Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

The Ishihara Home- An Executive Plantation Escape to Paradise!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Space 1,700 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Recently refreshed and decorated, this executive style plantation home features fascinating exotic wood finishes with the feeling of home from days past. You will never tire of the expansive jaw dropping Waimea Valley and Ocean Views. This is a three bedroom/ one bathroom home. Come and experience the way the good life used to be.

Amenities

•Wireless

•Full Kitchen

•Laundry Facilities

•Gas BBQ

•Separate Sitting Area

•Enhanced Work Desk

•Shower and Bath Tub Set

•Lanai


Property Manager
Patrick McLean
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
70%
Calendar last updated:
September 19, 2017

About Patrick McLean

This Property is Managed Professionally by West Kauai Lodging on behalf of Mike and Colleen Faye. Patrick and the staff at West Kauai Lodging look forward to seeing you here in Paradise!

Patrick McLean purchased this house in 1992

Why Patrick McLean chose West Side

If you would enjoy an authentic, clean, professional, and well preserved experience of Kauai; we're your place. This is how the well-to-do 'Locals' have been doing it for generations. Why? Because it works and it's the best. This home and experience are historically correct and not influenced by what the Corporate Hotels 'think' the average guest on Kauai is looking for. Come see it~ You won't regret it!

What makes this house unique

All day never tiring views and front door access the Waimea Canyon, Kokee Park, and West Side Beaches

Amenities

Waimea House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible / Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Television
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

4/5 -
(4 traveler reviews)

75% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
25% Complete
The Ishihara Home- An Executive Plantation Escape to Paradise!
average rating of 4.0 based on 4 reviews
Cazadero, CA, USA
5

Great Place to Stay!

  • 5 of 5

My family (Mom, Dad and 2 college age sons) just finished a week at the Ishihara Home. This was our first trip to the Hawaiian Islands and we did not want a resort or gimmicky luau experience. Patrick is spot on with his checklist. We THOUGHT we wanted a place on the beach, but are so happy we spoke with Patrick and he told us about the Ishihara Home.

We hiked every day 5-12 miles and were thrilled to have Kokee State Park so close. The little town of Waimea was just fine and met our needs for food (both market and restaurants) - plus it is a nice walk to the markets and beach. There is a walking tour of Waimea. Unfortunately, we missed the Tech Museum and the small Faye family museum because we spent too much time on the trails and returned after closing.

The house is QUIET (except for the impossible to avoid roosters - which you do get used to after the first night). Beds were just fine. The back deck was lovely for sunrise/sunset. You can watch the cattle egrets (non-native) come home to nest in the large tree across the canyon.

We prepared every morning and most evening meals at the house and there was everything we needed for food preparation. Knives were sharp. Pans of good quality - even a blender. There was a little farmer's market not on the regular list in Kekaha on Saturday morning. There were about 5 women selling fruits and veggies and we got enough to last until we hit some of the other (more commercial) farmer's markets. Wifi worked just fine. We only used the TV once (couldn't miss Downton Abbey) and spent time playing cards and reading.

Plenty of room in the house. A "formal" dining room, sitting room and another living type room. All comfy furniture. The only odd thing is to make sure you remember that there is a small step as you go through any door opening. We never locked the doors and felt totally safe.

This is the drier side of the island. Though remember it is a small island and you can drive to the other side for a day adventure. We hiked at Napali and near the Arboretum outside of Kapaa. We took advantage of shopping in the larger towns as we drove to hiking destinations, but purposely stayed away from the large resort and hotel areas.

Sunday we spent at Polihale State Park and watched the locals surf and surf fish. Plenty of Humpbacks to entertain us. PLENTY of room on the beach, but with small craft advisories, we left the swimming to the locals.

Would we stay here again? YES.

  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
5

Beautiful in so many ways !

  • 5 of 5

This is a beautiful place in so many ways, the furniture, art work, spacious rooms, high ceilings and wonderful touches through out. Despite last minute reservations the owner was very accommodating and offered great touring information. The pictures don't do justice for this wonderful place and the outside deck is a great place to chill and relax (awesome views). Great quiet location, the beaches and beautiful canyons are right down the road.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Lahaina, HI
1

Owners cancelled on us the first day

  • 1 of 5

The owners cancelled our two week reservation because they didn't like our dogs which were pre approved by the manager prior to booking. We moved to Kauai with our two dogs and reserved this home for two weeks, the day we checked in the manager cancelled our reservation and we didn't get a refund for nearly a month. They left us out on the street with no where to stay, I guess thats their definition of Aloha. We found the Hawaii Aloha spirit everywhere else we went with or without our dogs, except here. Nice house but research the area first, we did not return to Waimea.

  • Submitted: Jun 21, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So just when you think you’ve seen it all right??? Here’s our side. It is true they called and received pre-approval for their “Service Dogs” when making the reservation. The fall out began when they arrived and we found we had been misled with the breed of dog; two “Pitbulls” and the customer had not stated this before. Additionally, when they said at reservation they had “Service Dogs” we immediately accepted this title with the respect of the high caliber dog that is common among ADA compliant dog assistance for the blind/etc. Upon arrival, we were provided the type of service dog documentation available online via “National Service Animal Registry” (http://www.nsarco.com/). Apparently there is a growing problem with dog owners falsely representing service dog qualifications. These service animal documents are available to anyone willing to pay the $64.95 fee for the “Complete Service Animal Certification Kit” regardless of the dog’s training. One dog was represented as a “Service Dog” and the other an “Emotional Support Dog”. Of additional note is the fact that the landlord’s three Grandchildren live across the street from this property and the two boys ages 3 & 5 who frequently play outside, riding bicycles, etc. The Ishihara Home is not equipped for dependable containment of animals. Also, as timing would have it, just prior to the guest’s arrival there were two dog attacks on other sides of the island by Pitbulls that left their victims in critical condition (one a Mother getting her mail with an infant in her arms and the other, one of two young boys playing in their own yard). We came to the conclusion that not only were we concerned about our insurance coverage, but the level of liability risk and general concern for our other guests and neighbors was too great. We gave the guests the option to stay as planned and house the dogs somewhere else, or cancel the reservation. They chose to cancel the reservation. The refund was sent the same day the customer cancelled- it took some time for them to receive the funds as the original account they made payment with had been closed. Ultimately, we are happy that our proactive management caught this problem before it became a much bigger and irreversible loss. We feel confident that our future guests will appreciate that we have preserved the sanctity and integrity of this amazing vacation location. Please contact us with any questions and we hope to see you here in paradise.
Did you find this review helpful?
7 0
5

Ishihara Cottage

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful place to stay. Close to town, stores, and beaches. Incredible view from the back deck area.

  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2015
  • Stayed: Mar 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
26 Miles
Lihue
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Saddle Room- Meat Market and Bar
Nearest Golf
10 Miles
Kukuiolono Golf Cours
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
552
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Wranglers Steak House
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
Waimea Beach
Car: recommended

Quick & Easy Checklist!

For those of you who like it quick and easy!

You shouldn't stay with us if you like:

1.Crowds and traffic jams

2.Crowded hotels, shops, restaurants & beaches

3.Paying more than you should for your vacation accommodations to stay in the highly marketed and 'Trendy' locations

You should stay with us if:

1.Seeing Kauai's Natural Beauty is important to you

2.Sunsets and uncrowded beaches bring a smile to your face

3.You prefer to 'Stay' in the sunshine and 'Visit' Kauai's Tropical Rainforests

4.Beach bonfires, BBQ's, and S'mores are a lost love

5.High threadcount linens and high quality finishes give the comfort of home and enhance your vacation

6.You like the thought of 'Classic Hawaii' better than 'New Hawaii'

7.The Beach, Ocean, and Mountains are your playground (or you want them to be!)

Ok, so were a little biased. How could we not be? West Kauai speaks to your soul. If our 'Quick and Easy' checklist above even partly describes your desires, we're confident that you will agree with our past guests in having our Kauai accommodations exceed your expectations.

Our guests appreciate our close proximity to Waimea Canyon, Kokee State Park, Polihale State Park, Polihale Beach, endless Kauai Hiking, and practically every outdoor type of Kauai activities.

Remember! You can access all of Kauai within 90 minutes driving from our location. Being on the Southwest side of Kauai we enjoy the best weather; only 15-20 inches of rain a year. Conversely, the opposite side receives about 85 inches a year. You get the best guarantee of weather on your trip and can schedule visiting Kauai's tropical rainforests when the weather cooperates.

We hope to see you soon!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $125

Cancellation Policy
We know that you won't want to cancel your plans to visit Kauai, however, if your require cancellation, your deposit minus a $75 cancellation fee will be returned when your reservation is cancelled 60 days or more prior to your scheduled arrival date. Cancellations within 60 days of your arrival date will be refunded when we can cover your reservation with a new reservation.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties