Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Beautiful South End home, 5 minute walk to downtown and beach!

Sleeps7
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 5 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom, 2 bath, sleeps up to 6

Welcome to Rockland and Lamorna Cottage!

This 1880s home has been lovingly restored. The cottage offers a true getaway on a quiet South End street. It's a short walk to all Rockland has to offer - festivals, shopping, world-class museums, the water-front, several restaurants and the small public beach.

On the first floor, there is a Living Room with a sectional couch and chairs, a TV with internet hook-up and DVD player with an assortment of movies. There is also a large dining room with seating for 6, a gourmet fully-equipped kitchen with island, a 3/4 Bath (shower) and a laundry closet with full-size washer and dryer.

On the second floor, there are two bedrooms, one with a queen bed and the other with a queen bed and a twin. Both rooms have side tables, bureaus, table lamps and ceiling fans. There is also a full bath off the second floor hall with a deep soaking tub.

Off the kitchen is a deck with outdoor seating, a picnic table, gas grill and a small garden. The front yard is a sunny place to hang out on the Adirondack chairs.

The number of guests is limited to 4 plus up to 2 children (there is a pull-out bed in the Dining Room and a large couch in the Living Room). There are hardwood floors throughout.

There is free internet available and we are pet friendly. We charge $25 for each additional guest over 4 to cover linens and cleaning.

Availability June 1st-October 15th. See calendar. We can't wait to see you!

More Details

Owner
Juli MacDonald
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
August 13, 2017

About Juli MacDonald

Our names are Juli and Steven, and we have two sons and a yellow lab. We love Rockland and are so happy to have found our second home there. From the first day, Rockland and the Midcoast welcomed us home. Here we are at Rock Harbor in Rockland, one of our favorite places!

Juli MacDonald purchased this house in 2011

Amenities

Rockland House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 7
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 7
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
  • 2 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Exceptional! 4.9/5 -
(20 traveler reviews)

95% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Beautiful South End home, 5 minute walk to downtown and beach!
average rating of 4.95 based on 20 reviews
5

Wonderful stay at Lamorna Cottage!

  • 5 of 5

This was our second summer staying at Lamorna Cottage. We absolutely love it. The house is adorable, clean, well-appointed, and conveniently located to everything on Main Street. Juli is wonderful and answers her messages very quickly-- she makes the process very easy. Needless to say we have already booked for next year! We are looking forward to another wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfortable home, great amenities, great service

  • 5 of 5

We found this home to be ideal for our stay. The location was ideal, close to downtown Rockland. The house was well appointed and comfortable in variable weather conditions. Juli and Steven were attentive to our needs. Though remote, they quickly attended to a small issue we encountered and were accommodating of our schedules. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Jun 29, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful stay!

  • 5 of 5

Cute house. Cute town. Restful and easy stay. We loved this little house. It was clean and the owners were so nice and accommodating. It is so close to downtown shops, restaurants and a great local coffee shop. We loved our stay and did not want to leave.

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Australia
4

Good first impressions of attractive cottage.

  • 4 of 5

We really liked this place and enjoyed our stay. The kitchen was particularly good, everything was very clean and the cottage is located in a quiet street just a short walk from the centre of Rockland. But after 3 nights there we realised that a few things needed attention. The bed in the 2nd room was about to collapse and we had to sort that out. The plug in the downstairs bathroom sink was faulty and couldn't be unplugged without getting underneath and a power point for a bedside light didn't work in the 2nd bedroom. We weren't impressed by the neighbour's junk being deposited outside the kitchen window either but that's probably beyond Juli's control. And even after reading the instructions for the TV we couldn't access it. Maybe, after staying in many, many vacation rentals, we're just getting too picky.

We used the Rock City Cafe a couple of times following Juli's recommendation and we weren't disappointed. Their cakes were delicious and the coffee wasn't bad either.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write and for choosing our home. We appreciate your feedback especially for the items we weren't aware of, like the bed and outlet in the bedroom... so we can take care of them as soon as possible. With best wishes, Juli and Steven
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Raleigh, NC
5

Great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5

We were in Rockland for an en plein air painting workshop (my husband is the painter). I spent the day exploring Rockland and surrounding areas. This house is so lovely and comfortable. It has everything you need. In fact, I am looking forward to renting it again next year! A word of advice: the restaurants are very busy in August. If you want to dine at Primo, 3 Crow, Cafe Miranda (highly recommend all three) or any of the better places, try to make a reservation in advance. It will save you hours of waiting. Also, the Farnsworth Museum is free on Wednesdays. It's definitely worth seeing. We also had a nice hike at Camden State Park. We hike to the top of Mt. Battie for a sweeping view of the bay--do wear hiking shoes and be prepared for a bit of rock scrambling on the way down.

  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to write!! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you again. With our best wishes, Juli and Steven
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Exactly as advertised

  • 5 of 5

We had a wonderful week in Rockland and traveling coastal Maine. The house was exactly as nice as pictured, and the whole trip went as well as we hoped. Everything was sent to us promptly, check in and out was simple. The house is only a short walk to the water and you pass a nice local coffee shop that's worth the stop.

  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rockland House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Late Summer
Aug 1 2017 - Sep 11 2017
5 night minimum stay
$225
$1,500
 
 
Fall
Sep 12 2017 - Oct 15 2017
5 night minimum stay
$200
$1,350
 
 
Early Summer
May 26 2018 - Jul 15 2018
5 night minimum stay
$200
$1,350
 
 
Late Summer
Jul 16 2018 - Sep 3 2018
5 night minimum stay
$225
$1,500
 
 
Fall
Sep 4 2018 - Oct 31 2018
5 night minimum stay
$200
$1,350
 
 
My Standard Rate
5 night minimum stay
$200
$1,350
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Deposit $200

We will charge an additional $25/person for each person over 4 people to cover additional cleaning and linens costs.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties