Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

8 bd 5 ba Beachside Retreat - Steps from Kailua Beach - Longer stay discounts

Bedrooms 8
Space 4,950 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 7 - 14 nights


About the property

8 bd 5 ba 4,500 Sq ft home Perfect for Family and Friends Gathering

Enjoy a great stay in this large house in the Kailua Beachside neighborhood, just 5 houses from Kailua Beach! The house features an indoor-outdoor floor plan with private courtyard & pool perfect for family entertaining! An extensive remodel includes open bistro-style chef's kitchen, upgraded baths, heated pool, expansive master suite, a putting green and a gym room! A truly wonderful retreat in paradise!

We offer a 10% discount for 14 day stays and 15% discount for 3 week stays. Discounts do not apply for last minute special rates. Please inquire for details.

Please Note: Tenant responsible for any credit card fee, so if booking on VRBO / Homeaway, it is recommended to use eCheck or Direct Deposit for payment.

Here is a detailed description of the space:


There are 8 nicely furnished bedrooms and 5 baths. 5 rooms each have a queen bed. 2 rooms each have a king bed. 1 room as a twin bed.


Fully stocked kitchen has everything you could possible need from wine glasses to pots & pans. The kitchen has an open plan with counter seating and opens to the indoor/outdoor dining area. We also have 2 refrigerators, thanks to a guest's feedback.


The dining area has a seating inside for 8 with large sliding doors that open to the outdoor covered lanai with more seating available. There are 5 bar stools at the kitchen island.


There is a large open living room with more large sliding doors that also open to the lanai.


The home also features:

-Free WiFi Connection


-Laundry Room w/ extra large Washer and Dryer


-Air Conditioning for all but one of the bedrooms

-Outdoor Shower

-Custom Putting Green

-Beach Chairs, Beach Towels, and Snorkels,

-Pac n Play

-Gym room with cross trainer and free weights

-Putting green to test your skills


This home is just 5 houses away from the beach and 2 minutes of walk to one of the most beautiful beach in the world - Kailua Beach. There are many restaurants within a couple miles as well as a Whole Foods Market for your grocery needs.


All but one of the bedrooms have both split AC units and ceiling fans. There is no AC for the kitchen, common area and the bedroom on the ground floor, as this is the coolest floor. On the ground floor, there are plenty of ceiling fans and huge sliding doors that bring in cool trade winds.

Credit Card Fee: Tenant responsible for any credit card fee. We recommend using eCheck for VRBO payments.

Cancellation Policy: Notice of cancellation must be received at least 90 days prior to check-in to receive a deposit refund, less $1250 fee. All monies will be forfeited if cancellation is received with less than 90 days notice, unless the room can be re-booked. There are no refunds for early departure unless we are able to re-book the room.

More Details

Boutikia Homes
Member since: 2008
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english, mandarin
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 20, 2018


Kalama Tract House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 4950 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 16
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed ...
  • Non smoking only ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Covered Parking
  • Garage
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Parking Off Street
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet ...
  • Free Wifi
  • Coffee Maker
  • Cooking Utensils
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Ice Maker
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 14 people
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , shower
  • Not Specified
  • 8 Bedrooms, Sleeps 16
  • Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 5 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 6 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 7 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 8 - 2 twin/ single , Trundle bed
  • 8 Bedrooms - 1 bedroom on ground floor perfect for seniors - 5 bedrooms including master bedroom on 2nd floor - 2 bedrooms on 3rd floor - 8th bedroom with the twin trundle bed is accessible only through another bedroom that has a King bed
  • Books
  • DVD Player
  • Games
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys
  • Video Library
  • Balcony ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Water Sports Gear ...
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
Pool / Spa:
  • Heated Pool
  • Private Pool
Onsite Services:
  • Concierge
  • cinemas
  • health/beauty spa
  • live theater
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • paragliding
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(33 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
15% Complete
3% Complete
3% Complete
0% Complete
8 bd 5 ba Beachside Retreat - Steps from Kailua Beach - Longer stay discounts
average rating of 4.6969695 based on 33 reviews

A Vacation dream home away from home

  • 5 of 5

This was the perfect house for my family of 14 to stay in celebration of my 80th birthday. A well stocked kitchen with ample seating, lanai with large table and many seats and lounge chairs offering sun or shade, comfortable beds and convenient baths made our stay perfect. The highlight was the ample sized pool which we practically lived in while back from our many adventures which easily reached from Kailua's central location. Beautiful beach just short walk down a path. Lovely plantings around house and very secure yet near stores and all needs.

A perfect rental for a large family or group.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Good sized home, layout and location for large groups

  • 4 of 5

We enjoyed the Kailua beachside property. With 7 young children in our group, we found there was plenty of space and the bedroom layout worked great with both sleeping babies and early risers. Unfortunately, we faced a week of poor weather during our stay but the oversized living room, kitchen and covered lanai were put to good use. When we could get to the beach it was a quick walk and a short drive to groceries. We also appreciated the ample parking and excellent communication with the property owner and local management. Our only criticisms are that none of the 5 bathrooms had a bathtub for little ones and the pool was freezing...possibly because it is solar heated and we had very little sun. Otherwise, a great homebase for families or groups looking for fun on the windward side of Oahu!

  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the feedback, Lorraine. Yes, we have been having unusually bad weather this year on the island. We don't have bath tubs, and I will keep this in mind for future bathroom remodel ideas.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Our family loved this vacation home!

  • 5 of 5

This vacation home was perfect for our family of 14 with five children ages 13 months to 7 years old and 9 adults. The house was very clean and well maintained. We loved the layout of the home with the open dining and living room areas to the lanai. Our son-in-laws love to cook so the well-stocked kitchen and BBQ area were much appreciated. We enjoyed some delicious meals there! The close location to the beautiful beach was awesome! We appreciated the provided beach chairs, umbrellas, beach toys, cooler and wagon to haul everything to the beach. When we weren’t at the beach or on other excursions, we enjoyed the pool. It does get deep quickly but our grandkids wore their life jackets until the last couple of days when the older three had become very comfortable in the deep water. We loved the lanai area where we spent the majority of our time. We cannot say enough good things about this vacation home and highly recommend it. Mahalo! Marie B

  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Marie, I am glad to hear that you had a great stay. It is guests such as yourselves that make it all worthwhile.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Not as Advertised and Dirty

  • 2 of 5

Upon our 3:00pm arrival, the home and pool were filthy. We immediately called the manager of the home, she came and stated yelling. She later apologized but it still was very unprofessional. She sent a cleaning person at 8:00pm because we didn’t even want to unpack. The cleaner vacuumed, and wiped a few places, but the house needed a day of cleaning, not an hour. A bed frame was broken, there was a pair of dirty underwear left under a bed, there was a random pill left behind on the floor (we were traveling with babies) the bathroom towels were stained, the carpet was filthy and stained, a toilet wouldn’t stop running, and the pool was freezing. The pool person came the first day, added a bunch of chemicals and said don’t use for an entire day. Then they told us later we could use it, but it was a very strong dose of chemicals and you will just smell like them. They came again another day and pulled the vacuum out and said the motor was broken. They came once more when I called and said it was freezing and said the solar heater panel was broken and the part would be in the next week (after we were gone). The owner did send someone to replace the entire toilet, but it took hours and was very irritating with sleeping babies when they were fixing it. The home is advertised as having a beach view, and no where in the house can you see the beach. It says not to use the large deck that is pictured, because “sound travels”....and it’s loud for the neighbors. You also can’t use the deck as the only access point is through someone’s bedroom. The pool was advertised as heated, but ours was colder than the ocean, and we never used it. There are nails sticking out of the carpet on the stairs and we stepped on them dozens of times. The dishwasher door is broken and fell on my foot when I opened it, leaving a bruise. There were sharp hooks left behind in the living room from someone’s Christmas ornaments. We found a box knife by the putting green, which btw doesn’t even come with putters. The ice dispenser randomly shot out ice and got the tile floor wet, and one of our kids slipped and hit their head. The house needs major updates and TLC, and a deep cleaning. The owner did offer a 1 day refund, but it was not enough in my opinion. I have pictures that document all of this, but unfortunately you cannot post them. How convenient.

  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We sincerely apologize for the issues that were found by this guest. We sent a cleaner to take care of the cleaning problems within 45 minutes of the guest complaint. To rectify the situation for the future, we have fired the cleaner that did the shoddy job and hired another that comes highly recommended. The original cleaner had worked for us for 4 years and it was not easy to let him go, but I don’t want future guests to find cleaning issues with the house. We also expediently addressed all problems brought up by this guest whether they were real or not, and compensated the guest for the problems fairly. It is very disappointing to read this review, because we offer a premium property, not one that is being portrayed. We sent the cleaner immediately upon complaint, replaced a runny toilet rather than just the flushing mechanism, sent in the handyman and pool man to assess the dishwasher and pool, though they could not find any problem. We have had great guests for many years quite a few of whom return regularly. However there are some people that can never be pleased. We did our best and we have to hope to never to encounter another such person. We have triple checked the solar pool heaters. They work fine. Obviously if it’s rainy and there’s no sunshine, like it was when this guest stayed, solar heating is not going to be very effective. The solar panels are not meant to heat up the pool to a jacuzzi like temperature. They heat up the pool 10-15 degrees more than an unheated pool. Since the electricity needed to pump the water to the rooftop solar panels is very expensive, most owners on the island charge up to $100 a day to turn them on. We just don’t do that. We do not advertise a beach view, and I am not sure where this comes from. Once you are so close to the ocean in the flat areas, only the houses on the beach can see beach. It is not easy to maintain such a big house so close to the ocean and with such high usage. We have to continually make repairs and updates to the house to make it better. In the past few months alone, we have remodeled a bathroom, made 2 bedrooms in the top floor a lot more spacious, changed carpet in the stairway and top floor, replaced 3 beds, replaced several bedside lamps, added new furniture in the living room, etc apart from the regular maintenance. We will be working diligently to make sure that everyone of our guests goes back a happy customer.
Did you find this review helpful?
4 0

Great holiday

  • 5 of 5

We had a lovely vacation. The venue was perfect for an extended family vacation wiith both retirees to preschoolers. Lots of space, we loved the beach, the pool, well appointed kitchen, outdoor space to relax, eat and congregate. We found the location was central thus great for day trips - everything seemed to be within an hour. Would definitely recommend this accommodation.

M Rees

  • Submitted: Jan 16, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am glad to hear that you had a great stay and the property worked out well for your extended family. We look forward to seeing you again.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Very roomy for our large group and close to the beach!

  • 4 of 5

The pool was great and the house came equipped with everything we needed!

  • Submitted: Dec 11, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Banyan Breeze
Coffee Shop
M.A.C. 24/7 Restaurant and Bar
New American Restaurant
Dominos Pizza Waikiki (Inside Hyatt Place)
Pizza Restaurant
Waikiki Beachside Kitchen
Brunch Restaurant
Sansei Seafood Restaurant & Sushi Bar
Japanese Restaurant
Blue Ocean Seafood & Steak
Seafood Restaurant
Hula Dog Waikiki
Hot Dog Restaurant
d.k Steak House
Steak House
Seoul Jung
Korean Restaurant
Hy's Steak House
Steak House
Cheeseburger in Paradise
Hamburger Restaurant
Kulana Terrace Restaurant
Ruffage Natural Foods
Health Food Restaurant
Coconut Cafe
Me Bar-B-Que
Barbecue Restaurant
Mami's Empanadas
Colombian Restaurant
Japanese Restaurant
American Restaurant
Musubi Cafe IYASUME
Japanese Restaurant
Teddy's Bigger Burgers
Wolfgang Puck Express
Eggs 'n Things Waikiki Beach Eggspress
Jinroku Pacific
Teppanyaki Restaurant
La Cucaracha Mexican Bar & Grill
Mexican Restaurant
Jamba Juice Aston Waikiki Beach
Juice Shop
Kuhio Beach Park
Tucker & Bevvy Breakfast
Fast Food Restaurant
Tucker & Bevvy Picnic Food
Waikiki Grass Shack Bistro
Sandwich Shop
Shorebird Beachside Restaurant
Hawaiian Restaurant
The Lovin' Oven Vegan/Non Vegan Pizza
Italian Restaurant
Honolulu Zoo Concessions
Honolulu Zoo
Furusato Sushi
Sushi Restaurant
Breakfast Restaurant
hana no sato 花の里
Down Home Cooking Restaurant
Hawaiian Crown Plantation
Kai Coffee Hawaii
Coffee Shop
Volcano Shakes & Sandwiches
Ice Cream Shop
Le jardin
Gyoza No Ohsho
Japanese Restaurant
Superheat Chili New York Hawaii
Rock Island Cafe
SWIM Poolside Dining in Waikiki
Bar & Grill
Wood and Bucket Tapas Bar & Grill
Bar & Grill
Chuck's Cellar
Steak House
Waikiki Beachside Bistro
Dim Sum Restaurant
Tanaka of Tokyo East
Japanese Steakhouse
Appetito Craft Pizza & Wine Bar
Nearest Airport
18 Miles
Nearest Golf
4 Miles
Koolau Golf Club
Nearest Beach
Kailua Beach - 2 minutes of Walk
Car: not necessary




Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $2,000
Cleaning Fee $800 + Tax
Tax Rate 14.96%

Please Note: Tenant responsible for any credit card fee, so if booking on VRBO / Homeaway, it is recommended to use eCheck or Direct Deposit for payment.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

You might like these similar properties