Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious Oceanview Custom Home Near Beaches, Golf. FREE WIFI, Parking, Phone

Bedrooms 3
Space 2,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 5)

NOTE: I respond to 100% of inquiries as quickly as possible; usually within minutes. This site is having problems with the response rate metrics for my account so please ignore them.

Why settle for a crowded condo when you can stay at a beautiful custom built home? You will be only minutes away from some of the top beaches, resorts and golf courses in the world!

From Alaua Hale (ah-la-uu-ah hah-lay) you'll enjoy beautiful ocean sunsets and views of the island of Maui, Kohala Mountains, Mauna Kea, Mauna Loa and Hualalai from this exquisite custom-built Waikola vacation rental house!

Although up to 5 guests can be accommodated, the floor plan, affordability and romantic ambiance make it very popular with couples too.

This very comfortable vacation home has everything you'll need. It is located in Waikoloa (pronounced: why-koh-low-ah) Village, on the west side of the Big Island, about 30 miles north of Kona. The island's best white sand beaches, championship golf courses and the Dolphin Quest at Hilton Waikoloa are only a short 10 minute drive away. And the house is very inexpensive compared to the resort hotels!

Relax on the large lanai and soak up the views. You'll really enjoy the manicured tropical landscaping.

We have provided free highspeed WiFi Internet access for those folks that want to bring a laptop computer to stay connected (and to share your awesome vacation photos)!

Discount golf passes are available for our guests at the Robert Trent Jones-designed golf course. This beautiful course is only a couple of minutes from the house.

Many of our guests are attending weddings or conventions at the resort hotels such as the Hilton Waikoloa or the Orchid at Mauna Lani.

Our Alaua Hale guests are also able to have free access to the swimming pool and tennis courts at Waikoloa Village Golf Course and can get a discount at the Robert Trent Jones, Jr. designed course.

Tax ID W01673016-01

Managed by:

Steve Marcotte

Principal Broker

Hawaii License Number RB-18115

Hawaii Second Homes

430 Lewers St

Honolulu, HI 96815


This beautiful home has been a vacation rental listed on VRBO for more than a decade. For years we listed comments from our guest books to share information with others. VRBO has recently moved those entries out of the Review area (for some reason). They are now located under the Owner information in the section named "Guestbook comments from the owner". We guarantee that those comments are all legitimate, unedited comments from guests over the years.

Partial stay in Waikiki?

If you want to spend part of your holiday in Honolulu, please consider our 1 bedroom unit at The Waikiki Banyan (VRBO Listing # 475820) or our 2 bedroom Penthouse in Waikiki (VRBO Listing # 491230).

More Details

Steve Marcotte
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, 日本語
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018

About Steve Marcotte

We have owned and managed Hawaii Vacation Rentals since 1993 and helped many thousands of guests to enjoy their stay in paradise. We are a boutique rentals and sales company that focus our attention on a small number of properties.

Steve is a real estate broker and has been licensed in Hawaii since 1999. Iku is a licensed real estate agent and a native Japanese speaker. We have traveled extensively and this gives us an understanding of what our guests need to make their stay enjoyable and safe. And being owners of rentals gives us the experience to help others buy and sell rentals and second homes.

We founded a vacation rental company named A Piece of Paradise on Hawaii Island (aka The Big Island) in 1996 and managed wonderful vacation homes in a special area named Kapoho. In 2011 we sold A Piece of Paradise and began relocating to Honolulu. A multi-year search for properties followed, and our hard work paid off!

In addition to managing our own properties we also love to help others buy their own piece of paradise in Hawaii. Even if you cannot live in Hawaii full time, It is a wonderful feeling to know that you have property is here and you can come whenever you want. And when you are not staying at your property the rent can help pay the bills.

Steve Marcotte Principal Broker Hawaii

License Number RB-18115

Hawaii Second Homes

430 Lewers St

Honolulu, HI 96815

Why Steve Marcotte chose Waikoloa Village

We chose this location because it is near some of the best beaches in the world, fantastic golf, and has gorgeous views. We like to go to the resorts and beaches that are only 10 minutes away and then come home to a quieter and more private and peaceful setting. Waikoloa is a very sunny area so almost every day is a good beach day. Because circumstances require that we now spend a lot of time in Japan we turned our home into a vacation rental so others could enjoy it.

What makes this house unique

The house is decorated with exotic items from my many travels such as batiks from Sri Lanka, antiques from many parts of the world and, of course, items from Japan. Our guests receive discounts for golf, easy access to some of Hawaii's best beaches, the fine restaurants at the resort hotels. You will know that you are not staying in a run-of-the-mill rental but a home that was custom built with love.

Guestbook comments from the owner

We thoroughly enjoyed the island. The house needs some maintenance such as the satelight working, fans in the bedroom functioning without worry of flight, and a rock hard King bed. It is a beautiful house.
Oct 2009
  • 1 of 21


Waikoloa Village House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Floor Area:
  • 2000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 5
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Master Bathroom - toilet , shower , Large bathroom in two sections. Double sinks, redwood walls,
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • Both bathrooms have redwood walls. Master has double sinks.
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 5
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , King bed with sitting area. Love seat and table.
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , The bed is a "hotel double": the length of a queen, the
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (2); one is a 'hotel double' (length of queen, width of double)
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • churches
  • duty free shops
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • snowboarding
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing
Japanese language reservations available via email


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(24 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
4% Complete
Spacious Oceanview Custom Home Near Beaches, Golf. FREE WIFI, Parking, Phone
average rating of 4.625 based on 45 reviews

Excellent value that provides all that is advertised.

  • 5 of 5

A clean house in a quiet neighborhood. Ideal for two couples with two children. Some fifteen minutes from the ocean but the rental price more than compensates. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Tulare CA

Great property, clean and spacious. Good communication with manager. I would go there again.

  • 5 of 5

Comfortable and spacious. Short drive to store and all of the restaurants in the Waikola beach area. Able to golf at waikola village course at discount.

  • Submitted: Feb 11, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Alpine, Ca

Perfect for us!

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful home, super comfortable and a wonderful place from which to explore the island. We would definitely recommend it to our friends and would go back in a heart beat. Steve was efficient and easy to communicate with, but there was little need, since everything was perfect for us!

  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Dirty, infested, and lacking amenities

  • 1 of 5

Surfaces were dirty, but moreover covered with ants. Ants were all over the counters, in the sink, window sills and swarmed our food. We had to throw out food. Amenities that were to be available and confirmed to be in the house were not available or were lacking severely. Just one example is 3 coffee filters for an 8 day stay. We had to spend money on supplies that are supposed to be available. No replies to emails addressing our concerns.

  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our excellent housekeeper guarantees her work and will come back to resolve any cleaning issue (although no one has ever complained about cleaning before). However you did not mention anything about cleaning in your email. You only asked about coffee filters. I replied right away to that email and told you our housekeeper's truck had just broken down and that I would reimburse you if you bought more coffee filters. You also did not mention ants in your email. Ants sometimes come inside if there is a lot of rain (which rarely happens here). They also are attracted to crumbs or food that is left open so food needs to be closed tight or put it in the refrigerator to prevent attracting them. Our goal since 1993 has been to provide a clean, safe, well-equipped home base for our guests' stay in paradise.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Property was like a cabin in Michigan with better views.

  • 4 of 5

The best way to stay on the Big Island. House was centrally located and away from all the traffic and tourism of Hilo and Kona. Volcano was about 90 min away. That’s the farthest tourist thing to do. Easy drive through Hilo. Stay away from Kona. Kona is a nice tourist trap with shops but very congested. Awesome beach 15 min from house.

House is very large with great views. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Beds are comfortable, linens are more cabin style. Bathrooms are large but shower heads are for someone under 5’7”. If your looking for a 5 star house this isn’t it. But if you want a great place to stay book it now without hesitation. The property is run first class.

  • Submitted: Jan 6, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay at our piece of paradise! Thanks for your comments about the linens; we have now replaced them. Aloha!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fort Collins, CO (for now)

Bright light house

  • 4 of 5

The house was spacious and light, easily accommodating us when there were five of us. The kitchen was well stocked. Steve was simply a text away if anything was needed. It was a minimalist house - simple and nice. I gave it 4 stars because we are a reading group with minimum TV watching. While each bedroom had bedside lamps and two rooms had chairs, there was no reading lamp in the living room making middle of the night reading, and not waking our partners, difficult. The ceiling lights are great however not for reading. The other issue I personally had was my search was for a rental ,we would have for 6 weeks, where we could sit on the Laini and watch the sunset on the ocean. This Vrbo had a picture that showed that, then the picture was gone. I was going to cancel the reservation when Steve showed me the picture again. My mistake was not asking if the pic was from the laini . It wasn't. With difficulty we could see the sun set. We also wanted a place outside where we could eat - it is Hawaii and the weather is outdoor weather. There was no table for outside eating so we purchased one. The sunset was my mistake in not asking specifically about that. The outside eating I did ask about having a table outside - I also figured we could simply move a table for meals, my mistake in not asking if there was a table we could use in that way.

  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2018
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
25 Miles
Kona International Airport (KOA)
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Banjy's Paradise Bar and Grill
Nearest Golf
1 Miles
Waikoloa Village Golf Course (discounts available)
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Banjy's Paradise Bar and Grill
Nearest Beach
9 Miles
Anaehoomalu Bay, Puako, HI ('A-Bay')

Scuba Diving, Dolphin Quest at Hilton Waikoloa, Whale watching, star gazing at Mauna Kea Visitor's Center, Lava viewing at Hawaii Volcanoes National Park, Farmers markets


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • From $155/nt
  • US Dollars
  • Nightly Rate: $155-$275 USD/night 3 night minimum stay required
  • Rates do not include 13.4166% Hawaii taxes, cleaning fee, and $35 damage waiver.
  • Please call or email for special rates on stays of more than 25 nights.
  • A 25% or $200 deposit (whichever is higher) is required to confirm a reservation.
  • The balance is due 90 days prior to arrival.
  • Payments may be made by major credit card.

You might like these similar properties