Located in Mouth of Wilson, this cottage is in a rural area and in the mountains. Highlands Distilling Company and Jefferson Landing are worth checking out if an activity is on the agenda, while those wishing to experience the area's natural beauty can explore Mount Rogers National Recreation Area and Grayson Highlands State Park. Discover the area's water adventures with kayaking and water tubing nearby, or enjoy the great outdoors with cycling and hiking/biking trails.
Mount Rogers National Recreation Area - 5 min drive - 2.7 km
Grayson Highlands State Park - 8 min drive - 5.7 km
Oak Hill Academy - 17 min drive - 16.5 km
Virginia Creeper Damascus - 32 min drive - 33.9 km
Stone Mountain State Park - 55 min drive - 63.9 km
Restaurants
Corner Market & Café - 8 min drive
Sonic
Quincy's Pizza - 18 min drive
Frequently asked questions
Is REDUCED RATES! Hike Grayson! Instant Book! pet-friendly?
Yes, this property allows cats and dogs (limit 2 total) with a maximum weight of up to 50 lbs per pet.
How much does it cost to stay at REDUCED RATES! Hike Grayson! Instant Book!?
As of Nov 1, 2026, prices found for a 1-night stay for 2 adults at REDUCED RATES! Hike Grayson! Instant Book! on Nov 2, 2026 start from $220, including taxes and fees. This price is based on the lowest nightly price found in the last 24 hours for stays in the next 30 days. Prices are subject to change. Choose your dates for more accurate prices.
How much is parking?
Onsite parking is available at the property.
What time is check-in at REDUCED RATES! Hike Grayson! Instant Book!?
Check-in begins at 3:30 PM.
What time is check-out at REDUCED RATES! Hike Grayson! Instant Book!?
Check-out is at 11:00 AM.
Where is REDUCED RATES! Hike Grayson! Instant Book! located?
Situated in the mountains, this cottage is 1 mi (1.6 km) from Mount Rogers National Recreation Area and within 3 mi (5 km) of Grayson Highlands State Park and Jefferson National Forest. Oak Hill Academy and New River are also within 12 mi (20 km).
Reviews
7.6
Good
Reviews are presented in chronological order, subject to a moderation process, and verified unless otherwise labeled.
This is a great little old fashioned cabin on a beautiful piece of property. We will certainly use this place again when we visit Rugby.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2019
Response from VrboOwner on Mar 18, 2020
Kelleys group were wonderful guests, followed house rules and are great communicators. definitely recommend them!
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Renee B.
May 3, 2021
Liked: Check-in, communication
Very Rustic
Due to circumstances that were not anyone's fault power went out the first evening. We lost electricity, heat, and later the water too. Since there was no cell service in the house, we had no way to contact anyone for help. There was no landline provided either. We spent an cold and windy night in a powerless house. (Wind was coming in around the windows)
At first light we contacted the Owner. He was extremely responsive and apologetic and immediately returned our money.
The house is the perfect location for visiting Grayson Highlands, but I do want renters to know that there is no cell, no wireless access and no outside landline. There are also limited kitchen supplies. Cabin is older and could use some updating. Read the description and services provided carefully.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021
Response from VrboOwner on May 5, 2021
Thank you for your stay at our cottage Renee, as you mentioned, sometimes mother nature has different ideas. We inspected the windows to see if there is anyway wind can come in from the sides as you reported, but the windows are new, and we have been in the cottage with higher winds and have not experienced this, so I can only imagine that perhaps you left the windows slightly opened. in reference to limited kitchen supplies, we have a fully stocked kitchen ( we spend 3 months of the year there) but I will take into account you only spent 1 very short night at the cottage and could not have possibly had time to enjoy the kitchen and its amenities. Cell service as you know really relies on the guests celphone provider, we have Sprint and have no problem with service, and yes its correct we do not have a landline as we have experienced extremely high bill$ from previous guests making long distance calls .
Verified review
4/10 Poor
Rebecca G.
Oct 9, 2020
Liked: Check-in, communication, location
Disliked: Cleanliness, listing accuracy
Not Always as it Seems
I've rented numerous times over the last 6 years and have never been as disappointed as I was with this property. The pictures did not match the property there were rotten ceiling tiles, when you went to adjust the shower head the whole entire pipe moved. There were lamps everywhere but no outlets, wall switches for overhead lighting difficult to find. Anything that was plugged in was connected to a extension cord. There was no cell service; there was access for a landline phone, but no landline phone available to use which was concerning if there was an emergency. The mattress was extremely uncomfortable felt like you were actually sleeping on springs. The whole house smelled musty...like wet dog. We rented for 3 nights, but only stayed 2 (just couldn't take it any longer).
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2020
Response from VrboOwner on May 5, 2021
Hello Rebecca, sorry you were dissatisfied, with your stay, but up until now, we have had no such complaints. when you closely read you unhappy review, it seems its not inline with other guests experiences.
Loved the place and quite.
But there were no pantry items so we recommend that be removed from the description. You need to make sure you bring all supplies and food. But it is very beautiful and really enjoyed our stay.
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2020
Verified review
8/10 Good
Phillip T.
May 20, 2019
Location, Location, Location
This is probably the closest VRBO property to the entrance gate of Grayson Highlands State Park, and it is a very restful place to rest after a day of hiking. WIldlife is visible daily from the porch. The area is quiet and secluded. The house is a tad on the older side and there is no internet or WiFi (not just at the house, but for several miles around) Access road is gravel but very smooth and our Civic had no problems.
But for the price and the location I would recommend this property.
Stayed 3 nights in May 2019
Archival
8/10 Good
Whitney M.
Oct 29, 2017
Seclusion and Serenity at Mountain Air Cottage
Mountain Air Cottage is away from all the worries of the world and invites you recharge and relax. There is no cell reception or internet access at the cabin, which helped my husband and me spend quality time together. One thing we'd change is that it would be nice to have a landline in case of emergencies.
The cabin is hidden in a wooded mountain area among dozens of Christmas tree farms. It's at the very end of a gravel road, but full-time resident neighbors are not too far away if you need anything. The owner does not live nearby, but he communicated thoroughly and professionally through HomeAway. A sweet couple named Paul and Betty take care of the rental cottage, and they came to check on us when we arrived. They had even left a bouquet of flowers for us.
The house is clean and cozy, but it is several decades old, so expect a musty smell and old timey decor. It reminds me very much of my great grandmother's house. The cottage is advertised to sleep 6, and we found the king bed and full bed to be very comfortable. The people who slept on the couch and futon were less comfortable and had trouble sleeping, so we would suggest updating the living room furniture.
We woke up on our second morning to find that a mouse had been nibbling at our food, but we found an old trap and caught the mouse within hours. We don't advise leaving food out on the counter.
The cottage is very pet friendly, and the owner generously waived 3 days of the pet fee for us to bring our dog for 5 nights. One important thing to note is that people who are afraid of large dogs may have trouble staying at this cabin. Two houses down the road, there are at least 3 boxer dogs who chase your car while barking and biting at the tires. One dog even took a bite out of our car's mud flap! The scary dogs never followed us all the way to the cottage, but it was very stressful driving past their yard each day. We almost accidentally hit them several times when they jumped in front of us. When my husband asked the caretaker about the dogs, Paul said the dog owner refuses to keep his dogs put away.
There are so many wonderful places to visit around this cottage, and we loved how close it was to Grayson Highlands State Park, which we visited 3 out of our 5 days! The Twin Pinnacles hiking trail is an easy 1.6 mile hike with an extremely gorgeous view!
Overall, we give this cottage 4 stars and encourage fellow adventurers to stay there.
Stayed 5 nights in Oct 2017
Archival
2/10 Terrible
Lori R.
Oct 23, 2017
Wish NO stars was an option!!!
WORST EXPERIANCE EVER!!!! Would NOT reccomend. Absolutely no service, the "house" was more a glorified hunting cabin. Smelled like mold upon arrival, and was NOT clean. The power turned off half way through our stay so we were unable to shower or prepare for the day before we left nor were we able to clean since the water was off as well. NO instructions on how anything in the house worked. The floor was caving in extremely bad in the dinning room area and would give way when walking. The outlets were make shift at best with exposed wiring. We informed the host that we would have dogs and nowhere on the listing does it mention a weight limit or the amount of dogs allowed, nor does it state they need to be crated. Needless to say we are NOT satisfied and will NOT reccomend and will NOT be back. Side note the caretakers are a bit over bearing beating down the door before 7:30 am...not that we weren't already up leaving this atrocious property.
Stayed 1 night in Oct 2017
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Morgan H.
Oct 10, 2017
Great location and helpful host with easy access to the highlands just down the road.
Great location and helpful host with easy access to the highlands just down the road.
Stayed 1 night in Sep 2017
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Kim C.
Oct 9, 2017
Peaceful, quiet getaway from the hustle and bustle of life!
Cozy & Clean It was exactly what we were looking for! I would love to visit again! Thank you for sharing your treasure with us! 😀
Stayed 3 nights in Sep 2017
Archival
8/10 Good
David K.
Jun 28, 2017
Getaway From it All
My wife an I enjoyed our stay at the cabin. After a long day of hiking at Grayson Highlands, it was nice to come back in the evening to to a very peaceful, relaxing environment. The cabin is clean and has everything you need. It's also conveniently located to many recreation areas. Nights were filled with sitting on the front porch, enjoying the cool breeze, watching the fireflies and stargazing. We hope to come back.
Stayed 2 nights in Jun 2017
Archival
6/10 Okay
James F.
Jun 4, 2016
Cozy Porch and Near Grayson Highlands
We enjoyed our stay and our time spent on the front porch was very relaxing. We would come and stay again, however there is only one bathroom and it is located in the master bedroom. With that said, my husband and I would not find this ideal if we had others joining us.
One of my favorite things was the king bed and bedding, very comfortable and clean.
I am glad I brought some of my own cooking supplies. The kitchen does have the basic essentials, but could use some upgrades.
Good deal for the price and location.
Stayed 4 nights in May 2016
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Alison M.
May 15, 2016
Wonderful!
My teenage daughter and I needed time to relax and recharge...this did the trick! Lots of land to wonder in right outside of the door. But we did go to the State Park up the road and had a glorious hike.
The caretakers are super nice and helpful and the owners were very easy to work with. We will be coming back!
Archival
10/10 Excellent
Michael C.
Apr 6, 2016
Super clean, well-appointed, old-time charm
Located in and near plenty of outdoor and mountain activities. In two days we hiked Mt. Rogers in the Jefferson Wildlife, and the Twin Pinnacles trail in Grayson Highland Sate Park, both close by; and rode horses along the river. We ate good and affordable breakfast and dinner at The Log House restaurant close by.
For an older farm house, I found every switch and appliance to be in working order, and the house was as clean as any hotel room I've ever stayed in. Kids enjoyed the spacious yard and wildlife.