Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Family and Friends in Greenport

Bedrooms 4
Space 2,200 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 nights


About the property

House, 4 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2 Baths, (Sleeps 9-10)

Our house is an historic Dutch colonial, both cozy and spacious, with warm wood trim and wood floors throughout. The 20 x 20ft. Great Room, a perfect gathering space for family and friends is complete with a baby grand piano, cable TV, children's toys and books, classic novels and wood burning fireplace has sliding glass doors opening to a large deck with dining table and gas grill. Fully equipped kitchen opens to formal dining area with bay windows. Upstairs, there is a full bath with tub and shower and 3 bedrooms. One has a queen cherry wood sleigh bed and glass door to a sun deck with table and chairs for morning coffee or evening cocktails. The second bedroom upstairs has a queen bed and the third has two twin beds. Downstairs bedroom suite has two rooms, one with a queen bed, the other a twin, full pull out couch and gas fireplace. The tall privet hedge and the green of the lawn and garden combine to create a private setting.

Our house is in the historic village of Greenport. Close to all transportation, you can walk to the bus, train and ferry terminal.

Beaches everywhere! Less than a mile from the house. the pebbled Long Island Sound beaches and sandy bay beaches are perfect for swimming.

Wine tastings and performances are held at the nearby wineries year round. Fall is a special time: apple and pumpkin picking, grapes are gathered, harvest festivities and farm stands full of local produce. Springtime abounds with local eggs, flowers and the historic Strawberry Festival.

Keywords: Beach, Village, Greenport

More Details

Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
September 17, 2018

Guestbook comments from the owner

We four really are in love with Greenport now, and being at your terrific house has a lot to do with that feeling. I hope you enjoy the rest of the year and I hope we're in touch- ideally in person. All best and thanks again.
Jul 2012
  • 1 of 4


Greenport House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2200 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 9
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Wood Stove
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining Room
  • seating for 10 people
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 9
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 twin/ single
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Queen size Beds (3), Twin or Single Beds (3), Sleep Sofa or Futons (2)
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Music Library
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing


4.4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

80% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
Family and Friends in Greenport
average rating of 4.4 based on 9 reviews
New York

Perfect for a big group with varied interests

  • 5 of 5

If there are 10 of you going to Long Island in 3 cars, this is a possibility for you. The guests are not tied to one another. The house is located 10 blocks from the heart of Greenport, one the biggest towns on the island. People can easily walk to shops, sea food restaurants, ferry and the train station. The proximity of the train station is the reason why some of the guests may have the luxury of beating the traffic and getting to Greenport on a train before everybody else... A picturesque and relatively desolate beach is within walking distance as well.

The house is spacious and soundproof. One tends to gain very little knowledge of what's going on on the other floor. When on the first floor, please have a glass of wine and play some games in the dining room. It has great energy.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2010
  • Stayed: May 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 1
Heilbronn, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Lovely house for vacation

  • 5 of 5

During my stay I had a great time in this beautiful and classy furnitured house! There is so much space for a family and you have everything you need and wish already there! It is clean and I felt comfortable during my whole stay there.

Also the house is really close to a beautiful beach and the heart of Greenport. It is easy to get to New York by train or bus, which might be a nice idea for a daytrip.

I really recommed this house for everybody who wants to stay in Greenport or Long Island in general.

Thanks to the kind owners for making my stay an amazing time!

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2015
  • Stayed: March 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Würzburg, Bavaria, Germany


  • 5 of 5

The house was clean, looked beautiful and it had a lovely and charming atmosphere. The rooms are bright and with classy furniture.

It's a beautiful place to stay, relax and enjoy your vacation. The town of Greenport is in walking distance, but also with free parking lots and the garden of the house is great to hang out, too.

Margo is a great and lovely host. She helps you with all your questions so you will have a great time during your stay.

When I will ever come back to Greenport I will definitely stay at her house again!

  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2015
  • Stayed: April 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
New York, NY, USA

A terrific vacation home near all beaches

  • 5 of 5

We've stayed here each summer since 2011, finding more reasons to love it as our family has grown. It's an easy walk and/or a great bike ride from town and from all beaches, the bedrooms offer light and privacy, and the two outdoor decks make for sweet meals and post-bedtime hangouts. Margo and Vipin are kind and responsive, and the lower level has plenty of toys.

  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2015
  • Stayed: January 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As always, it will be a pleasure to welcome this wonderful family to our Greenport house and we are proud they consider it their summer home.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Long Island, NY


  • 2 of 5

The house is basic and provides a decent place to stay which is close to town. However, we were very upset by the abundance of ants in the home and the owner has not been able to be reached since our stay. Please read below to see the letter which was submitted to the owner after our stay. She never responded.

Thank you for the use of your home this weekend. Your house is lovely, we took your recommendation on 67 steps and overall we had a very nice time. However, we were disappointed to discover that the house has an ant problem. We noticed that several traps were set up in the kitchen, but they were nowhere near sufficient. We lost food -- food that was in closed packages on the kitchen counter -- to the ants and had to subsequently keep everything in the refrigerator. Cooking meals was difficult, and part of the reason we chose to stay in a house instead of a hotel was so that we could cook our own meals. There were also ants in both bathrooms and in the master bedroom; two of my friends sleeping in that room found ants crawling in their suitcases and clothes as they were packing to leave.   I'm sure you would agree that this is more than a small ant problem, and I would like you to consider a refund of 10% of our total -- to cover the costs of the lost food and the inconveniences associated with the ants.   Thanks much.

  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2010
  • Stayed: August 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Upon receipt of this guest's letter, we immediately called a professional exterminator to assess our house. The exterminator felt the renters were over reacting, the house did not have a big ant problem and did not warrant any spraying. We were relieved because we have small children, many of our guests are families with children, and we do not advocate the use of toxic chemicals. However there were some tiny citronella ants and professional traps were placed around the house which were very effective. The guests, a group of 9 girlfriends, did have both our phone numbers and email address and our property manager's phone number and they did not attempt to contact anyone during their weekend stay. It was only afterward when we could not address their concern that they complained. Our housekeeper found our house very untidy after their stay, particularly the kitchen which had crumbs everywhere and open food packages left on the counter. What was particularly troubling about these guests is we did have contact on the phone with one of their party soon after their letter and they were verbally abusive with no regard to professional decorum. After that we had no desire for further communication. Subsequent guests last year did not mention seeing ants . As to their opinion that our historic house is "basic", we take pride in the upkeep of our beautiful house and our photos speak for themselves.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0


Car: not necessary


Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $125
Refundable damage deposit $800
Pet Fee $100

Reservation deposit converts to damage deposit at the start of the rental and will be returned after your stay (less any damages). There is a $100 cleaning fee.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties