Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Oceanview, private pool, 5 acres of avocados! Gorgeous coffee district jewel!

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 5
Bathrooms3
Space 3,800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 - 12 nights

Overview

About the property

Paradise! 6 Bed, 4 Bath (sleeps up to 12), ocean view, private infinite pool.

PLEASE CHECK OUR CALENDAR for availability and review the posted rates for cost estimates. WE NOW ACCEPT PAYPAL!

WE'VE EXPANDED and can now offer a 6th bedroom with private bath ocean views (a great couples retreat)! This ohana room is only available with the rest of the property and is an extra $125 per night!

Set on the slopes of Mauna Loa in the heart of the coffee district of Captain Cook, our 3800 sq ft home rests on 5 acres of manicured avocado and coffee orchards at 1800 ft elevation and boasts a 180 degree view of the ocean.

Five bedrooms (including 2 master suites with ocean views) and 3 bathrooms comfortably sleeping 10 adults. We have an additional ohana room for bigger families. Gourmet kitchen, 3 big screen TVs, stereo sound system throughout the house, and pocket doors open the entire house to the outdoors! A beautiful stone patio with an infinite swimming pool and hot tub, outdoor barbeque and seating, and gas-powered tiki torches give you the perfect place to enjoy the tropical sun and colorful sunsets!

Master Suite - the main master suite is the only room located on the second floor. Private lanai wraps the bedroom for 180 degree views of the ocean, pool, orchard and mountain slopes. The suite contains a luxurious king size bed, sitting area, wood burning fireplace and big screen TV. The bathroom is exquisite with double lavatories, custom cabinets, and double-head shower for two!

Second Master Suite - this room contains a king size bed, walk in closet, sitting area and 50' TV. It is decorated in a tropical surf theme and has completely retractable glass doors leading to the pool. Private bath with shower is attached.

Three additional bedrooms - one bedroom contains two twin beds and is decorated in an Asian/Moroccan theme. Absolutely wonderful! The other two bedrooms contain queen beds and boast muted palm tree decor and hawaiian-themed bedding. Two of these room share an attached bathroom with shower and tub.

Ohana - this room is separate from the main house and has its own full bath and kitchenette. It has a queen bed and is decorated in calming blue. Its over looks the property and has an ocean view. This room is only available with rental of the main house and is an extra fee of $125 per night.

Living Area - the living areas are wonderful with comfortable seating, another big screen TV, stereo system throughout the house and pool, retractable glass doors that lead out to the pool, Asian influenced decor, and dining room seating for 14.

Kitchen - fully-stocked gourmet kitchen is large enough for multiple cooks with stainless steel appliances including sub-zero refrigerator/freezer, Electrolux dishwasher, Jennair grill, oven, microwave, stove, trash compactor, filtered water, breakfast nook, and island with seating. Laundry room contains top-end LG washer and dryer.

Grounds - one mile up from Hwy 11 through lush tropical scenery (paved road completely accessible in any vehicle), the house is gated and completely private. The acreage is beautifully manicured and boasts over 60 avocado tress, dozens of coffee trees and various fruit trees and is surrounded by foliage of every kind. The house rests inside yet another gate and encloses 1/2 acre with a lava rock wall. The infinite pool and hot tub look out to the ocean and are completely surrounded by a patio perfect for entertaining, lounging about and enjoying the tropical sun!

Surrounding area - Captain Cook is a small town just 15 minutes south of Kailua-Kona. There is a grocery store and restaurants near by. A few minutes down the mountain is Kealekakua Bay (Captain Cook's monument) and some of the best snorkeling and kayaking in the world; Pu'uhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park better known as the City of Refuge; and Volcano National Park is just 90 miles south.

Climate - Due to our higher elevation, Pu'u Mahana is a perfect temperature of 75-80 during the day and 65-75 at night. In the morning as the sun rises, a breeze comes down from the mountain and in the evening a refreshing breeze blows up from the sea. Every room has ceiling fan to keep the air circulating and comfortable all throughout the year! No A/C necessary but bring a light jacket for cooler evenings.

Capacity - The house will comfortably sleep 10 adults (2 king size beds, 2 queen size beds, and 2 twins). The extra ohana room will sleep an additional 2 adults with a queen bed.

Beach access - Pu'u Mahana is located on the mauka (mountain) side of the highway and is just 15 minutes from City of Refuge and Kealakekua Bay (amazing snorkeling). In Kona visit Magic Sands and Kahalu'u, a short 20 minute drive from our property. The most pristine golden sand beaches on the island are located north of the airport and take just 45 minutes; Hapuna State Park, Kua Bay and Kekaha.

Come and enjoy our home away from home. This is Pu'u Mahana, our place of refuge and peace. We extend Aloha to you and your ohana!

If you need more information feel free to call Jeni at (425)576-1408

Mahalo nui!

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Jeni Herberger
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 13, 2017

About Jeni Herberger

We spent 2 years living in this beautiful home nestled in the slopes of Mauna Loa with our 3 kids. Business and education brought us back to the mainland recently but we have every intention of moving back to paradise some day soon. Enjoy our home in our absence! Aloha!

Jeni Herberger purchased this house in 2006

Why Jeni Herberger chose Kona Coast

Kona has long been a favorite place of ours and when the opportunity presented itself for us to relocate, this was our first choice. We fell in love with the home, the land and the peace and beauty the property offers.

What makes this house unique

Our friends, guests and ohana tell us they don't want to leave the property once they arrive. Everything you could imagine is right there; a resort-style pool, acres of fruit trees, an open house with incredible decor! Simply ono!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Yes, we would like to visit again. Pu'u Mahana is a beautiful place. It has just the right mix of comfort and quietude we were seeking. It is also more of the real Hawaii. The two weeks of doing little passed quickly and many of our planned sightseeing and other activities did not get done. So, there is still much to do next time.
Jan 2009
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Captain Cook House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Alarm Clock
  • Basic Soaps
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Filtered Water
  • Fireplace
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Laundry Soap
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Shampoo
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Water Cooler
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Grinder
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Grill
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Lobster Pot
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • Lanai master bath -
    Pool side bath -
    Guest bath -
Bedrooms:
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Lanai master suite - 1 king , Full bath, lanai with ocean view, sitting area with TV
    Palm room - 1 queen , Shared attached bath
    Aloha room - 1 queen , Secluded room at back of home
    Moroccan room - 2 twin/ single , Shared attached bath
    Poolside master suite - 1 king , Attached full bath, opens to pool, ocean view, TV
  • King size beds (2), Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Books for Adults
  • Books for Kids
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Barbecue
  • Beach Chairs
  • Beach Towels
  • Deck / Patio
  • Gated Community
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Large Cooler
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Outdoor Grill Gas
  • Patio
  • Porch / Veranda
  • Small Cooler
  • Unscreened Porch / Veranda
  • Water Sports Gear
  • 10 garden chairs
  • 4 beach chairs
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • Low Allergen Environment
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Hot Tub
  • Outdoor Pool
  • Private Pool
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • library
  • reefs
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • volcano
  • waterfalls
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(25 traveler reviews)

Oceanview, private pool, 5 acres of avocados! Gorgeous coffee district jewel!
average rating of 4.8 based on 26 reviews
5

Amazing experience!!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay at Captain Cook. The flora, the temperature, the beautiful home, pool, hot tub and plenty of room for our family and extended family. My first time in Hawaii, and it couldn't have been a better experience or more beautiful property!

  • Submitted: Apr 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tangent, OR
5

Absolutely Wonderful

  • 5 of 5

Jeni, your home was wonderful. We all enjoyed our stay, enjoying the pool, hot tub, 5 acres of avocados and fruit trees, chickens and roosters, views and comfortable surroundings. Our time here far exceeded our expectations. Your home accommodated a large family and we would recommend to anyone. Your home showed the same aloha spirit we found on the island. Loved the big island too.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

great location

  • 4 of 5

Celebrated our 50th anniversary with our family members and found that with renting the optional room, the house accommodated 8 adults and three children very well. The weather at this elevation was perfect - without the beach side humidity! The house is close to many beaches and excellent snorkeling and also an easy day trip to Volcano National Park. The swimming pool and hot tub were perfect and this old man was quite content to relax around pool while the younger among us took off for various exciting forays. Luaus at the various resorts are close enough to enjoy as well.

Our only real complaint was that the garbage cans were nearly all full when we arrived and we had to take recyclables to a recycling center near the airport in order to have disposal space. The trash was not emptied the entire time we were there. Also, it is now 5 weeks since we were there and no word on a security deposit refund as of this date. This delay can be possibly be attributed to the holidays and we all are extremely busy at this time. OUR FAMILY MEMBERS ALL WANT TO RETURN IN 2017 AND WE ARE NOW LOOKING AT THE CHRISTMAS-NEW YEAR TIME FRAME.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sad to see a four star review as we work so hard to provide a five star experience. Rural big island does not have garbage service and all garbage must be carried away by the property owner to a transfer station. Unfortunately, if guests do not inform us as to the levels of garbage or any items that were not right upon their arrival, there is little we can do. We never expect our guests to remove their own garbage, but we do appreciate good communication and an effort towards minimizing garbage. We typically remove garbage once per week and especially need our guests with large ohanas to notify us if the garbage becomes excessive. Also, we work hard to return security deposits quickly and have found that those who pay via credit card make it the easiest to do. Given both Christmas & New Years fell on Sundays and our own holiday plans, we fell about two weeks behind. Apologies to our guests when ever this happens. William, we do hope to see you and your ohana again at the property and are very glad you loved the property as much as we do!
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
Washington
5

Best vacation spot!

  • 5 of 5

Where do I start? Getting to the property was an adventure to be remembered. A one lane (paved) road up the mountain took us through awesome tropical greenery. Just when you thought you’d passed the property and would end up lost in the jungle, the gate to the property appears! Driving up the tree-lined drive just made us more excited about our stay. The property is gorgeous, and the house is really cool.

The pool is nice and warm with water falls over the edge, black bottom and honu mosaics. We spent most of our time in the pool during the day. When our friends would head into town, my wife and I enjoyed a little nude sunbathing! The patio was great for dinner, drinks, and a sunset dip in the hot tub. The outdoor grill and tiki torches were a nice touch.

We had two masters bedrooms and a nearby ohana room which gave us plenty of private time, all three having great views. Waking up to a chorus of birds every morning reminded you where you were. The beds were super high quality and, according to my wife, the house was beautifully decorated. We enjoyed the huge kitchen and made sure we got lots of fresh seafood from Costco and produce from the farmers markets (one was on Saturdays right by the house).

We had a few issues with the dishwasher but the owner was quick to respond. Everything else was perfect! Jeni made the process easy and was super helpful to share information about the area and offer recommendations.

This house was easily big enough for 10 people but I’ll tell you we enjoyed being three couples just lodging about. We ventured out to a few beaches (lots of beach supplies were provided), had dinner at a cool restaurant called Holuakoa Café, lunched in town at Humpy’s and Huggo’s, and grabbed beers at the Harbor House in Honokohau Marina. Kona Brewery is another great place but get there early or you will wait forever.

All in all, probably one of our best vacations! When we come back to the islands, this is where we will come. If we could give it 10 stars we would.

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bellingham, WA
5

Wow! Wow! Wow!

  • 5 of 5

I recently ventured to Pu'u Mahana with my family, the property was amazing and the owner was a delight to work with and made our experience that much better! I stayed in one of the beautiful master rooms with an en suite right off the pool, what a way to wake up and start my day. The infinity pool, is beautiful and large and obviously well maintained. Turtles are etched into the bottom and I've always wanted to swim with turtles in Hawaii! Birds also joined me on the edge of the pool to bathe while I enjoyed my morning Kona coffee that was in the welcome basket left by the owner. My family and I spent most of our five day vacation on the property relaxing with a few trips into town or to the beach. Finally, there was nothing like finishing off the day watching the sun set over the large view from the patio with a glass of wine, the tiki torches lit and the laughter of my family surrounding me. The amenities and property surpassed my expectations and made for a very peaceful stay!

  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The pool may be one of the nicest aspects of the property! Black bottom with both a shallow and deep end, two cascading waterfalls spilling over beach and lava rock. The turtle mosaics etched into the floor of the pool truly give you the feeling of swimming with the honu!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Chicago, IL
5

Wonderful, beautiful home

  • 5 of 5

We had the best time at this home. It was perfect for our group of 9 adults, 2 toddlers. The house was large enough for all of us to be together and yet have our own space. We overindulged on the delicious avocados, cooked family meals in the huge kitchen, and enjoyed nights under the stars in the pool and hot tub. This is one of the nicest vacation homes we had ever stayed in and we were all sad to leave. Being up on the volcano meant we had a wonderful view of sunsets and the stars. It was great to have the privacy of home.

As one of the other reviewers mentioned, it is colder up on the volcano than down by the beach but we enjoyed the cooler temperatures (especially compared to the negative temperatures back home). Kona was full of things to do and Captain Cook was a fun town for shopping and eating. We were there over New Year's Eve and the fireworks all over the island were spectacular to watch from poolside.

The owner Jeni was always available if we needed her. I really recommend this home for a big group looking to enjoy a trip to the Big Island.

  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad it was the experience you hoped for!! The cooler temperatures up on the mountain make it so nice! I personally love the breeze that comes from mauka (mountain) in the morning and maki (ocean) in the evening!
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Keahole Airport (KOA)
Nearest Beach
5 Miles
Kealekakua Bay
Nearest Point of Interest
Pu`uhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Kealakekua Bay State Historical Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Mauna Kea Observatories
Nearest Point of Interest
Waipio Valley
Car: necessary

Volcano National Park is just 85 miles from the property. Captain Cook's monument, Kealakekua Bay and City of Refuge are all nearby and a must see for visitors!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Captain Cook House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring Special 2017
Apr 15 2017 - May 31 2017
5 night minimum stay
$395
$9,500
 
 
Summer Season 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 14 2017
5 night minimum stay
$495
$10,000
 
 
Fall Special 2017
Sep 15 2017 - Nov 14 2017
5 night minimum stay
$395
$9,500
 
 
Winter Season 2017
Nov 15 2017 - Dec 19 2017
7 night minimum stay
$595
$14,000
 
 
Holiday Season 2017-2018
Dec 20 2017 - Jan 9 2018
12 night minimum stay
$595
 
 
Regular Season 2018
Jan 10 2018 - Apr 14 2018
5 night minimum stay
$495
$10,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$495
 

Additional information about rental rates

Energy surcharge $200
Cleaning fee $350
Tax Rate 11.25%

We offer a 10% discount for 10 days or longer!

Due to the high cost of energy and a drought, we charge $20 per day. This amount has been estimated at $150 but could go up or down depending on the length of your stay.

Paypal accepted (3% surcharge)

Rental Deposit - $500 (holds your reservation, refundable if cancelled 60 days before except holiday season)
50% due 60 days before arrival
50% due 30 days before arrival

Paypal accepted (3% surcharge)

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties