Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Peaceful Setting, Hot Tub, View, Creek -- 4wd in Winter

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay 0 - 3 nights


About the property

Cabin, 2 Bedrooms, 2 Baths, (Sleeps 6)

This Smoky Mountain vacation rental is perfect for two couples or up to six with two queens in one bedroom, and a king in the other.

Peaceful, with majestic long range view of Plott Balsam Smoky Mountains.

From the porch swing hear the rushing head waters of Jonathan Creek that runs through Maggie Valley, a major tributary to the Pigeon river. Sawtooth has two full baths and two bedrooms, outdoor seating with tables, charcoal grill, hot tub, sun deck with Smoky Mountain view. Stoke up the Buckstove wood burning fireplace, or gather round the fire pit at the picnic area located on the lot above Sawtooth vacation rental. The picnic grounds feature horse shoes, a swing, fire pit, and picnic table.

Please note: DSL wifi is available but can be spotty at times. Streaming and other activities which require higher speeds are not available. Verizon cell service available as well as a landline for domestic calls.

This is an elk hang-out. They are majestic animals and are harmless. Do NOT pet them, however.

10 minutes to Maggie Valley.

10 minutes to Blue Ridge Parkway.

20 minutes to Waynesville, NC.

20 minutes to Harrah’s Casino, Cherokee gambling.

45 minutes to Asheville, NC, where the Biltmore House is.

Less than two hours to Gatlinburg, Pigeon Forge outlet malls. Other day trips include Nantahala and Ocoee white water rafting; Grandfather Mountain; Lake Lure; Hot Springs; Biltmore House, and much more.



Dog friendly.

Motorcycle friendly.

Mostly Paved access.

Note: If you have a motorocycle or trailer, please ask about access.

More Details

Property Manager
Member since: 2007
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 24, 2018

About Shelda

I have been in the vacation rental business for 20 years and LOVE what I do.

Some of the homes in Maggie Valley on VRBO are owned by me and my husband, and I manage others. I am so fortunate to live in these beautiful Smoky Mountains and I enjoy helping vacationers by sharing my knowledge of the area.

What makes this cottage unique

Our home is perfect for those who want privacy yet need something not too far from town. The short trip up the mountain is paved most of the way. You would need 4 wheel drive only if it snowed for 3/10 mile.


Maggie Valley Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 2:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered
  • Non smoking only
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board ...
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Wood Stove ...
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • - 1 king
    - 2 queen
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...


Excellent! 4.3/5 -
(6 traveler reviews)

66% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
16% Complete
0% Complete
Peaceful Setting, Hot Tub, View, Creek -- 4wd in Winter
average rating of 4.3333335 based on 6 reviews


  • 2 of 5

Before I start off, please don't get me wrong, this is a nice getaway, just not for me.

I was on a work vacation and I had mentioned this while booking that I will need internet access.

When I reached there the internet was not working right and the property manager tried to reset the router and gave me an option to buy a device instead.

I was prepared to have low internet speed, mostly to check emails but I was getting 33 Kbps and that is really really slow.

I lost three days of work and with no cell coverage, I could not even talk on the phone.

I wish I was informed right before checking in, PLEASE REMOVE THE WIFI availability.

There's no point having a WIFI if it does not connect to the internet. I was not prepared for a GETAWAY.

  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We always appreciate sincerity in reviews and would like to address this issue so that other guests can understand better. When this guest was here the temperatures were well below freezing and the internet got very spotty at that time in all of our houses on this particular mountain. We do our best to accommodate guests needs and address complaints in a timely manner and we did reset the router upon notice that the wifi was not functioning. Unfortunately due to the severe weather the lines were not allowing for a good connection no matter what. The internet service IS DSL which is slow internet anyway. DSL is the only internet service available on this mountain. We DO disclose this to guests who state that they need internet and make sure they understand that it cannot be used for streaming or other activities that would require a higher speed. We will add this description to the listing as well so that it is more clear. As far as cell coverage, there is coverage for Verizon users and we've had no previous complaints regarding service from those with Verizon. I cannot speak to whether AT&T or other carriers have coverage here. This guest claims to have not been able to talk to anyone but there is a phone in the cabin which guests are more than welcome to use to make domestic phone calls. Again, we will work harder to ensure that guests understand the internet can be spotty and add that Verizon is the best carrier if cell phone service is necessary.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Relaxing Adventure

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I stayed at the Saw-Tooth cabin in Febraury for our Honeymoon, and our experience was perfect.

Even before we began our vacation Shelda was always on hand to help with any questions we may have had and sent some tips on places to eat/visit during our stay.

The cabin itself was in a secluded woodland and for us felt like a world a way from civilization and a chance to unwind after a busy few weeks. The cabin is beautiful from the inside out and spotlessly clean. My husband and I enjoyed a few afternoons after a long walk sitting in the hot tub. The hot tub is marvelous and feels great against the crisp cool air in the mountains.

I fell in love with this cabin and only hope one day we can experience this little slice of paradise again- Thanks to Shelda and all her daughter for making our stay perfect!

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you Ally! What a nice review! We hope to have the pleasure of having you stay with us again!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Adorable cabin with a GREAT view!

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I recently stayed at Saw-tooth cabin to get away last minute. What a charming retreat! The home was perfect for the 2 of us (there was room for 4 more though!). We adored the bathroom with the claw-foot tub! And the wood-burning fireplace was a great feature even though it wasn't too cold out. The weather was perfect for relaxing in the hot tub on the private deck! The house was secluded but not too far or too high up from Maggie Valley. We decided to ski one day and the ski area was only about a 15 minute drive away! We'd love to come back in the summer or fall to enjoy the beautiful mountain views! Thank you Shelda for a wonderful stay!

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Nice place

  • 4 of 5

I stayed here early fall. It is a nice place; very peaceful with a running stream down below on the mountain (you cant see it but you can hear it). Nice porch with rocking chairs overlooking a nice mountain view. All in all it is pretty private; it is a shared driveway with another small house adjacent but there is still a good bit of privacy due to the layout of everything. We actually saw an elk in that driveway. My only complaint about this place was the internet speed. I know you dont go to the mountains to surf the web, but I had asked the owner about streaming Netflix etc. while I was up there at night and it looks like they have DSL lite (the lowest speed offered) and it is shared amongst the rental houses up there. So that was not what I expected, but otherwise a great place to stay. Blue Ridge Parkway is very close and so is Waynesville where most of your restaurants & shopping etc. is located.

  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: October 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0
Hartwell, GA

Sawtooth is Coool!

  • 5 of 5

We had a week-long getaway in August to escape the oppressive heat in our area. We had several criteria when we searched for a cottage to rent. It had to have a hot tub, a king-sized bed, a covered porch with a mountain view. And, most importantly, it had to be high enough elevation to escape the heat. Sawtooth fit the bill perfectly. We kept windows and doors open all week and enjoyed the cool, mountain air. It is a charming cottage with 2 nice-sized bedrooms and two nice bathrooms. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed and very nice appliances. Though there was not a gas grill, we loved the little BarBQ Pro on the porch. It cooked our steaks perfectly and was easy to clean. We loved the decor of the cottage--very comfy and cute. The best thing was that everything was so clean!

My husband and I spent the first few nights there. Then he had to return to work, so my bridge club came, and we continued the great time.

Maggie Valley is a great place to spend some time. There are quite a few good restaurants. Not to be missed is Joey's Pancake House on Hwy 19. Also, I love the Maggie Valley Country Club--excellent food. There are many shops and attractions in the Valley also. Nearby Waynesville is fun to visit also and has some great shopping and restaurants. For a taste of the local culture, try the Stomping Ground. Great music and dancing.

From Sawtooth, you are a very short distance to Cherokee and the Blue Ridge Parkway where there is great hiking and beautiful vistas.

Shelda was a very thoughtful and helpful hostess. I don't think you could go wrong renting Sawtooth, and, if you need larger accommodations, she has those also.

We will definitely return in the future

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2011
  • Stayed: August 2011
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Cheryl, Thank you so much for your kind remarks. Saw-Tooth is one of my favorite homes now. We have added a "sun/view" deck since you were there. I just love the new look! I hope you and your family can come again soon. Thanks again! Shelda
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Fantastic cabin!

  • 5 of 5

I stayed here in the spring two years ago and it was wonderful. A beautiful setting and a very lovely & comfortable cabin, especially for a longer stay. Although we were close in to Maggie Valley, we felt like we were off the grid (with all the on-the-grid amenities). The views are exceptional. The furnishings are lovely. A great place to either get away or a base for sightseeing. Some photos of rental homes over-sell what's there, these photos definitely undersell the comfort and beauty of this home. A great place for a romantic trip, a family reunion or just a place to center yourself & restore your soul. And the price is right. Dying to come back in the fall!

  • Submitted: Sep 20, 2010
  • Stayed: April 2010
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
6 0



Rates & Availability

Taxes and fees are additional


  • 3 Night Minimum - Weekly Discount
  • US Dollars
  • Please call our office for additional options on Rates and Dates

You might like these similar properties