Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Quiet, peaceful island getaway for six. Beach/Ski

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 3,200 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Three bedroom, open concept home. Beach access. Ski nearby.

Quiet, peaceful, sunny, three bedroom, three bath barn style home with high ceilings located high atop Governors Island, one of the five bridged islands on Lake Winnipesaukee. Huge master suite on top floor with private bath, mountain view and king bed. Two bedrooms on main floor share a large bath. One with a Queen bed, one with two doubles. Loft with desk/puzzle table. Large, well appointed kitchen. Sliders to deck. Washer and dryer on main floor. Two acre lot with five acres of privacy behind and shared private beach nearby. Three flat screen TVs. Seasonal three sided gas fireplace. Front and rear lawn. Two driveways. Use of one car garage. Island living at its best. Maximum occupancy a strict 6. NO PETS PLEASE

EMAIL FOR AVAILABILITY CALENDAR NOT ALWAYS UPDATED

WE DO NOT RENT FOR EXTENDED PERIODS OF TIME

More Details

Owner
Paul
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 22, 2017

About Paul

We live in Concord, MA and frequent the house. We are looking for people who will treat this house with respect as if it were their own. In return, they will have a memorable vacation stay!

Paul purchased this house in 2013

Why Paul chose Gilford

We love this area. We fell in love with the many things to do and the beautiful scenery. We looked at A LOT of properties before buying this. We hope you will feel the same way! This is not a business for us. it is our vacation home which we rent occasionally.

What makes this house unique

We wanted a place where we could have the family and be comfortable yet have privacy as well. We had certain other criteria that needed to be met. We wanted a quiet place. Walking trails were a must. Skiing, boating nearby and a beach as well. We have put a lot of work into the house and we are looking for people who will respect it. If you are looking for a loud party house, please look elsewhere. This is a very quiet area. You may hear an occasional boat in the summer but in the winter it is peaceful. No snowmobiles or ATVs are allowed on the island. Please read association rules and abide by them.

Amenities

Gilford House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 3200 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Lake View ...
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master Suite Bath - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Shared bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Laundry room bathroom - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Blue Room - 1 queen
    Green Room - 2 double
    Master Suite - 1 king
  • Master Suite has private full bath Blue Room and Green Room share a full bath.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • water parks
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • ski privileges optional
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
Notes:
We have changed the maximum occupancy to six because of well limitations. Any more will tax the water system and create inconvenience. Renters must be mindful of their water use. Be sure not to exceed maximum occupancy . Island living has its advantages and disadvantages!

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Quiet, peaceful island getaway for six. Beach/Ski
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
5

Great house and wonderful location

  • 5 of 5

We had an amazing time in this beautiful spacious home. The location is amazing, private beach in walking distance and a ton of outdoor activity opportunities near by. The house is extremely well taken care off and spacious, a real gem !

  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a thoughtful family. Once again we are so lucky to have guests that appreciate our house and take such good care of it! Hope to have them back soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful house and hosts!

  • 5 of 5

We came from San Francisco and wanted a central place where family from around the area could visit. The house and the host were both amazing! Since we were flying in instead of driving, we had some special requests and the host was more than accommodating. He was also very responsive if we had any questions during our stay.

The house was in pristine condition and very well appointed. You can tell that the owners use this house often and that it is a second home, not just a rental property. The beds were extremely comfortable--firm, but with foam top. The kitchen had everything one could need for cooking. Fire pit for smores. The beach is like having your own private state park. Good times were had by all.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2017
  • Stayed: August 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were so lucky to have this considerate family stay at our house. Wonderful guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful Week!

  • 5 of 5

We had such a great time staying at this house. Beautiful Governors Island. This house was the perfect size, well equipped with all the necessary ameneties. We'll be back next year if available.

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2016
  • Stayed: August 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful, considerate family! Would love to have them back.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lake Vacation

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay on Governors Island, this house is ideally situated about 5 mins from the private beach which we had to ourselves most of the time. There are tennis courts and restrooms at the beach too. The house is immaculately maintained with a well equipped kitchen. The beds are all good quality with comfortable mattresses. Our children thoroughly enjoyed the large yard and spent hours catching all different species of grasshoppers. We lit a fire in the fire pit on a couple of evenings and made S'mores, relaxing to the view of the stars. The island is very quiet and peaceful. The owners were easy to work with and quick to answer any of our questions.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2015
  • Stayed: August 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: What a wonderful, thoughtful family! We hope they return soon.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Massachusetts
5

Wonderful Escape

  • 5 of 5

My extended family of 8 stayed here last month, and we all agreed the home and its location were perfect.

Firstly, the house itself... It is a beautiful home, immaculately maintained and perfectly appointed as a rental property (it's warm and welcoming without feeling like you're invading someone else's private space). There was more than enough room for everyone, and the open concept of the living room/kitchen/dining room lent itself really well to spreading out without having to move into another room. The kitchen is great - loads of room, a nice breakfast bar to watch the designated chef(s) at work, and some very helpful labeling by the owner to help you find your way around.

The back yard, though small, is a lovely little spot to relax. It's nice and private, with a table and chairs (and fire pit) for relaxing, blueberries and blackberries growing, and lots of cool grasshoppers to investigate (we had a 5 yr old boy with us, so this was a bonus).

We found the location to be ideal. The wonderful beach area is a few mins' walk (or one minute drive, if you've got stuff to lug), and it truly is a beautiful spot. The locals there were friendly, and helpful with some advice and local info (we were a bit nervous they'd

be wary of us 'outsiders', but that wasn't the case at all).

Governors Island is convenient to lots of good places to eat, drink, and experience. We mini-golfed, visited amusements and attractions, dined out in Meredith, had ice cream at Kellerhaus, and even went to StoryLand (a 1.5-hr drive, but a pleasant one if you plan for it). We also took advantage of the kayaks, which was a wonderful experience.

Finally, the owners were a pleasure to deal with - pleasant and responsive, and clearly intent on providing a great stay for their guests. Our only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer!

  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2014
  • Stayed: August 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wonderful family. Lucky to have them. We hope they come back soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

great vacation spot

  • 5 of 5

Was perfect for a two family vacation. Kitchen is well stocked with good quality equipment which was important for us as we like to cook. The yard is a good size for kids to play in. The house was clean and well maintained. Beds are comfortable tempurpedic type mattresses. Owner was terrific and provided clear communication. I thought the inside of the house looked better than the pictures so we were pleasantly surprised. The location was very convenient near some great hikes, the Science/Nature Center, commercial kitchy stuff like Weirs beach and the drive in as well as some beautiful beaches and cute towns like Wolfesboro. The Governor's Island private beach is small, but quiet.

  • Submitted: Jul 14, 2014
  • Stayed: July 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Great renters! We hope they return.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
2 Miles
Laconia
Nearest Golf
8 Miles
Pheasant Ridge
Nearest Restaurant
3 Miles
Patrick's Pub
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Gunstock Mt
Nearest Beach
Governors Island
Car: necessary

House located high atop Governors Island in Gilford NH. Minutes away from Weirs Beach, Meredith Town Docks, Gunstock Mt, Glendale boat launch, Ellacoya State Park, Tanger Outlers, Mt Major, Meadowbrook - Bank of NH Pavilion,

NH Motor Speedway

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Cleaning $150
Refundable damage deposit $500

Rates and terms are subject to change until reservation confirmed.
Email for a copy of rental agreement.
Laconia Bike week $2500. week. If available
February vacation 2015 $2500. week. If available
We have a large family and they frequent the house. Please email for availability. Sorry for any inconvenience.
Check-in time Saturday 4:00 PM
Check-out time Saturday 10:00 AM
MAXIMUM 6 GUESTS

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties