Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Poipu, Ocean View, Pool, Walk to the beach and Relax!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Relax and enjoy the ocean view from our third floor condo. Just 100 yards from the ocean, you can hear the waves at night. You are only steps away from the beach, where turtles can be seen bobbing their heads and protected monk seals come and rest. This beach is considered to have the best snorkeling on the island of Kauai. Across the street is The Beach House, the only ocean front restaurant in Kauai with a magnificent sunset view.

We have recently remodeled our spacious one bedroom condo with a completely new bathroom and kitchen, including granite countertops. A full kitchen is available, should you choose to dine in, or the resort has a BBQ facility, complete with picnic tables for dining outside. There is also a swimming pool nestled among lush tropical plants in the landscaped garden.

Should you wish to wander further afar, there are a variety of activities to pursue. Take surfing lessons down the road and Sheraton Beach, a perfect spot for beginners. Golf and horse riding are a 5 minute drive. Shopping is also only 5 minutes away at Old Koloa Town or Poipu Shopping Village. These also include a variety of restaurants. Or travel even further, out west about 40 minutes away is Waimea Canyon and the spectacular Kalalau Lookout.

Prince Kuhio is a small complex with only 71 units. Rated 'solid gold value' by 'The Ultimate Kauai Guidebook', PK is a friendly and welcoming resort.

Keywords: Hawaii, Kauai, Poipu, Ocean View, Walk to Beach, 1 Bedroom, Cal King Bed, King Bed, Swimming Pool, Surf, Surfing, Beach, Waves, Snorkeling, special, honeymoon, affordable, Kitchen, Free Internet, Free Wifi, Lanai, Laundromat, Oceanview, Condominium, Condo, Prince Kuhio,

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2009
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 23, 2017

Guestbook comments from the owner

Hello Catherine, I just want to send you this little note to let you know that we really enjoyed our stay at your condo last week. We wished we had booked it for two weeks.



Everything was as we expected or better. The condo was very clean and well equipped and the location turned out to be just right for us. We could actually see the turtles down at PK beach right from your balcony.



We had fun going to the farmers market in Koloa on Monday to get most of the vegetables and fruits we needed for the week. The BBQ’s down by the pool were great for cooking dinner.



The whole complex seems very well looked after. Even the Koi in the little pond were fun to watch along with gorgeous sunsets from the Beachhouse restaurant.



Anyway, Thanks for a great week. We are already thinking of returning to your place sometime in Spring. We just have to make sure we don’t go during school holidays.



Mahalo,
Oct 2012
  • 1 of 4

Amenities

Poipu Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
General:
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
  • Free Wifi
Kitchen:
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
Outside:
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
Attractions:
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(8 traveler reviews)

50% Complete
37% Complete
0% Complete
12% Complete
0% Complete
Poipu, Ocean View, Pool, Walk to the beach and Relax!
average rating of 4.25 based on 12 reviews
5

Great place to stay

  • 5 of 5

It was our first time in Kauai. As a surfer PK's, Centres & Acid drops surf breaks are right across the road. The unit was clean. My wife and daughter were thoroughly satisfied with it. Matt and Luiz who worked at the resort were more than helpful with anything that we needed. The unit wasn't that big but hey, in Kauai what do you want to be hanging around the unit for? There's so much to see and do. The Beachfront Restaurant was great for sundowner drinks. yes the unit was clean. everything worked and it was a great price. For us: perfect holiday accommodation. The unit is on the 3rd level so we had a great view. There are no elevators to the unit but we are able bodied. This will be my 1st point of enquiry if we ever come back to Kauai.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
2

Mediocre

  • 2 of 5

The location is lovely, and the view is wonderful - it is the ONLY reason to stay here. The unit is fine - but only just. The unit could be more clean and updated. The sliding doors/windows are so dirty!!! And with that view?!!

The pictures are too kind - it's waaaaay dingier in person. Bummer.

The kitchen is fine if you are not a cook - the stove is a mess and completely inadequate for more than boiling pasta.

The laundry situation is a total racket - $2.25 to wash a load? Unconscionable.

We will not staying here again. It's too bad - we really love Kauai and really wanted to like this place.

  • Submitted: Nov 20, 2015
  • Stayed: Nov 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: As the owners of this condo we were very concerned to see these remarks, since we really work hard to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. A new stove was already on order and should arrive in the next few weeks. Unfortunately we cannot control the laundry costs but they are comparable to other buildings that provide the same service. We immediately contacted our local manager (we are in Oahu and do try and get there every 3 to 6 months). He has since found a new window/door cleaner and he will be sending pictures each time they are cleaned, and each time our unit is vacated, the housekeeper will let us know if the Kona winds have made the windows extra dirty. While we are obviously disappointed with our first “mediocre” review, we do appreciate the honesty of our guests and this can only help us to improve their stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
9 0
California
4

Lovely location, cozy accommodations

  • 4 of 5

My adult daughter and I stayed here the first half of our mother/daughter getaway vacation. The condo was exactly what we wanted - quiet and safe location, great view from the small deck out back, very nice pool was a bonus. It even includes a small cooler and towels for beach trips, which we used several times. We were only here for 3 nights before we headed to the north shore for the 2nd half of our trip, but it quickly came to feel like "home" at the end of our busy and fun filled days. I did follow up with the owner after our trip, and provided some feedback about a couple of very minor issues that I encountered. She responded immediately, showed her appreciation for me telling her about them and advised that she had already arranged to correct them. That shows me she really cares about her property and her guests satisfaction - I would absolutely rent from her again.

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2015
  • Stayed: Jun 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Comfort & Location

  • 5 of 5

Location! Location is perfect for snorkeling, beaches, restaurants, walks, seeing monk seals, turtles and great sunsets. My husband especially enjoyed the proximity to three golf courses. We really enjoyed having coffee every AM and seeing the ocean, mountains and looking out at Prince Kuhio Park. We found ourselves more relaxed than we have been in a long time with the condo being very comfortable. Can't wait to go back so we booked again for a month next year.

  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2015
  • Stayed: Jan 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Montreal, QC
4

Great Stay!

  • 4 of 5

We just came back from staying at this condo for a month with our 7 month old baby and already wish we were back in Hawaii. We found the condo to be comfortable and good value. The condo looked like in the photos. The condo is a rectangle with the kitchen/dining area leading into the bedroom that leads into the living room. It was a good size for us and the view from the lanai was great - you can see the ocean from the living room. The kitchen was a good usable size. There were some tiny ghost ants around but they didn't bother us...apparently they get exterminated a few times a year. Unfortunately, the stove is in need of repair/replacement. One of the burners doesn't always work and the oven did not work properly during our entire stay. To the property management company's credit, they did send someone to have a look at it but it never got fixed. The condo was nice and clean. It was also nice to find a few extra cleaning supplies. When we came in the carpets were badly in need of a steam cleaning and the person sent to clean the carpet was very professional and did an excellent job...much appreciated. Mike from the property mgmt company promptly addressed any of our concerns and made sure our stay was comfortable and Catherine was quick to answer our questions before we got there.

The property itself is a great location. Close to shops and beaches.:o) We loved swimming and watching the sea turtles in the cove across the street. The grounds are very well maintained. It was great to have access to the BBQs and sitting area. The laundry room takes credit cards - very convenient. The pool was nice and warm.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay at this condo and would definitely recommend it to friends and relatives. Hope to be back soon!

  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I can now report that the stove has been fixed. We had to wait for a part to come from the mainland (continental US). It arrived and was installed yesterday. Thank you for the great review and We're so glad you enjoyed your stay.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 0
Minnesota
5

Spacious & Nicely updated Granite kitchen/Ceramic floors/shower but needs new front door

  • 5 of 5

Very nice condo, kitchen has granite countertops/snack bar with 12 x 12 ceramic tile floor, fully stocked with utensils/pans, good sized Fridge, Nice lrg ceramic tiled shower also. Condo could use a few more towels as we had a Family of 3 & had to share beach towels since there were only 2 there. We stayed 5 nights & had to wash towels as there were only enough towels for a few days.

Bring quarters if you plan on doing laundry. No place to get change nearby and wash is $2.25 a load with dryer $2.00 a load. Credit union won't break paper money for quarters, but Bank of Hawaii will in Lihue.

Has no a/c, but a/c is not needed as wind blows from one end of condo to another. Quite a bit louder than Condos on the other side of the building as this one is about 5 doors from the street, but that's a tradeoff for the fantastic ocean views and views of Prince Kuhio park.

Front door needs replacement and we found that a security concern. Only thing between the outside and our belongings are wood slats that fall off the door and a screen.. No deadbolt lock either, but with the door as is, a deadbolt wouldn't help. Pool is adequate (8 foot deep) but was very cold each time we used it (4 or 5 times) as it gets little sun and is surrounded by buildings.

Patio is very narrow but useable despite constant breeze. (Chilly in ams)

TV could be updated as it is small and not a flat screen and remote didn't work well...

Bed was comfortable but offering a choice of pillows would have helped. I found pillows too soft and didn't work with my bad neck, so I traded with the ones in the Living room/Bedroom porch, but overall, pillows weren't very firm. Other Condo I stayed in at this place offered several different types of pillows with lots of pillow cases.

Not very dark in the am's in this condo, so if you like to sleep late, bring a sleep mask-you'll need it.

Don't bother bringing your hairdryer as I did, the one in the condo is very good per this once Hairstylist...

Overall, this was a very nice comfortable Condo. Look under the bed, Sand chairs are hiding there for you to use. I wish there had been a few more things such as Boogie boards, Snorkel equipment available...

Beach at Salt Pond Park and the Marriott down the street were our Favorites for swimming. Snorkeling is great across the street and be sure to watch the Sunset just down the block from Spoting Horn rather than from the Beach House across the street. You'll get better pics with Spouting Horn in the Background

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi there, Just to let you know, as of July this year we have a brand new solid and safe front door.
Did you find this review helpful?
5 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Damage Deposit $200

Hawaii State Transient Accommodation Tax ID #W40699564-01

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties