Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Breathtaking Panoramic Bali Hai with Unobstructed Bali Hai Ocean View

Bedrooms 1
Space 950 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom, 1 Baths, (Sleeps 2)

Named by Condé Nast Traveler as one of the top tropical resorts in the world. This is truly the Hawaii of your dreams.

Hanalei Bay Resort is a scenic paradise with awe inspiring views. You'll be surrounded by cascading waterfalls and lush foliage - a mixture of tropical scented flowers so sweet, it will be hard to forget.

Sip on a cool drink and gaze out at beautiful Hanalei Bay and the magical Bali Hai. You'll wonder what took you so long to discover Kauai.

Our fabulous ground floor condo in Banana Building provides guests truly unobstructed views plus the luxury of a large grassy yard surrounded by lush tropical foliage for extra privacy. When gazing out at shimmering Hanalei Bay from our comfy living room you won't have to gaze through bannisters but rather you will have a truly unobstructed view that allows you to sit inside the condo and be mesmerized by the beauty of Kauai. Plus there are no stairs to climb, and the kids can play directly in front of the condo on the large grassy yard. As an added convenience our condo is situated close to the small swimming pool and BBQ's.

Every year we update our Hawaiian home so it will be pleasing to our long list of repeat clients (Ohana - extended family). Our eclectic furnishings embrace the essence of Hawaii, from our custom hand painted tile (created by a local artisan)to our newly remodeled Plantation style bathrooms. It has been my goal to create an ambiance that is comfortable, inviting and exudes island charm and character.

The open floor plan is perfect for entertaining allowing guests to meander from the interior of the condo, past the lanai onto the large grassy yard. We have spent many sunsets from this vantage point hoping to glimpse the 'green flash.'

Our condo has an inviting well stocked kitchen that will make cooking a snap. Our living room has a large flat screen TV, stereo with CD player, VCR/DVD player, plus a well stocked video library of DVD's and VHS tapes. For those looking to get caught up on reading we have a large book lending library plus board games. However, you will be hard pressed to take your gaze of the shimmering of Hanalei Bay below.

This sought after condo's bedroom (7106) has a large private lanai, en-suite bathroom, cable TV and IPOD docking station. During most months, except summer, you will be lulled to sleep by the sound of the peaceful waves lapping at the beach below...

We cordially invite you to be part of our Ohana and come spend your well deserved vacation on the magnificent north shore of Kauai. Our island home is Nonsmoking, and there is a three night minimum.

The resort charges a daily $18 fee that covers free local and long distance (USA) telephone usage, free faxes, Free High speed WIFI in condo and pool/lobby areas, complimentary beach towels at water sports desk, Weekly Mai Tai social, parking, tennis court usage, and fitness center, guided garden walks, resort shuttle.

Keywords: Ocean front, Kauai condo, Princeville ocean front condo, North shore kauai accommodations, ocean view condo, Hanalei Bay condo, Hanalei Bay Resort condo, Kauai condo

More Details

Joyce Craddock
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 18, 2017

About Joyce Craddock

I have always loved Hawaii - when I was young I lived on Maui, then when I was raising my own family my husband and I traveled to the islands with our children and immediately fell in love with Kauai. We were fortunate to be at the right place, at the right time and bought our island home. We have created priceless memories in our vacations to Kauai, we are truly blessed...we invite you to be part of our Ohana...

Joyce Craddock purchased this condo in 1995

Why Joyce Craddock chose North Shore

Hawaii's culture and people have always fascinated me. Living in California it is an easy flight, weather is always perfect. Hawaii's beauty is intoxicating, the sights, smells, the warm tropical breezes all blend in perfect harmony with Hawaii's unique flora and fauna to create a destination many dream of visiting one day. I have been incredibly blessed to be able to call Hawaii home for more than 15 years now!

What makes this condo unique

Long stay rates provided - inquire!

I have a six page list of activities, restaurants, beaches etc I send all my guests. To be honest I have done most everything on the island, but my greatest joy is walking from Haena State Park to Ke'e Beach - it is a 1 1/2 hour walk that you must do in the early morning. You will see perhaps just a couple people along the way. But when I have taken this walk I have swam with turtles, monk seals, seen pods of spinner dolphins and actually almost walked into a monk seal! This is Hawaii at its finest - access is easy, it is not strenuous, you can swim along the way and the view of the Na Pali Coast is breathtaking. Just view my photo of Ke'e beach, which I took on one of my many walks. So in Kauai I would say the best things are free of charge!

Guestbook comments from the owner

"hanalei bay was awesome with a great first floor view and and close to pool and restaurant as well, especially enjoyed the local birds and breeze from the ocean... this condo rocks for a twosome, nice kitchen, bath, and living area.. love to return...thanx joyce "

- Ben, California, 2010-03-08
Nov 2009
  • 1 of 24


Princeville Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 950 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Catering Available ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Queen size Beds (1) One queen in 7106
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • alternative lifestyle
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • Private Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Staff
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
10% Complete
10% Complete
0% Complete
10% Complete
Breathtaking Panoramic Bali Hai with Unobstructed Bali Hai Ocean View
average rating of 4.3 based on 34 reviews

great room, great views!

  • 5 of 5

Loved everything: great location--easy to get to the beach at the St. Regis, lovely pool area, and easy to get around. Loved the kitchen (you can tell that real people use it--perfectly outfitted) and nice size room. The patio with a view of the ocean and mountains was absolutely the best. And Joyce, the owner, was helpful throughout. Would definitely stay in this unit again.

  • Submitted: May 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Long Beach, California

Vacation of My Dreams

  • 5 of 5

I recently escaped to Kauai for some rest and relaxation, renting this fabulous condominium at Hanalei Bay Resort. I was pleased to find the condo was well equipped, maintained and tastefully decorated. Best of all, the views from the condo were mesmerizing and I spent many hours relaxing and enjoying the view. When not out exploring, I spent several lazy evenings lounging by the pool outside the condo, cooking food on the barbecue, and enjoying a glass of wine under the stars. Truly had the vacation of my dreams!

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
san diego, ca

Amazing view, and spacious condo

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I recently got back from kauai, we stayed at The Hanalei Bay Resort, room 7106, the first thing we noticed when we walked in is the view!!!! It's absolutely amazing, complete views of Hanalei Bay, and Bali Hai! Then the condo, it's huge and very relaxing. The bed was very comfortable, and nice furniture. Privacy was important to us, as we're on our honeymoon, and this was definitely achieved! Joyce was very helpful to make our stay enjoyable. The photos online don't do the condo justice, not to mention the panoramic views, but there have been many updates! I would recommend this condo to anyone!

  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Property is in Poor Condition

  • 1 of 5

The Hanalei location is great but this property has not been maintained and the beautiful VRBO photos are very outdated and misrepresent the current condition of the property. We were very disappointed in the cleanliness and condition of the unit and discussed it with the owner. Surprisingly she was aware of most of the issues (wallpaper, cabinet, dryer,..) and indicated they would fixed in the future. Personally I expected the issues below to be remedied BEFORE I arrived, not after I left. Owner was generally unresponsive to our concerns. Issues as follows:

Large cockroaches in the bathroom

Broken Clothes Dryer

Black mold growing on wallpaper

Strong mildew smell from carpet

Dusty light fixtures and decorative flowers

Kitchen cabinet door - broken hinge

Kitchen recessed light - hanging below ceiling by wires

Missing light bulbs - dining room and living room

Peeling wallpaper in living room, dining room and hallway

Patio furniture with rotten wood and faded upholstery

Broken exterior Patio door handle

Stained curtains in bedroom

Broken louvre blinds mechanism next to front door

Non functional or intermittent WiFi signal

AC sensors broken on front door and patio door

  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow how do I begin...because I wouldn't provide a refund we get blasted for items that would have and were fixed almost immediately. First the photos actually are not updated, soon to be showing brand new bedroom furniture and bathroom cabinetry which this guest experienced first hand. Once guests arrive they will see how much better the condo is in person! This guest contacted me a full week after their stay. I told them, as I tell every single guest prior to their arrival in Hawaii, that should there be any concerns please contact myself, the front desk, and my cleaner who leaves her phone number for ALL guests. Photos would not show a light bulb out, dust, a broken handle etc. these are easily fixable items that once I knew about maintenance went down the same day and fixed within 1 hour. Maintenance said they only found 1 light bulb out - which they replaced, there was NO hanging light fixture, the kitchen cabinet that needs tweaking was fixed, gorgeous rattan furniture outside has sunbrella fabric and is just 3 years old, both patio door handle and louvre door handle were fixed as well. The resort put up a/c sensors but they never worked!!!!! WIFI at the resort is spotty - but certainly not something I can control as it is provided by the resort. This guest was left a note that the dryer mechanism was not working properly - the dryer worked you just had to turn it off manually. This is a home, and appliances have to be shipped to Hawaii - the new washer/dryer was delivered on April 5th... There is NO mold in our condo - the association would close my unit down and have to do major clean up. There is mustiness in all units in Hawaii if doors are kept closed but once doors and plantation shutters are open the fresh air comes in with the trade winds, which we are blessed with! Carpet was just cleaned before this guests arrival. There are bugs in Hawaii - and unfortunately they live in the jungle that is right out our back door. For those who want privacy it is a good thing -The resort sprays all the time - the condo was not dirty. This guest called and asked for a refund - from myself, the cleaner and the resort. We all said "no" as the items on the his list could have been handled IF we were aware of them. Travel is a personal experience - if this person would have contacted us about the issues once they arrived, maybe they would have enjoyed Hawaii. It is incredible that they never mentioned the privacy and view, only negativity...
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Lovely view from the patio and private, too.

  • 3 of 5

We loved the patio, the privacy from the patio and the view. While the unit was very clean when we arrived, we found it in need of some updating. Kitchen was big and well stocked, with a washer / dryer handy. Bed was soft.

If walking is difficult for you, know that you have to walk to and from the parking area and all activities. There are inclines.

Check in was easy and the staff we encountered during our stay were kind and helpful. Tennis a big plus. Nice courts.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We too love the view from our patio and the interior of the condo. Every year we do major updates to our condo so that it is a comfortable home while visiting the islands. Bedding is subjective, this bed is a top of the line firm pillow top bed. All bedroom furniture, which is not visible via photos as of yet, was bought brand new last year and the bathroom cabinets were all redone. This year we are having the entire condo repainted, we have a new microwave and washer/dryer and are in the process of getting a brand new couch. We know we won't please every visitor, but we truly strive to provide accurate information as well as photos so that a guest will not be disappointed upon arrival. Our goal is for repeat business, and referrals! aloha, Joyce
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
San Francisco, CA

Perfect spot!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I just spent 8 days in this wonderful apartment, and enjoyed every minute! We are in love with Kauai, especially the north shore area around Princeville and Hanalei. This apartment is part of the Hanalei Bay Resort, which was the perfect spot for us to explore the area. There's a path down to the small beach shared with the St Regis. It never got crowded, and it was easy to find a semi-private spot in the shade under the trees that line the beach. After one afternoon of very heavy rains, the water turned murky and brown from all the rivers running into Hanalei Bay, but all other days, the water was perfectly clear. The resort was really nice, although we never spent time at the pool, and the restaurant and bar were closed for renovations. People looking for party should probably look elsewhere, but the resort is perfect for nearly everyone else. It is quite hilly, but there's a shuttle service you can call to take you to and from the lobby or parking lot. They will even pick you up at the bottom of the hill if you're coming up from the beach.

The apartment was nicely sized for the two of us, with a separate bedroom and a large air-conditioned living room. The kitchen had everything we needed, and the lanai has a fantastic view over the bay and the mountains on the other side. I'm so in love with this island, and for our next trip I will look up this place again. Joyce even sent a multi-page document with recommendations of things to do and see, and where to eat. Thanks!!

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
45 Miles
Nearest Beach
50 Metres
Pu'a Po'a
Car: necessary

The northshore of Kauai is what most visitors envision when they dream about Hawaii...

Kauai is the oldest of the inhabited islands and has the most beaches per square mile, out of any of the islands. The backdrop of the northshore is what Hollywood uses in films over and over, it is breathtakingly gorgeous.

If you have ever been to Tahiti, specifically Moorea - the north shore of Kauai is even better, because of the beaches!

The charm of Hanalei Town is like a step back in time...

This side of the island is not full of resorts, there is just 1 hotel - this side of the island is about preserving the beauty that has drawn visitors back to the Garden Isle over and over...

We welcome you to come and experience the essence of the Hawaii of old...


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $200

Tax is 13.42% and out clean fee is $200. For stays of 1 month or longer mid cleans are mandatory every 2 weeks and are $150 p/clean.
Daily resort fee is $18, with a maximum of $250 a month for long stays
No refunds if cancellation within 60 days of arrival

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties