expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Beautiful Lake House on Lake Hiwassee in Bear Paw with Dock and majestic views

Murphy, NC, USA
  • House2000 sqft
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths1
  • Minimum Stay2 - 4 nights

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5 Baths, (Sleeps 8-10)

Beautiful chalet style house on a quiet cove on Lake Hiwassee. Majestic mountain views from large double decks! Pine ceilings and floors, stacked stone fireplace, fully equipped granite kitchen, master on main, finished terrace level with great game room, easy walk to lake on newly installed stairs to the dock. AWESOME NEW DRIVEWAY!!!!!!

Gorgeous quiet lake surrounded by mountains!! Quaint town of Murphy within 20 minutes with great shops and restaurants. Gated security with amenities and large marina with boat rentals.

Also interested in trading vacation rentals for a week or weekend!

Keywords: Lake House


Mary Douthit

Member Since 2008
Response rate:
Response time:
within one day
Calendar last updated:
Mar 25, 2018
Why Mary Douthit chose Shoal Creek

This is one of the most beautiful and tranquil lakes in the Appalachians! It is uncrowded and since most of the property is owned by the TVA, there are few houses.


    • Internet
    • Pets Welcome
    • Air Conditioning
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
      • Bedroom 1
        1 king, MAIN LEVEL
      • Bedroom 2
        1 queen
      • Bedroom 3
        2 twin/ single
      • Convertible bed(s)
        2 sleep sofa /futon
      • King size beds (1) on main level, Queen size Beds (1), Double Beds (1) futon in loft, Twin or Single Beds (2), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)


      • 2 Bathrooms, 1 Half Bath
      • Bathroom 1
      • Bathroom 1
        toilet, combination tub/shower, tub
      • Bathroom 2
        toilet, combination tub/shower

        Location Type

          • Lake View
          • Lakefront
          • Mountain View
          • Water View
          • Waterfront


              • Guests provide their own meals


                  • Air Conditioning
                  • Clothes Dryer
                  • Linens Provided
                    Bring Lake Towels
                  • Mobile Phone
                    Verizon works best
                  • Parking Off Street
                    Lots of parking...New paved drive-way installed Spring 2010
                  • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
                    Parking at top of driveway.
                  • Washing Machine
                  • Wireless Internet
                    WIFI available at nearby clubhouse with your laptop.
                  • Wood Fireplace


                      • Catering Available
                        Many restaurants in Murphy.
                      • Cooking Utensils
                      • Dishwasher
                      • Ice Maker
                      • Kitchen
                        Granite counter tops.
                      • Microwave
                      • Refrigerator


                          • Dining Area


                              • Satellite / Cable
                              • CD Player
                              • Foosball
                              • Ping Pong Table
                              • Pool Table
                              • DVD Player
                              • Stereo
                              • VCR
                              • Video Game Console
                              • Video Games
                              • Video Library


                                  • Balcony
                                  • Deck / Patio
                                    double decks overlooking lake and mountains
                                  • Outdoor Grill

                                    Pool / Spa

                                      • Communal Pool


                                          • cinemas
                                          • restaurants

                                            Leisure Activities

                                              • antiquing
                                              • boating
                                              • miniature golf
                                              • shopping
                                              • sight seeing
                                              • wildlife viewing

                                                Local Services & Businesses

                                                  • fitness center

                                                    Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                      • mountain biking
                                                      • basketball court
                                                      • fishing
                                                      • golf
                                                      • hiking
                                                      • jet skiing
                                                      • kayaking
                                                      • cycling
                                                      • rafting
                                                      • rock climbing
                                                      • sailing
                                                      • snorkeling/diving
                                                      • swimming
                                                      • tennis
                                                      • water skiing


                                                          • private dock

                                                            House Rules

                                                            Check-in: 3:00 PM

                                                            Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                                            Cancellation Policy

                                                            100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                            7 Reviews


                                                            Latest reviews

                                                            A disappointing Christmas

                                                            Ann A.

                                                            Had some electrical issues second day but Greg handled it fast. The overall condition of the house was in need of a good cleaning. The owners said they would look into getting new house cleaners. Had to clean the stove and oven before we could use it. Trash was left in the fire pit outside. I could smell mold. I sent the owners a more detailed list of things and they said they would look into it. There are a lot of houses and I wanted something a little more private. I could stand on the deck and talk to the neighbor. I don't really put the blame on the owners because they rely on others to keep them informed. I left 12 days early because I couldn't stand it there any longer.

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            We are very sorry this happened. After speaking with the house cleaner it is evident that she got the dates mixed up and never cleaned before you arrived. When the trees are filled in in the summer, there is much more privacy. We are very sorry about this.

                                                            The cabin is as presented on vrbo website.

                                                            Alison F.

                                                            We enjoyed our stay at this lovely cabin. It is well furnished and comfortable. The game room downstairs is great! A nice getaway kind of place for the price.

                                                            The cabin is on a finger of the lake so the view is a peekaboo one of the lake and mountains.

                                                            It is a remote location so no cell coverage (if you have T-mobile or AT&T) or wifi. No store or restaurant within a 30 minute drive. So bring food. They do have a well stocked kitchen (including spices).

                                                            Our only complaints are that the outdoor area was a mess, the toilet bowls dirty, and the lighting inside was poor (need higher wattage bulbs or more lamps) making reading or doing puzzles at night difficult. Also, hand soap in each bathroom and dishwashing liquid would be nice.

                                                            Very clean. Quiet neighborhood. Lots of room for our family.

                                                            Matthew A.

                                                            We enjoyed our stay; the house was nice with everything we needed. The only thing that we didn't like was not having a phone in case of emergency. Our cell phones [AT&T] had absolutely no signal anywhere within 15-20 miles of the cabin. That said, it was nice to truly "unplug" for three days!

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            I am so glad you enjoyed our cabin in the woods! Verizon works at the house. I am sorry AT&T did not.

                                                            We will be back

                                                            Susan A.

                                                            The house was great. Location was perfect, size was good, kids had plenty to do. The only problem we had was that the house could have been cleaner when we arrived. But overall it was a great place and we would come back.

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            Sorry it was not clean enough. I guess my house cleaner did not do a good job.

                                                            Loved the House and the Lake

                                                            Kimberly A.Ringgold, GA

                                                            My family and I really enjoyed our stay. The house was clean and and cozy. The decor is just right for a house in the mountains. We enjoyed the swings and hammock on the deck and the downstairs game room. If you want a relaxing, peaceful yet fun vacation, this is the place. We plan to return next year.

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            Thank you Kimberly. I am glad you enjoyed our little piece of heaven! Please come back!



                                                            We arrived to the air unit on the bottom floor not working and when we contacted the owners they told us they would be up Sunday to look at it (we arrived Friday), they were a no show on Sunday. We kept the unit off even though the owners told us to try it again... saving them thousands of dollars by not burning up the unit. The cabin was dirty and we cleaned both bathrooms before we would use them. We took the time to blow the ashes off the back porch and even put the towels into the washer so the cleaning lady didn't have to touch our dirty towels but yet they would not refund our whole deposit citing the cabin was messy and we had broke things. We took video before we left because we have come to expect the worst of people so all I can say is they must've needed the money more so than I did and the thousands of dollars we saved them by not following their directions was defiantly not appreciated. We tried to be kind about everything, including the A/C not working, but when I was expecting them to try and do something to compensate for that issue and instead I get less than my whole deposit back it's a little frustrating. Especially since there were more problems with the cabin than just the A/C.... like the dish washer doesn't work correctly and the basement has no A/C at all, it's not water front, and the T.V. in the basement (which is also the game room) only gets the channel that the TV on the main floor is set to and it did not even get that while we were there. I should have been a little more concerned with a owner who would not return phone calls and would only send emails but I did not trust my instincts. I would not recommend this property to anyone that I know. Renters BEWARE!!!!

                                                            Owner's Response:

                                                            We told these people that our dock was not floating after Labor Day since we are in the back of a cove. We have water during the summer! The house was left in the worst condition either me or my house cleaner has ever seen. I have never had any other complaints, only compliments and this is the only time the security deposit has not been refunded in full. And also paypal refunded ALL their money! These people are as low as they come! They trashed our house and stayed for a week free!


                                                            Murphy, NC, USA


                                                            Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                            For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                            Property # 169220