expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right
Magnifiercirclex

5 Bedroom, 5 Bath, near pool and ocean.

Vanderhorst Plantation, Kiawah Island, SC, USA
  • House
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • Bathrooms5
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay0 - 7 nights

House, 5 Bedrooms, 5 Baths, (Sleeps 10)

This beautiful Gold Rated open home is located on the 13th fairway of the Turtle Point golf course. All bedrooms open onto a deck or porch and all but one are screened. Three bedrooms are master kings , one a queen, and one two twins.

A new kitchen with granite counter tops has been added for spring 2015.

The community pool is 50 yards from the front door and the ocean is 500 yards. Kiawah Island is located 21 miles from beautiful Charleston, South Carolina, and offers fine and casual dining, miles of bike and walking trails, and a very beautiful, family friendly environment.

The home is light and airy and offers the perfect setting for a wonderful vacation. You can golf, hike, bike, and swim or simply relax on the porch swing and read.

Keywords: Two story house with large front and back porches and two upstairs decks

Property Manager

Michael Walls

Member Since 2003
Response rate:
90%
Response time:
within one day
Speaks:
english
Calendar last updated:
Apr 19, 2018
About Michael Walls

Judy and I met in college and have been together for over 50 years. Our only problem is that she is a Michigan graduate and I am Ohio State.We discovered Kiawah Island while vacationing at Myrtle Beach and we immediately knew that this is where we wanted our second home. We bought our first house with 4 other couples in 1978 and have gradually moved larger until we have our dream house and location. We love being close to the pool and just a short walk to the ocean.

Michael Walls purchased this House in 2000

Why Michael Walls chose Vanderhorst Plantation

We had previously owned smaller homes on Kiawah and we were looking for a larger place for our growing family of grandchildren. We fell in love with this home because of it's open interior, closeness to the pool and beach, the large front and back porches, and the expanded parking. It is a great home for large families and children. We have several loyal renters who return every year and have become good friends.

What makes this House unique

Parking is very restricted at Kiawah Island and we have parking for a total of 4 cars; 3 in the garage and 1 in the driveway.You can see the pool from the front porch and listen to the ocean from the back porch when the wind is quiet.

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Air Conditioning
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 5 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
      • Bedroom 1
        1 king, master bath
      • Bedroom 2
        1 king, master bath
      • Bedroom 3
        1 king, master bath
      • Bedroom 4
        1 queen, bath in hallway
      • Bedroom 5
        2 twin/ single, bath in hallway
      • King size beds (3) All 3 king rooms have a private bathroom, Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)

      Bathrooms

      • 5 Bathrooms
        • Master bedroom has walk in shower and a shower chair available

        Location Type

          • Downtown
            21 miles to beautiful downtown Charleston.
          • Golf Course Front
          • Golf Course View
            0n 14th Fairway of Turtle Point Golf Course.

            Theme

              • Away From It All
              • Family

                Meals

                  • Guests provide their own meals

                    General

                      • Linens Provided
                        Towels and linens provided by property manager, Wyndham Vacation Rentals
                      • Air Conditioning
                        separate upstairs and downstairs controls
                      • Covered Parking
                        Room for three cars in garage under house. Two cars parked nose to tail.
                      • Garage
                        3 car garage under house
                      • Hair Dryer
                      • Heating
                      • Iron & Board
                      • Clothes Dryer
                      • Living Room
                        flat screen tv
                      • Parking
                        Parking for 4 cars.
                      • Parking Off Street
                        room for three cars under the house and one in the driveway.
                      • Towels Provided
                      • Washing Machine
                      • Wireless Internet
                        comcast- no password
                      • Wood Fireplace

                        Kitchen

                          • Kitchen
                            new kitchen, February 2015. Granite counter tops. K-cup coffee maker
                          • Catering Available
                            David Vagarsky teaches baking at a local community college. He does a wonderful low country dinner of flounder, shrimp, and grits with key lime pie.
                          • Cooking Utensils
                          • Dishes & Utensils
                          • Dishwasher
                          • Ice Maker
                          • Coffee Maker
                            Hamilton Beach K-Cup coffee maker
                          • Microwave
                          • Oven
                          • Refrigerator
                            second refridgerator in basement for additional storage
                          • Stove
                          • Toaster

                            Dining

                              • Dining
                                One dining table seats 10 and a second seats 6. Additional 6 seats at table on back screened-in porch.
                              • Dining Area
                              • comfy seating for 16 people

                                Entertainment

                                  • Books
                                    take a book, leave a book.
                                  • DVD Player
                                  • Games
                                    Many board games.
                                  • Satellite / Cable
                                    (5)
                                  • Television
                                    Flat screen in living room.
                                  • VCR
                                  • Video Library
                                    Some classic DVDs.

                                    Outside

                                      • Deck / Patio
                                        (5) Every bedroom opens on to a deck or porch.
                                      • Golf
                                        Turtle Point Clubhouse with in walking distance.
                                      • Kayak / Canoe
                                        Kayak rentals available.
                                      • Outdoor Grill

                                        Suitability

                                          • Long-term Renters Welcome
                                          • wheelchair inaccessible

                                            Pool / Spa

                                              • Communal Pool
                                                Community pool can be seen from the porch.

                                                Onsite Services

                                                  • Private Chef

                                                    Attractions

                                                      • playground
                                                      • restaurants

                                                        Leisure Activities

                                                          • beachcombing
                                                          • shelling
                                                          • shopping
                                                          • walking

                                                            Local Services & Businesses

                                                              • ATM/bank
                                                              • groceries
                                                              • medical services

                                                                Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                                  • basketball court
                                                                  • cycling
                                                                  • fishing
                                                                  • freshwater fishing
                                                                  • golf
                                                                  • kayaking
                                                                  • sailing
                                                                  • swimming
                                                                  • tennis

                                                                    Notes

                                                                      • Covered Parking for three cars and one uncovered

                                                                        12 Reviews

                                                                        Wonderful4.8/5

                                                                        Latest reviews

                                                                        Wonderful house!

                                                                        Susan T.

                                                                        Our group of five women, which became four, when one had a family emergency, loved the house. We each had our own bedroom and bath. The house is spacious, it was spotless, lots of porches, practically private pool, pretty golf course view. Short walk to beach. We would, and hope to, definitely stay again!

                                                                        Owner's Response:

                                                                        Susan,

                                                                        Thank you so much for the great review. October is our favorite month there and I am delighted that your group enjoyed the house.

                                                                        My late wife loved the house and Island and Judy was always delighted when others loved it as much as we do.

                                                                        Come on back !

                                                                        Multi-family Retreat

                                                                        Meredith M.Ohio

                                                                        I have been meaning to write this for a long time. This house is amazing! This was our third time renting this home with friends(4 families). It is spacious and allows for each family to have their own space. It is a short walk to the beach and the community pool is right there and it always feels like it's just ours because hardly anyone else is ever there. Mike is so easy to work with! This house is a must!!

                                                                        Owner's Response:

                                                                        Meredith,

                                                                        Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts. We have named the house " Judy's Joy" in memory of my late wife who we lost in January after 50 years of a wonderful marriage.

                                                                        Judy loved return renters as it spoke to how much they enjoyed the house, just as we have over the years.

                                                                        Thank you for the great review and I will look forward to your next visit!

                                                                        Mike

                                                                        Loved Everything!!!

                                                                        Nancy W.

                                                                        We had a fabulous stay at this house. It was the perfect house for our group of 3 families (adults and teens). If you are thinking of booking, you should know that the house looks even better in person than it does in the photos. The main level is huge, with a brand new, beautiful dining table from Pottery Barn that seats at least 10. It also has a breakfast nook that seats 6. The screened porch overlooking the golf course is also larger than it appears and is lovely, as is the covered front porch on the other side of the house.

                                                                        The beds were all in good shape with quality mattresses which is important to us when renting a house. One of the master bedrooms also had a futon-like double bed in it. The kitchen and bathrooms were very well-stocked.

                                                                        The community pool is steps from the house and feels like a private pool. No one else used it while we were there. The ocean is a nice walk and an easy bike ride from the house. We liked the privacy of the house, with it being just a short distance from the beach, but on a cul de sac and without the foot and bike traffic that the beachfront properties experience.

                                                                        The house was spotless and extremely well-maintained. Everything was in excellent working order. The owners were wonderful to work with. We have rented many beach and lake houses over the years and this is among the best. We would gladly return, and are already making plans to.

                                                                        Renter

                                                                        catherineDerby CT.

                                                                        We were very satisfied with the home itself and the location. We were not happy with housekeeping. We had mold in the showers. All the faucets have mold. A shower curtain had to be changed, Maintenance finally did come out and change the shower curtain, and clean the mold out of the handles in the showers. We neglected to check all the bathrooms so 3 of them did not get done. The bedding was not clean, there were no mattress covers and the comforters, especially in the back upstairs bedroom with the king were extremely dirty. The shower curtains also look like they have never been changed. We did call a representative of the owner and he saw to it that these things were done. Also when we checked in there were wet towels in the dryer and dirty sheets in the washer.

                                                                        Owner's Response:

                                                                        Dear Catherine,

                                                                        I am very, very sorry that the cleanliness home was not up to your expectations. It has been a very busy rental reason with only one open week , but that should not be an excuse. We pay over $300 for each cleaning and have had issues in the past. I'm glad Brian responded and I also thank you for letting both him and me know that it was unacceptable. I will be discussing the situation with him.

                                                                        I would also offer you a partial refund and will send you a check next week.

                                                                        18 Ocean green

                                                                        Jimmy HNew jersey

                                                                        Everything about our Kiawah experience was wonderful..the people, the home, the resort

                                                                        I would recommend this area to anyone who enjoys great surroundings, wonderfully warm and friendly people, a beautiful home located in an incredibly beautiful area,wonderful restaurants and attractions...it has everything a vacation spot could offer..

                                                                        Lovely Home, Great Location, Very Nice Owners

                                                                        Patricia S.New Jersey

                                                                        The description and photos accurately reflected the home's appearance and amenities. Mike was a pleasure to do business with, and was very responsive and helpful in answering my questions. House is located on a nice cul-de-sac, with community pool just feet away. Close to beach access and bike path. Front porch swings and screened-in back porch were used everyday. Plenty of room for all to spread out. Loved that each bedroom has its own bathroom. The island is very safe and I'm comfortable letting my teenagers take off on their bikes for the beach or Night Heron park for a pick up game. Easter week is a great week on the island, as there are many events for families, teenagers and young ones. We've been coming to Kiawah for 22 years and have stayed at many different homes. I would definitely stay here again, and would, without hesitation, recommend 18 Ocean Green to friends and relatives.

                                                                        Owner's Response:

                                                                        Thank you for the very positive review. We love the house and location and get great pleasure when someone loves it as much as we do. We are placing new furniture in two of the bedrooms and updating one of the tables so be sure to come on back!!

                                                                        Location

                                                                        Vanderhorst Plantation, Kiawah Island, SC, USA

                                                                        Organized children's programs (Camp Kiawah) Kiawah Island Marathon.

                                                                        Availability

                                                                        $714avg/night
                                                                        12 Reviews
                                                                        Wonderful 4.8/5
                                                                        Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                        For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                                        Property # 26174

                                                                        x