Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Great summer rates $139/night - stay in your own Alpine Chalet !!

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Space 1,800 sq. ft.
Property type chalet
Minimum Stay 3 - 5 nights

Overview

About the property

Chalet, 3 Bedrooms, 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This home is located on one of the mountains surrounding Gatlinburg that was untouched by fire. Downtown Gatlinburg, all the attractions and the ski resort were also not near any fires.

Incredibly relaxing Swiss-style chalet located in beautiful Chalet Village in the Gatlinburg City limits. Fully furnished home, complete with full dinner service, kitchen cooking utensils and linens. Completely furnished with all appliances including dishwasher, washer and dryer, coffeemaker, blender, toaster and oven.

Two large and spacious decks overlooking a tranquil wooded setting. A creek flows adjacent to the house providing a relaxing backdrop. Rocking chairs provide a great gathering place on the upper deck along with a grill. The lower deck provides a digital four-person hot tub and a porch swing.

All bedrooms are on the lower floor. The master bedroom contains a private master bath while a second bathroom serves the other two bedrooms. All bedrooms have comfortable queen-sized beds with french doors opening up directly onto the lower deck. All bedrooms have new furniture and bedding.

The second floor is a large open area with french doors opening up to the upper deck and windows galore. This great room provides a sense of being directly up in the trees. A billiards table is provided along with a 55' wide screen LED TV. This home also features free, unlimited long distance phone and free WIFI. This floor has new hardwood floors. The kitchen is very spacious with ample counter and cupboard space, new stainless appliances and solid surface counter tops. A large stone fireplace anchors the center of the room.

This is my personal vacation home and I know you will be delighted.

Keywords:

More Details

Owner
Steve Baker
Member since: 2006
Speaks: english, french, german, spanish, mandarin
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
September 22, 2017

About Steve Baker

Hi, I'm Steve Baker, the owner of Cedarbrook. I was born in New Jersey, but have discovered there's no place like East Tennessee. I am on the road quite often, but can always count on great R&R every time I can visit this chalet in the Smoky Mountains.

Steve Baker purchased this chalet in 1993

Why Steve Baker chose Gatlinburg

I have discovered that Gatlinburg is one of the most unique places I have ever been. It borders the entrance to the Great Smoky Mountains National Park. And it exhibits a mountain character that is preserved in time. My chalet is located on a mountainside in the city limits called Chalet Village. This village contains hundreds of unique chalets and log homes. Every home is unique in its design. This has been the perfect area to own a home

What makes this chalet unique

The biggest benefit is the incredible peace and serenity of sitting on the deck and listening to the stream next to the chalet and looking out over the beautiful mountainside scenery. Perhaps the biggest thrill is watching bears that often stroll along the road and along the creek beds.

Amenities

Chalet Village Chalet Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • chalet
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • children welcome
Location Type:
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Village ...
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Master bath - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub , Double vanity
    Guest bedroom bathroom - toilet , combination tub/shower , tub
    Living area bathroom - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Guest bedroom 2 - 1 queen , French doors open to deck
    Master bedroom - 1 queen , 32' Flatscreen HDTV, French doors open to deck, Master bath,
    Guest bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 25' TV, French doors open to deck
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Pool Table
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Soothing Sounds from Streams Adjacent to Chalet, new furniture in every room, new kitchen appliances, new kitchen solid surface counter tops, new hot tub, new hardwood flooring, bew 55' LED TV

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(68 traveler reviews)

51% Complete
38% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
5% Complete
Great summer rates $139/night - stay in your own Alpine Chalet !!
average rating of 4.2941175 based on 68 reviews
5

A great place, can't wait to go back!!!

  • 5 of 5

I was very pleasantly surprised when my niece and I walked in and went to the bedrooms (on the ground floor)to find our personal towels folded in a flower presentation on each bed; truly a nice touch. The bed was extremely comfortable and I liked the fact that there is a slider door to the lower deck. Upstairs, the layout is perfect - an open layout. The kitchen was well equipped and the free wi fi was a plus. The entire house was very clean and well maintained. My niece and I spent each morning and each evening sitting on the deck hoping to spot a bear. Gatlinburg did not disappoint! We saw one our first night, and a mama and cubs the last night. Gatlinburg has bounced back from the major fire in 2017. A hike to Clingman's Dome is a must!! I definitely recommend this chalet. You will not be disappointed. Steven was prompt in replying to inquiries.

  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful chalet !

  • 5 of 5

We totally enjoyed Steve's home. It was very comfy with lots of room for 8 people. It had everything we needed and was clean and nicely decorated. Loved the kitchen. Saw 3 bears on the driveway !

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place for enjoying smoky mountains !

  • 5 of 5

Great home, very comfortable, very clean home. Great layout, comforyable beds. Close to town but also good privacy

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Great layout and location, maintenance and cleanliness were a problem.

  • 1 of 5

This chalet has a great location. Minutes from Gatlinburg and the Ober lift, the view is good from the porch too. The layout was good for may family of 6.

There were some cleanliness issues however. The house smelled of cigarette smoke by the stars and mold downstairs. We discovered mold in the showers and baseboard by the toilet in the master. Not what you want to see when you check in! I cleaned all with clorox and notified the owner, who said he hadn't seen it before. the sheets on the master bed were also dirty. It looked like the cleaning crew just forgot to change them, but that is really not acceptable. We drove for two days to get there, so we just had to clean it and deal with it. For our trouble, the owner refunded us one night of our 7 night stay, and said that he had people coming to take care of the issues, but I think I'd check specifically before I booked.

This house looks like it could be a really great spot, but it really needs a lot of work and more attention to detail.

  • Submitted: Jul 31, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have corrected the issues in the bathroom that Eugene has raised and we have sanctioned our housekeeping team. We apologize for the bathroom shortcomings
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great family get together home

  • 5 of 5

What a nice home ! Large upstairs space, very comfortable and clean. Well stocked with everything we needed. Home has been updated very nicely. We saw bears 2 times on the driveway!

  • Submitted: Jul 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Overall it was not a very pleasant experience.

  • 1 of 5

Broken pool table in the floor, which we couldn't use. Broken rocking chairs on balcony. Balcony railing is wobbly. Had to go get the propane tank filled. Way too hot on the main floor. Moldy smelling on the first floor and the inside desperately needs to be update. I wouldn't recommend this cabin to anyone.

  • Submitted: Jul 18, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: This was an unfortunate stay for Cindy and for us. The guests directly previous to Cindy’s arrival had destroyed the pool table. As Cindy was only staying 2 nights, we did not have time to replace the table during her stay. We texted Cindy before she arrived and she indicated she understood and was OK with the situation. Amazingly, we were able to replace the table on the day Cindy departed just 2 days after it was destroyed at a cost of $2,300. The same guests prior to Cindy had also broken 2 rocking chairs on the deck. We were able to replace those rockers before Cindy arrived, but the 2 old broken chairs remained on the deck. We’re sorry they were not properly removed. The hot temperature was due to Cindy setting the thermostat at 52 degrees. This froze the entire system up. Once we explained to Cindy that the system can not cool to that temperature and she should try a more reasonable temperature, the system reset and her desired temperature was reached. As far as needing updating, this home has hardwood floors, Broyhill furniture throughout that is only 3 years old, a 55” flat screen TV, flat screen TV’s in the bedrooms, granite counter tops, stainless steel appliances, brand new renovated bathrooms with new tiling and frameless shower glass doors. Does that sound like it needs updating ?
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Knoxville
Nearest Barpub
1 Miles
Dozens
Nearest Golf
9 Miles
Gatlinburg Golf Course
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
Dozens
Nearest Ski
1.5 Miles
Ober Gatlinburg Ski Resort
Car: necessary

Chalet located in Gatlinburg city limits yet far enough up Ski Mountain Road to provide a secluded setting, Gatlinburg is the jewel of the Sevierville-Pigeon Forge-Gatlinburg resort area, Great Smoky Mountain National Park (the most visited in the US) is only 2 miles from this chalet, shops and restaurants in downtown Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge provides, thrill rides, go-cart racing and some of the best outlet shopping in the Southeast, Sevierville boasts some of the best music and comedy reviews in all of Tennessee, Dollywood is a short 7-mile drive

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $90

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.