Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Luxurious 1 Bdrm Ocean View Condo ($549 week) Best Value in Kona!

Sleeps4
Bedrooms 1
Bathrooms1
Space 480 sq. ft.
Property type condo
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible bed(s), 1 Bath, (Sleeps 2-4)

Visit our newly renovated beautifully furnished ocean and garden view condo situated off Alii Drive in the quiet, desirable town of Kailua-Kona. The condo sits in a very quiet, safe and secure private area. Below the lanai is a lovely Plumeria tree and a large green grass area. Behind the ocean is a nice BBQ area and picnic table. The beach is only 450 feet from your front door! From the ocean front area you will have fun watching the surfers, sail boats, spinner dolphins, turtles and even whales breaching!

This spacious and comfortable one bedroom and one bath condo comes with a full size washer, dryer, dishwasher and air condition. It has all new deluxe furnishings, appliances and accessories. It sleeps up to four adults, is wonderfully decorated in tropical manner with large comfortable California king size bed, a full size sofa sleeper, one full bathroom with a walk in shower. A baby play pen is available for guests with young children - request while reserving.

The condo is very well maintained, clean and is fully stocked with all the comforts of home plus many items you have never even thought about. The condo comes with full service kitchen including microwave, coffee grinder, water purifier, blender, coffee pot, rice cooker, etc. Plenty of dishes, plates, glasses, pots, pans, silverware, utensils, and cooking spices. The bathroom comes with a hair dryer and walk in shower.

Plus, lots of cotton sheets, towels, linens, beach towels, beach chairs, etc. The condo also comes with two cable TV's (including one 36 inch big screen), DVD player, stereo, CD player, plenty of videos, DVD’s, lots of mystery novels, Hawaiian books, games and puzzles for the kids. Ceiling fans in all the rooms and a large air conditioner in the living room. Non-smoking unit. Free Broadband and secure wireless internet in the condo. Free calling to the mainland and Canada. Condo has everything you need with all the comforts of home to make for a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation or long-term stay.

The condo is located at the beautiful Oceanfront Kona Bali Kai Property. The condo complex has a nice heated swimming pool and Jacuzzi, several oceanfront gas BBQ's and picnic areas, very nice tropical landscaping and a sandy beach area for sunbathing and wading in the tide pools. Lounge chairs are available for all guests at the beach area. Shady areas are also present if you choose to take a break from the sun.

The snorkel beach and Kona Country Club (public) golf course is just down the road. This is a truly a condo you will want to return to year after year (as you will see many repeat guests in the condo guest books). The Big Island offers unlimited vacation activities, one trip and you will be hooked!

Be sure to check out the YouTube video in the link section of this ad.

Please either email, call or send the owner an SMS and they will return your text or call.

Keywords: Stay at an ocean front complex without the oceanfront price. You will love staying at this beautifuly furnished and well maintained ocean and garden view condo, sandy beach area, tide pools, swimming pool and jucuzzi, oceanfront BBQ areas, great value, king size bed, 1 bathroom with new shower, entire condo newly renovated.

Be sure to check out the YouTube video in the link section of the listing.

Best value in Kona.

More Details

Owner
Mike Watson
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
September 24, 2017

About Mike Watson

The owners enjoy running, swimming and scuba diving. Bird watching, snorkeling, and exploring the tide pools. Simply reading a good book on the lanai also can't be beat. What a great way to finish a hard day at the beach or snorkeling from the kayak... It truly does not get any better than this! Note: The owners are currently working in The Netherlands, but still find time to visit their condo four times a year.

Mike Watson purchased this condo in 2004

Why Mike Watson chose Kona Coast

The views and sunsets. The condo is set back 300 feet from Alii Drive so you have no traffic noise. The property is beautifully tropically landscaped and has several nice BBQ areas and picnic tables.

What makes this condo unique

Taking in a good book and soaking in the cool ocean breezes. Mixing up a great meal in the kitchen and fixing Mai Tai's for friends. Enjoying the comforts of a fully furnished, well stocked condo with a huge king size bed. Plus the condo is always well maintained and kept very clean and fresh. There is no place like it anywhere and we know you will love your stay at our condo.

Map

Nearest Airport
10 Miles
Kailua-Kona
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Kona Country Club
Nearest Beach
100 Metres
Kona Bali Kai
Car: recommended

The Kona Bali Kai is a 7 acre resort located on the shores of the Pacific ocean. A very quiet, safe and secure environment. There are all kinds of water sports and beach activities in the area. The best snorkeling spot on the island is only 2 miles away at the Kahalu’u Beach Park. Surfing lessons are also taught in the bay. Many sea turtles, tropical fish and coral are located in the bay. The Keauhou Shopping Center is also only two miles away. It is home to several restaurants, a drug store, a grocery store, post office, bank, coffee shops and movie theaters.

• Activities: Golfing, tennis, swimming, snorkeling, surfing, body boarding, stand up paddle boarding, kayaking, paddling, outrigger canoeing, parasailing, dolphin/whale watching, walking/hiking, tide pool exploration, museums, coffee tasting, picnicking, boating, sightseeing, shopping, restaurants, farmer’s markets, batting cages, miniature golf, Hawaiian cultural activities, luau’s, fitness center/gym, beauty salons/massages, zip lines, horseback riding

• Other: deep sea fishing on the world famous Kona Coast, Volcanoes National Park, Place of Refuge, Manta Ray Dives

Amenities

Kailua-Kona Condo Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • condo
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • building
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 480 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: Flexible
  • /
  • Check-out: Flexible
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Resort
  • Water View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Broadband Access
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Hair Dryer
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Catering Available
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
Bedrooms:
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 4
  • King size beds (1), Baby Cribs (1) A baby crib is available. Please advise if needed at time of booking., Queen size sleeper sofa bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • CD Player
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • VCR
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Boat
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf
  • Kayak / Canoe
  • Lanai / Gazebo
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • limited accessibility
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool
  • Heated Pool
  • Shared Hot Tub
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • ruins
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • miniature golf
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • shuffleboard
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • spelunking
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing
  • wind-surfing
Notes:
Condo borders Alii Drive home of the Ironman Triathlon and various biking, swimming and running events. Great surfing one block away and snorkeling 1 mile away. Snack store, sushi bar (Poke Shack) and surf shop on property.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

71% Complete
23% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Luxurious 1 Bdrm Ocean View Condo ($549 week) Best Value in Kona!
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 21 reviews
centennial, CO
5

Great location for seeing Kona side of island

  • 5 of 5

Large fully functional kitchen (oven/stove/dishwasher/etc.). Balcony is nice, can open windows in bedroom and use screen door to get nice breeze through the place, ceiling fans helped too. There is air conditioning, but we never used it. Internet and TV worked very well. Lots of towels. Washer dryer in room was very convenient for us.

  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and thanks for your nice feedback about the condo. We are glad to hear you had a nice visit and enjoyed the condo. For a one bedroom condo it is fully stocked like your house and is the only one bedroom condo at the Bali Kai with a dishwasher. We hope to see you again at our condo. Mahalo, Mike Watson
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great location!The house gets very hot,but with the proximity to the ocean,it's perfect.

  • 4 of 5

Very nice and simple setup,the pool looked nice.Lots of flowers and wildlife around.Perfect for couples.

  • Submitted: May 30, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the review and staying at our condo. I hope you used the air conditioner to cool things down in the afternoons. Mahalo, Mike Watson
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Place was decent and met our needs

  • 4 of 5

The condo we stayed in was across the street from the beach. We went across the street few times to see the tide pools and saw one turtle snoozing and another eating it's breakfast and leaving when the tide started to come in :).

The condo was equipped well, including a blender which we used to make smoothies with papaya, bananas, and yogurt for breakfast everyday we were there. Bought the fruits at open market that's nearby in Alii drive. enjoyed our stay there.

  • Submitted: May 19, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha and thanks for your comments. We take great pride in providing an extremely clean and well maintained condo that is very well stocked with a complete kitchen just like you would find in your own home. Our condo even has a dishwasher. I am sure you noticed we also provide laundry soap, dish soap, bar soap, hand soap, beach towels, beach chairs, boogie boards and snorkel gear. We do our best to meet the needs of all guests. Mahalo, Mike Watson
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
SALEM, OR U.S.A.
5

Agreat place to stay.

  • 5 of 5

This property was very well stocked, very comfy, and very clean. My wife and I had a wonderful week here and we wished we could have stayed longer. We definitely recommend this condo for any one looking to stay in Kona.

Dale & Jean.

  • Submitted: May 13, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, Thank you for the nice comments about our condo. We take great pride in keeping our condo's clean, comfortable and well stocked. We spend several months each year staying in our condo's and want them equipped just like our own home. Mahalo and hope to see you again at our condo. Mike Watson
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Simple and Convenient!

  • 4 of 5

We stayed at the lovely Kona Bali Kai property recently, and it was so convenient for our trip needs. **Please be advised, tho, there is NO ocean view from inside/on the balcony of this condo**; the photos included in the post are from the same property, but you have to cross the street and walk to the other side of another property building to see the ocean. We did not expect frills or anything fancy. The decor was simple and tasteful, and the kitchen had everything you needed to prepare good meals at home, or just a quick bowl of oatmeal in the morning. The walk to town is just over 2 miles, so not terrible, but also not an easy stroll after dark as the main road is not well lit - definitely carry a flashlight!

The condo could use some updates in furnishings, but honestly for the price we paid we were very happy. There were a couple of convenience stores close by and parking was a breeze. We did not spend much time inside. The walls are thin, and you can definitely hear anyone upstairs who is heavy footed (we unfortunately had some very loud neighbors). The bedroom was very nicely sized, and the breeze and ceiling fans made it so comfortable to sleep at night, we didn't even need to use the air conditioning. Also, it was great to be in a condo where the bedroom faced a wooded area, which gave us some extra privacy.

As for communication with the owner, Mike was always very quick to respond to any questions we had and really set us up for a great trip with tons of good recommendations. While this may not be a "we HAVE to stay here again" kind of place, it was absolutely perfect for this trip.

  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the feedback on the condo and great to hear you had a nice time on your trip and enjoyed the condo. The Kona Bali Kai has 7 buildings, including one direct ocean front building. We have three condo's in that building. The condo you stayed in normally has some ocean views, however the large Banyan tree needs to be trimmed as it now blocks the views. The tree should be trimmed this spring. We hope you will try one of our other ocean front condo's next time to fully enjoy the sounds and sights of the ocean from the condo. Mahalo, Mike
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The condo was faultless. It was clean & stocked beyond expectations. Great value for self caterers.

  • 3 of 5

The condo was faultless for the self caterer like us. The bed was comfortable in a quiet room with great airflow. Mike provides essential beach going stuff like chairs, towels & coolers. The beach opposite was not suitable for us 'ancients' who are past climbing over rocks to enter the water. We had to drive to suitable beaches. The condo was too far from the main town to stroll comfortably for pre dinner drinks or dinner which we love to do. Having said all of that we had a great time & we realise now that we needed to stay longer to experience all that The Big Island has to offer. In summary, if you are of an age where you like to stroll to the nightlife then this location does not suit. The trolley bus is infrequent at 2 hourly intervals. You do need a car. Take nothing away from Mike's condo, it's perfect but it does not have an ocean view.

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your feedback on your stay in Kona. As stated in all the information about this condo it is 2.9 miles from the little town of Kona. We always recommend that all of our guests rent a car as the public transportation is very limited and infrequent on the Big Island. Note: We have three other condos at the Kona Bali Kai that are direct ocean front is that what the guest is seeking. Mahalo, Mike Watson
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $100
Additional Guest Fee $8 per person per night

Ironman rates are $139.00 per night with a seven day minimum.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.