Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Tropical Round House On Big Island Of Hawaii

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,900 sq. ft.
Property type estate
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Private, 2 Bedroom, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 4+) 3rd bedroom cottage available.

My Big Island home, near Kapoho and close to Pahoa, Seaview, Black Sands Beach, tropical thermal pools on the ocean, in Old Hawaii, is a unique, custom-built, round, house located in a clearing at the top of a long approach hill, on ten acres of completely secluded rain forest. Has a view of Mauna Kea and forested hills. It is completely private and in a very relaxed setting. The house is solar powered and equipped with all modern comforts and appliances. It has a spacious 500 sq ft. bedroom with a queen sized bed and a double bed and the second bedroom upstairs has a queen bed. There is also a double futon sleeper upstairs in the great room. Upstairs floor features huge kitchen, living room, with 3 sets of french doors that open onto a huge outdoor living room/ lanai/ dining room with also an extra sleeping futon (comfortable one ) for visitors and friends. The second private bedroom is upstairs and the huge master suite is downstairs. The open-plan design of the whole of the house works for a family, or small group, or for just two people. There is also a second cottage available for $30 per night if your party is larger. It is located right beside the main house and is comfortable furnished with a queen bed also. There is lots of art in our home, which is used just for guests, friends or exchangers, and it is beautifully, comfortably and completely furnished for your use during your stay. Cleaning services are available for a reasonable fee from our year-round, nearby caretaker. Security damage deposit can be covered at your option by a low cost VRBO or Homeaway policy. Simply ask.

The house will be beautifully prepared for you, and all ready for your tropical stay. Cleanliness is a most important part of your guest experience. Our home is equipped with washer and dryer. Ultra Clean always, unlike lots of others.

The kitchen is exceptionally well-equipped for dining and cooking, as I love to cook and when I vacation there myself I always shop and cook locally, with fresh ingredients.

We provide directions to our guests for doing the same locally, including all the special, nearby 'farmers markets,' and also info. on favorite places to dine nearby. Our open-style home has no need for AC, just the beautiful Trade winds and sea breezes that blow up the hill, gently, and throughout the house, though we also have tropical ceiling fans. The keynote here is 'comfort first' even though all furnishings are artistic and appealing. Bring a book or two to enjoy in the hammock! This is pure relaxation, which we all need, and love!

More Details

Owner
Sharon Dodge
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
December 11, 2017

About Sharon Dodge

I built this custom home over six years, with carefully selected Eco-friendly materials, and methods. It is 'off the grid' and has it's own fresh water supply and the electrical is all solar powered. It is an 'indoor/outdoor' open stye home perfect for the year round mild Hawaain climate with three sets of french doors that open out from the main great room onto a large 800 square foot Ipe'wooden deck under an extended roof where you will lounge comfortably, barbecue, read in the giant hammock or enjoy our outdoor living room, and outdoor dining table. There is an extra rental bedroom cottage on the property available for an additional small fee, which allows us to comfortably sleep 8-10. Ask about it.

Sharon Dodge purchased this estate in 2012

Why Sharon Dodge chose Pahoa

The house is luxurious in look and feel, and is at the end of the road at the top of the hill on a gorgeous ten acre parcel and if you want, you will have no visitors( though our caretaker lives nearby if you need her.). It is clear and planted with fruits, spice nut and coffee trees and shrubs as well as flowers and is perfect seclusion in a setting of great natural beauty , with lots of room and is all your own, while you are there. You will not be disturbed by anyone. And except for visiting the local sites -warm thermal ponds, Mauna Kea Observatory, ocean swimming, gardens, waterfalls, and the volcano, you will not want to leave. This is the relaxed lush side of the Big Island and ours is the perfect place for lovers, friends or even individuals who want to truly get away from it all. A day and a night often feels like three, as time slows down for you there. Perfect counterpoint to the more touristed parts of this or any Hawaiin island stay. The house is wonderfully comfortable even luxurious in feel and the extra guest cottage will make it comfortable for one or two, or as many as 10.

What makes this estate unique

You will awaken to birdsong, a chorus at dawn and go to sleep to gentle sounds of the melodic tree frogs in the forst. The sun rises on one one side of our deck and sets on the other. Restful. Yet it is also a great starting point to explore nearby Kilauea and it's near continuous Lava flow since 1989. ( But do not worry, you are far from it's lava flow.)

Or.. you can crank up your music on the" plug in your device to our sound system" as loud as you like. There is no one near enough to be bothered! Your private paradise for a relaxing stay. The master bedroom on the lower floor is roomy, over 500 square feet and the queen bed is so comfortable you will wish you could take it home with you. All bedding is luxury quality. A lot of people believe you sleep deeper and dream more, in a round house. We have found it to be true out there in our tropical 'piece o' paradise'.

Map

Champange Pond
"Fabulous! It is gated as you cross a private home owner's Association but a route of local r..."
Nearest Golf
15 Miles
Volcano Golf and Country Club
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 132
Nearest Restaurant
2.5 Miles
Kaleos
Nearest Ski
20 Miles
Mauna Kea (in winter) no lifts
Car: necessary

Ours is a remote rural location close to many major attractions. We have easy access to local farmers markets where you can purchase island grown fruits and vegetables as well as many deliciously prepared foods, with island tastes and familiar favorites also. Close the charming village of Pahoa for Banks, Post office, Gas, Drug store, health food stores Farmer's Market, bookstore DVD Rentals and a couple good bars and great dining spots, store and large Grocery store, and Hardware store

Our house is only 15 minutes from a large natural rock, warm thermal pool and several other such small pools for delicious swimming, next to the Pacific Ocean. Ocean swimming and surfing is located only 20 minutes away by car. Also, great coral reef snorkeling. Located only one hour from Volcanoes National Park and not far from the mostly continuous active eruption of lava (which can also be viewed by helicopter or boat tour.) Two hours from Mauna Kea one of the largest mountains in the world and the largest measured from it's underwater base (year round snow) and home to many of the world's greatest observatories where you find a Star Gazing Visitors' Center for nocturnal adventures, and for amazing sunsets.

Our home is gated, and is special also for what you will not see. You will probably see no one at all during your stay, unless you want to.

The sun rises on one side of the property and sets on the other, with views often of Mauna Kea, with Hawaiian birdsongs at dawn and dusk. We have beautiful, territorial views as well in every direction and inestimable peace for our visitors. You will need a rental car, but a four wheel drive vehicle is not necessary, and there are no parking problems anywhere here.

Amenities

Pahoa Estate Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • estate
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1900 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 8
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • Glass tile and luxurious copper fixtures upstairs with large black soaking tub. Huge slate shower with river rock floor in 'Pele's' bathroom which adjoins the master bedroom.
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Has private entrance on deck and great view
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 double , 1 baby crib , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen , This is an optional add. rental Ohana cottage
  • 500 square foot bedroom is on lower floor with adjoining bathroom. Has single bed also. Queen size bed upstairs in great room also , has 'night privacy' and its' own bathroom. 2nd BR on deck on top floor( main floor) is located 20 feet from main floor bathroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
A deluxe breakfast basket is supplied on all week long rentals. The first and second level are connected by a long wraparound staircase so be comfortable with stairs if you choose our Tropical Round House. If you want, call one of our in house massage therapists for a wonderful in call massage during your stay.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(28 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
17% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
3% Complete
Tropical Round House On Big Island Of Hawaii
average rating of 4.678571 based on 28 reviews
4

Peaceful and relaxing place.

  • 4 of 5

My family of 6 adults and 1child stayed at the round house for 3 nights and 4 days. The beautiful property was well kept with lots of fruit trees to pick and use. We loved the spacious and clean upstairs for cooking and hanging out with the family. We loved that they had all cooking supplies to use and the dishes and beverage glasses were amazing. Good quality. The only thing that was lacking was the rice cooker but you can manage to cook rice other ways. It rained the entire time we were there but we found fun things to do. We loved that we were able to sleep in our own separate areas of the house. We had a great time at the round house.

  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You were great guests. Locals need rice cookers, I agree. (Many others do not know what they are.)Will get one!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Horrible

  • 1 of 5

Worst rental experience of my life. The review policy won't let me go In to detail of the issues I had with the home owner, or let me talk about money. I wouldn't rent from this woman if it was free.

  • Submitted: Nov 22, 2017
  • Stayed: November 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: DISREGARD please. He has never been to the house. Never met the man or spoke to him myself. He rented on line for a completely different month, then “no showed”, and he was unhappy that he did not get a full refund. Some people cannot be made happy about what they they think someone else did to them, and most especially if they did it to themselves! I did in fact offer him a complimentary stay at a later date, but it is obviously not what he wanted. Please be sure to book the dates you actually plan to travel. I am always happy to shift slightly to accomodate where I can, but we aren’t” hotels”, so sometimes cannot. Aloha. Read the reviews from others, for years now.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful stay

  • 4 of 5

I really liked our time in this house. Everything was clean. I suggest to rent a SUV to get to this place, because after rain, there are some deep holes in the street and anyway it is better to have a higher car for this uneven way. Once you get there, it is great. It is different to all the other places we rented. I can´t really say it is a quiet place, you don´t hear human but you hear all the birds singing, even at night. I liked it very much. In the garden you have a lot of tree with fruits. My son picked a fresh banana from the tree for the first time of his life. We got a lot of informations about the house and how to handle it. Really good description.

  • Submitted: Sep 13, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Sent the truck right out to fill all holes and make sure no one ever needs an SUV. Puddles and tracks in the road are really part of Big Island living unless you want to be on asphalt, as in a condo complex. But regular road care is important to us too and so am glad you mentioned it. No other guest has ever needed an SUV there or felt they did, so the puddles must have seemed deep. All fixable though! Thanks, and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5

Great to relax! Extremely peaceful!

  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Loved having you all there. I especially enjoy offering families the gift of solitude in the midst of both beauty and adventure. Aloha!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Scotts valley
4

Wonderful time!

  • 4 of 5

Our family had a great time. The property/house was beautiful, clean, peaceful and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. There were many thing to due close by with the Thermal Pools being our favorite. Only giving 4 out of 5 stars due to two small things. When I originally booked our week the terms said that we would receive a large breakfast basket since we were staying for a full week. Two days before we arrived I received updated terms stating that we could purchase a breakfast basket instead. We were a little disappointed. The second reason why we’re giving 4 out of 5 stars is that a delivery guy came by, opened the gate (when we had locked it) and drove up to the house to deliver trees. This in itself is no big deal and the guy was very nice but we would of appreciated a heads up that someone was coming to drop stuff off. Had I been at the house by myself without my husband I would not of felt comfortable. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will likely be returning renters.

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great time at my farm. the terms of the stay did not change at all after you booked so maybe you misunderstood about the option to have my caretaker shop for breakfast supplies? In any event you were a lovely guest party., and my landscaper expressed his regret at needing to unload a truck of new fruit trees he bought that day. He actually texted me for a number to call you but I was down for the count that afternoon with a bad flu. Our communications are usually great. Guest privacy is very important to us. That was a freak occurrence.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great House

  • 5 of 5

Great house, everything as described, very clean. Large garden, surrounded by trees, very private. In particular liked the large second floor deck.

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you. My home seems to self select great guests, who love the quiet and total privacy of my tropical farm. The Tropical Round House has a unique and wonderful setting, surrounded by rolling grass, and an orchard of tropical fruit trees of all kinds. I love to share it.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Cleaning fee on departure (spotless house!) $175 + Tax
Tax Rate 13.97%

Rates are subject to change prior to booking. All rent is due in full on booking. I have a strict cancellation policy and suggest you purchase trip protection and vacation stay coverage at booking, which is super easy to do with your ticket purchase as trip insurance on your own. I always cooperate on claims. Not a money maker for me, but means if an emergency causes you to not be able to come, you will be happier. I like that.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties