Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Just 1.5 Blocks to the Beach * April/May WEEKENDS AVAILABLE!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,000 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

*3 BR Relaxing Retreat -Perfect for 2 couples or a family vacation

You will find our Aloha Beach House in Pleasure Point provides the perfect home base for a wonderful adventure in Santa Cruz.

The house is 1 and 1/2 blocks to the water with world class surf and beaches just steps away. The picturesque City of Capitola is within walking distance, and the Boardwalk Amusement Park is only a 10 minute drive from our front door.

Nestled behind your own private oasis and garden frontyard, you will immediately feel relaxed and cozy in this beach house.

The spirit of Aloha welcomes you and invites you to unwind in style. High-end furnishings and quality craftsmanship surround you in this serene setting. Relax and read a book on your back patio, cozy up and watch a movie in bed, cook a gourmet dinner for the family, get your work done on your laptop while catching some rays or head down to the sand and watch the surf.

The kitchen is equipped with all of the basic appliances, including a gas stove, dishwasher and microwave, electric coffe pot, dishes and cookware.

The master bedroom has a queen size bed, the second bedroom has a queen sized bed, and the third small bedroom has twin bunk beds. Toys, high chair and a pack n' play are available on site. Beach towels, an iron, coffee and coffee filters are also provided.

All of the utilities, cable TV, Wi-Fi, laundry, gardener, barbeque and picnic table are provided. We even have storage space for your bike and/or surf board. This house has off-street parking and its own private, fenced yard.

Fantastic beach location allows you to choose a walking path to 'The Hook' to take in world class surf along the cliffs of Pleasure Point, or choose a beach day and follow the sandy footprints straight to the neighborhood beach for sandcastles and smores at sunset. The fun and relaxation are endless.

Live Aloha here and we will see you back next year!

More Details

Owner
Andy
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
80%
Calendar last updated:
April 12, 2017

Amenities

Opal Cliffs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , outdoor shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(14 traveler reviews)

Just 1.5 Blocks to the Beach * April/May WEEKENDS AVAILABLE!
average rating of 4.428571 based on 14 reviews
5

Cozy Santa Cruz Bungalow

  • 5 of 5

This home had just the right things to make our Santa Cruz stay relaxing and comfortable. Things were simple, but just right. The gas fireplace was perfect for warming up the cozy living room and all of the beds were very comfortable. There is a sunny backyard for kids to roam around in and a good location close to East Cliff. Very happy with our stay.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We all had a great time.

  • 4 of 5

The house was a very cozy beach type house and was clean and comfortable. I would have liked a window covering in the second bedroom but overall the house was in great shape. If we go back in the summer we would definitely consider renting the house again. Very charming setting.

  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

The house was occupied upon arrival. No blinds on the bedroom window. 2 weeks and no deposit refund

  • 1 of 5

Let me start my saying I understand mistakes are made and the purpose of this review is not to draw attention to the fact that another family was staying in the house when we arrived to check in; the issue is the communication and experience with Andy the owner. My impression of Andy is that he has zero respect or concern for his tenants' experience.

I arrived to the house around 4:30 p.m. the day of check and immediately realized there were two huge issues:

1. There were people staying in the house I had paid to be in.

2. There was a family renting a cottage in the backyard. This detail is not mentioned on the VRBO site. I am a person that likes my space and was under the impression that there was a backyard to enjoy privately. Nowhere do it mention that other people would be staying on the property and that the backyard would be shared. It is hard to believe anyone would think this information isn't necessary to disclose before renting the place.

When I called Andy to report there were people staying in the house he told me he would get the people out, but it would be a few hours before we could enter the house. To be fair I want to acknowledge Andy was apologetic. With groceries in the car and plans to shower before a very nice dinner I realized I was out of luck. Andy and I decided he would refund the first night's rent for the mishap. I'll tell you right now he was hoping I'd settle for him paying for a cheap dinner. After checking out I didn't hear from Andy. I began to feel he had no intention to credit me so I emailed him. When I finally received the refund check (2 weeks later) it didn't include the security deposit. Once again, I reached out to Andy regarding the status of the security deposit refund which I had mentioned in the previous email. He responded "Geez...I would have thought refunding you the cost of a night's stay for 2 hrs of inconvenience would have been better appreciated". It's funny because I would have thought not throwing a fit when I found people living in the house I was paying for would have been better appreciated.

I shouldn't be the one driving the communication and initiating the refund I deserve. I certainly shouldn't be given a hard time for trying to understand when and where my refund would be coming from.

Did I mention the bedroom window doesn't have blinds? I don't know about you but when I'm on vacation I don't like to wake up at 6 am when the sun rises and is shining brightly in my bedroom.

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm disheartened to hear of your displeasure with your stay. If you had read the rental agreement, it states in the first paragraph that the property has another dwelling on it, as many homes do here on the coast. I assure all future guests that the backyard is very private, separated by a full fence and has not encroached on any other guests’ privacy or their enjoyment during their stays with us. With respect to the deposit, VRBO holds the security deposit, not us. They allow themselves up to 15 days to refund guests their deposit (as spelled out in the rental agreement) and always do so within that time period. You were given a full refund of your deposit in a timely manner per the terms in the rental agreement. While your arrival was admittedly rocky at the start, as our cleaning crew was still there cleaning, we handled the 1 hour inconvenience quite generously and comped you 1 full night of a 3 night stay, and were very apologetic as you noted. I responded promptly, as other guests in their reviews have stated. To all future guests, please read our many other reviews which attest that we are conscientious owners who go the extra mile to ensure our guests have an excellent experience at the beach house. MAHALO
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

We had a great stay at this adorable cottage.

  • 4 of 5

This cottage is very cozy with a cute beachy decor. Our family of 6 fit comfortably and had an amazing stay. We enjoyed our daily walks to the beach for some of us to hit the surf at Pleasure Point and for the rest of us to watch them. We also loved the beautiful back yard. This place is in a great location!! I would say the owners only have to do a few minor repairs to make this place 5 stars (fix master bedroom door as it is falling off hinges, secure curtain hardware to wall in master bedroom replace torn sheets in master, fix dresser drawer handle in master, patch tear on living room chair, replace torn shower curtain, put shade on lamp in queen bedroom). We would definitely stay here again. The owner was a pleasure to work with on securing the rental.

  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hello thank you for your 4 star rating of our beach bungalow. At the end of the popular summer season we can inevitably find small fixes that arise from visitor use. Please be advised that some of your repair suggestions were made right after your check out and functioning properly for the next guests. We continue to strive to meet and exceed your vacation home expectations and thank you for visiting the Aloha Beach House.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Comfortable Home in Pleasure point Santa Cruz

  • 4 of 5

We had a lovely stay. We felt right at home in this nicely decorated cottage with a nice sized back yard. Wal;king to the point to watch the surfers and walk along the Ocean path was a lovely way to start the day. It was an easy drive to both Santa Cruz and Capitola.

  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Yorba Linda, CA, USA
4

Clean, cozy and had all the comforts of home.

  • 4 of 5

Our thanks to Andy for allowing us to stay in his comfortable cozy cottage by-the-sea. It was perfect for our family to headquarter when we came to Santa Cruz to attend a good friend's wedding. So close to everything and a short walk to the beach and restaurants.

We would stay there again in a minute.

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
35 Miles
San Jose International
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Highway 1
Nearest Beach
Pleasure Point
Car: recommended

Close to the Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk! Walking distance to the iconic Capitola Village.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Opal Cliffs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Memorial Day Weekend
May 26 2017 - May 28 2017
3 night minimum stay
$390
 
 
Summer
May 29 2017 - Jun 29 2017
3 night minimum stay
$340
From
$390
Fri,Sat
$2,200
$7,500
 
 
4th of July
Jun 30 2017 - Jul 9 2017
4 night minimum stay
$390
 
 
Summer
Jul 10 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$340
From
$390
Fri,Sat
$2,200
$7,500
 
 
Labor Day
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 4 2017
3 night minimum stay
$390
 
 
Fall Season - 2017
Sep 5 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$325
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,750
$4,000
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$375
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$300
From
$325
Thu,Fri,Sat
$1,800
$4,000
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $120
Tax Rate 11.0%

Check In Time: 3:00 PM - Check Out Time: 10:00 AM

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable