|Minimum Stay||2 - 3 nights|
Fall in love with Portland in our cute, clean, and newly renovated 1925 Craftsman bungalow in close-in NE. Full of art, books, and plants, the house has an open floor plan, providing a nice “flow” and abundant natural light. The location is superb - with a walk score of 86, it's a short walk to shopping, lively nightlife and restaurants, and several lovely parks. The area is extremely bike friendly (the house is situated near the junction of two major bike routes) a there is an affordable bike rental nearby.
ABOUT THE HOUSE:
-2 bedrooms w/ additional sleeping nooks (inquire with owner)
-Newly remodeled modern kitchen features deep sink, breakfast bar, oven/range top, refrigerator/freezer, toaster oven, dishwasher, and all the dishes and cookware you’ll need
-Large variety of books available for you to enjoy during your stay
-Large fenced backyard with large garden and furnished back patio area (including grill)
-Kid friendly, with plenty of toys and kids’ books (crib available upon request)
-Backyard berry bushes and vegetable garden (seasonal)
ABOUT THE AREA:
-Quiet, tree-lined street in sweet neighborhood with older homes and lovely gardens, but close to everything!
-Perfect location for experiencing the vibrant Alberta St., Mississippi St., Williams St. and Dekum triangle areas
-3 blocks from direct bus lines to downtown, convention center, train station, etc.
-10 min drive from airport
-10-15 minute bike ride to downtown along easy bike paths
-3 blocks from Safeway grocery store, 10 blocks from natural food co-operative, 1 mile from New Seasons
-5 blocks from Post office
-12 blocks to farmers market (May to November)
-Driveway and plenty of street parking in front of the house
-Zipcar rental nearby
NEARBY RESTAURANTS/CAFES (WITHIN A 20-MINUTE WALK)
-Podnah’s Pit BBQ
-The Tin Shed Cafe
-Various food carts on Alberta St.
-The Bye and Bye
-Alberta St. Public House (feat. live music nightly)
-The Radio Room
-The Firehouse Restaurant
-Good Neighbor Pizza
-Woodlawn Coffee House
-Cup and Saucer Café
-Old Town Pizza
-Horn of Africa
(Many other excellent Portland restaurants - such as Ciao Vito, Pine State, Del Inti, Bernie's, Branch Whiskey Bar, La Bonita, Bella Faccia, Eat, Lincoln, Tasty and Sons, and more - are a short bike ride away)
INCLUDED IN NIGHTLY RATE*:
-Towels and linens
-Organic teas and coffee
-WIFI and all utilities
Sebastien and Amanda adore Portland but have temporarily moved to France. Amanda’s mother Karin lives nearby and is the acting property manager. Karin will provide the keys and is your local contact. She is happy to answer any questions you may have (before 8 pm please!) and give recommendations, orientation, etc. Additionally, Amanda and Sebastien will be available by email, and we provide an ample collection of maps and information on things to do and see in Portland and greater Oregon.
Our family had a WONDERFUL stay at this house. We are Portlanders who were living away for a couple of years, and were in search of a vacation rental over the holidays. We were greeted by the owners mother, who made us feel right at home - she even brought our children a little gift while she was out shopping one of the days! The house was impeccably clean and beautifully decorated in a classic Portland style. We have two children, and the downstairs area was just perfect for them with books and toys and a cute back bedroom. We were able to entertain friends in the main room comfortably, everything about our stay was great. I would HIGHLY recommend this vacation home!
The house provided us four adults with ideal accommodations for our girlfriends getaway. It had everything we needed for a relaxing long weekend. The house was easily accessible on foot and by car to many indpendently owned shops and restaurants that we wanted to explore. The house was clean and well equipped for our stay. The owners and host were both communicative and helpful. We highly recommend this home for a family or adult getaway.
We had a great month here, it was the perfect place for our newborn and his brother to be gathered with their american and french families.
very well suited for kids, Karin and Amanda were also a wonderful hosts.
close to everything, nice neighborhood.
So easy to get in and out and it felt just like home. Everything we needed was there, plus an added bonus of some croissants!!
There were 2 couples staying there and there was more than enough room for us. I would stay again. Also, neighborhood was nice and plenty to do within 10 minutes walking - parks, grocery stores and restaurants!
We had a great stay. We were met right on time with instructions and keys for our stay and before and after communication was perfect. The fresh orange juice, coffee, pastries and flowers were a nice touch. The location was close to all, neighbors were quiet and by the way, the weather was beautiful. I can’t remember if the description mentioned the fact that there was no TV but we were fine since we were so busy and neither of us are big TV watchers. The home was full of some amazing books.
Thank you for your hospitality.
We are former owners (10 years) of a vacation rental and take reviews very seriously. I was going to just give the review title with no explanation, but was told by friends that they need an honest review when looking for a rental.
Communication with the owner after 1st night:
No box grater for grating cheese?
Rusty whisk in the utensil drawer?
Lamp shade in bedroom broken at the top, with a jagged glass edge.
Unusable grill: the grate is very rusted out and needs replacement. We looked all over, and found no grill cleaning brush or grilling utensils.
Pillows are flat as pancakes and definitely need frequent replacing.
Where can we find the patio umbrella, as shown in website photo to shield ourselves from the sun?
Hair dryer missing.
As advertised in the property description, one of the specifics in our renting the house was the two full baths. However, the pipe in the downstairs shower is capped off, as not to be used in the time we are at the house, correct?
RE: Owner response to the two full baths that we paid for: "I must mention I am dismayed with this situation, as we have had almost all happy guests. If you continue to be dissatisfied with our home, we can discuss the possibility of offering you a partial refund if you would like to find another place to stay." Seriously....a partial refund to find new accommodations at the height of summer tourist season in Portland. Unacceptable!!!
RE: Owner response to pillows that were not only ALL flat, but ALL terribly stained with perspiration. These should be checked throughout the season and replaced, as necessary: Pillows: I am surprised because we replaced 4 pillows in the house during our visit last summer. If the pillows on the bed you are sleeping on (assuming it's the master?) are uncomfortable, feel free to exchange them with others (downstairs, or 2 in the linen closet on at the top shelf, etc.)
Patio umbrella was locked in shed. It was taken out, put in the table, but we would be responsible for taking it in if it rained.
Lamp shade never replaced.
Washing machine left clothes stained.
Rusty whisk/hairdryer/grill equipment/ant problem addressed.
Hopefully all pillows have been replaced. Walmart sells pillows for $5.99!
Owner had us over a barrel for the 15 day stay, and requested FULL PAYMENT at time of booking. Rental money must be put into a property, not just taken out!
|Rate Period||Nightly||Weekend Night||Weekly||Monthly *||Event|
Jun 1 2017 - Sep 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
|Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest|
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
|Notes: Rates are based on 4 guests; add $20 per night, per additional guest|
|Refundable damage deposit||$100|
|Cleaning fee||$75 + Tax|
* Approximate monthly rate. Actual rate will depend on the days of the month you stay.