check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Lake Michigan Beachfront Cottage 5min Walk along beach to Warren Dunes

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
12
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 - 4 nights

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6-8)

This 2300 square foot 3 generation beachfront cottage, known as 'Beachcliff', is used as a vacation destination during the summer months for family and friends. It’s located on quiet dead end road with 120 feet of Lake Michigan beach frontage surrounded by nature in an upscale ~primarily second home private association, Shorewood Hills Country Club that offers tennis courts, basketball court, children's play park and 24 hour caretaker. No stairs to climb to the private beach only a gentle, sloping path and a short 5-10 minute walk along the shore to Warren Dunes State Park!

This home is a unique, charming and imaginative get-away for family, friends and fun or rest and relaxation accommodate up to 8 people comfortably. There are 3 bedrooms ( king and queen beds/upstairs - twin bunk bed/upstairs - 1 trundle/day bed/main floor -one twin pull out/upstairs - one full pull out/main couches). There is an entire wall of sliding glass doors and a large deck overlooking Lake Michigan and the beautiful sun sets. The home is entirely furnished with cable TV, wi-fi, phone, stereo, dishwasher, pots, pans, dishes, utensils etc, linens, towels, washer/dryer, books, games, beach toys, park pass, beach toys towels chairs, grills, coolers, beach fire wood and more. It has an open main level living space, gas fireplace, dining/lounging, master bedroom with deck and bathroom, sitting areas and laundry room.

All conveniently located in the heart of Harbor Country, less than 90 minutes from downtown Chicago, offering shopping old & new, art fairs, festivals, galleries, wineries, fine dining, Trade Winds Casino, water recreational rentals shopping, restaurants, antique stores, go-carts, golf, U-pick fruit and just a short drive to quaint little towns south and north of Sawyer and all Michigan's wonderful attractions!

Keywords: Warren Dunes State Park, cabin, cottage, house, harbor country, Sawyer,

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
January 12, 2017

Why The Owner chose Southwest

This 2300 square foot 3 generation beachfront cottage, known as 'Beachcliff', is used as a vacation destination during the summer months for family and friends was originally designed and built by an architect father in and remodeled and up kept by his architect son.

What makes this house unique

You are sure to experience relaxation and comfort alone or entertaining with family and friends while staying in this home.

Reviews

4.2/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Lake Michigan Beachfront Cottage 5min Walk along beach to Warren Dunes
average rating of 4.2 based on 5 reviews
Indianapolis
5

Great weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5

We stayed at this lovely cottage last weekend for a little weekend getaway and it was perfect! We have a 18month old son so I was anxious about how close beach would be, how kid-friendly everything would be and honestly everything was great. We would obviously carry him back and forth to the beach, bc of the hill, but it was within walking distance and and the beach was clean and safe, it was so great just walking back to the cottage and putting him down for naps. They even had beach chairs so we didn't have to bring/buy any. We went to the local grocery store and cooked dinners at the cottage each night and my son loved running around the cottage. Also the beach was a private beach so it's not super-cramped and crowded! I would highly recommend staying here! Owners were easy to contact & a pleasure talking to.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We enjoyed the opportunity of having you and your family enjoy our piece of paradise. Look forward to seeing you again! Best Regards, The Owners of BeachCliff
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
chicago
5

Lovely lake house

  • 5 of 5

The property is perfect for a beach vacation - laid back, no stress, relaxing. We felt at home immediately, and have returned year after year. Best location!

  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2012
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Evanston
5

Perfect beach retreat!

  • 5 of 5

My husband, three children, and I just spend the most relaxing week enjoying the spectacular views, the wide beach, and the beautiful water. Each evening we sat on the deck surrounded by flower planters and watched the sunset together. The cottage is comfortable and airy; a great place to relax (but you can stay connected – there is high-speed Wi-Fi). Conveniently located within a few minutes – bakery, butcher, Warren Dunes with a kid-magnet waterslide. This is our third year renting this cottage and we will be renting here again in August. We cannot wait to return! We have recommended it to several of our friends.

  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0
Chicago, IL
5

Property #301659

  • 5 of 5

This property and our stay was remarkable. We loved the location on the lake where we viewed breathtaking sunsets every night. Wonderful cozy and impeccably clean cottage with all the amenities one needs. Tons of things to do in the area with awesome restaurants and shopping. Everything was wonderful, our stay was memorable and we plan to return next summer.

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 1
Chicago, IL
1

Review of Beach Cliff Rental (Sawyer, MI)

  • 1 of 5

We stayed at the Beach Cliff rental in Sawyer, Michigan over Labor Day in 2011.

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 toddlers) planned to spend 4 nights at the Beach Cliff.

There were no reviews of this property which should have raised a red flag, but I remained optimistic.

Unfortunately, we had such a terrible experience that we left early.

We felt that the property was misrepresented and not inhabitable with 90 degree+ temps inside.

Postives:

- Beachfront location

- Close to Chicago

Negatives:

- Dirty. Thick cob webs on lamps, stools, and dusty furniture.

- Decks unsafe with a steep drop and no railings. Not safe for children. This was a big negative as we could not enjoy meals or relaxing outside.

- No ventilation. The property was unbearably hot with temps downstairs reaching 90 degrees.

- Grill is old and dirty - unusable.

- Path to beach is ungroomed, but manageable.

This rental was a huge disappointment. It's clear that the owners have had wonderful family events at this cottage. Unfortunately, I believe their nostalgia prevents them from accurately representing the property and addressing the concerns of paying renters.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You are our first complaint within the three decades of our renting our beach home. We have renters returning every year because they feel this is their home too, renters who stayed for a month or more, a renter who got married on the deck, and many others who had fun and had great family gatherings and want to come back. Unfortunately for all of us, we all felt the heat over the Labor Day weekend of 2011 which was more than unusually high of which we have no control. Because of the heat, it has affected your view of our home. Ceiling fans and portable fans were at your convenience and effort was made to bring another one. As for the deck, we have had many children from infant to teenagers on that deck and all returned safely and happy. Your use of "steep" is exaggerated. Also, there are two Webber grills that are useable and many of fine meals have been grilled on them. The path to the beach is a natural beach path that has been used for over fifty years and only a few minutes walk to whatever activities enjoyed by many on the beach along Lake Michigan. The rental is professionally cleaned and is meant to be comfortable and have a laid back atmosphere where you can put your feet up and relax and not worry about anything or what the children would do. It is a place for renters to build their own memories and return home energized and refreshed from the enjoyment of God's creation around them.
Did you find this review helpful?
17 2

Map

Nearest Point of Interest
Warren Dunes State Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Chikaming Country Club
Nearest Point of Interest
Grand Mere State Park
Nearest Point of Interest
Four Winds Casino
Nearest Point of Interest
Harbor Shores Golf Club

Property is surrounded on three sides by water - Lake Michigan in the front and Deer Creek along the side and rear.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Sawyer House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
2016-2017 Non-Prime
Oct 1 2016 - May 26 2017
4 night minimum stay
$400
$2,550
 
 
2017 Prime Rate
May 27 2017 - Sep 17 2017
3 night minimum stay
$500
$3,150
 
 
2017-2018 Off-Season
Sep 18 2017 - May 25 2018
4 night minimum stay
$400
$2,550
 
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$400
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning $125

6/01-9/30 $500/night, $3,150/week; 10/01-5/31 $400/night; 3 nights min $2,550/week. Call for rates 2 weeks or more. #1-269-429-5960. 50% of rent plus $500 refundable security due for reservation. 50% of rent balance plus $125 non-refundable cleaning fee due two weeks prior to arrival date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Sawyer House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Lakefront
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
  • 2
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (4), Baby Cribs (1) Available upon request, Sleep Sofa or Futons (2), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Video Game Console
  • Video Games
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties