Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Peaceful Retreat on the River in Monarch

Sleeps12
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms2
Space 2,368 sq. ft.
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedrooms, Loft, Bunk Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12

Sleepy Hollow is luxury in Colorado's mountain wilderness. A secluded vacation home with majestic views and sounds of the South Fork of the Arkansas River cascading down the mountain; a get-away for skiers and snowboarders (only 4 miles to Monarch Ski Area), hikers, whitewater rafters, writers, naturalists, or those seeking tranquility. This mountain style vacation home has 2368 square feet.

Inside you are welcomed into a Great Room with cathedral ceilings accented with log stairs and rails, and a Waterford gas stove. This open floor plan has a completely furnished kitchen, dining and living room, plus a bath with shower. Windows all around bring the outside in.

Located downstairs are a master bedroom with king size bed, a second bedroom with queen size bed, and a bunk room with 2 bunk beds. Each bedroom has a door leading to the deck overlooking the river. A full bath with shower/tub is located downstairs. Located upstairs is a sleeping loft with cathedral ceiling and two queen beds.

Member of Salida Chamber of Commerce

More Details

Owner
Owner
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 25, 2017

About The Owner

We have always been drawn to this area since we moved to Colorado in 1989, and our family has enjoyed all it has to offer, both summer and winter.

Member, Salida Chamber of Commerce

The Owner purchased this cabin in 2011

Guestbook comments from the owner

What a lovely stay with friends to usher in 2016! The cabin was super close to skiing, and sledding right out the front door! Good directions here and for our stay, and well-stocked kitchen. Plenty of space for 2 families +. Thank you for a great stay.
Dec 2015
  • 1 of 49

Amenities

Salida Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2368 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 12
  • Min. age of primary renter: 25
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain
  • Mountain View
  • River
  • Waterfront ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Alarm Clock
  • Ceiling Fans
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Free Long Distance
  • Gas Fireplace
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Paper Towels
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Telephone
  • Toilet Paper
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Blender
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Freezer
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 12
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen , Loft
    Bunk Area - 2 bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television
  • VCR
Outside:
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • autumn foliage
  • churches
  • forests
  • museums
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(64 traveler reviews)

Peaceful Retreat on the River in Monarch
average rating of 4.90625 based on 113 reviews
5

Ski Trip Bliss

  • 5 of 5

We usually stay in Buena Vista with family for our weekend ski trips to Monarch, but this year we wanted something closer to the slopes and a little roomier...this was perfect! Everything we needed and kitchen table with benches was perfect for our large group. Everything went smoothly from start to finish and we couldn't have asked for a nicer place to stay. Hope to return next year!

  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you had a wonderful stay. Looking forward to your return next year!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Absolutely beautiful home. Everything was nice and clean and in good working order.

  • 4 of 5

The only suggestion we could think of was to add a couple area rugs downstairs as the floors were a little cold. Otherwise we enjoyed the stay so much and were so happy to get the stay on such short notice. The response time by the owners was very fast and very pleasant. We would certainly recommend this home to our friends and family!

  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful Mountain House

  • 5 of 5

We reserved this mountain house for my mother's 80th birthday. There were nine of us in all, and this house accommodated us perfectly. There were two full-sized beds in the loft that overlooks the living area, two sets of bunk beds at the bottom of the stairs on the lower floor, then two private rooms on the lower level as well.

The long picnic-style dining table was spacious enough to seat us all comfortably, and the three overstuffed couches provided ample seating for all. Our only disappointment was that the BBQ was not on one of the covered porches and was therefore encased in 3' of ice and unusable. So, if you're coming here in the winter and like to BBQ, be sure to ask if the BBQ is accessible.

All-in-all, we had a lovely stay and would highly recommend this house. The owners were very friendly and impressively responsive to e-mails.

  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a wonderful stay and celebration with family! We are sorry you were unable to use the grill. Due to fire code restrictions we are unable to put it on the porch or deck.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Wonderful place!

  • 5 of 5

Great place and great location for skiers. We had a great experience!

  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Annual Ski Trip to Monarch

  • 5 of 5

Sleepy Hollow is the perfect getaway for our annual "girls" ski trip to Monarch. It is very clean, comfortable and in a beautiful spot. This is the second year we have stayed at Sleepy Hollow and we plan to make it our tradition! We had a great time and are so happy that we found Sleepy Hollow.

  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: It is so nice to hear that you had another great stay at Sleepy Hollow Cabin. We love our return guests!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Fantastic place and beautiful"

  • 4 of 5

Our crew spent two nights here for a retreat. Perfect size, location and setting. Parking in the winter is tricky. Make sure you have a short 4x4 vehicle and you will be just fine. Highly recommend it.

  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: So glad you loved the cabin and setting. The parking area does get plowed in winter and there shouldn't be a problem getting in there with a standard size SUV (Suburban, Tahoe, Excursion, Expedition, etc.)
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
123 Miles
Colorado Springs Airport
Nearest Golf
16 Miles
Salida
Nearest Train
69 Miles
Leadville Colorado & Southern Railraod Co
Nearest Motorway
0.5 Miles
Highway 50
Nearest Ski
4 Miles
Monarch Mountain
Car: necessary

4-Wheeling

Photos

Rates & Availability

Salida Cabin Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Summer 2017
Jun 1 2017 - Aug 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$380
$2,394
 
 
Labor Day Weekend 2017
Aug 31 2017 - Sep 5 2017
3 night minimum stay
$380
$2,394
 
 
Sept.-Oct. 2017
Sep 6 2017 - Oct 31 2017
2 night minimum stay
$300
$1,890
 
 
November 2017
Nov 1 2017 - Nov 21 2017
2 night minimum stay
$280
$1,764
 
 
Thanksgiving 2017
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$360
$2,268
 
 
December 2017
Dec 1 2017 - Dec 14 2017
2 night minimum stay
$380
$2,394
 
 
Christmas/New Year's 2017
Dec 15 2017 - Jan 3 2018
4 night minimum stay
$380
$2,394
 
 
Jan. - Feb.
Jan 4 2018 - Feb 14 2018
2 night minimum stay
$380
$2,394
 
 
President's Day Weekend
Feb 15 2018 - Feb 20 2018
3 night minimum stay
$380
$2,394
 
 
Ski Season
Feb 21 2018 - Apr 15 2018
2 night minimum stay
$380
$2,394
 
 
May 2017
May 1 2018 - May 22 2018
2 night minimum stay
$280
$1,764
 
 
Memorial Day Holiday
May 23 2018 - May 29 2018
3 night minimum stay
$380
$2,394
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$280
$1,764
$7,056
 

Additional information about rental rates

Tax Rate 7.3%

Cleaning fee is included.
Rates are based on 12 guests; add $25 per night, per additional guest; maximum of 14 guests.
Stays of 7 nights or longer include a 10% discount.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties