check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Apartment with A/C in the Heart of the Village, Walk to Shops & Restaurants.

Bedrooms 1
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more


Minimum Stay
3 - 4 nights

About the property

Apartment, 1 bedroom, 1 bath sleeps 2-4.

20% Off your stay - WINTER SPECIAL!

Located in the heart of the Village of La Jolla, The Blue Topaz is conveniently close to 24 hr residential street parking as well as just a few steps to some of the best restaurants in town.

Freshly painted, with new carpet; The Blue Topaz offers all the comforts of home. There is a flat screen TV in the living room and also one in the bedroom with a wide variety of channels for your viewing entertainment.

There is a queen bed in the master bedroom and a pull out queen size sofa sleeper in the living room.

A table for 2 is available in the living room and the kitchen comes fully equipped with oven, refrigerator, utensils, plates, pots & pans, coffee maker, microwave etc.

The Blue Topaz has a lovely private shared courtyard with a fresh, clean laundry room that also provides a locking storage area holding all your beach needs. Boogie boards, beach chairs, beach towels and beach umbrella are available for your use.

Additional storage is available for your suitcases and any other personal property you would like to have secured during your stay.

Walk out the front gate and you are next door to some of the best restaurants in town. The Cottage, Zenbu, Tapenade and Public House are just steps away.

Stroll down to Prospect St and visit the many boutiques, art galleries and coffee houses. The Museum of Modern Art is a short walk away as is the La Jolla Recreation Centre.

You will have your choice of some of the most wonderful beaches in Southern California. Walk down to the Cove beach and along the coast you can see the Seals catching some rays on the beach.

A short drive or 20 minute walk to La Jolla Shores Beach and if you head south you can be at Marine St Beach and Windansea in less than 15 minutes strolling along the beach.

If you decide to leave La Jolla, it is a short drive to The World Famous San Diego Zoo, Seaworld, Balboa Park, Seaport Village, The Gas Lamp, Petco Park and Legoland.

The Blue Topaz really does have it all.

THINGS YOU SHOULD KNOW: No Smoking is not allowed inside or outside of this property. This is a SMOKE FREE home. This home is located in a quiet neighborhood and is only suitable for quieter groups. Our rental agreement includes a no tolerance policy regarding excessive noise, occupancy and/or parties. Deposit forfeitures and/or evictions are strictly enforced. Please make sure you are comfortable with these policies before renting with La Jolla Vacation Rentals.

More Details

Property Manager
La Jolla Vacation Rentals
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english
Manager indicates their response time is:
Within a day
Calendar last updated:
January 19, 2017

About La Jolla Vacation Rentals

La Jolla Vacation Rentals

7514 Girard Avenue, Suite 1-533

La Jolla, CA 92037

858-459-5491 office

858-777-5404 fax

Why La Jolla Vacation Rentals chose San Diego County

Great Location. Walk to everything


Excellent! 4.4/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

Apartment with A/C in the Heart of the Village, Walk to Shops & Restaurants.
average rating of 4.4166665 based on 12 reviews
San Antonio, TX

March 8-12th, 2009

  • 5 of 5

Highly recommend. The condo was perfect for our family, wich consits of myself, my wife and our 3-year-old son. Completely rennovated - kitchen and bath all granite; huge showers; vaulted ceilings, etc... The views from the windows are great. Right across the street from La Valencia. You'd be hard-pressed to find a better deal in La Jolla. We went to Von's and bought groceries for the week - cooked breakfast everyday except for the last day, when we ate at the Cody House - fantastic food. Michelle, the property manager, was great - quick to get back to us on any questions we had. Her daughter, who is CPR certified, babysat our 3-year-old son, when we needed a night out.

  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2009
  • Stayed: Mar 2009
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
5 1

Great Location!

  • 5 of 5

This rental was perfect for what we needed for a weekend in La Jolla. The location is perfect, right next to plenty of restaurants, bars, bakeries, and a very short walk to the beach. The space was very comfortable for 2 adults, and also very clean. La Jolla Vacation Rentals offers excellent and speedy customer service and I would absolutely rent with them again!

  • Submitted: Nov 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

It is the perfect location and the place is well kept and well equipt. We enjoyed every days.

  • 5 of 5

We enjoyed every days and the near distance of the beach, the shoppinng, restaurent, church, playground.

The place is well maintain and well equipt.

  • Submitted: May 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Apr 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Lack of Professionalism

  • 1 of 5


They are in the business to make money and not provide any verbal communication. Once they have your deposit and/or money they will only communicate by email.

Please read my other posts, I don't have any other negative posts!

We are locals and had a last minute need to move out based on some home renovations and unplanned new member to our family:) I reached out to them the day before to see about a week rental based on the timeline my contractor gave me. We signed the contract and moved in the next day.

The property was small but fit our needs at that point. BUT every morning there are delivery trucks or garbage trucks starting at 5a right outside the bedroom window. It would be nice to have some white noise or full disclosure on how noisy the property is.

On Monday morning, one day into our rental I spoke with the contractor and he was able to confirm that we would be able to move back in 2 days earlier. I immediately reached out by phone and email to see if La Jolla Vacation Rentals would work with us to leave 2 days early, 4 days away at this point. I asked for mercy based on the fact that we had a newborn and dog.......that we just wanted to be back in our own home. No phone response after repeated calls. I got an email stating, "Unfortunately we cannot adjust the dates as once you have booked we cannot accept any other booking and in fact, we had someone else who wanted your exact dates and turned them down." SERIOUSLY you had someone ask for the same last minute dates?? I find that hard to believe since we booked the evening before we moved in. I was hoping they would meet us in the middle or offer some sort of option. NOTHING! I then emailed them with their contract on putting it back on the market to see if it booked to get out of those 2 days. They said they could do that.........I had to follow up with them when it wasn't back on their website hours later.

I'm very disappointed with the lack of professionalism in this company. I hope the cost of 2 nights is worth the negative review!

  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I want to reply to this review with complete disbelief. When the guest booked the property the lease agreement shows that the only way there can be a refund is if we re-book the days that are not used. We never received any voice messages from this guest - if we had - we would have responded immediately. She did email asking for a refund and we said we would do our best to re-rent the property. We changed our office soft ware to show our agents that it was available (it does not have to show up on the website - to become available). We were unable to re book the 2 days she wanted refunded. Our job is to provide excellent properties for our guests to have worry free vacations, and to provide our home owners with secure bookings. I am sorry that this guest does not understand her contract and wish her the best with her home renovations.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Tucson, AZ

Cute but very cramped

  • 3 of 5

Great location if you are ok with walking. Cute but very cramped. Pictures make it seem slightly bigger than it really is. Not big enough for the price in my opinion. I'd probably stay in mission or pacific beach next time for the price I was paying and have something a little larger. Pull out couch was a little gross. I'd recommend an upgrade for the price. It was very hot also, it needs an air conditioner.

  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so sorry that you found the property cramped. When you called and said that there were 2 adults and 2 children we warned you that it would be a little cramped as we advertise that it is only 400 sq feet and I asked if your children would be ok sharing the full size pull out sofa (which is 1 year old). You said it would be fine. Unfortunately, you came during an intense heat wave and although there are overhead fans - we can understand that it was warm in the rental as it was in most homes this past summer. We certainly hope the amazing location close to restaurants and shops made up for the unseasonably warm weather. The good news is that the water temperature is also up in the ocean and that the beaches are walking distance from Blue Topaz.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Vilcabamba, Ecuador

Alan +Merrilyn

  • 5 of 5

Highly recommended,well located and central, yet quiet and the people in the area are so friendly and helpful..

Very many thanks for assisting us with our mail.

  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0


Nearest Airport
12 Miles
San Diego International
Nearest Barpub
Su Casa
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Downtown San Diego
Nearest Golf
7 Miles
Torrey Pines
Nearest Train
12 Miles
Solana Beach
Nearest Motorway
4 Miles
Nearest Restaurant
Su Casa
Nearest Beach
Car: recommended

The La Jolla Farmers Market every Sunday 8 - 2pm.

The Comedy Store is within walking distance.

The Contemporary Museum of Modern Art is also in walking distance.


Rates & Availability

Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)


La Jolla Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 400 sq. ft.
  • 1 story
Location Type:
  • Resort
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Child's Highchair ...
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Full Bathroom. - toilet , shower
  • 1 Full Bath
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • Bedroom - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , Queen size Sleeper sofa in the living room.
  • Queen size Beds (1), Sleeper sofa queen size in the living room. Baby Cribs (1), full size air mattress - more upon request.
  • Books
  • Television
  • Deck / Patio
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets considered
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • horseshoes
  • miniature golf
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers