Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Stay in the Heart of Crested Butte's Historic District

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Half Baths1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms + Convertible bed(s), 2.5+ Baths, (Sleeps 6)

Our house is in the heart of Crested Butte's historic district. It was built in the early 1900’s however, we lovingly restored it over the last year, reusing materials and preserving it's quirky charm. The floors have a patina developed over almost 100 years, yet we've plugged the old windy holes that gave the old miners a chill.

After a long day of skiing you can soothe your aches and pains in the claw foot tub or run upstairs and take a quick steam shower. When you return from dinner on the town you will enjoy the radiant floor heating and can switch on the old gas fireplace. The bedrooms have great views of Gothic, Mt Crested Butte, Mt Emmons and the Bench where Crested Buttes beloved Coal was mined.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2008
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

About The Owner

We are a family of three with a large extended family. Kate is working on her Phd, Daniel works in Real Estate (this was his favorite project) and Margaret is working on her ABC's. We love to cook a big meal and then stuff the nephews, brothers, sisters and grandparents in bed.

The Owner purchased this house in 2005

Why The Owner chose Crested Butte Area

Crested Butte has been the family vacation landing pad since my brother started working here over 20 years ago. We grew up in Colorado and as kids ran around Breckenridge like Huckleberry Finn. Crested Butte reminds me of that care free time and kids can still ride their bikes and roam around town like kids should. If you know it you know and love skiing, mountain biking, fly fishing, hiking, Nordic skiing, wildflowers, food the 4th of July and the list goes on.

What makes this house unique

You don't need a car in Crested Butte and when you are staying at our place you really don't need a car. It is also a great place that contributes to the postcard feeling of town. You'll be really comfortable with modern amenities, but still connect with Crested Buttes old time spirit.

Amenities

Crested Butte House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Kitchen
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 -
    Bathroom 2 -
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Queen size Beds (2), Twin or Single Beds (2), Baby Cribs (1) Pack & Play, Sleep Sofa or Futons (1)
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • live theater
  • museums
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • horseback riding
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • wildlife viewing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • tennis
Notes:
Steam shower, Claw foot tub

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

94% Complete
5% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Stay in the Heart of Crested Butte's Historic District
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 19 reviews
Indianapolis, in
5

Amazing house. Amazing location

  • 5 of 5

The perfect place to call home. Immaculately redone and very useful space. Great bedrooms, baths, kitchen, everything. I will definitely try to go back. 7 out of 5 stars.

  • Submitted: Aug 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Aug 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Kerrville, Texas
5

Great Summer Cottage for the Mountains!

  • 5 of 5

This was our eighth summer in Crested Butte and our second year in this wonderful cottage! The house is homey and in the perfect location. We met the owners this year and they are wonderful! We felt at home with them and the cottage! Can't wait until next summer!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The home was lovely and the owners were very helpful. Highly recommend this property!

  • 5 of 5

The property was very clean and nicely updated. The kitchen and bathrooms were very well stocked which was greatly appreciated. For our family of 5, it was the perfect house for us. The easy access to Elk was fantastic!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Rustic Gem Right in Downtown Crested Butte

  • 5 of 5

The house is absolutely beautiful, both inside and out. The owners clearly put a lot of time into making anyone's stay enjoyable and comfortable! The owner is quick to respond to any questions or concerns as well, which made our stay even more enjoyable. The house is right in downtown Crested Butte and truly a gem worth staying at!

  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Was good, but the Property Management co. had not prepared the house before our arrival.

  • 4 of 5

Unfortunately there were no screens on the windows, no outside furniture, no bbq, no TV instructions, an incorrect wifi password and we were not ,made aware of the lack of any closets on the 1st floor. When the owners arrived, they got an immediate response from the Management Co and everything eventually got corrected.Also the back yard backed up to 2 outside restaurants that were somewhat noisy.

  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful, clean and comfortable

  • 5 of 5

This is a truly special property and was perfect for two couples and one set of kids. The home is warm and is beautifully designed and had everything we needed. Plus it was less than a black from Elk Avenue and all the great restaurants and from the pickup spot for the shuttle to the mountain. Owners were also very responsive when we had questions. Hoping to stay there in the future!

  • Submitted: Mar 21, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $90 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $99
Tax Rate 13.4%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.