About the property
- Half Baths0
- Minimum Stay2 - 7 nights
House, 7 bedrooms, 4 bathrooms, sleeps 16-19
We have sold this property and all rental inquires should be directed to Maine Stay Vacations - 866-835-0500 or online at http://www.mainestayvacations.com/
We do still have openings at another property in Harpswell though! The Harborgate is on the water with a private deep water dock! You can search for it on VRBO with home # 378363 or on HomeAway with home # 959393
It is a year round rental so we have many spring dates open. For the summer we have:
June 23-29 (6 nights - not a full week)
It has been our pleasure working with guests coming to stay at the Robinhood Inn on Bailey Island. My husband Terry and I have enjoyed the house with our family for close to 20 years but find that it is time to sell the property. The new owners will continue to rent the home though! They own a real estate office in Harpswell (Homes & Harbors) and have a rental program (Maine Stay Vacations) that you will be able to book through. Their contact information is above and they are looking forward to continuing to make the home available to families that are looking for some wonderful memories while enjoying Bailey Island!
Terry and Sarah MacGillivray
- Response rate:
- Response time:
- within a few hours
- Calendar last updated:
- Mar 07, 2018
About Terry and Sarah MacGillivray
We are a family of 5 and we have been vacationing on Bailey Island since 1962.
Terry and Sarah MacGillivray purchased this House in 1999
Why Terry and Sarah MacGillivray chose Bailey Island
We purchased the old Robinhood Inn back in 1999 because, as we said above, we had been vacationing in the are with our family since 1962. But also because this home is so perfect for large family groups! We have a large family and needed a space for all of us to gather to reconnect. The ease of getting to the beach was another bonus and our kids spent their summer days exploring the tide pools and discovering treasures of the sea on the island you can walk to at low tide!
What makes this House unique
Our house has lots of charm, its on 2 acres (half woods and half yard). We have a nice fire pit outside that we like to sit around it in the evening singing songs. The big front porch has a gas fire grill. The house lends itself to nice family gatherings.
Local Services & Businesses
Sports & Adventure Activities
Awesome house for big groups
We had 17 people stay in the house and we had plenty of room. Kitchen was well-equipped and fireplace was great on chilly fall nights. Make sure to buy firewood on your way in!
Extremely nice for a large group.
We loved the setting. The beach is a short walk. We also enjoyed the outdoor fire pit. Kitchen was big and well stocked.
Peaceful Secluded Getaway
This was our first "family" vacation that all four generations were in attendance. Parents, children, grandchildren, & great grandchildren. 20 of us to be exact, with five of those being under the age of 10. I can't say enough about Sarah and her willingness to help me plan and iron out details for this vacation. She was so kind and helpful throughout the nine month planning process. The house was more than big enough to accommodate our large group. We had evening meals in the great room with all 20 of us sitting around the two large tables. We came from Pennsylvania where it had been hot and typically 100% humidity. The relief of cool air, low humidity, open windows, and no air conditioning was a much welcome break for all us. The short walk to the beach was not an issue, even for my parents who are in their late 70's. The children all found sea shells, sea glass, sand dollars, and had so much fun walking out to the "island" when the tide was out. We walked along The Giant Stairs, visited The Candy Store, Land's End Gift Store, and were able to rent paddle boards for the week. There were plenty of sand toys at the house for the kids who had a fierce sand castle competition. The kitchen was more than adequately stocked with plenty of dishes, flatware, pots, pans, etc. There were two coffee pots, which was great for such a large group. The yard is extremely large and was perfect for the kids. The adults were even conned into a game of wiffle ball. If you want chocolates on your pillow, fancy restaurants, and high end shopping, this isn't the place for you. But, if you want a vacation where curling up with a book on a nice front porch, listening to wind blow through pine trees, and kids giggling in the yard is the ordinary day, this is your place. If morning walks on a quiet beach is more appealing than a bustling boardwalk, this is your place. We had a fabulous vacation. Thank you Sarah for help making that happen.
Positives AND NEGATIVES
There were both positives and negatives to this house rental:
First, the SETTING was amazing. The house was located in a secluded, woodsy area, within easy walking distance to a beautiful, fairly private, beach. Second, the FRONT PORCH was very accommodating and comfortable for a large group. Third, the house’s “GREAT ROOM” was huge, well-lit, and a “great” place for everyone to hang out. Fourth, the YARD was very large, so all the children could play in it. Fifth, the SIZE of the house could accommodate all 19 of us; 2 of us stayed in the adjacent apartment.
First, the rooms were VERY POORLY LIT; in fact, they were dark. Most of the rooms did not have overhead lights, nor did they have ceiling fans. The rooms, instead, had lamps, with low-wattage bulbs, placed in odd areas within the room, and boxed fans for the windows. If there was a light switch in the room, it was not right by the entrance, so they were hard to find. Second, the house was NOT VERY CLEAN when we arrived. Lastly, most of my disappointment comes from the ADJACENT APARTMENT where we stayed. The screen door basically fell off during our stay. The apartment did not seem like it had been cleaned from the previous guests; it was dirty! The back bedroom where we stayed was very dark, and the bathroom was very rustic and filthy. There was an inch of grime around the perimeter of the cheap, laminate floor.
We are pleased there were positives to your stay, but sorry to hear about the negatives. We always hope that our guests are happy during their stay, and do our best to make sure that happens. We also hope guests understand that when renting an older home, there are sometimes quirks like odd lighting. We thought we had done a good job with adding lights to bedrooms, and had positive feedback from all other guests.
In regards to the cleanliness of the house, we do have a wonderful cleaning company who does our cleaning and normally do a very good job for us. Because this was one of the few weeks we did not inspect their work before you checked in (we were out of town as you know), we are so sorry that it was not cleaned to your standard. They are always happy to come out to re-clean if necessary, and we had provided you with a local contact if there were any issues while we were away. I wish you had let them know of these problems so you would have been more comfortable, as I said, we always try our best to make our guests happy.
Modernized Rustic Cabin Home
The setting was beautiful. The house was perfectly sized for us. I loved how roomy the living room and dining area was. We spent a lot of time visiting there. The fireplace and fire pit were great. The kids lived the buckets and shovels. The beach was only a short walk away. The outdoor shower was great for washing off the sand. We loved that there was plenty of hot water for showers for all of us. I loved that there was a dishwasher and washer and dryer for us to use. It is an older place, though, with all that comes with that fact - less insulation, cracks and creaks. Internet was spotty, but every once-in-a-while you would get good access. The owners were very welcoming and great on communication with email and texts. Even though it was an hour out of Portland and a half hour away from Brunswick, there were restaurants and stores closer in and didn't feel that far away from it all, while still being on an island "away from it all". :) We enjoyed our stay and loved the downtime.
Thank you for taking such good care of our home while you stayed with us. We are so glad you all enjoyed your stay and we hope you'll come back soon!
Beautiful house and location, plan on returning
Had a wonderful stay, house and apt were great for the large group we had. It was great that we could all stay in one place and not feel we were tripping over each other. The pictures do not do the house justice, it was very roomy.
We're so glad your family enjoyed our home, and hope that your family (especially your mother) enjoyed being back in Maine. Thank you for taking such good care of it while you were there! We'd love to have your family back any time!
We have a sandy beach that is an easy 1/8 of a mile walk down a private road (very few cars allowed, but others will be walking down to the beach too!). Lots of fun exploring of tides pools, hunting for sea glass or even spotting a seal swimming by! We purchased water front property on Great Island with two 4 bedroom homes a few years ago, the Harborgate. It is listed under Harpswell, check it out if this property is booked.
Rates & Availability
Additional information about rental rates
If you have special requirements or expectations please ask in advance. We cannot take responsibility for unreasonable guest expectations or assumptions. Cancelation Fee: You are responsible for the full payment of the rental time period. If we are able to resell the time period all funds will be refunded less a $100 cancelation fee. The more notice you give the better our chances of rebooking.