Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled

Sunset Ave Waterfront House in Edmonds Bowl Area by the Ferry!

Bedrooms 2
Property type cottage
Minimum Stay nights


About the property

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, 1 Bath, (Sleeps 4-5)

We have a beautiful bungalow directly on Sunset Avenue, with a direct unobstructed view of the the Edmonds/Kingston ferry, Puget Sound, and the Olympic Mountains. The house is directly in front of the Edmonds Marine Walkway park. The ferry and downtown Edmonds shops are just steps away (literally less than 2 blocks)! Sit in the fully enclosed sun porch and watch the ferries and Alaska cruise ships going by!

The first bedroom has 2 twin beds, and the second bedroom has a queen bed. An extra foldable mattress available upon request. We have a TV, DVD player, and couch in the living room. There is a kitchen with utensils, microwave, and refrigerator. We also have a washer and dryer. Parking is available in our back driveway for 2 cars.

Edmonds is located about 25 minutes north of Seattle. Enjoy the shops, art galleries, dining, and entertainment of downtown Edmonds. Also, enjoy the beautiful waterfront views, and then walk on the Edmonds/Kingston ferry to explore Kingston and the Olympic Peninsula!

Note that we do NOT have a barbecue grill. We do have wifi and basic cable TV offered by Comcast; unfortunately, that does not include ESPN and premium channels such as HBO, Cinemax, and Showtime.

Keywords: waterfront, beach, sunset ave., sunset, Edmonds, bowl, kingston, ferry, washington, WA, Seattle, views, view, scuba, fishing, edmonds bowl, edmonds

More Details

Member since: 2011
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few days
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
June 11, 2017

About The Owner

My husband and I moved to the Edmonds area 10 years ago and fell in love with it. We still live here and plan to move this house to retire in when our kids move out!

The Owner purchased this cottage in 2010


The Bowl of Edmonds Cottage Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cottage
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking Off Street ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
  • Cooking Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 -
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Queen size Beds (1), Twin or Single Beds (2)
  • DVD Player
  • Television
  • cinemas
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • sailing
  • snorkeling/diving


Excellent! 4.6/5 -
(13 traveler reviews)

Sunset Ave Waterfront House in Edmonds Bowl Area by the Ferry!
average rating of 4.6153846 based on 13 reviews

Incredible view

  • 5 of 5

This quaint cottage was very comfortable and had more supplies (i.e. shampoo, toiletries, cleaning products) than any VRBO that we've ever stayed in. The owner was excellent to work with and very quick to respond to e-mails/phone calls. We received our deposit back at the time of departure. The location is perfect for viewing the ferries, walking to downtown or hopping a train for a day trip to Seattle. We loved Edmonds & definitely plan to return.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1

Breathtaking Views

  • 4 of 5

Sunset Drive is a popular viewpoint for evening sunsets over the Puget Sound viewing towards the Olympic Peninsula. The location is walking distance to the Sounder and Amtrak Train, Edmonds/Kinston Ferry Terminal, and the multitude of restaurants and shops in downtown Edmonds and about a 15 minute walk from the Edmonds off-leash dog park. The access to transportation is also the downside of this property with trains running 24/7 making it difficult to achieve a good night sleep.

  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2015
  • Stayed: Jul 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Very special place!

  • 5 of 5

We are locals who stayed here while some construction was done at our home. This charming 1912 bungalow changed that annoying inconvenience into a wonderful vacation. The bungalow is perfectly situated to explore the best of our Northwest. Right by Puget Sound, it provides panoramic views of the water, ferries, ships and sunsets as well as quick walking access to the Edmonds Ferry dock (gateway to the Kitsap and Olympic peninsulas) and Brackett's Landing beach with its underwater scuba marine park. A block further brings you to the pleasant downtown Edmonds with its many excellent restaurants and shops. Exploring Seattle's sights only requires a half hour car ride or hopping on the train at the Edmonds Station. A few hours in any direction gets you someplace interesting--from the Olympic Mountains to the Cascades or Mt Rainier. All from this relaxing, beautiful spot!

  • Submitted: May 5, 2015
  • Stayed: Apr 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
Lynnwood, WA

Great views, highly recommended!!

  • 5 of 5

The house had everything we needed. Our hosts were very gracious and flexible. The view is incredible and an easy walk to everything in Edmonds. We had an awesome stay and will definitely come back. Thank you all!

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
3 2
Pembroke ma

great little cottage on puget sound

  • 4 of 5

We needed a place to stay for a week near my son and wife and easy access for walking around a town with arts, shops, and easy walking to a marina. This absolutely fit the bill! The owner was gracious and helpful, the beds were comfortable, and the kitchen allowed us eat in when we wanted and do laundry throughout our stay. The negatives: heat was not on and we were cold in the mornings- there are a couple of space heaters and extra blankets, but heat would have been preferred. There is a train that runs right along the water and the horns blow at night, we did have some trouble getting used to this- this is noted in the owner's description. Overall we were very happy with our choice to stay here, the town of Edmonds is so much fun and has many cute restaurants to try as well as a wonderful farmers market on saturdays. We would definitely recommend a stay her and feel it was well priced.

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 2

Should have asked more questions.

  • 2 of 5

Lovely owners! Great location! Beautiful view! That is where it ends. Family of four, two kids, one tv channel, all adult DVD's provided, no games, no books, no cards, one couch to sit on, freezing kitchen and bathroom, enough hot water for one shower one in am and one in pm, only one appliance at a time can be used, minimal house ware items for cooking and serving. Complained to owner and they responded immediately with a few things to try to make the Christmas visit with family a little easier. During the summer some of these things might not be an issue but when it is cold and raining and it gets dark at 4:00pm you need tv to watch and to be warm. We will not stay there again until I know many, many things have changed. There is a reason there are limited pictures.

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We have rented out our house since July of 2011, and this is our first negative review. However, we want all our guests to enjoy their stay, and we felt terrible that the house did not meet your expectations, especially during Christmas. Our house is a small 850 sq. ft. cottage with historical significance in Edmonds. We have 11 pictures of the house on the VRBO website – we feel that this is more than enough pictures for a small house, and all the rooms and furniture are shown in the pictures. If we have missed something, please send me a personal email with specific requests for additional pictures that you wish to be shown. In our kitchen, we have at least 7 pots and pans, a set of baking trays, and 6 sets of silverware. The stove and oven are brand new. Normally this is more than enough for our guests, but we supplied you with more silverware upon your request. We also supplied you with a few children’s DVD’s, and we will try to address the issue of games, books, and cards as well in the future (any specific requests?). We do not advertise having any sort of cable TV, although our internet contract ends in June and we are considering switching to Comcast internet and TV at that time. To watch streaming internet content, previous guests have hooked an HDMI cable from their laptop to the TV. This is an old house with electric heating, which is why we have additional space heaters that can get the temperature up to 75 degrees. You cannot use the microwave, toaster oven, and coffee pot at the same time in the kitchen. This may have been especially annoying since you never told us that you planned to have extra people over for Christmas dinner (as pictured, the table only seats 4). The water tank is enough for two hot showers according to our own experience, but we’re sorry to hear that it was only enough for one hot shower during your stay. I hope we have addressed all your concerns in this response. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please get in touch with me, since we do not want anyone to have a bad experience or feel that we are misrepresenting our house. People from warmer climates may have a completely different perspective on the cold, rainy weather and short daylight hours in Seattle during the winter.
Did you find this review helpful?
17 1


Edmonds performing arts center, farmer's market,


Rates & Availability

The Bowl of Edmonds Cottage Rental Rates


  • $1000/wk
  • US Dollars
  • $1000/week for high season May 1 - September 30
  • $900/week for low season Oct 1 - April 30
  • $200 refundable damage deposit
  • $100 cleaning fee

You might like these similar properties