Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

EXTENSIVE RENOVATION COMPLETED! LUXURY LODGE-STYLE HOME 7 TVs WIFI

Sleeps14
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Space 4,100 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedroom, 4 Bath large luxury lodge-style home

Famous Whiteside Mountain in NC. EXTENSIVE RENOVATION IS NOW COMPLETE! Breathtaking panoramic long range mountain views from this staggering luxury lodge-style home that has undergone a full renovation and will be available for guests August 6. Located between Highlands and Cashiers, NC. This spacious home features four bedrooms each with a

private bathroom, essentially four master suites. The large great room is anchored by a massive stone fireplace and opposite a wall of windows with stunning views of Shortoff Mountain, Yellow Mountain and beyond to the Balsam Mountains and Blue Ridge Parkway. These views are even more impressive from the huge covered porch that expands 33 by 27 feet with new gas fireplace.

This home is a very short walk to the Whiteside Mountain trails, easily includes the most picturesque trail views in North Carolina, if not the entire U.S.

The comprehensive renovation includes all new bathrooms, new kitchen with all new stainless steel appliances and new stone countertops, new flooring throughout the entire home, expanded bedroom to become full suite with mountain views, and conversion of second floor to become huge master suite. Virtually every inch has been updated.

The home has been appointed with designer furnishings, bedding, accessories and lighting for a custom, opulent lodge appeal. See our other luxury homes listed on VRBO to understand the attention to quality and detail that we invest for our guests’ enjoyment. There are four dining areas inside and out in this home. Sleeps 12-14 in three king beds, two twin beds (that can be converted to a king bed), and two queen sleeper sofa-beds. Four full bathrooms. 7 flatscreen TVs!

More Details

Owner
Ron Spencer
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018

Why Ron Spencer chose Highlands

Complete renovation! Will feel like a brand new home!

Amenities

Highlands House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 14
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed ...
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only ...
  • We will provide a full refund for cancellations more than 90 days prior to check in, less a $50 fee and all credit card fees.
Location Type:
  • Golf Course View
  • Mountain View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 26 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 14
  • Master Suite - 1 king
    Second Master Suite - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Suite includes King bed and sitting area with Queen sofabed
    Third Master Suite - 1 king , 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Suite includes King bed, Queen sofabed, and sofa
    Bedroom 4 - 1 twin/ single , Suite includes twin beds that can be converted to King bed
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
Nearby is the famous Whiteside Mountain trailhead in the National Forest!

Reviews

Exceptional! 5/5 -
(10 traveler reviews)

100% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
EXTENSIVE RENOVATION COMPLETED! LUXURY LODGE-STYLE HOME 7 TVs WIFI
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
5

Wonderful house, wonderful view

  • 5 of 5

We found this to be a very special house. Having always preferred long-range views of the mountain range, this did not disappoint. Seems to be near the apex of Whiteside Mountain, and notably cooler even than downtown Highlands. Very nice kitchen, lots of spaces with good seating, and furniture that is much better than the typical mountain home that is for rent. Two different areas on the porch, one for rocking, another with a generous outdoor supper table next to a seating area with outdoor TV. Essentially equidistant from the main towns of Highlands and Cashiers. Was a perfect location for easy access to good dining when we didn't want to cook. Highly recommended.

  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are delighted when our guests appreciate the finer details of our home! And yes, the view is amazing, especially from this "house of glass"! Thank you
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Rustic and Spacious

  • 5 of 5

The home was absolutely incredible and great for a large group. The views are exceptional off the balcony and you never want to leave.

  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2018
  • Stayed: April 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Birmingham, AL/ USA
5

5 star property everything!

  • 5 of 5

From the minute we drove in the driveway to the departure day, this place had it all. Homey and comfortable. Fantastic view, tv’s in every room and well stocked kitchen with all need and more! Beds most comfortable and linens high quality. A fireplace in main room with firewood for the perfectfily setting! I cannot day enough great things about this home! Loved every minute of it! 5 STAR!!

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the great review! We love it when guests appreciate the time and attention we have invested to the details of preparing a luxurious setting for your comfort. Please come again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Gorgeous views and house

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time! Wish we could have stayed longer! Gorgeous views, comfortable beautiful home! Thank you

  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you enjoyed our home! We try to tell our guests to stay longer than two nights because it’s not long enough. Come again soon!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Jacksonville, FL
5

Gorgeous home with stunning views

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I drove up from Jacksonville FL to have an early Christmas with our NC and ATL families. To say this house was perfect in every way is an understatement. The owners even had a gorgeous fully decorated Christmas tree set up for us which made our gift exchange so much more beautiful. Ron was very responsive when I texted him to help with TV questions. We shopped, had the ultimate holiday dinner at Madison’s and generally relaxed and enjoyed one another. The kitchen is killer! So beautiful and functional - the back deck with fireplace and TV and amazing long range views is out of this world. Can not say enough - highly recommend - you will NOT be disappointed. We’ll be back!! ❤️

  • Submitted: Dec 21, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for this wonderful review! We loved hosting you as well!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful cabin, amazing views

  • 5 of 5

The cabin looked better than it did in the pictures. We had 6 adults and 4 kids and the cabin was the perfect size. The kitchen was well stocked with anything you need to cook dinner. The porch had plenty of room for the group if it hadn’t been snowing outside! We hope to make it back soon.

  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so happy you enjoyed our new home and love it as much as we do! You were wonderful guests! Please come again. Summertime is great too
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
50 Miles
Asheville, NC
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Highlands and Cashiers
Nearest Golf
3 Miles
Highlands and Cashiers
Nearest Restaurant
6 Miles
HIghlands and Cashiers
Nearest Ski
52 Miles
Maggie Valley, NC
Car: recommended

Wonderful shops, antiquing, and great restaurants all within 6 miles of the house!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $250
Damage Insurance $79

Cancellation Policy:
Cancellations that are made more than 90 days prior to the check in date: A full refund of damage deposit and rental payment (less a $50 service fee and any credit card fees if applicable) will be provided.

Cancellations that are made within 90 days of the check in date: A full refund of the advanced damage deposit will be made (less $50 and any credit card fees if applicable); however a refund of the rental payment will be made only to the extent that a tenant can be found to occupy the vacated time reserved under this contract.
By sending your deposit, you agree to these terms. Thank you.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund