Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Kona Shores - Great Escape to Paradise!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights

Overview

About the property

This lovely second floor condo in Kona Shores is just a mile to all restaurants, cafes and shopping within Kailua Village. From the Ocean Front Pool and BBQ Area you will be able to enjoy our amazing Kona Sunsets, as well as the cruise ships, parasailing, whales and dolphins. Maybe you’ll be lucky and spot the famous 'Green Flash” at sunset, as the sun dips behind the horizon.

Kona Shores #203 is newly decorated with very clean and comfortable furnishings. This studio has a queen bed, and a sofa sleeper for additional guests. The condo is designed to make it easy to enjoy your vacation. Complimentary Wi-Fi available and Cable TV. This unit includes a nice fully equipped kitchen, an indoor dining area, as well as dining on the lanai. The amenities at Kona Shores include a private OCEAN FRONT complex pool, BBQ area and laundry facilities.

The Kailua-Kona Historical Village is a short walk or drive away. The Village is very cute and quaint, with lots of charm and shopping right along the water’s edge. Some of the activities you can find in the Village and nearby are: beaches, luau’s, farmer’s markets, art galleries, jewelry shops, restaurants, boating, snorkeling, scuba diving, surfing, boogie boarding, and deep sea fishing…Just about every water sport you can think of! There are also several great golf courses nearby. There is so much to do to stay active, or you can do nothing and just lounge at the pool.

This is a non-smoking, no pets property.

Please feel free to contact us directly to find out how we can help make your Hawaiian Vacation Dreams come true!

Pacific Breeze Properties LLC

77-6425 Kuakini Hwy, Suite C-104

Kailua-Kona, HI 96740

(808) 365-3626

TAT #W10772527-01

Hawaii Tax ID #W10772527-01

More Details

Property Manager
Krista Gonsales-Pacific Breeze Properties
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 25, 2017

About Krista Gonsales-Pacific Breeze Properties

Aloha and thank you for your interest in Pacific Breeze Properties. We are full service residential Property Management Company that specializes in Long Term Residential Property Management, Vacation Rental Management and Caretaking Services. Over the course of 18 years on the Big Island of Hawaii, the owner of the company, Krista Gonsales, has acquired a wealth of experience in managing some of the finest estates, homes and condos on the Kona Coast. We look forward to working with you and encourage you to contact us directly to discuss your management or rental needs further.

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kona International Airport
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Huggo's, Bongo Ben's, Lulu's Humpy's, Ocean's
Nearest Golf
12 Miles
ma
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Lava Java, Bubba Gumps, Bongo Ben's, Huggos
Nearest Beach
2 Miles
Magic Sands

The Kona region of the Big Island goes beyond Hawaii's traditional offerings. Sure, there's ample sun, surf and sandy beaches, but the Kona coast features so much more. Step back in time and explore Kona's history, taste some of the world's richest coffee and view marine animals in the clear waters of the surrounding Pacific Ocean. These activities and more a wait along the Big Island's Kona coast.

Location: Kona is one of seven regions on Hawaii's Big Island, encompassing a 60-mile stretch of the western coast. The Big Island sits at the southeastern end of Hawaii's island chain, and is 4,038 square miles, double the combined size of Hawaii's other seven islands.

History: Kailua-Kona, also called Kailua-Kona Town, is a city in the Kona region and was, at one point, home to King Kamehameha in the early 1800s. The Historic Kailua Village in Kailua-Kona pays homage to Kamehameha and other Hawaiian royalty with tours of historic sites such as Hulihee Palace and Mokuaikaua Church. Also located on the Kona coast is Kealakekua Bay, where captain James Cook first landed on the Big Island and eventually was killed, in 1779.

Historical Parks: Kealakekua Bay State Historical Park has a monument to Captain James Cook. Near Kealakekua Bay is the 180-acre Puuhonua o Honaunau National Historical Park, which was once a sacred place of refuge. The Kaloko-Honokohau National Historic Park is a 1,160-acre park just north of Kailua-Kona that is home to historic temples and ancient petroglyphs.

Beach Activities: There are many white-sand beaches and ocean activities available on the Kona coast, from snorkeling and surfing to whale watching and dinner cruises. The waters along the Kona coast are calm and clear, providing perfect visibility of green sea turtles, fish and other marine life while snorkeling and scuba diving. There are surfing schools that offer individual and group lessons, sport fishing charters, dinner cruises and boat tours that will put you up close to whales, dolphins, manta rays and green sea turtles.

Things to Do: There's plenty to do in Kona aside from beach and ocean activities. Kona's small towns have many shops and galleries. Take a tour up to the 14,000-foot summit of nearby Mauna Kea, either during the daytime, to enjoy spectacular views, or at night, to take in some stargazing. Visit Kona in October to take in the annual Ironman World Championship, a long-distance triathlon that attracts some of the world's top athletes.

Kona Coffee: Kona has many excellent restaurants that offer dishes featuring fresh seafood from the Pacific Ocean, but the real treat on this part of the island is Kona coffee. There are many coffee farms in Kona, the only place where Kona coffee beans are grown to produce 100 percent pure Kona coffee. The conditions in Kona are just right for growing these rare beans--elevation, constant cloud cover and rich, volcanic soil. Aside from taking home some of this famous beverage, visitors can tour many of the area's coffee farms, and visit the Kona Coffee Living History Farm.

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
37% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Kona Shores - Great Escape to Paradise!
average rating of 4.25 based on 8 reviews
San Diego, CA
4

Nice and open but AC does not sufficiently cool

  • 4 of 5

Very nice, clean and open living space. The only complaint I have is the AC. It does not sufficiently cool the condo and we had to buy a fan to help cool the space!

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the feedback. So sorry for any discomfort. We have had a very humid summer. AC has been upgraded as of July 30th.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good for the price

  • 4 of 5

Studio propre et bien situé près de différents restaurants et activités. Convient à un famille de 3 mais pas la plus. Si votre but est d'avoir un endroit simplement pour dormir et vous ne prévoyez pas y passer des journee entières , cet endroit vous conviendra. La piscine est superbe et la vue pour le coucher de soleil est incroyable. Situé collé sur une artère principale et entendons très bien les voitures passer. Prévoyez les pièces de 0.25$ pour la machine à laver car il n'y a pas de distributeur à monnaie sur place.

  • Submitted: Aug 24, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Kona Shores

  • 5 of 5

Not everything was perfect here, but this place deserves five stars for location, amenities, and price. This condo is central to everything on the west side of the island, and very close to fine dining and shopping. There is a walkway on the property to the shoreline, which passes by the pool - great place to watch the sun set. The picture from the balcony seems to show the ocean, but it is the sky that you see. You can't see the ocean from this condo. Instead the view is mostly of other condos and a parking lot. We were concerned that our room faced Alii Drive, but the speed limit is 30 MPH and, with very few exceptions, the sound of traffic was not a problem. We slept fine every night. As long as you take out the trash daily and keep counters clean there is no ant problem (ants can be a problem anywhere on the island, just not here). Finally, the mattress was a little too firm for my taste. We had a quick breakfast at the condo everyday, and then we were out until late evenings, so we spend very little time in the condo. If you spend your time on the big island this way then this might be perfect for you as well.

  • Submitted: May 21, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Guntramsdorf
4

Very nice location and better than a Hotel

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed our stay in Kona Shores #203. The appartment is rather small but with Sofa Bed open it could also accomodate 3 adults or Family 2 + 2 Kids. We were welcomed also with a nice greeting Card and Macadamia chocolate. Sure, Equipment and furniture already some years old, not luxury, but one can see that it is kept well maintained and there is a "heart" behind to keep it nice. Pool is small but we realized that during the week were only few People and it is really located direct on the shore - this is for the Location unique. We loved the balcony seating. Nice breakfast and one evening with some Salami, Baguette and red wine to watch sun set. We certainly recommend and great value for Money!

  • Submitted: May 15, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great spot in town!

  • 5 of 5

We spent almost 2 months at this property while looking for a permanent rental. I can say it was a very clean and not over cluttered space! We meet the owners who were just as wonderful as can be they were very helpful with all our needs and not to mention Kyle who was getting what we needed who we dealt with through the property management. Kona Shores is on the ocean with a pool sitting out on the rocks was relaxing and a barbecue for all to share and meet local residents and vacationers from all over the world! We were at home at this rental and we highly recommend this for short term or long term stay Aloha!

  • Submitted: May 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

Rough shape

  • 2 of 5

We definetely WOULD NOT stay here again. The whole place is generally run down.

The condo we had was literally nearly on the street. Only 50' to the centre of the busiest road in town. Noisy traffic 24/7.

Pool , BBQ area in need of repair, maintenance, paint, locks etc.

Nice view from the pool area but you walk right by garbage area which was quite over full when we were there mid February 2017.

The unit itself had an underpowered air conditioner.

There was no washer, dryer nor dishwasher even though in the ad for the place said to put dirty dishes in the dishwasher.

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: From a management perspective, we would have like the opportunity to resolve any concerns you had during your visit, however we were not notified of any issues you were experiencing. Please see response from owners below:   We are sorry to hear your stay at Kona Shores did not meet your expectations.     The condo IS facing Alii Dr, but I wouldn't call it the busiest road in town. It is very quiet at night and not all that noisy in the daytime, there is a 30 Mph speed limit. Plus the double pane windows and solid wood door insulate what noise there is.     Kona Shores is a very busy complex, so it may appear "in need of" at times. We have very good on site maintenance personnel who are here everyday working to keep the place looking good.     The rubbish containers do get full during the busy season. They are emptied three times per week. If you had looked the other way you would have seen mangos, papaya, star fruit, and bananas on trees here at Kona Shores.     The A/C has been checked and is working properly. We noticed it was on "fan" when you departed, that may have been the problem.     The description  and pictures on VRBO are correct. there is no mention of a washer, dryer, or dishwasher.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $150
Damage Deposit $250

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.