Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront view of Poipu, the closest & largest house, 100 feet away

Bedrooms 3
Half Baths1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

3 Bedroom house, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6+)

Brenneckes Beach Villa is a, three - four bedroom ocean view vacation house. Located across from the Poipu Beach Park in the heart of Poipu, Kauai - this two story house features large bay windows, two large lanais (sun decks ) and a T.V. entertainment system. Being split level it's like having two separate places, but you are all in one house. Forget about being in a small hotel room or getting a connecting room with no space. This house is 2,500 square feet. Lots of room for everyone. Just steps - 100 feet away from the beach. No packing the car, getting everyone together and then forgetting something. You just pick up your towel and go. If you forget something, it's only steps back. Someone wants to go home and eat. No problem, steps away. Convenience makes this house the relaxing vacation for you and everyone you travel with. Don't feel like going out for dinner, BBQ on the balcony and dine under the stars. Save money and the headache of getting everyone ready to go for breakfast. Just have breakfast on the lanai (balcony) and sooth your morning to the beautiful colors of the ocean while the ocean waves relax your mind and body. We have a Hot/Cold Shower outside-That's comfort! Ping Pong Table in the Garage. Full washer & dryer in case you want to do laundry. Plenty of parking. Ready to go on vacation?

Please note that the marker on VRBO is incorrect. We are literally 150 ft. away from the beach. Conveniently located to shopping and many restaurants. Poipu Beach was recently recognized as the #1 beach in the U.S.A. You can walk or drive to all the new restaurants. Play golf or get a massage. It's all right at your doorstep.

You and your guests will be just 100 feet from the beach with ocean views and the soothing sounds of the ocean daily. Poipu Beach has it all: boogie boarding, surfing, paddle boarding, snorkeling, biking, or just hanging out eating a shaved ice.

The map on the website is incorrect. Being fixed. If you go to google maps and go to "brenneckes beach villa" the correct map is on our house.

If you need bikes, surfboards, fins or beach toys. We have a service that will deliver to th

e house and pick up when your vacation is completed. If you book with me, I can get you a discount.

Keywords: House / Villa

More Details

Steve Sedgwick
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018

About Steve Sedgwick

My wife and I fell in love with Kauai over 20+ years ago. We loved it so much we decided to build a house and rent it out so others could enjoy the beauty as well. We currently own two houses in Kauai. One on the North Shore, Oceanfront (Haena - near Tunnels Beach) and the other on the South, Oceanfront (Poipu - Brennecke's Beach). Our children loved both sides of the islands, so that is why we have one on the North and one on the South. It's funny but the North and the South side are very different. My wife and I go back to the houses on a regular basis to always check and maintain the houses. My children are grown up, but still enjoy coming back. When you book either properties, I'm always available to answer questions via email or phone, before and during your trip. We love Kauai and would like you to experience the beautiful island of Kauai too.

Steve Sedgwick purchased this house in 2004

Why Steve Sedgwick chose Poipu

We built in Poipu as we had two small children and wanted a safe vacation destination to return year after year! The children are no longer kids, but young adults in college and they still come back and aren't bored. My wife and I live on the island as part time residents and we make sure the house stays up to date. Also, we can't stay away, so when you aren't vacationing in the home, we are. Love looking for the whales, when in migration season and looking for Dolphins jumping in the ocean. The endangered Hawaiian monk seals can be seen sunbathing on the beach, some with their babies. Remember the seals and turtle are endangered so give them their space. You will probably see and even swim by the turtles because they like to call Poipu their home too. We hope you can enjoy one of our houses, we have to offer and the beautiful Island of Kauai. We have so many memories and hopefully you can build your own. We would love you to be able to enjoy the benefits of the spacious home and the location. Mahalo.

What makes this house unique

Centrally located within walking distance of shopping, golf, resorts, spa, fishing and all water sports. Steps away from all 3 beautiful beaches of Poipu. So convenient because you don't need to get into the car to go to the beach. Full washer and dryer if you need to wash some clothes. Hot/Cold outside shower. Plenty of parking. Ping Pong table in garage. BBQ on the lanai.

Guestbook comments from the owner


Thank you for sharing your great beach house with us. The house is in THE PERFECT location. Poipu Beach is heaven on earth. Mahalo.
Dec 2009
  • 1 of 2


Poipu House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 9:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Smoking allowed outside. Please complete, sign, date and return rental agreement within 3 days of booking.
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - upstairs - granite shower, jacuzzi tub, dual vanity, private bathroom, walk in closet and private door to Lanai. 2nd Bedroom - upstairs- granite Tub and shower, large granite dual vanity, private bathroom, sliding door to lanai. 3rd Bedroom - downstairs- granite shower and tub, granite vanity, sliding door downstairs. open room downstairs - contain two twin beds upstairs - pull out couch
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
We have a company that we can provide you with snorkel, surfboards, paddleboards, mountain bikes just to name a few. If you book with us and mention my name you can receive a 10% discount on their rental equipment.


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

86% Complete
6% Complete
6% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront view of Poipu, the closest & largest house, 100 feet away
average rating of 4.8 based on 17 reviews

Whole Family Loved it!

  • 5 of 5

Have a big family and we did not feel crowded at all. Traveled with my husband, parents & 4 kids. My 2 sisters were also always there. I can not wait to come back to stay at this same house, view is beautiful from upstairs bedrooms and balcony is comfortable for a big family to enjoy eating outside in the wind or sun.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Great location on Poipu Beach

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 3 couples had a great time staying here. The location is right across from the park and we had our choice between lounging and snorkeling at Poipu Beach or riding waves at Brennecke's Beach. The beds were very comfortable and it was great having bathrooms for each bedroom. The furnishings are nice and we enjoyed spending time on the patio where we could listen to the waves and hang out. We also appreciated the beach toys (snorkel sets, boogy boards, etc.) left in the garage that we were able to use. It rained a lot on Kauai when we were here (February), and Poipu was about the only beach with clear, calm water which was extremely nice.

Steve was very responsive in his communication before and during our stay.

  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Poipu vacation

  • 5 of 5

The Grandkids loved being able to walk to the beach, swimming, seeing monk seals and sea turtles. we enjoyed going to Waimia Canyon, bike riding,the Smith Family luau and going on a whale watchung tour.The house worked out great even with 8 adults and 4 grandkids, beautiful views and location.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

poipu vacation

  • 5 of 5

The house was HUGE. Loved everything about it. Beautiful inside, kitchen equipped with every appliance needed. We fell asleep to the sound of the ocean. Walk across the street and you're there. When we were there, my kids wanted to know when we could come back, and we hadn't even left yet.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Irvine, CA

A Great Family Vacation at the best location in Poipu.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great family vacation celebrating my father's birthday. There was 10 in our party including grandparents, spouses and grandchildren and we all fit comfortably in the beach house. The kitchen is large which made cooking for a large group a breeze. We ate out one night at the Shops at Kukui'ula (a 3 min drive) but there are many other restaurants within a 5 min drive.

The best feature of the house is its location. It's directly across the street from Poipu Beach Park, which has great snorkeling and is perfect for the little ones as it is relatively calm. One tip, bring some bread (in a zip lock bag) and your waterproof camera when you go snorkeling. You can thank me later.

The house also has a nice outdoor shower so it's easy to rinse off the kids after a day at the beach.

Steve, the owner, was accommodating and very easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: July 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


  • 3 of 5

Dear Mr. Sedgewick,

We just arrived home from our recent trip to Poipu in your rental home. We arrived at the home

around 6pm on Monday evening and found your home to be in an ideal location to

enjoy our family vacation. We loved being able to walk to the beach, several restaurants, and the new shopping center. However, the house is not without issues. We wanted to point out some of the problems we encountered, since we can tell from your lovely home and your other reviews that you care about providing a wonderful rental experience for your guests.

For such a big home, we were disappointed to find that the kitchen, as lovely as it is, was outfitted with broken and limited cooking items. There was only one large frying pan, and two very small ones, no baking dishes, flimsy cooking utensils, dull knives, and a semi operational blender. We never tried the oven as there were no oven safe pans. One burner was inoperable all together, and the others were spotty in their ability to heat. Also the kitchen faucet needs to be adjusted, since when its turned on it sprays so hard that water sprays everywhere! Your automatic ice maker wasn’t working either and the ice trays that were provided were cracked & useless..

The bed in the master bedroom was soft and uncomfortable.

The ceiling fans were noisy in the bedrooms, and the lower bedroom had a temporary floor fan as the ceiling fan didn’t work at all. There were lightbulbs out as well.

It would be great if you could provide more towels-- the amount of towels was so limited for the size of our group and length of stay, and there was only one tiny box of detergent (enough for one load) to wash them.

there was only one roll of toilet paper for each toilet, and one half-roll of paper towels in the kitchen, and 3 dish towels. This was for 6 nights! There were also very few garbage bags as well.

Plumbing issues: You need to change the flappers on many of your toilets, as they would flush themselves occasionally. The downstairs toilet runs. The master bedroom faucets need new washers as well-- one was dripping and the other was so difficult to turn on.

The downstairs shower door is improperly installed. It does not fully close.The BBQ was in poor repair.

The downstairs balcony is missing safety rails so with 2 toddlers we could not use it. The Lanai is beautiful and we enjoyed eating outside. If you can attend to these maintenance items that would make for a perfect family vacation rental

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you David for your response. A quick call to Robin or I would have been the advised response. We were on island and tried to call you no less than 9x to have the handyman stop by for 30 minutes to fix a few of the honey doo items as we were at the house just prior to your arrival to inspect. The extra supplies are in the closet, pots and pans are sometimes deep in the below cabinets and need to get low to see them. The ceiling fan switch is on a control panel that controls the speed. We do stock 10 bathroom towels and a extra set of 10 towels for the beach for the comfort of our guest. All of the issues you shared have been fixed or checked to make sure they are working properly. I realize that coming into a home for the first time is a new experience and had you only called most if not all items could have been addressed in 30 minutes.
Did you find this review helpful?
12 0


Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Lihue Airport
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Brennecke's Beach Broiler
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Brennecke's Beach Broiler
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Brennecke's Beach
Car: recommended


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

cleaning $358 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $250
Tax Rate 15.0%

Late payment fee of $200.00 will be collected if final payment is not received by the due date.
Please complete the rental agreement by adding all travelers staying at the house with their ages. Sign and date and return contract to email.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund