Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Affordable Quality on Beautiful St John Virgin Islands

Sleeps5
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Cottage, Studio, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-3)

Peaceful Cottage is nestled inside the cool and shady tropical rain forest of beautiful St John. Just a few minutes walk or drive away from great trail hikes down to some of the most beautiful beaches in the world.

Peaceful Cottage offers quick and easy access to National Park trails, beaches, shopping, and bars. Situated under the tropical forest canopy, surrounded by big old trees with creepers winding up the trunks, the temperature is always pleasantly just right, always a few degrees cooler than at the beach. A little sun trickles through the treetops but it's never too hot, never too cool. When you're ready for more sun, the beaches are not far away! The air is fresh and pure -- truly a most peaceful environment.

The location is a very private and fenced-in cul-de-sac on Gift Hill, not far from Fork in the Road.

The cottage is very competitively priced for St John and offers excellent value for your dollar. It is geared toward people who are looking to be surrounded by the stunning natural scenery, the sounds of crickets and frogs and geckos, and scents of the rain forest. After a day spent exploring the island's treasures (the petroglyphs, the mill ruins, hiking trails, reefs and beaches) and experiencing myriad sun-drenched and water-quenched activities you'll come back to a quiet, cool, and restful home-away-from-home.

A cot is available for a third person or child.

Beach towels and mats are available for your use.

Outdoor smoking is OK. Your pet is welcome, though larger dogs might be intimidated by one very friendly Jack Russell terrier ....

Keywords: SPECIAL ... SPECIAL ... SPECIAL

LESS 10% when paying with cash or travelers checks included in advertised price.

LESS 10% when paying with cash or travelers checks included in advertised price.

More Details

Owner
Trevor
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response rate:
0%
Calendar last updated:
August 21, 2017

About Trevor

Me??!!

I think it all about you and satisfying your vacation wants!!

This I enjoy doing ...

Why Trevor chose Cruz Bay

If you want a peaceful, relaxing, comfortable, new, clean, safe, conveniently cental, good value, extra perks ....

What makes this cottage unique

'Unattached' Caribbean cottages the perfect for 1 couple, two couples or young family.

Amenities

Estate Glucksberg and Grunwald Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
General:
  • Activities Guide
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Local Activities Guide
  • Local Maps
  • Local Restaurant Guide
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Parking On Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Kitchenette
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Shared Kitchen
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 5
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Towels
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Sailboat
Suitability:
  • suitable for elderly or infirm
Onsite Services:
  • Car Available
  • Car Optional
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • rain forests
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(55 traveler reviews)

89% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
Affordable Quality on Beautiful St John Virgin Islands
average rating of 4.818182 based on 55 reviews
5

We loved it!

  • 5 of 5

My wife and I plus three kids (ages 8, 11, and 15) spent a week in the larger cottage and really enjoyed it. Accommodations were very clean with a great outdoor kitchen and deck. This isn't staying at a resort so don't expect those types of amenities. But if you want to stay in a nice cottage in the woods and understand that you are not getting maid service, this is it. We have previously camped at Maho and this is more comfortable than that and just as peaceful. Trevor is easy to work with and very happy to help with any needs there or elsewhere on the island. All linens including beach towels were provided and we also took advantage of using one of the "loaner" vehicles on premises.

  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for coming guys and your kind words. You're a wonderful family and I'm so glad you enjoyed your vacation.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
2

You get what you pay for!

  • 2 of 5

I would spend a few more $$ per night unless you're OK with lots of bugs, smelly cistern water, dirty linen and soured towels. Host was a bit gruff towards my wife and I after we forgot to cover the SUV. Owner became visibly angry, and acted out; at which point we didn't feel very safe there. Not sure where all the 5 star reviews are coming from.

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Then you should do that. I personally love my little rustic Caribbean cottages in the tropical forest of St John. However I'm bias and that's why i always ask my prospective guests to read the reviews because of their detail, honesty and what they have to say about their stay. I'm sorry to hear you were unhappy. Perhaps if you had mentioned something to me while you were here I could've have rectified some of your grievances. One thing for sure that with a washer dryer on property the linen is washed weekly and twice weekly so I didn't agree with that criticism. So I find your criticisms harsh, exaggerated and simply untrue. Also considering the cottages are totally screened. At night if you leave a light on and the door open, bugs will come in. That's anywhere in the tropics 24/7 and 365 days in the year. I lent you my spare car and all I asked in return was to cover it at night which takes 1 minute in appreciation for that convenience. Pretty good deal and at less than half the price you might've paid elsewhere. There were about 50 reviews at the time you booked illustrating in detail the pros and cons of peaceful cottages. I would suggest that you read at least some reviews before you choose your next vacation to ensure your compatibility with the advertised location. I feel that the reason that I get a lot of 5 * reviews is because these folks have taken the time to read and research their choices. You see unlike you, there are many folks who love these rustic cottages, just like me. Nice to know!! Better luck next time. Trevor
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

A taste of real living on St John

  • 5 of 5

In March 2016 my husband and I spent a week on St Thomas, and visited St John for a day. That day trip was the best day of the week....I fell in LOVE with St John. So we booked the week after Xmas 2016 for a week on St John. We really had no idea what to expect for the lodging, and honestly were a bit disappointed there was no "view" but the price was right and Trevor was great to work with as we set up our reservations. It was a GREAT week, and not only do I love St John even more than I did, and would move there if I could, but the uniqueness and authenticity of where we stayed was beautiful. We were not in a resort, and not with a bunch of other "tourists"....but with real people who live on the island. The drive in was quite daunting, (wow what a driveway) and things could be updated a bit, but I loved the experience in Peaceful Cottages. The price is more than great, for not only the lodging but for the car rental as well. We were able to go all over the island and enjoy every second. I was thrilled to hear the sounds of nature every night and morning. Trevor was so helpful and accommodating. My 11 year old daughter adored Jackie the dog...and I am surprised she didn't try to take him along with us home. Having the outdoor kitchen was such a lovely experience, and nice to have the accommodations to eat in if we wished. The bed was very comfortable...we slept well and sound...especially after our active days. I highly suggest eating at Morgan's Mango...and desserts at the Ocean Grill are out of this world. Snorkeling at Waterlemon Cay is a MUST...especially at the small beach after you hike in. And our favorite beach is Cinnamon Bay. :) Thank you Trevor for the wonderful trip, and memories we will cherish! We have already referred your place to others considering an island visit.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great Spot!

  • 5 of 5

Peaceful Cottages turned out to be a great place to stay. We stayed in the larger of the two cottages and found it the be very comfortable with plenty of living space both indoors and out. Trevor was an excellent host providing great service and information. We were able to book a boat rental through his service and the available "loaner" vehicle was great for getting around the island. It was a pleasure to see his goodwill embassador "Jackie" everyday as well.

We stayed for a week and had a great time. We would highly recommend Peaceful Cottages.

  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
5

This place is great!

  • 5 of 5

My daughter and I stayed at here for a week, enjoying a new beach adventure each day. I advise anyone who comes to bring their own snorkeling equipment, as it is a perfect place for snorkeling, and you will want well-fitting comfortable equipment because you will be wearing it for many hours. We saw sea turtles, octopus, squid, starfish, sting rays, shellfish, and many corals and other types of fish. We also borrowed the Suburu for the week and loved every minute of the freedom it gave us to explore. This place was excellent. It had everything we needed for a perfect St. John vacation. We give it two thumbs up and hope to return soon.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Peaceful Cottage - Very Appropriately Named!

  • 5 of 5

St. John is our favorite place on Earth - so beautiful! We have been to the island several times through cruises and our third time renting a place. This particular vacation was just fantastic. We stayed in the studio cottage and it was just perfect for the two of us. Very clean, roomy and comfortable. Very quiet and private. Trevor (the owner) was very helpful and friendly. His dog, Jackie came to say good morning which was a great start to the day! We would recommend Peaceful Cottages to anyone and would definitely stay here again. Truly spectacular!

  • Submitted: Feb 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Map

Car: recommended

COME TO TREVOR'S ACTIVITY CENTER IN MONGOOSE JUNCTION CRUZ BAY

FOR ALL FUN BOATING, FISHING, SCUBA,.SAILING, POWER BOATING, KAYAKING,

OR FOR ISLAND INFORMATION ... CALL 340 715-4944 NOW!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

I have car that can be borrowed with a maintenance cost of $40 p/day. Your insurance must cover you to drive anybodies car on a US Territory.

Prices listed are for cash or travelers checks only. No deposit. Hold with credit card. Payment on arrival.
Please add about 12% to prices when paying with credit card or check. 50% deposit and balance upon arrival.
One time housekeeping cost of $70.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties