Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Unbeatable Sunsets from your private Lani

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Space 1,700 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 nights

Overview

About the property

House, 3 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, Sleeps 6

This is a fantastic home that has unsurpassed ocean sunset views. Located in a quiet upscale neighborhood on the Walua bike and walking path just minutes from downtown Kona. Above the heat at approximately five hundred foot elevation where the cool breezes create a perfect climate. The center of the home features a great open space of living and dining with bedrooms located at both ends of the common area, great full multiple couples wanting privacy. Fantastic views are seen from kitchen, living room, master and bedroom two. Newly upgrade kitchen includes, bamboo cabinets, granite counters, tile floors and new appliances. Newly remodeled full length lanai completely furnished with additional table and chairs for out-door dining, futon, deck chairs and bistro set for all day enjoyment. Large master suite in island decor with private lanai, includes a solid mahogany four post king size bed, flat screen t v, new large custom tile walk-in shower and granite counter sink. Bedroom two is Asian decor complete with a solid teak queen size opium bed and private entrance to the lanai. Bedroom three has bamboo decor with two twin beds that can be made into one king. Large private pool with fully landscaped grounds makes this paradise. This is a very clean and comfortable home. Sit back and watch the palms sway in the sunset or take a snooze to the sound of exotic birds singing.

Keywords: House

More Details

Owner
Stuart Hess
Member since: 2008
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 20, 2018

About Stuart Hess

I am a licensed Real estate broker in California and Hawaii. I enjoy four wheeling, quad riding, hiking and other out door activities. While in Hawaii it's all about relaxing on those out of the way beaches, hicking the Volcano and exploring the unlimited sites. It has become the only place that I can get away from it all and truly relax.

Stuart Hess purchased this house in 2002

Why Stuart Hess chose Kailua-Kona

Hawaii, Kona, beaches, sunsets and the perfect temperature. What else is there?

What makes this house unique

Peace, tranquility, the ease of coming and going when I please and of course I never tire of those wonderful sunsets.

Amenities

Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Optional
Floor Area:
  • 1700 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Ocean View ...
Theme:
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Covered Parking ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Main Bath
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower , Master
  • Fully remodeled master bath has large granite counter and walk-in shower and out-door shower. Guest bath is shower over tub.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king , 2 twin/ single , 1 baby crib
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2) Or can be made into a King, Childs pack and play (1) Pull out mat, (2)
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountaineering
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • spelunking
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
We have tried to provide everything to make your stay an un-forgetable one. Please notify us if you have special needs.

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(81 traveler reviews)

91% Complete
6% Complete
1% Complete
0% Complete
1% Complete
Unbeatable Sunsets from your private Lani
average rating of 4.8641977 based on 81 reviews
5

Wonderful quiet neighborhood. Great view and pool

  • 5 of 5

We had a great stay at sunset house. The neighborhood is very quiet. View and porch area are awesome. We spent a lot of time lounging and reading while watching sunset.

Pool was perfect for a quick dip. Very close and convenient to Kona activities, restaurant etc. House had all the amenities you need. Great stay start to finish! Thanks

  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Francisco, CA
5

Beautiful house and view!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed at this house in May 2018 with four friends and we all loved it! Hanging out on the lanai in the evening was the perfect end to our busy days! The view of the ocean from the lanai was very peaceful, the pool was relaxing and nice. Inside the house was also very comfortable! The main room has an odd set up for the bathroom with no real door, so you need to be cozy with your roommate! We would absolutely return to this house!

  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Overall a nice house

  • 3 of 5

My first time in Kona, my boyfriend lived here for years.

There were 3 reasons we booked this house that ended up being disappointments

1) The grill - which turns out is poorly located.. out the laundry room, through the carport, on the side of the house & you’re not allowed to “shortcut” to the lanai.

2) The pool - which turns out is beautiful but NOT heated, in fact was unbearably cold during our stay. And the only access is from the front/side yard.

3) The view - due to the vog we never got to see a sunset but would imagine they’re nice on the lanai.

Overall the house is nice, mostly updated, clean furniture & appears well cared for. There were ceiling & standing fans in the rooms but without a strong wind it was very hot in the house, possibly due to the weather oddities.

We loved watching the lizards in the evenings & in the end had a great time.

  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. It is unfortunate that you were unhappy with the house. 1) The grill is located just outside the carport as this is the only area that is not carpeted. We discourage guests short cutting through the master lani to avoid food stains on the carpet which we just replaced at a cost of 8k. 2) We have never stated that the pool is heated as most pools in Hawaii are not. The pool averages in the high 70s to low 80s. There are also numerous pictures and descriptions of the pool on the website showing it's location. most guests find the pool an unbeatable asset. 3) Unfortunately the VOG affects the entire Island and is sometimes worse than normal. We have not figured a way to control the weather yet.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Fantastic property!

  • 5 of 5

Great location - very near Kona - but away from the noise. Beautiful views, great house, great pool...loved it, would definitely book again! Thanks Stuart!!!

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Canada
5

Would easily recommend to anyone! Perfect vacation home! Amazing lanai!

  • 5 of 5

This is an amazing property! We booked our holiday over a year in advance so had loads of options and I am so happy that we settled on Stuart's home. The house is well-located, beautifully landscaped, well-equipped with all you'll need for an amazing Hawaii experience, clean, and so very comfortable. Stuart was accommodating and organized- he knows how to make your stay stress free and enjoyable.

We were travelling with young teenagers and my parents, and the set up of the home was perfect for this. The pool was a huge hit for everyone, particularly the kids, and we all loved the lanai. With this incredible lanai, you hardly ever need to be inside, but inside is wonderful too. The lanai was really amazing for morning lounging and we loved eating dinner in the evening- the subtle lighting was beautiful. The ample seating options made for easy relaxing. The view is incredible, and the birds and beautiful landscaping, with the beautiful ocean as your backdrop, couldn't get any better!

The home was stocked very well, with a loaded kitchen complete with blender for piña coladas. The beach equipment available was so useful- chairs, snorkels, boogie boards, an umbrella, sand toys, and coolers. There were also great beach towels available. This made our beach days easy and wonderful!

We had everything we needed! The home is stocked with the necessities like paper towel, spices, and laundry detergent. There were guide books and leisure novels to use. They have small details, like extra fans for warm nights. Honestly, the home is set up to make your holiday easy and relaxing.

The location of the home is great- it's a quiet, safe, clean, beautiful area close to Kailua and the airport.

We can't say enough in rave review of this vacation home. If you're debating between this and others, I would strongly recommend this vacation home- you'll not think twice!

  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Salem, Oregon
5

Our go to home for our Hawaii winter sun break for the last 8 years.

  • 5 of 5

We arrived and found the Kona Sunset house immaculately clean, a wonderful welcome basket and the wonderful views of the ocean and the Kailua Bay we have looked forward since our last visit. The home is comfortable with a large master suite and the kitchen is function with everything in the way of pots and utensils to make great meals. There were enough paper products to keep the two of us in stock for two weeks. The new Weber gas grill was a great bonus since I grill most dinners.

The pool is such a great bonus. Bring a book, unwind and take a swim. The stairs down to the pool is steep, although there is a sturdy hand rail to keep you true as you go up and down. There is a weekly pool service and a skimmer you can use to remove leaves and other debris between pool services.

Kailua is five minutes away with all conveniences, restaurants, grocery stores and shopping. Our favorite beach is Hapuna Beach, about 45 minutes north. Beautiful, lots of sand & surf, lifeguards, showers and bathrooms. Not much shade so bring an umbrella. One year Dr. Beach listed Hapuna Beach in his top 10 beaches, it's that worthy. If you travel to Hapuna, you'll want to travel 3 miles north to Kawaihae to the Hale I'a Da Fish House. A fish market that sells fish caught by the local fishermen. The best fish I have found on the island, well let me back up a little, just found on our last trip Kampachi and you can buy this fish at Kona Cold Lobsters. It's a bulk buy, 3-4 pounds of Kampachi fillets and lots of live lobsters to buy if your so inclined.

So now you may gathered I'm a foodie, yet I do mostly cook in house . It doesn't surprise me the Kona area is the home of three of the top 100 Yelp restaurant in the US. I have eaten at all three over the years. All of these are Mom & Pop operations. For true Hawaiian food Super J's just south of Captain Cook, no frills just fantastic Lau Lau, order the pork, Frenchmen's Cafe downtown Kailua, a French couple, excellent food but go early and lastly Chirashi Sushi Don By Jiro a husband and wife in a small hut by Longs Drugs in Kailua, one chef so expect a wait.

So I have already booked the Kona Sunset House for 2019, what about you?

  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
11 Miles
Kailua-Kona
Nearest Barpub
0.5 Miles
Alii Dr.
Nearest Golf
0.5 Miles
Alii Dr.
Nearest Motorway
0.1 Miles
Queen Kaahumanu
Nearest Restaurant
0.5 Miles
Alii Dr.
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
There are severall beaches on Alii Dr.
Car: recommended

This property is located in the heart of Kona on the Walua bike path. It is close to everything and the bike path is great for early morning strolls.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $180 + Tax

The rates posted are general rates and we do not charge for children under the age of two years. Our rates are based on number of guests and nights stayed. Some discounts can be applied for reservations exceeding 21 days.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.