Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Charming 7 Bedroom Summer Home, Access to Sandy Cedar Beach

Sleeps19
Bedrooms 7
Bathrooms5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 7 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, sleeps 16-19

Extensive renovations have been completed on this beautiful home (all new bathrooms 2014)! The circa 1890 home has the true summer cottage feeling of Maine, with wood paneled walls, many antiques furnishings, quilts on the beds and much more! You will feel like you have stepped back in time. We also have modern comforts and conveniences though, like an updated kitchen, cozy TV room with large flatscreen TV with cable and WiFi, as well as DVD player and VCR and a wide variety of movies for the whole family.

There is a living room/dining room area which has a huge fireplace; beautiful renovated fully equipped kitchen; and 4 full bathrooms. Enjoy the large front porch, perfect to relax on and look out over a large yard in a private setting, prepare dinner on the gas grill, and spend time with your family and friends playing yard games.

The beautiful sandy beach is an easy 1/8 mile walk away (the beach is not handicap accessible, narrow path with ledges at the end). It has wonderful rocks for climbing; tide pools for hunting hermit crabs, snails, and sand dollars. At low tide, you are able to walk to a small island to search for other treasures of the sea!

The main house has 7 bedrooms and sleeps 16 in beds, 3 additional on a futon couch and rollaway bed. We have a very rustic apartment that may be added on to accommodate 4-5 additional guests for an additional fee.

If you are looking for a completely modernized home with AC and central heat, then this lovely home is not for you. But if you are looking to experience Maine and step back in time, this home will lend itself well to you and your family. It is the perfect spot for family reunions with plenty of space for everyone!

Keywords: House, beach

More Details

Owner
Terry and Sarah MacGillivray
Member since: 2002
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
August 12, 2017

About Terry and Sarah MacGillivray

We are a family of 5 and we have been vacationing on Bailey Island since 1962.

Terry and Sarah MacGillivray purchased this house in 1999

Why Terry and Sarah MacGillivray chose Portland & Casco Bay

We purchased the old Robinhood Inn back in 1999 because, as we said above, we had been vacationing in the are with our family since 1962. But also because this home is so perfect for large family groups! We have a large family and needed a space for all of us to gather to reconnect. The ease of getting to the beach was another bonus and our kids spent their summer days exploring the tide pools and discovering treasures of the sea on the island you can walk to at low tide!

What makes this house unique

Our house has lots of charm, its on 2 acres (half woods and half yard). We have a nice fire pit outside that we like to sit around it in the evening singing songs. The big front porch has a gas fire grill. The house lends itself to nice family gatherings.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Our little group -- 11 women who went to college together 40 years ago -- also enjoyed the Robinhood! And Maine blessed us with perfect weather, wow! The beach was amazing; some of us swam enthusiastically serval times a day. And we enjoyed wonderful day trips, hiking out Potts Point, wandering around the old meeting house, spending blissful hours at the Maine Coastal Botanical Gardens (DON'T miss it! Kids will love it too!) Also enjoyed the Giant Stairs, Erica's (oh yeah!) all the classic local buildings....our architecture buffs were very happy! And lastly a round of applause for the First Congregational Church, very nice and welcoming. Many thanks for sharing this lovely space and place!
Sep 2015
  • 1 of 6

Amenities

Bailey Island House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 19
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 20 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower , This bathroom is in the attached apartment
  • 4 bathrooms in main house, 1 bathroom in the apartment
Bedrooms:
  • 7 Bedrooms, Sleeps 19
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
    Apartment - Extra fee - 1 queen , 1 double , 1 twin/ single , The attached rustic apartment has 2 bedrooms and 1 bath
  • Maine House: King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (6) , Twin beds (2), Baby Cribs (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1) and roll-a-way bed (1) Apartment: Queen size beds (1), Double bed (1), twin bed (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Senior Adults Only Community ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • fitness center
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
1/8 of a mile walk to Cedar Beach. We have a large yard with plenty of room for the whole family to play and are not on busy Route 24 or near crowded areas with houses on top of each other.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

63% Complete
31% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Charming 7 Bedroom Summer Home, Access to Sandy Cedar Beach
average rating of 4.5789475 based on 25 reviews
5

Peaceful Secluded Getaway

  • 5 of 5

This was our first "family" vacation that all four generations were in attendance. Parents, children, grandchildren, & great grandchildren. 20 of us to be exact, with five of those being under the age of 10. I can't say enough about Sarah and her willingness to help me plan and iron out details for this vacation. She was so kind and helpful throughout the nine month planning process. The house was more than big enough to accommodate our large group. We had evening meals in the great room with all 20 of us sitting around the two large tables. We came from Pennsylvania where it had been hot and typically 100% humidity. The relief of cool air, low humidity, open windows, and no air conditioning was a much welcome break for all us. The short walk to the beach was not an issue, even for my parents who are in their late 70's. The children all found sea shells, sea glass, sand dollars, and had so much fun walking out to the "island" when the tide was out. We walked along The Giant Stairs, visited The Candy Store, Land's End Gift Store, and were able to rent paddle boards for the week. There were plenty of sand toys at the house for the kids who had a fierce sand castle competition. The kitchen was more than adequately stocked with plenty of dishes, flatware, pots, pans, etc. There were two coffee pots, which was great for such a large group. The yard is extremely large and was perfect for the kids. The adults were even conned into a game of wiffle ball. If you want chocolates on your pillow, fancy restaurants, and high end shopping, this isn't the place for you. But, if you want a vacation where curling up with a book on a nice front porch, listening to wind blow through pine trees, and kids giggling in the yard is the ordinary day, this is your place. If morning walks on a quiet beach is more appealing than a bustling boardwalk, this is your place. We had a fabulous vacation. Thank you Sarah for help making that happen.

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
3

Positives AND NEGATIVES

  • 3 of 5

There were both positives and negatives to this house rental:

Positives:

First, the SETTING was amazing. The house was located in a secluded, woodsy area, within easy walking distance to a beautiful, fairly private, beach. Second, the FRONT PORCH was very accommodating and comfortable for a large group. Third, the house’s “GREAT ROOM” was huge, well-lit, and a “great” place for everyone to hang out. Fourth, the YARD was very large, so all the children could play in it. Fifth, the SIZE of the house could accommodate all 19 of us; 2 of us stayed in the adjacent apartment.

Negatives:

First, the rooms were VERY POORLY LIT; in fact, they were dark. Most of the rooms did not have overhead lights, nor did they have ceiling fans. The rooms, instead, had lamps, with low-wattage bulbs, placed in odd areas within the room, and boxed fans for the windows. If there was a light switch in the room, it was not right by the entrance, so they were hard to find. Second, the house was NOT VERY CLEAN when we arrived. Lastly, most of my disappointment comes from the ADJACENT APARTMENT where we stayed. The screen door basically fell off during our stay. The apartment did not seem like it had been cleaned from the previous guests; it was dirty! The back bedroom where we stayed was very dark, and the bathroom was very rustic and filthy. There was an inch of grime around the perimeter of the cheap, laminate floor.

  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are pleased there were positives to your stay, but sorry to hear about the negatives. We always hope that our guests are happy during their stay, and do our best to make sure that happens. We also hope guests understand that when renting an older home, there are sometimes quirks like odd lighting. We thought we had done a good job with adding lights to bedrooms, and had positive feedback from all other guests. In regards to the cleanliness of the house, we do have a wonderful cleaning company who does our cleaning and normally do a very good job for us. Because this was one of the few weeks we did not inspect their work before you checked in (we were out of town as you know), we are so sorry that it was not cleaned to your standard. They are always happy to come out to re-clean if necessary, and we had provided you with a local contact if there were any issues while we were away. I wish you had let them know of these problems so you would have been more comfortable, as I said, we always try our best to make our guests happy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Modernized Rustic Cabin Home

  • 4 of 5

The setting was beautiful. The house was perfectly sized for us. I loved how roomy the living room and dining area was. We spent a lot of time visiting there. The fireplace and fire pit were great. The kids lived the buckets and shovels. The beach was only a short walk away. The outdoor shower was great for washing off the sand. We loved that there was plenty of hot water for showers for all of us. I loved that there was a dishwasher and washer and dryer for us to use. It is an older place, though, with all that comes with that fact - less insulation, cracks and creaks. Internet was spotty, but every once-in-a-while you would get good access. The owners were very welcoming and great on communication with email and texts. Even though it was an hour out of Portland and a half hour away from Brunswick, there were restaurants and stores closer in and didn't feel that far away from it all, while still being on an island "away from it all". :) We enjoyed our stay and loved the downtime.

  • Submitted: Jul 20, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking such good care of our home while you stayed with us. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Beautiful house and location, plan on returning

  • 5 of 5

Had a wonderful stay, house and apt were great for the large group we had. It was great that we could all stay in one place and not feel we were tripping over each other. The pictures do not do the house justice, it was very roomy.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We're so glad your family enjoyed our home, and hope that your family (especially your mother) enjoyed being back in Maine. Thank you for taking such good care of it while you were there! We'd love to have your family back any time!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Hampton Falls, NH, USA
4

Guy Weekend

  • 4 of 5

Perfect size for a large group. Large front yard for games as well. Close to a beach and very nice neighbors. Owner is extremely responsive to calls or emails.

  • Submitted: Jun 23, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review! Glad the home worked out well for your group. We're also very appreciative of how nicely your group took care of the house while you were here. Hope to see you all again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
United States
4

Large family vacation

  • 4 of 5

I recently rented this house with my family (2 babies, 4 kids, 13 adults) as a weekend getaway - the house accommodated all of us. The house was THAT roomy. The description was more than accurate - when the owner says it sleeps 18, it really comfortably sleeps 18.

House is fully equipped with everything you'd need for a vacation away from home, yet feel like you're right at home. House was also very well kept - clean and well-maintained. Spacious front yard for kids to play. My nieces/nephews also enjoyed the nearby beach.

Yes, the house has a campy feeling to it- but that's not always a bad thing. My family hung out by the common room (basically in front of the fireplace) and it did not feel congested at all. We all had enough space to do what we wanted to do.

Only downside to this rental were the bathrooms - they were a bit outdated. However, given the campy vibe this house gives off, they weren't terrible. Also, you can hear everything in this house - but again, it adds to the campy vibe.

The owner was very accommodating - answered all questions I had - before and during the stay. That was very much appreciated.

Highly recommend this house for family getaways - especially big family reunions. My family enjoyed our stay and hope others will as well.

Thanks for a great stay Terry!

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
Portland Jet Port
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Cribstone Grill
Nearest Ferry
1 Miles
Casco Bay lines
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Brunswick Naval Station (open to the public)
Nearest Train
13 Miles
Down Easter Brunswick Station
Nearest Motorway
13.1 Miles
route 1
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Cribstone Grill, Cook's Lobster house
Nearest Beach
0.01 Miles
Ceder beach

We have a sandy beach that is an easy 1/8 of a mile walk down a private road (very few cars allowed, but others will be walking down to the beach too!). Lots of fun exploring of tides pools, hunting for sea glass or even spotting a seal swimming by!

We purchased water front property on Great Island with two 4 bedroom homes a few years ago, the Harborgate. It is listed under Harpswell, check it out if this property is booked.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Bailey Island House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2017
May 19 2017 - Sep 4 2017
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$4,000
 
 
Summer 2018
Jun 30 2018 - Aug 25 2018
Changeover Day: Saturday
7 night minimum stay
$4,800
$16,000
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$650
$2,950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Pet Fee $175
Damage Deposit $1,000

If you have special requirements or expectations please ask in advance. We cannot take responsibility for unreasonable guest expectations or assumptions.

Cancelation Fee: You are responsible for the full payment of the rental time period. If we are able to resell the time period all funds will be refunded less a $100 cancelation fee. The more notice you give the better our chances of rebooking.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.
Available
Unavailable