Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

5 Bedroom, 5 Bath, near pool and ocean.

Bedrooms 5
Property type house
Minimum Stay 1 - 7 nights


About the property

House, 5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

This beautiful Gold Rated open home is located on the 13th fairway of the Turtle Point golf course. All bedrooms open onto a deck or porch and all but one are screened. Three bedrooms are master kings , one a queen, and one two twins.

A new kitchen with granite counter tops has been added for spring 2015.

The community pool is 50 yards from the front door and the ocean is 500 yards. Kiawah Island is located 21 miles from beautiful Charleston, South Carolina, and offers fine and casual dining, miles of bike and walking trails, and a very beautiful, family friendly environment.

The home is light and airy and offers the perfect setting for a wonderful vacation. You can golf, hike, bike, and swim or simply relax on the porch swing and read.

Keywords: Two story house with large front and back porches and two upstairs decks

More Details


Vanderhorst Plantation House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • children welcome ...
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course Front
  • Golf Course View ...
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Garage ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Wood Fireplace
  • Catering Available ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 16 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
    Bathroom 3 -
    Bathroom 4 -
    Bathroom 5 -
  • Master bedroom has walk in shower and a shower chair available
  • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , master bath
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , master bath
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , master bath
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , bath in hallway
    Bedroom 5 - 2 twin/ single , bath in hallway
  • King size beds (3) All 3 king rooms have a private bathroom, Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • VCR
  • Video Library ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
Onsite Services:
  • Private Chef
  • playground
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • walking
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sailing
  • swimming
  • tennis
Covered Parking for three cars and one uncovered


Wonderful! 4.8/5 -
(12 traveler reviews)

83% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
5 Bedroom, 5 Bath, near pool and ocean.
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 12 reviews

Wonderful house!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of five women, which became four, when one had a family emergency, loved the house. We each had our own bedroom and bath. The house is spacious, it was spotless, lots of porches, practically private pool, pretty golf course view. Short walk to beach. We would, and hope to, definitely stay again!

  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Susan, Thank you so much for the great review. October is our favorite month there and I am delighted that your group enjoyed the house. My late wife loved the house and Island and Judy was always delighted when others loved it as much as we do. Come on back !
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Multi-family Retreat

  • 5 of 5

I have been meaning to write this for a long time. This house is amazing! This was our third time renting this home with friends(4 families). It is spacious and allows for each family to have their own space. It is a short walk to the beach and the community pool is right there and it always feels like it's just ours because hardly anyone else is ever there. Mike is so easy to work with! This house is a must!!

  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2016
  • Stayed: June 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Meredith, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We have named the house " Judy's Joy" in memory of my late wife who we lost in January after 50 years of a wonderful marriage. Judy loved return renters as it spoke to how much they enjoyed the house, just as we have over the years. Thank you for the great review and I will look forward to your next visit! Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Loved Everything!!!

  • 5 of 5

We had a fabulous stay at this house. It was the perfect house for our group of 3 families (adults and teens). If you are thinking of booking, you should know that the house looks even better in person than it does in the photos. The main level is huge, with a brand new, beautiful dining table from Pottery Barn that seats at least 10. It also has a breakfast nook that seats 6. The screened porch overlooking the golf course is also larger than it appears and is lovely, as is the covered front porch on the other side of the house.

The beds were all in good shape with quality mattresses which is important to us when renting a house. One of the master bedrooms also had a futon-like double bed in it. The kitchen and bathrooms were very well-stocked.

The community pool is steps from the house and feels like a private pool. No one else used it while we were there. The ocean is a nice walk and an easy bike ride from the house. We liked the privacy of the house, with it being just a short distance from the beach, but on a cul de sac and without the foot and bike traffic that the beachfront properties experience.

The house was spotless and extremely well-maintained. Everything was in excellent working order. The owners were wonderful to work with. We have rented many beach and lake houses over the years and this is among the best. We would gladly return, and are already making plans to.

  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2014
  • Stayed: April 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
Derby CT.


  • 4 of 5

We were very satisfied with the home itself and the location. We were not happy with housekeeping. We had mold in the showers. All the faucets have mold. A shower curtain had to be changed, Maintenance finally did come out and change the shower curtain, and clean the mold out of the handles in the showers. We neglected to check all the bathrooms so 3 of them did not get done. The bedding was not clean, there were no mattress covers and the comforters, especially in the back upstairs bedroom with the king were extremely dirty. The shower curtains also look like they have never been changed. We did call a representative of the owner and he saw to it that these things were done. Also when we checked in there were wet towels in the dryer and dirty sheets in the washer.

  • Submitted: Aug 20, 2013
  • Stayed: August 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Catherine, I am very, very sorry that the cleanliness home was not up to your expectations. It has been a very busy rental reason with only one open week , but that should not be an excuse. We pay over $300 for each cleaning and have had issues in the past. I'm glad Brian responded and I also thank you for letting both him and me know that it was unacceptable. I will be discussing the situation with him. I would also offer you a partial refund and will send you a check next week.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
New jersey

18 Ocean green

  • 5 of 5

Everything about our Kiawah experience was wonderful..the people, the home, the resort

I would recommend this area to anyone who enjoys great surroundings, wonderfully warm and friendly people, a beautiful home located in an incredibly beautiful area,wonderful restaurants and has everything a vacation spot could offer..

  • Submitted: May 27, 2012
  • Stayed: May 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
New Jersey

Lovely Home, Great Location, Very Nice Owners

  • 4 of 5

The description and photos accurately reflected the home's appearance and amenities. Mike was a pleasure to do business with, and was very responsive and helpful in answering my questions. House is located on a nice cul-de-sac, with community pool just feet away. Close to beach access and bike path. Front porch swings and screened-in back porch were used everyday. Plenty of room for all to spread out. Loved that each bedroom has its own bathroom. The island is very safe and I'm comfortable letting my teenagers take off on their bikes for the beach or Night Heron park for a pick up game. Easter week is a great week on the island, as there are many events for families, teenagers and young ones. We've been coming to Kiawah for 22 years and have stayed at many different homes. I would definitely stay here again, and would, without hesitation, recommend 18 Ocean Green to friends and relatives.

  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2012
  • Stayed: April 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the very positive review. We love the house and location and get great pleasure when someone loves it as much as we do. We are placing new furniture in two of the bedrooms and updating one of the tables so be sure to come on back!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Property Manager

Michael Walls
Member since: 2003
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
February 23, 2018

About Michael Walls

Judy and I met in college and have been together for over 50 years. Our only problem is that she is a Michigan graduate and I am Ohio State.We discovered Kiawah Island while vacationing at Myrtle Beach and we immediately knew that this is where we wanted our second home. We bought our first house with 4 other couples in 1978 and have gradually moved larger until we have our dream house and location. We love being close to the pool and just a short walk to the ocean.

Michael Walls purchased this house in 2000

Why Michael Walls chose Vanderhorst Plantation

We had previously owned smaller homes on Kiawah and we were looking for a larger place for our growing family of grandchildren. We fell in love with this home because of it's open interior, closeness to the pool and beach, the large front and back porches, and the expanded parking. It is a great home for large families and children.

We have several loyal renters who return every year and have become good friends.

What makes this house unique

Parking is very restricted at Kiawah Island and we have parking for a total of 4 cars; 3 in the garage and 1 in the driveway.You can see the pool from the front porch and listen to the ocean from the back porch when the wind is quiet.


Nearest Airport
28 Miles
Nearest Golf
on site
Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Atlantic Ocean
Nearest Point of Interest
community pool
Nearest Point of Interest
Turtle Point Club House
Nearest Point of Interest
Walking and biking beach path
Nearest Point of Interest
The Sanctuary Hotel
Car: necessary

Organized children's programs (Camp Kiawah) Kiawah Island Marathon.




Manager's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the manager or check their rental agreement when booking the property.