Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Oceanfront view of Poipu, the closest & largest house, 100 feet away

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms3
Half Baths1
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

3 Bedroom house, 3.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6+)

Brenneckes Beach Villa is a, three - four bedroom ocean view vacation house. Located across from the Poipu Beach Park in the heart of Poipu, Kauai - this two story house features large bay windows, two large lanais (sun decks ) and a T.V. entertainment system. Being split level it's like having two separate places, but you are all in one house. Forget about being in a small hotel room or getting a connecting room with no space. This house is 2,500 square feet. Lots of room for everyone. Just steps - 100 feet away from the beach. No packing the car, getting everyone together and then forgetting something. You just pick up your towel and go. If you forget something, it's only steps back. Someone wants to go home and eat. No problem, steps away. Convenience makes this house the relaxing vacation for you and everyone you travel with. Don't feel like going out for dinner, BBQ on the balcony and dine under the stars. Save money and the headache of getting everyone ready to go for breakfast. Just have breakfast on the lanai (balcony) and sooth your morning to the beautiful colors of the ocean while the ocean waves relax your mind and body. We have a Hot/Cold Shower outside-That's comfort! Ping Pong Table in the Garage. Full washer & dryer in case you want to do laundry. Plenty of parking. Ready to go on vacation?

Please note that the marker on VRBO is incorrect. We are literally 150 ft. away from the beach. Conveniently located to shopping and many restaurants. Poipu Beach was recently recognized as the #1 beach in the U.S.A. You can walk or drive to all the new restaurants. Play golf or get a massage. It's all right at your doorstep.

You and your guests will be just 100 feet from the beach with ocean views and the soothing sounds of the ocean daily. Poipu Beach has it all: boogie boarding, surfing, paddle boarding, snorkeling, biking, or just hanging out eating a shaved ice.

The map on the website is incorrect. Being fixed. If you go to google maps and go to "brenneckes beach villa" the correct map is on our house.

If you need bikes, surfboards, fins or beach toys. We have a service that will deliver to th

e house and pick up when your vacation is completed. If you book with me, I can get you a discount.

Keywords: House / Villa

More Details

Owner
Steve Sedgwick
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

About Steve Sedgwick

My wife and I fell in love with Kauai over 20+ years ago. We loved it so much we decided to build a house and rent it out so others could enjoy the beauty as well. We currently own two houses in Kauai. One on the North Shore, Oceanfront (Haena - near Tunnels Beach) and the other on the South, Oceanfront (Poipu - Brennecke's Beach). Our children loved both sides of the islands, so that is why we have one on the North and one on the South. It's funny but the North and the South side are very different. My wife and I go back to the houses on a regular basis to always check and maintain the houses. My children are grown up, but still enjoy coming back. When you book either properties, I'm always available to answer questions via email or phone, before and during your trip. We love Kauai and would like you to experience the beautiful island of Kauai too.

Steve Sedgwick purchased this house in 2004

Why Steve Sedgwick chose South Shore

We built in Poipu as we had two small children and wanted a safe vacation destination to return year after year! The children are no longer kids, but young adults in college and they still come back and aren't bored. My wife and I live on the island as part time residents and we make sure the house stays up to date. Also, we can't stay away, so when you aren't vacationing in the home, we are. Love looking for the whales, when in migration season and looking for Dolphins jumping in the ocean. The endangered Hawaiian monk seals can be seen sunbathing on the beach, some with their babies. Remember the seals and turtle are endangered so give them their space. You will probably see and even swim by the turtles because they like to call Poipu their home too. We hope you can enjoy one of our houses, we have to offer and the beautiful Island of Kauai. We have so many memories and hopefully you can build your own. We would love you to be able to enjoy the benefits of the spacious home and the location. Mahalo.

What makes this house unique

Centrally located within walking distance of shopping, golf, resorts, spa, fishing and all water sports. Steps away from all 3 beautiful beaches of Poipu. So convenient because you don't need to get into the car to go to the beach. Full washer and dryer if you need to wash some clothes. Hot/Cold outside shower. Plenty of parking. Ping Pong table in garage. BBQ on the lanai.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Steve,

Thank you for sharing your great beach house with us. The house is in THE PERFECT location. Poipu Beach is heaven on earth. Mahalo.
Dec 2009
  • 1 of 2

Amenities

Poipu House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:30 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 9:30 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Near The Ocean
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Free Long Distance
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 8 people
Bathrooms:
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Master Bedroom - upstairs - granite shower, jacuzzi tub, dual vanity, private bathroom, walk in closet and private door to Lanai. 2nd Bedroom - upstairs- granite Tub and shower, large granite dual vanity, private bathroom, sliding door to lanai. 3rd Bedroom - downstairs- granite shower and tub, granite vanity, sliding door downstairs. open room downstairs - contain two twin beds upstairs - pull out couch
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • jetted tub
Attractions:
  • arboretum
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have a company that we can provide you with snorkel, surfboards, paddleboards, mountain bikes just to name a few. If you book with us and mention my name you can receive a 10% discount on their rental equipment.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

84% Complete
7% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Oceanfront view of Poipu, the closest & largest house, 100 feet away
average rating of 4.769231 based on 15 reviews
5

Poipu vacation

  • 5 of 5

The Grandkids loved being able to walk to the beach, swimming, seeing monk seals and sea turtles. we enjoyed going to Waimia Canyon, bike riding,the Smith Family luau and going on a whale watchung tour.The house worked out great even with 8 adults and 4 grandkids, beautiful views and location.

  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Kailua,Hi
5

poipu vacation

  • 5 of 5

The house was HUGE. Loved everything about it. Beautiful inside, kitchen equipped with every appliance needed. We fell asleep to the sound of the ocean. Walk across the street and you're there. When we were there, my kids wanted to know when we could come back, and we hadn't even left yet.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Irvine, CA
5

A Great Family Vacation at the best location in Poipu.

  • 5 of 5

We had a great family vacation celebrating my father's birthday. There was 10 in our party including grandparents, spouses and grandchildren and we all fit comfortably in the beach house. The kitchen is large which made cooking for a large group a breeze. We ate out one night at the Shops at Kukui'ula (a 3 min drive) but there are many other restaurants within a 5 min drive.

The best feature of the house is its location. It's directly across the street from Poipu Beach Park, which has great snorkeling and is perfect for the little ones as it is relatively calm. One tip, bring some bread (in a zip lock bag) and your waterproof camera when you go snorkeling. You can thank me later.

The house also has a nice outdoor shower so it's easy to rinse off the kids after a day at the beach.

Steve, the owner, was accommodating and very easy to work with.

  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
FULLERTON
3

EXTENDED FAMILY OF 9

  • 3 of 5

Dear Mr. Sedgewick,

We just arrived home from our recent trip to Poipu in your rental home. We arrived at the home

around 6pm on Monday evening and found your home to be in an ideal location to

enjoy our family vacation. We loved being able to walk to the beach, several restaurants, and the new shopping center. However, the house is not without issues. We wanted to point out some of the problems we encountered, since we can tell from your lovely home and your other reviews that you care about providing a wonderful rental experience for your guests.

For such a big home, we were disappointed to find that the kitchen, as lovely as it is, was outfitted with broken and limited cooking items. There was only one large frying pan, and two very small ones, no baking dishes, flimsy cooking utensils, dull knives, and a semi operational blender. We never tried the oven as there were no oven safe pans. One burner was inoperable all together, and the others were spotty in their ability to heat. Also the kitchen faucet needs to be adjusted, since when its turned on it sprays so hard that water sprays everywhere! Your automatic ice maker wasn’t working either and the ice trays that were provided were cracked & useless..

The bed in the master bedroom was soft and uncomfortable.

The ceiling fans were noisy in the bedrooms, and the lower bedroom had a temporary floor fan as the ceiling fan didn’t work at all. There were lightbulbs out as well.

It would be great if you could provide more towels-- the amount of towels was so limited for the size of our group and length of stay, and there was only one tiny box of detergent (enough for one load) to wash them.

there was only one roll of toilet paper for each toilet, and one half-roll of paper towels in the kitchen, and 3 dish towels. This was for 6 nights! There were also very few garbage bags as well.

Plumbing issues: You need to change the flappers on many of your toilets, as they would flush themselves occasionally. The downstairs toilet runs. The master bedroom faucets need new washers as well-- one was dripping and the other was so difficult to turn on.

The downstairs shower door is improperly installed. It does not fully close.The BBQ was in poor repair.

The downstairs balcony is missing safety rails so with 2 toddlers we could not use it. The Lanai is beautiful and we enjoyed eating outside. If you can attend to these maintenance items that would make for a perfect family vacation rental

  • Submitted: Jun 30, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you David for your response. A quick call to Robin or I would have been the advised response. We were on island and tried to call you no less than 9x to have the handyman stop by for 30 minutes to fix a few of the honey doo items as we were at the house just prior to your arrival to inspect. The extra supplies are in the closet, pots and pans are sometimes deep in the below cabinets and need to get low to see them. The ceiling fan switch is on a control panel that controls the speed. We do stock 10 bathroom towels and a extra set of 10 towels for the beach for the comfort of our guest. All of the issues you shared have been fixed or checked to make sure they are working properly. I realize that coming into a home for the first time is a new experience and had you only called most if not all items could have been addressed in 30 minutes.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0
5

Location Location Location

  • 5 of 5

We had the Perfect family vacation. The location of the home could not have been better. So happy we decided to stay in Poipu beach For the great snokeling, surfing and sun. Steve our host was very easy to work with and accommodating .

  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Perfect of families with young children

  • 5 of 5

There were 10 of us: Grandparents, children, spouses and 4 grandchildren ranging from 18 months to 8 years. We came from MA, OR and AK and the idea of trading in the rotten March weather at home for sunny warm Kauai had us all VERY excited.

The house is big and gave everyone room to "escape" as needed. Having a kitchen saved lots of money and was certainly much preferred to taking kids out to eat (by us and the other patrons).

The deck on the upper floor is lovely. At the end of each day we would have drinks in the sun. The railing is substantial so adults can relax as the kids run around.

The sounds are memorable: surf, wind and roosters crowing. There are NO BUGS so it is delightful to sleep with windows and doors open.

For children, and thus for us, the major benefit of this house (and this is HUGE) is proximity which made logistics easy. There are 3 different beaches within about 200 yds of the house (boogie boarding, a no-surf for the little ones and a shallow snorkeling area with lots of fish) a surfing area is about a 5 minute walk and there is great walking or running along the bluffs with surf pounding the rocks below. For these beaches we never had to get into the cars to go or to come home. We probably didn't need the second rental car. Organizing 10 people to do anything is a challenge and this issue just went away. There are clean bathrooms and fresh water showers at the beaches and the house has an outside shower. Contrast this with getting 10 sandy, wet people into a car for the drive home.

The grandkids were happy beyond belief. The Alaskans had no experience of staying in the ocean for hours at a time and that's exactly what they did.

It was just great, the location and the house. We're ready to go back next year.

  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Airport
15 Miles
Lihue Airport
Nearest Barpub
300 Metres
Brennecke's Beach Broiler
Nearest Restaurant
300 Metres
Brennecke's Beach Broiler
Nearest Beach
300 Metres
Brennecke's Beach
Car: recommended

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $350
Damage Deposit $250

Late payment fee of $200.00 will be collected if final payment is not received by the due date.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund