Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Remodeled Garden View Retreat Steps from Charley Young Beach

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Garden view 1 Bedroom + Murphy Bed, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4)

Welcome to our recently remodeled and refurnished garden-view unit at Maui Vista. Maui Vista is ideally situated in south Kihei, across the street from Charley Young Beach (Kamaole Beach Park I), which is a great beach for swimming, snorkeling, walking, and more. The gentle waves and soft sand make it welcoming to all ages. Maui Vista features six tennis courts, three swimming pools, and three BBQ areas, all within steps of our unit.

Our unit is a quiet retreat located in the back of the complex, away from the street. This is the place our family goes to enjoy a quiet and relaxing vacation within walking distance of great restaurants, shopping and of course the beach.

The unit features a master bedroom with a queen-sized bed and a Murphy bed in the living room, comfortably sleeping a total of 4 people. The kitchen and bathroom feature granite counter tops and solid maple cabinets along with updated furnishings in the living and bedroom areas.

Please feel free to contact us with any questions about this unit and we hope we can share our beautiful vacation spot with you!

Hawaii tax ID# W-30376848-01

More Details

Owner
Gurukar S Khalsa
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
September 21, 2017

About Gurukar S Khalsa

My wife and I live an hour north of San Francisco near the coast on a family farm. We have 4 grown children and 2 grandchildren so far (our son and grandson are pictured on the surfboard just off Kamaole Beach across the street from the condo). I am a general contractor and my wife works at our local community clinic. She also grows a variety of fruit which she makes into jam and sells to local stores. We make it down to Kihei 1 to 3 times a year and have had some great family vacations there.

Gurukar S Khalsa purchased this condo in 2003

Why Gurukar S Khalsa chose South Maui

We first visited Maui on our honeymoon in 1974 and have enjoyed going back over the years. When looking to buy a condo we found Maui Vista to have all the things we were looking for - convenient access to a family-friendly beach, beautiful grounds, tennis courts, and walking distance to great restaurants and shopping.

Amenities

Kihei Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Elevator
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Murphy Beds (1) Tastefully designed to look just like the other cabinets in the living room. You wouldn't know it was there!
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
3 outdoor showers, 6 full size tennis courts, 3 Barbecue areas, Outdoor eating area, On-site Activities Desk

Reviews

3.7/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
20% Complete
Remodeled Garden View Retreat Steps from Charley Young Beach
average rating of 3.7 based on 10 reviews
1

Look for another place. This condo wasn't very good.

  • 1 of 5

The toilet and bath tub stopped working on the Saturday evening we stayed in this unit, and the property manager couldn't get a plumber in until mid-morning the next day. As a result, we had to drive to a public restroom at McDonalds before we went to bed, and then again in the morning. I recognize these things happen, but when you're on vacation and you've paid to rent a condo, it seems like it's fair to expect the bathroom to work, and if a major problem arises you might expect the landlord to offer some form of compensation -- or at least an apology for the inconvenience. We checked out of the unit 11 days ago and haven't heard anything back from them. I emailed earlier this week to ask them to consider refunding one night of our stay, and they haven't bothered to respond to my email. At least acknowledge our family's inconvenience while in the condo and tell me you're not going to do anything to make up for the problems we had with the place. I'm not very impressed, and I wouldn't recommend this place at all.

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was an unfortunate situation in which the plumbing in our unit was impacted by a larger building issue. Our property manager was available and did everything she could at the time to address the situation. Since the issue could not be resolved immediately, we decided to refund the guests for their last night. For some reason the refund and message to the guest did not go through the first time, which prompted the renter to write this negative review. He has since been refunded, but has not responded to our messages.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Way too dirty

  • 1 of 5

I normally dont complain but.....

This is Not the place I will like to come back to, after letting the homeowner know of a few problems and lack of cleanlliness, it was sad not to get an answer from homeowner. Tv is to old and DVD and remote didnt even work.

Visiting Maui was great but I would not recommend staying where that deyer vent its not conected right so you got fuzz all over the place dont waist your $ because this place its not something worth it!

  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
4

Great Spot for the Family

  • 4 of 5

We had a great time here. The condo itself is not super fancy, but the Murphy bed makes it feel spacious. We appreciated that it was well stocked- including snorkel gear & boogie board, umbrella & chairs. (I hate when you rent a condo and there isn't even salt and pepper) There were plenty of towels & extra sheets. The condo complex is a tennis players dream, but the pool is rather small. This unit is at the end of the hall which was very nice (so you don't hear every person coming & going) It was in the 3rd building, which is farther from the road, but I imagine quieter. We (family of 4, including a 5 & 6 year old) walked to the beach across the street, not far at all, but we did prefer driving to other beaches. I would highly recommend this condo, well stocked & you can not beat the price.

  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2015
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Condo to take the family

  • 5 of 5

This was a great condo for our family of 4. Both beds were very comfortable, second bed was a Murphy bed. Condo had everything we needed and more. Great to have little things like salt and pepper, sugar and paper towels also laundry soap all provided. Everything needed to cook at the condo and entertain friends. Great location, nice and quiet, close to everything you would need to walk to, beach or stores. This condo was a perfect fit for our families vacation.

I would defiantly recommend this condo and I will book this condo again next year.

It was also very easy working with the owner and he was very quick to respond to my questions.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
4

Good unit

  • 4 of 5

I have stayed at the Maui Vista six times and would rent this unit again for the following reasons: 1. It was very clean 2. The master bedroom bed was very comfortable. 3. The Murphy bed was so convenient. 4. The beach gear was awesome, including fins, snorkels, good quality boogie boards, and chairs and umbrella. 5. The kitchen was well stocked. Although, the DVD player tray would not open, this wasn't an issue because there were so many other things to do at this location. Be sure to check out Bistro 808 during your stay in Kihei.

Calgary, AB

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Awesome time in Maui with great accomodations to boot

  • 5 of 5

Easy to work with owner on booking. The condo is exactly as pictured. The unit has a nice and quiet location being second to last unit at the end of the hallway. No noise from parking lot either due to being set back far enough. Liked the included paper towels, laundry detergent and just what we needed as far as small appliances and the well stocked kitchen. Used the cooler for our picnic trip up to Haleakala, beach towels for Molikini snorkel trip.

Lanai has nice private view due to tall Areca palms that block adjacent parking area. Nice green lawn view. Washer/dryer was great for washing our clothes after a day out and about. Plenty of parking for the rental car. Could actually take city bus to location from airport and get by with no car at all due to everything within walking distance. Can book trips and activities at the condo office if needed. Saw security cruising the parking lot at night on a golfcart. Not sure if it is 24/7 though.

The pull down bed for the kids worked out perfect. The wifi was a plus with all of our cell phones and laptop to connect to and keep track of emails and the kids to watch their videos and play games. Cable TV with DVD player worked great. Had alot of channels. The condo location in Kihei made it easy to walk over to Charley Young beach, the Cove Park as well as numerous bars, resturaunts and grocery. Had some good meals at Coconut's, Moose's, Cafe O'Lei. Good drinks at the Triangle area and shopped at Foodland, Long's Drugs.

Defintely recommend this condo for familly with two, maybe even three kids. Big couch could be used for the third kid or smaller adult. Not ocean view/oceanfront but the money we saved was used for fun activities and some great food experiences on Maui and around Kihei.

  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Kahalui (OGG)
Nearest Beach
0.1 Miles
Kamaole Beach Park II
Car: recommended

Maui Vista is located across the street from Kamaole Beach Park I (Charley Young Beach), which is one of three beach parks in south Kihei that are all connected with walking paths perfect for a morning or sunset stroll. Each of these beaches offer soft white sand, gentle waves for swimming or boogie boarding, and small reefs at each end for snorkeling. You can walk to restaurants, grocery stores, and shops.The Shops at Wailea are a 10 min. drive for shopping, live entertainment, and great restaurants.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $95
Damage Deposit $250

The Condo complex is non smoking except in designated outdoor locations.

CANCELLATION: If you cancel your reservation prior to 45 days before arrival date we will refund your deposit minus a $75 cancellation fee. If you cancel less than 45 days prior to your arrival date we will refund up to 90% of your rental amount if we are able to re book your dates. The refund amount will depend on how many of the booked dates can be re booked.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties