check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Family beach bungalow close to Pleasure Point beaches

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
2
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 - 5 nights

About the property

House, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 6)

Our Pleasure Point beach house is conveniently located halfway between the famous Santa Cruz boardwalk and the quaint village of Capitola. We are located three blocks from the ocean cliffs, with access to some of the best surfing and more private beaches in Santa Cruz. We are also a short walk to the cafes, restaurants, and surf shops on 41st Ave. Relax in our sunny and very private backyard. Enjoy the Adirondack chairs, outdoor shower, outdoor gas grill, dining on the patio, and soaking in the 5-person hot tub.

We extensively refurbished our beach house inside and out, while keeping its original bungalow charm. We have updated to top of the line appliances (LG fridge, front loader washer/dryer), installed an indoor/outdoor Bose stereo system, and we have high speed internet and cable TV. There is room for 6 people to sleep on beds, and in addition, we have a portable crib, and an aero bed. Our home is super family and kid friendly, and equipped with a lot of what you would want for a family vacation at the beach such as cruiser bikes, a red flyer wagon, boogie board, hot tub toys, and beach chairs/umbrella.

Pleasure Point is our favorite place on the California Central Coast to enjoy the beach and the beautiful surrounding areas, from redwood forests to wine country. We look forward to sharing our beach house with you!

Keywords: Clean, Well Maintained, Family Home

More Details

Property Manager
Carol
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
January 6, 2017

About Carol

I purchased this house in 2003 because I loved coming down to Santa Cruz on the weekends to surf and hang out with friends. Now as a Dad, I come down with my kids for family BBQs and the beach. I refurbished the house extensively while keeping the craftsman-style charm. I grew up going the the beach in Southern California, then went to UC Berkeley undergrad, and lived in New York and Paris, before returning to the Bay Area to pursue my career in technology. I live in Burlingame with my kids Jackson and Lily.

Carol purchased this house in 2003

Why Carol chose Central Coast

Our house is close to some of the best beaches for surfing, fishing, jogging, and playing with kids and dogs. We are also a short walk to the fun shops and restaurants on 41st Ave, and a short bike ride to Capitola Village, where we like to go for dinner.

Pleasure Point has a unique micro climate that has more sun, and less wind, than Aptos and the town of Santa Cruz. 35th Ave is not a through street and so we have very little car traffic.

What makes this house unique

Our house is exceptionally private and quiet. Our backyard has 8' fences, a 12' ivy, and a jasmin trellis that block neighbors views and noise. Both the front a backyards are fenced in for safety and there is parking in the driveway for two cars.

We enjoying dining on outdoor patio, while listening to music on the indoor/outdoor sound system, and cooking on the gas grill. Our friends love the 5-seat hot tub (36 jets!) and large outdoor shower.

Guestbook comments from the manager

Visited with my girlfriend and absolutely loved the stay. We are both surfers, so we just loved using the House Bikes to ride to check the surf, take our boards to the surf and go a few blocks over for coffee and breakfast. Wonderful. And after a chilly long surf - little was better than a jacuzzi followed by outdoor shower. It's just a real homey comfortable house, not at all ostentatious but private and low key - just how you want it to be in Santa Cruz. Well maintained and clean - we would do this again in an instant - but invite friends next time to enjoy it with us- the outdoor bbq and deck were fantastic for lounging.

Recommended for: Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Mar 2013
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Family beach bungalow close to Pleasure Point beaches
average rating of 4.6666665 based on 19 reviews
4

Wonderful Stay!!

  • 4 of 5

What a perfect little gem in Santa Cruz! We stayed for the weekend and couldn't have been happier with the beach bungalow. From the kid friendly outdoor areas to the cozy interior, we were so happy to have stayed here!

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Not satisfactory

  • 1 of 5

This house needs some work and I'm not sure where to start...Hot tub didn't work when we got there but eventually got running...needs maintence, we scrubbed it ourselves but hard to keep clean bc of vine, shower inside takes forever to get hot water....you could take all the wasted water and make the lawn green again so just plan to shower outside where the water doesn't drain properly and you get to see all the soapy suds sit on the driveway, oh and there are only beach towels(no bathtowels) available with hardly any hooks to hang you wet towels, beach stuff, etc...stereo didn't work, one of the bike's was on the brink of breaking, back yard needed to be mowed or dry-scaped, no heater outside over dining table like pictured, no dishwasher, need more comfortable beds, sheets need update,how does this sleep 8? How about a real dining table and chairs??? .....YES great location to Pleasure Point surfing. We were disappointed to say the least.

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am truly sorry this guest had an unpleasant stay, but this is not the case with guests over the last 5 years (see other reviews). I left a nice note and a bottle of champagne for the guests, apologizing for the interruption in the hot tub service. More importantly, the hot tub repairman fixed it the next day. The dishwasher is not advertised for guests because it it difficult to hook up, and there is a note to guests indicating this. As for the stereo (Bose indoor/outdoor system), the cruiser bikes, and house in general, they are all in great working order. I have professional housekeepers clean the house meticulously and leave bath and hand towels on every bed. The beds are $1K hotel quality beds,, the sheets are 400 thread count from Costco, and I have recently purchased new sets. There is no outdoor heater and we don't advertise it, and I have updated an old patio photo that had the heater in it. Our beach house is an older house, but charming and very well maintained. I trust that future guests will read other reviews and make their own judgement.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Berkeley, California
5

Fantastic location!

  • 5 of 5

Very pleased with our stay here for a family with seven-year-old girl. Perfect for a couple plus one or two kids. House is pleasant and has everything you need, though not fancy. What makes it great is the location - short walk yo the waves in quiet Capitola, close to everything you need in town and a short drive to Santa Cruz but much more laid back than the boardwalk and more touristy areas. Very nice hot tub, too!

  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great, clean beach house with beach cruisers!

  • 5 of 5

Stay at the wonderful beach house with my wife and young kids and we absolutely loved it. Super cute beach house, just as you imagine one should be. Great amenities including the grill, hot tub, outside dining area, beach cruiser bikes just to name a few. Short walk to Pleasure Point and Opal Cliffs and in a nice neighborhood of Santa Cruz!

Thanks Eric for making our vacation on the coast so easy and memorable!!!

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2015
  • Stayed: Aug 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Los Altos, CA
5

Awesome place to stay with family

  • 5 of 5

This is a great place to stay. We have rented about 5 properties in Capitola and Pleasure Point over the past 2 years and this was our favorite. We did a long term rental from June 2014-Aug 2014 and then rented it again over Chirstmas break in 2014. I have 3 boys (ages 12,13,15) and it was perfect. The outside shower and hot tube were great for post-surfing activities. There is plenty of space on the driveway and back yard (all behind a fence) for numerous surfboards, boogie boards, and bikes. The inside of the house is quaint. Good Wifi and Comcast cable TV. The only quirky part is a dining table. There is a table in the main room with two leafs that opens up, but no chairs, so we used the chairs from the back deck as seating. It worked great for us and our family and we would sit and talk about the "wave of the day".

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2015
  • Stayed: Dec 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
sacramento, ca, usa
5

Great time

  • 5 of 5

Wonderful setup for us with 2 little ones. The kids loved eating outside every meal. Comfortable place, great location.

  • Submitted: Jun 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Jun 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you...happy you enjoyed after plumbing glitch
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Beach
1 Miles
Pleasure Point
Nearest Point of Interest
Stairs to Pleasure Point Beach
Nearest Point of Interest
41st Avenue Shops and Restaurants
Nearest Point of Interest
Capitola Village and Beach

Photos

Rates & Availability

Opal Cliffs House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Manager accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Winter 2017
Jan 9 2017 - Mar 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$295
From
$390
Fri,Sat
$1,859
 
 
Spring Break 2017
Mar 31 2017 - Apr 16 2017
5 night minimum stay
$340
From
$390
Fri,Sat
$2,179
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $400
CLEANING FEE $150
Tax Rate 11.0%

NEW RATES FOR 2015 SUMMER AND HOLIDAYS OFF SEASON WEEKLY RATES SUBJECT TO CHANGE - CALL FOR PRICES OR SEND EMAIL. THANKSGIVING WEEK AND CHRISTMAS WEEK/ NEW YEARS IS SUMMER RATES FOR 2015

Manager's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Opal Cliffs House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Broadband Access ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Computer Available ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Wood Fireplace
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 1
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • King size beds (1), Queen size Beds (1), Baby Cribs (1), Bunk Beds (1)
Entertainment:
  • CD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
Suitability:
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Attractions:
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
Leisure Activities:
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • surfing
Notes:
Large grassy front yard and sunny back yard with deck, table, and hot tub

Learn more about this vacation rental at the manager's website:

Partner Offers