Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Spacious Condo with beautiful Mountain Views. 2 BR/2Bath sleeps 6 guests.

Bedrooms 3
Space 956 sq ft
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

Higher Altitude Features 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths. All Rooms Have Mountain Views.

If you are looking for mountain views and a place close to downtown gatlinburg and the ski slopes then this is the condo for you! Higher Altitude at High Chalet Condo's offer amazing views of Mount LeConte, and the ski slopes at Ober Gatlinburg. The view from the balcony offers views of the ski slopes and Mount LeConte. The balcony can be accessed from the living room or the master bedroom.

High chalet is a peaceful resort featuring a seasonal outdoor pool, hot tubs that are opened year round, Picnic areas with charcoal or gas grills, and a game room featuring a foosball table, shuffle board and various board games. The condo also has its own dedicated high speed WIFI.

Bedrooms: "Higher Altitude" has two bedrooms offering comfortable queen size beds and comfortable sheets. The master bedroom has a private bath and access to the balcony. There is an upstairs loft bedroom that offers two twin beds. Both bedrooms offer views of the mountains and Ober Gatlinburg ski resort.

Bathrooms: our unit has two bathrooms that are nicely decorated with fresh clean bath towels, wash clothes and hand towels. We provide shampoo, conditioner and body wash located in each shower.

Kitchen: The Kitchen is stocked with plates, pots, pans, silverware, glasses, and cups. Other features include microwave, dishwasher and kitchen table for two and bar that seats two.

Living room: features include comfortable couch and chair, throws and pillows. Centered in the living room is a cozy electric fireplace. 50" flat screen tv with dvd player. Spectacular views of the mountains and of the ski slopes. Sliding glass door that leads to the balcony with amazing views of Mount LeConte and Ober Gatlinburg.

Higher Altitude at High Chalet is located only 4 miles from downtown Gatlinburg and about 1.5 mile from ober gatlinburg ski slopes. Area attractions are easily accessible from the Condo.

**10% off rental rate for active military (email for discount)**

More Details

Daniel Stull
Member since: 2013
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
August 14, 2018

About Daniel Stull

Growing up in Coastal Carolina it was always nice to escape to the mountains to enjoy the many attractions. We still love to go hiking, bike Cades Cove, take a whitewater rafting adventure and go site seeing through the National Park. From childhood to adulthood The Great Smoky Mountains have always brought joy and excitement. In 2013 we decided to purchase our first vacation home in beautiful Gatlinburg to make this area our home away from home. This became "Our Place in the Smokies" We are glad to offer three great properties in Gatlinburg. Our Great Escape Condo offers Spectacular views of Mt LeConte and Downtown Gatlinburg, Knotty By Nature is our beautiful log cabin where we always hate to leave. Our latest addition is "Higher Altitude" this very cozy condo is at the top of the mountain offering birds eye views of Ober Gatlinburg Ski Resort. All of these homes are located just a few minutes from The Great Smoky Mountain National Park entrance and all the entertainment that Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge has to offer.

Daniel Stull purchased this condo in 2015

Why Daniel Stull chose Chalet Village

Higher Altitude is located at High Chalet Condos. High Chalet is well kept condo community overlooking Gatlinburg. The Mountain views offered from every room in this condo, the updated furnishings and décor, and the roominess of this condo is why we chose this property. The property comfortably sleeps up to 6 people and includes all amenities and dedicated Wi-Fi.

What makes this condo unique

High chalet condos feature a seasonal outdoor pool with two hot tubs. All around the well maintained grounds are picnic areas for you to enjoy the beauty of the mountains.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Daniel sent a great welcome packet by email, as indicated prior to the trip, with great references for everything from close by grocery stores to food and necessary info for your stay at the condo. It was nice to have as an email to reference while we were out and about. There are AMAZING sun rises out the front of the apartment, over the tops of some picturesque panoramic mountain views. It is about 15 minutes to the main strip in Gatlinburg. They had a beautiful and classy Christmas tree set up in front of the fire place which was such a fun touch! Ample parking right in front of the condo. Definitely be on the look out for bears around the complex. . . especially at night. Great deck space for watching the chair lifts at Ober Gatlinburg. Over all, great find and would stay here again.
Dec 2017
  • 1 of 4


Chalet Village Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 3
Building Type:
  • building
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 956 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 6
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
  • All cancellation's are subject to a $25 Cancellation fee.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , Private bathroom & Private door to the balcony
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen , Mountain and ski slope views.
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single , Loft Bedroom with two twin beds. Views of Pigeon Forge.
  • Higher Altitude features three bedrooms that comfortably sleep up to 6 people. The Master has a private bathroom and a private door way to the balcony. The second bedroom offers a comfortable queen size bed with views of the mountains and Ober Gatlinburg Ski Slopes. The loft bedroom has two twin size beds. From the window you can see the Pigeon Forge area lights at night. The loft looks down into the living room. We have vertical blinds that can be pulled for privacy.
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Sauna
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • bird watching
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • laundromat
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
15% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Spacious Condo with beautiful Mountain Views. 2 BR/2Bath sleeps 6 guests.
average rating of 4.631579 based on 23 reviews
Mount Vernon, Ky USA

Awesome condo

  • 5 of 5

The condo was perfect for our family of 5. My husband and I with our three children aged: 14, 11, 10. The pool was the big hit for our children. The hot tub was great for the husband and I. Saw lots of bears and even saw 1 at the dumpster in the parking lot of the condo. The only thing I found the least bit bad was that the condo is on the 3 floor with no elevator!! Would absolutely recommend the condo!! We hope to visit again soon.

  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not the greatest vrbo we have stayed at.

  • 1 of 5

This was the worst vrbo we have stayed at. We left a list of things to be taken care of. We didn't have a skillet to cook with. The cookie sheet along with the grill like pan was just gross. The fire detector in spare bedroom started chirping at 4:30 in the morning, the TV in spare bedroom did work, the chains to the ceiling were broke, no way to move the air in master bedroom and no TV in that room. The lock on the balcony door doesn't lock. I think you should have the drift by now that it wasn't a good place let alone the roads. For the money we spent it should of been a nicer place to stay.

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We hate the fact that you felt Higher Altitude didn't met your expectations but honestly were not sure how much more above and beyond we could have went for you. We received a text from you telling us that there was no "skillet" in the condo, we said that we would go and purchase one and take it to you which is what we did. When we got to the condo to leave the skillet we looked in the cabinet and there was a skillet already in the Condo, so we left the new one and the one that was already there for you to use. We never heard another complaint from you until our cleaning staff read the note that you left complaining that the "skillet" that was left was a sauce pan....really!!?? Not once did you say anything about any of the accommodations other than the fact that you wanted a skillet. We have been renting units in Gatlinburg for about 5 years and we have to say that we feel that you were one of the few guests that we have had that feel if they complain enough they will get refunded for some of the money that you paid to stay. We just hope that our future guests refer to the previous reviews when making their decision to book Higher Altitude and not a con artist trying to get her money back for their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Bowling Green, KY


  • 4 of 5

The condo was really nice, it included pretty much everything you needed. Our family really enjoyed our stay!

  • Submitted: Oct 8, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

We loved our vacation to the Smokies!

  • 4 of 5

Condo complex was very well maintained. Kids loved the pool! The condo itself met all our needs. I wish we would have known about its location, it's literally on top of a mountain! Quite a hike to get up and down but we managed!

  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great little place to stay

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our stay at Higher Altitude. It was clean & suited our needs. Here's what we thought:

*Pool area: pool was fantastic! Well maintained. Two hot tubs (1 sheltered, 1 not). Again, well maintained. Plenty of lounge space w/ chairs & a couple of patio tables.

*Game room: air hockey w/ no air & fooze ball table. Lots of board games you could borrow. We walked in, looked around & walked out.

*Plenty of parking. Never had an issue there. Easy to get in & out of parking lot.

*Drive to get there: be prepared for curvy roads w/ several somewhat steep grades. Nothing too bad as I was able to handle it w/ no issues.

*Condo: clean. Kitchen was well stocked. Everything worked. My nephews loved the little loft w/ twin beds. The lighting in the loft is one lamp so it gets fairly dim at night. Spiral staircase was charming but was VERY squeaky. Bedrooms were good size. Suggestion: if you like hanging garments: take hangers. Plenty of drawer storage. If you shower every day & don't reuse towels & don't wish to use laundry onsite you need to bring more towels. They provide several but if you're a group of 4 who like to shower & not reuse towels you need more. We did use the onsite laundry. You do have to pay but the room was clean & it was cheap, so no issues there. The balcony is tiny. I liked having it & actually did sit on it often (in one of 2 stools that are in dire need of reupholstering) but you can not fit more than two adults on the balcony at one time comfortably. The 'money' view from this unit is out the front door - gorgeous views there.

Picnic areas: I could see 2 picnic areas from my balcony. Unfortunately, neither looked like you could use them. The charcoal grills were very rusty & one was broken down altogether (I don't think this is the fault or responsibility of the owners of this unit - I just wanted to mention it). There was one nice looking grill in front of our unit. It was a gas grill but it was always in use so we never got to utilize it.

The outside of the building looks incredibly worn. Needs a paint job. The grounds were so pretty though. Well maintained grass and shrubbery.

The walls are kind of thin. Our last night there some new folks checked in next door and played their TV very loud. That was not a fun night considering losing sleep when I had to drive home the next day. Again, not Daniel's fault, just a bit of a heads up on the thin walls.

Owners responded to questions in record time! I would return again.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Clean. Comfortable. Great view.

  • 5 of 5

Enjoyed our stay. Property was clean with nice and comfortable accommodations. Great view. Quiet. Would definitely stay again.

  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
40 Miles
Tyson Mcghee
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
Downtown Gatlinburg
Nearest Golf
6 Miles
Gatlinburg Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
Downtown Gatlinburg
Nearest Ski
2 Miles
Ober Gatlinburg
Car: necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $100
Cleaning/Linens $75

Only 200.00 down holds your reservation. A rental agreement will be sent using Nitro Cloud for you to review after paid in full. 2-5 days prior to check in we will email a welcome packet containing the door code, directions, and other local information you may need to make the most out of your visit to the Smokies.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties