have always been there; actually the majority of our other comments all say how peaceful and serene they found the neighborhood of Jurassic Park to be. We suggest to our potential guests that they read further into the comments because just like Trip Adviser, there will always be a few guests who will be hard to please or expect a lot for $95.00. We have many, many other guest comments that are all 5-Star. If you are expecting luxury or a gourmet kitchen then this likely isn't the rental for you. If you want a beautiful view, peace and quiet (there are 43 comments that talk about how quiet it is) at a fantastic price then check out this great studio.
Our Rain Forest Experience
Our Rain Forest Experience
The owner was very helpful answering our questions and providing directions. The picture listed with this rental is pretty much what you see from the bedroom and you do feel like being in the jungle. Unfortunately, there wasnt enough rain fall to produce waterfalls (like pictured) when we were there. The nights were quiet and listening to the rain that fell was relaxing. There are a couple of dogs and cats who are very friendly to visitors. If you are looking for a location away from the big city and amenities, this is it. Then again, it took us about 30 minutes each weekday morning just to get into town because of heavy traffic. On the down side, we found this rental really needed a major cleaning and minor maintanance issues addressed. Because of that, we would not recommend this rental until the unit had a good going over.
- Guest Tim & Amy
- Date of stay 10/26/12
- Review Submitted 11/03/12
Owner response: Aloha and thank you for your helpful comment. We only wish that you had advised us about the unit not being cleaned properly as soon as you arrived instead of just putting up with it. Had we known about the inadequate cleaning job we would have had the studio serviced again immediately. We have since repaired the "minor maintenance issues" you mentioned (phone not working and broken pull cord on the kitchen shade). We went and gave the rental a good inspection and agree that the cleaning service service have done a better job. We have now employed a different cleaner and I have been checking with each new guest, since your stay in Oct. and there seems to be no issues now with the rental being clean and tidy. If a guest ever finds any of our units not properly cleaned or has any issues what so ever then please notify us immediately as we pride ourselves in providing clean and well furnished rentals at an affordable price. Mahalo, Linda Martin
You don't want to leave!
You don't want to leave!
First of all, if you're reading my review, you do what I do when searching for that perfect property for your much anticipated vacation. Our stay at Ken and Linda's Jurassic Park home was nothing short of paradise. You see the pictures, the amenities and everything looks wonderful but are leery upon arrival. Let me begin by telling you that the pictures DON'T do the property justice. If you are looking for the peaceful and serene beauty that encompasses the spirit of Hawaii, you need to reserve your dates right away because they book fast! If you want to wake up with tropical birds singing, a rain that makes the air smell fresher than you could ever imagine and rainbows IN your backyard; look no further. You stay at the end of a cul de sac and there is more than enough room for two people. If you want to stay in and make dinner, go on a beautiful walk in a magnificent neighborhood, or just take some time for ultimate relaxation, this is your place. Every detail is thought of to make your stay as comfortable as possible in your Hawaiian 'home away from home'. We will definitely be back for the comfy, private home and the beauty to experience. Two weeks wasn't enough so we will have to come back and are already excited to do so! Mahalo Linda and Ken!
- Guest Jordana B
- Date of stay 09/18/12
- Review Submitted 10/01/12
Recommended for: Age 55+, sightseeing, romantic getaway.
Owner response: Thank you so much for your eloquent review and all your kind words about our vacation rental. We are always pleased when our accommodations exceed the expectations our our guests. Mahalo for your stay and your sincere comment. Aloha Oe' (until we meet again). Linda & Ken
* Non-Smoking Guest Accomdation. * Hawaii State Taxes will be added. * Rental Rates .. $95/night .. $665/week, 2 guests maximum * One-time Cleaning fee of $60 is required. * $200. per/week deposit required when placing reservation. * Balance due in full, 30 days prior to arrival. Hawaii License #W01460418-01 * Refund on deposit in full w/cancel notice more than 45 days prior to check-in. * Forfeiture of deposit for cancellations of LESS than 45 days notice. *100% forfeiture of all monies paid for cancellation of less than 30 days notice.
Note: Until confirmed, rates are subject to change without notice.
This owner accepts: Credit cards.
Call the owner directly to confirm reservation details and pay with an approved method (credit card, check, or bank transfer), to protect your payment up to $1,000.
Rain brings majestic waterfalls! This is the great view from your bedroom &
Come home to a comfy Queen Serta mattress after a day exploring or snorkeling.
Hawaiian decor along with antique photos of Waikiki and Oahu adorn the walls.
Complete electric kitchen...Cook dinner or just blend some fresh fruit smoothies
A full size couch is located in the kitchen along with a second 20" color TV.
Lie undercover in a rope hammock and watch the waterfalls miraculously appear.
Original floor plan to view your, bedroom/studio, separate kitchen, bath & Deck
White ribbons of water free-fall as they plummet straight down the KoOlau's face
Giant tropical 6 foot tall Heliconia grow wild around the backyard.
The aroma of the fragrant yellow ginger fills the early morning stillness
Sunrise at "Chinaman's Hat" is a spectacular site, only 10 min. down the road.
Polynesian Cultural Center is a short 30 min. drive and a must see activity.
Light mist or rain will bring beautiful rainbows to these stunning mountain,
Lots of drawers & closet or just use our suitcase stand. 26" Flat Screen TV
Enjoy dining on your lanai (deck) overlooking the spectacular KoOlau mountains
Large Kitchen with a Full size refrigerator & Electric stove, Microwave, 20" TV
Bathroom has a shower, large tile counter top and a built in hair dryer.
Sip a Mai Tai while relaxing on your lounge chairs with unbelievable views.
Unobstructed KoOlau mountain views from your bedroom and lanai (deck).
Even the outdoor cat likes to "Hang Loose". This is a great spot to just relax.
Wake up to Native Hawaiian birds singing & the sounds of the jungle Java Sparrow
The Windward side has clear blue water & majestic KoOlau Mountains. *Not view
Pearl Harbor is a must see just a short 20 min. drive from the property.
Drive Oahu's beautiful Windward Coastline up to the famous North Shore, 45+ min.
There have been visitors to this page since
the counter was last reset in .
This listing was first published here in 2004.
Date last modified - Wednesday, April 03, 2013