Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Private outdoor Jacuzzi under the stars!!! @ 10,000 ft above sea level!

Bedrooms 1
Space 768 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights


About the property

1 Bedroom, 1 Bath Cozy Mountain Getaway With Expansive Mountain Views

Come enjoy a romantic, adults only, private getaway at 10,000 ft elevation! Surrounded by National Forest and BLM with no neighbors in sight! 100+ mile views of the Collegiate and Buffalo Peaks. Less than 1/2 mile from the trail head for Horsethief Falls and Pancake Rocks! Enjoy beautiful sunsets and the amazing night sky from the Jacuzzi hot tub! Ask us about our "Special Anniversary/birthday special".

Enjoy a restful night sleep on our king size Lucid brand memory foam mattress on an aspen wood bed frame , watch movies on our 42" flat screen TV, update your Facebook status using our Satellite internet with wi-fi, channel surf for your favorite programs on our DirecTV (HBO, Cinemax, and Starz!!!), be delighted by our Denon stereo system and start your mornings out with a variety of flavor choices for your morning coffee with our Keurig coffee machine!

Located less than half a mile from Horsethief Falls trailhead , providing access to Ring the Peak and Pancake Rocks hiking trails. Close to the Crags and Mueller State Park.

AWD, 4X4 highly recommended due to steepness of driveway but not required.

Sorry No Kids & No Pets allowed.

We have bears and mountain lions in the area.

If you have any questions or concerns about travel to mountain elevation, let us know before you book.

Don't forget to purchase "Guest Protect" travel insurance thru CSA (800)349-8218.

If you're good with a camera and you'd like to share some of your pictures from your stay, you could win a free night stay!

More Details

Tricia and Dave Krempasky
Member since: 2015
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
April 22, 2018

About Tricia and Dave Krempasky

My husband and I are originally from Ohio near the Cleveland area. We moved to Colorado after living in Fort Worth Texas for several years due to literally falling in love with the area on a vacation trip. Colorado is now our home! We have come to learn that the area is gem and mineral rich with some finds in our own driveway of smoky and bull quartz! We have since joined the Lake George Gem and Mineral Club to learn more! We still live in the area, there is no way we could leave!

Tricia and Dave Krempasky purchased this cabin in 2014

Why Tricia and Dave Krempasky chose Cripple Creek

On a vacation trip from Fort Worth, TX west toward Yellowstone National Park and back through Colorado in 2013, my husband and I were smitten with mountains of Colorado. We knew instantly that we were destined to move to Colorado and within six months had bought this property as our new mountain getaway. As we enjoyed our new home away from the heat and congestion of Texas, we found ourselves wanting more. We began to look at land to build a home with rental cabins to be able to share our gift of hospitality with others who have yet to discover this beautiful place. We soon realized that we had a gem of a place already! The views from our little place rivaled any that we had seen in our search. So we decided to purchase a new home in the same area and found we could not part with our previous piece of heaven we had grown so fond of! So we decided to share this home with others who could enjoy the little piece of Colorado we have come to love so much!

What makes this cabin unique

We could not bring ourselves to part with this property because of the magnificent views, the proximity to the quaintest little town of Cripple Creek, as well as the larger town of Colorado Springs. The weather is so mild in the summer that an air conditioner is not even needed! The sun shines over 300 days per year, the air is clean and the views, did I mention the views!

Pikes Peak, Garden of the Gods, Cave of the WInds and Seven Falls are just some of the attractions close by! And if you love hiking, ATV riding, mountain biking or rock hounding, this is the place for you!

Horsethief Trail is a half a mile from here with horse thief falls and pancake rock trail as well as the Crags and Ring the Peak trail not that much farther! There is so much to do and see here, one week may not be enough time!

The towns of Cripple Creek, Manitou Springs, Lake George are a short distance away.

The Hideout is located on one of the recommended drives to see the Aspens change colors as well! check out this link:


Cripple Creek Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
  • Guests provide their own meals
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 768 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM
  • Max. occupancy: 2 ...
  • Max. adults: 2
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Not suitable for children
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Please shower before using the hot tub. It helps us keep it clean for you and our next guests.
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Rural ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 2 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 8' wide rainfall adjustable height shower head. Please DO NOT use bar soap, we provide his/hers body wash, or bring your own. Please only use septic safe toilet paper. We're on a septic system. We ask our guests to limit their use of toilet paper.
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 2
  • Master Bedroom - 1 king
  • King Size Lucid 14 inch Plush memory foam mattress, Ventilated Gel Memory Foam + Bamboo Charcoal Infused Memory Foam , CentiPUR -US certified. On a log bed frame.
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
  • festivals
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • spelunking
  • whitewater rafting
Contact us regarding special requests. Please note: THERE IS NO AC UNIT AT THE HIDEOUT! at 10,000 feet our annual high temp is 52.6 degrees. We've been known to get snow in July. We have installed a ceiling fan in the master bedroom and there is also a medium sized portable fan for warmer months.


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(83 traveler reviews)

79% Complete
14% Complete
3% Complete
1% Complete
1% Complete
Private outdoor Jacuzzi under the stars!!! @ 10,000 ft above sea level!
average rating of 4.6987953 based on 83 reviews

Beautiful, relaxing weekend.

  • 5 of 5

Such an enjoyable and relaxing stay. The owners are awesome with great information. We will stay again.

  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the very nice review! Come back and see the Aspens changing in the fall!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great - cozy - beautiful setting - Hot tub

  • 5 of 5

This property is great for 2 - with a little imagination you will find room for all your stuff. Loved the clean hot tub and used it daily. Views were awesome. It snowed 2 days we were there and we loved it. The sound system was awesome, loved the speakers next to the hot tub. Horse thief trails around the corner was a challenging hike. Visited Cripple Creek for a little casino action. All of our trips with VRBO have been good to great.

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Beyond our expectations!

  • 5 of 5

Property was exactly as advertised. Far enough away to give the privacy wanted but close enough to towns. We loved the hot tub daily. Super clean. The owners paid attention to the little details. They was a fantastic getaway to reconnect with your loved one.

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Nothing bad to say about this quaint/cozy little place nestled in the woods. Definitely be back...we hope!?!?!?!

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Won't be using VRBO again...first and the last time.

  • 1 of 5

The “Hideout” views are beautiful from the short time that I was there and could enjoy. We were supposed to be there for 6 nights. Unfortunately, I and my partner could not stay after a very short time (hour and a half). I feel I should warn other unsuspecting travelers like myself about this property and VRBO. I have very bad allergies to perfumes and dyes. I can usually handle a small amount but due to the size of this property 768 sq. ft. and having two air fresheners going off continually, the property reeked of it. Knowing my limitations, I travel with a rescue inhaler, nebulizer machine and an oxygen meter. If you don’t know about these types of allergies, when you have an attack, your bronchial tubes in your lungs restrict and cause you not to be able to breathe, which then drops your oxygen level. So, between the fumes and the elevation it caused an unsafe environment for me. We did try opening windows with fans that were blowing out to help with the fumes but everything was so saturated with it, it was unsafe for me to stay. I did buy trip insurance through VRBO(home away)but apparently, the wrong one. This does not pay for things like allergic reactions to the environment, only for natural disasters or issues before you reached your destination. This was our first time using VRBO or anything like it. A friend of mine suggested it instead of using hotels. Though I must say here, I have never had allergic reaction to staying at a hotel. I’ve traveled the world through work and have been to other mountain regions like Yellowstone and the Cascade mountains. It took me 5 days, 1,000 miles home, two hotel stays and a trip to the doctor to recover from our experience and out over 1,000 dollar. I did ask the owners before the trip what type of laundry soap they used due to my allergies to perfumes and dyes and they were very accommodating on washing the bedding and towels in perfume and dye free laundry soap. This however, does not negate all the perfumes from the air freshener that then saturates it all over again. So, if you don’t have allergies to such thing, I hope you enjoy your stay. Due to my experience with the whole thing I will not be using VRBO again. I will be staying in hotels and the trip insurance is a waste of money in my mind. Must also say the owners of the property did refund a portion of my money, not what “I thought” we agreed upon, as they say, live and learn. Hope this will help's unsuspecting individuals.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As owners of the Hideout, we don't ever want any traveler to have a bad experience with their stay or VRBO. We do our absolute best to accommodate guests including you and your partner. Once you told us you had allergies to certain laundry soap additives two or so days before you arrived, Dave bought special free and clear soap and washed the linens and towels for you. If you had also mentioned allergies to fresheners, we could have and would have taken those out. Letting us know this other aspect of your medical condition could have saved you this trouble. The elevation of the Hideout is clearly stated on the first page of the description, which you said you may have reconsidered your stay had you known. Supplemental oxygen is needed by some to be able to safely enjoy this elevation. We did agree to refund some of your stay even though our policy did not require us to do so. Your one star review is offensive to us when we did our best to accommodate you with the knowledge we had and also refunded some of your money after the fact. To future guests, if there is any medical condition that may require special considerations such as above, please let us know ahead of time so we can accommodate you. Please consider the elevation and how this may affect you. Understand the travelers insurance you are purchasing as well. A situation like this one could have easily been avoided.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

The Horse Thief Hideout - A Peaceful Cabin in the Woods

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I wanted to celebrate our wedding anniversary in a quiet cabin in a quiet location. The Horse Thief Hideout was just the place. Cozy, Colorado decor and a wonderful King Foam Bed was the best. Great sound system, Direct TV and beautiful view of the mountains, sky, stars and full moon making our celebration that much more special. The cabin is clean and well equipped so no stress if you forgot something. We did not use the hot tub so I cannot comment on it. Our contacts with Dave Krempansky was responsive, professional and to the point. All our needs were met. Clean, peaceful, attractive and comfortable. We would return. Please note, it is a cabin for two. Plenty of space for two adults.

  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Manitou Incline
Prepare to feel the burn! The ultimate stair master workout!
Pikes Peak
A drive up Pikes Peak Highway to the Summit is always a good time! Be sure to call 719-385-7...
Garden of the Gods Visitor and Nature Center
Located off Hwy 24 1805 N 30th St Colorado Springs, 80904 A must see if you're in the area.
Florissant Fossil Beds National Monument
Pack a lunch in your backpack, hike the trails, learn about the history of the National Monu...
Phantom Canyon Brewing Co
We've been fans of PCBC since we moved to Colorado back in 2014. Great beer and food! Locat...
Pikes peak mountain top
A drive up Pikes Peak Highway to the Summit is always a good time! Be sure to call 719-385-7...
Rudy's Country Store and Bar-B-Q
Texas style BBQ in Colorado! Great brisket!! Cold beers! You won't be disappointed.
Hungry Bear Restaurant
This popular spot in Woodland Park is always crowded on the weekends. Get the Cindy Lou or T...
Cave of the Winds
Cool underground experience! We haven't been since they put in the Terror-Dactyl canyon swing.
Mollie Kathleen Mine
Go 1,000ft underground to see how they mine for gold. Located across the street from the He...
Mc Ginty's Wood Oven Pub
Pizza is pretty good. Good place to watch a football game. The sandwiches are disappointing.
BierWerks Brewery
Just a place to hang out at and watch the traffic go by. They have a pizza oven and a BBQ fo...
Fiesta Mexicana Family Restaurant
Good margaritas!
The Steakhouse
Best Prime Rib in town! Get the 16oz King Cut! You’ll get to choose from bone-in rib-eyes, s...
Nearest Airport
48 Miles
Colorado Springs Airport
Nearest Barpub
8 Miles
Paradox Brewery in Divide
Nearest Golf
16 Miles
Shining Mountain in Woodland Park
Nearest Train
8 Miles
Cripple Creek & Victor Narrow Gauge Railroad,
Nearest Restaurant
8 Miles
McGinty's in Divide
Nearest Ski
75 Miles
Breckenridge, CO
Car: necessary

Horsethief Hideout is located on the western slope of Pikes Peak. only 1/2 mile from the trailhead for Horsethief park which includes Horsethief Falls and Pancake Rocks and gives you access to Ring the Peak trail. 5 miles North to The Crags and Mueller State Park.

The historic mining town of Cripple Creek is 8 miles south with 9 casinos. The Heritage Center is a must see and open year round. Take a tour of the Mollie Katleen gold mine (seasonal) Explore the wonders of The Fossil Beds National Monument located on Teller 1.

We recommend Bronco Billy Steakhouse, reservations required so call ahead to book a special dinner. We also recommend Pho 54, run by our friends Liu and Anna. Great Vietnamese noodle soup! If it's your birthday, we can tell you which casino's have be the best freebies.

You can summit Pike's Peak via Manitou incline, the Cog train (seasonal), or Pikes Peak Hwy, or enjoy an afternoon at the Garden of the Gods, go spelunking in the Cave of the Winds, visit Seven Falls, all of which are located less than hour from the property.

Book with us today for a memorable vacation!




Additional information about rental rates

trash, laundry, cleaning $60 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $150
Tax Rate 3.9%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties