expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Appalachian Log Cabin on Tuckasegee River, Harrah's /Bryson City

Whittier, NC, USA
  • Cabin2200 sqft
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • Bathrooms2
  • Half Baths0
  • Minimum Stay2 - 7 nights

5-star, 180*-view river , 3-Brm/2-Bth/2-Fireplaces, Full service, Pet friendly

This Tuckasegee River/hand crafted LOG HOME, is centrally located and convenient to all Western North Carolina and Tennessee area attractions:

The Great Smoky Mountain National Park/Blue Ridge Parkway/Appalachian Trail (5 min),

Bryson City & Great Smoky Mountain Railroad-(20 min),

Cherokee Shops, Culture, History & Harrah's Casino's Nightlife &

Entertainment (5 min), Gatlinburg/Pigeon Forge, Tenn.-(45 min),

Asheville, NC., Airport, Downtown shopping & The Biltmore Estate,-(45 min)

Unique to this vacation rental is its convenient and private put-in and/or take-out river accessibility. Set your tubes/ Kayaks/ Canoes, and enjoy easy swimming and fishing fun accessibility. The play ground/yard is large, private and pet & family friendly.

Enjoy the nesting Bald Eagles, the tranquil sounds of a flowing river and the peaceful cool nights by a roaring fire-pit. Relax on your own PRIVATE RIVER BANK watching an awesome sunset view.

The architectural 'Native Accents' and exquisite 'Lodge Style' custom decor, makes this home worthy of publication. The Log home features 2,000 sq feet of living space with hand laid native slate flooring throughout, a chef’s kitchen, aged-200 year old white pine logs, two soaring field stone fireplaces (wood provided), and custom high vaulted A-framed ceiling’s with drapery-free windows which overlook a 180 degree unobstructed view.

All amenities are provided along with a full 24 hour Caretaker/Personal Concierge Staff. Special event planning, large group or single Meal Catering, Babysitting, Pet walking &/or care, Laundry/Maid and/or Daily-turn-down-services, are all available upon request.

All requests welcomed, advance notice is appreciated.

An ideal destination for an elegant romantic getaway or an outrageous family retreat.

Surrounded by 5 National Parks: The Great Smoky Mountain-(5 min), Nantahala Forest, Gorge & Tsali Biking Trail-(25 min), Blue Ridge Parkway-(5 min), Deep Creek (25 min), Appalachian Trail/Foothills-(30 min), Fontana Lake & Dam-(30 min), Joyce Kilmer Forest-(45 min).

Opened as an All Season Vacation Cabin Rental, this homes entrance driveway is on a State maintained road. It is easily accessible for cars, trailers, RV’s and/or motor pulling vehicles. No snow tires are needed.

Keywords: Executive lodging, Luxury Log home rentals, Log Cabin, Cottages, Cabin Rentals, Vacation lodging, Great Smokey Mountains of North Carolina, Holiday, Tuckasegee River, River front lodging, NOC center, Deep Creek, Fishing, Jacuzzi, Mountain view, Fireplace, RV hook up, camping, pet friendly, family friendly, Casino, Golf, Smoky Mountain Rail Road, Train, Smoky Mountain National Park, Blue Ridge Parkway, Tsali Mountain Biking, Yoga, Spa, Zen, Hiking, Swimming, White Water Rafting, Rafting, Kayaking, Tubing, Whittier, Cherokee, Native American, Indian, Blue berry picking, Cataloochee horse back riding, Skiing, Snow, Sledding, Bryson City, Western Carolina University, Romantic hideaway, Gatlinburg Tn, Western North Carolina, Polar Express, Thomas the Train, Asheville, Biltmore Estate, Coffee House,


Property Manager

Tom - FTR Staff

Member Since 2004
Response rate:
Response time:
within a few hours
Calendar last updated:
Apr 20, 2018
About Tom - FTR Staff

Our Families "Amburgey" heritage is Appalachian. Our love for the Mountains, Western North Carolina's Rivers and it's abundance of natural organic materials is reflected in our design. Enjoy This Log home's location and title, was inspired by the oil painting, “Following The River”, by Robert Duncan. The pictorial imagery of Native Americans on horseback crossing a wintery river's edge could secretly come to life in this uniquely tranquil, unobstructed river view. The Tuckaseeggee River’s abundant wild life and its degrees of strength, are breathtaking and worth the perch.

Tom - FTR Staff purchased this Cabin in 1978

Why Tom - FTR Staff chose Qualla

Location, Location, Location....

What makes this Cabin unique

Real custom Log, Easy accesses to river,


    • Internet
    • Pets Welcome
    • Air Conditioning
    • Heater
    • Fireplace
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Washer & Dryer
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking


      • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
      • Bedroom 1
        1 king
      • Bedroom 2
        1 king
      • Bedroom 3
        1 queen
      • Convertible bed(s)
        Large KIDS beanbag full-fun bed, air mattresses if requested
      • First floor /BEAR ROOM King size bed, Large Sofa and Hammock for fun- Located in Living room. Second floor/COWBOY ROOM King, and the TREE ROOM/Queen size bed. A Bean Bag Futon Full, is available for loft additional kids sleep comfort.


      • 2 Bathrooms
      • Bathroom 1
        toilet, combination tub/shower, tub, shower, jetted tub, jaccuzi jetted tub
      • Bathroom 2
        toilet, combination tub/shower
      • Custome slate-design indoor jaccuzi tub

      Location Type

        • Mountain View
          180 degree - sunrise/sunset view
        • Water View
          Located on bend of river. Waters at edge of property with a 180 degree-unobstructed sunrise/sunset magnificent view.
        • Waterfront
          Located on rivers edge with easy accessibility down and into water and river bottom.


            • Adventure
            • Away From It All
            • Family
            • Romantic
            • Sports & Activities
            • Tourist Attractions


                • Guests provide their own meals


                    • Living Room
                      Our Large Family room has High Vaulted Ceilings, Fireplace, Uncovered Windows overlooking the beautiful river bend, and is Beautifully Furnished with a comfortable Mission style design. TV/Cable/Games
                    • Air Conditioning
                      CENTRAL AIR AND HEAT
                    • Fireplace
                      Indoors, Two soaring FIELDSTONE/wood burning fireplaces. Outdoors, A Large Family Friendly outdoor fire-pit is setup by rivers edge. (Fire wood provided)
                    • Hair Dryer
                    • Heating
                      Many additional space heaters are available and provided in the winter months IF NEEDED.
                    • Internet
                    • Iron & Board
                    • Linens Provided
                      1000 count linens, all Cotton Towels. (Maid and turn down service provided upon request)
                    • Clothes Dryer
                      Full size
                    • Parking
                      Large parking lot, and additional RV and trailer space available.
                    • Parking Off Street
                    • Parking for RV/Boat/Trailer
                    • Telephone
                    • Towels Provided
                      CottonTowels are provided in each Bathroom Closet. A Laundry service is provided upon request.
                    • Washing Machine
                      Full size, soap provided.
                    • Wood Fireplace
                      ALL FIRE WOOD PROVIDED


                        • Kitchen
                          Open Concept/ Chef quality-Gourmet kitchen, gas stove and oven, all utensils, chop blocks, Crock Pot, Baking pans and cooking essentials are provided.
                        • Catering Available
                          Upon request, and in advance.
                        • Cooking Utensils
                          Gourmet cook wear, knives, crock pot, mixers, blenders. Speciality Coffee/ Whole Bean and grinder All provided, and al requests in advance are welcomed.
                        • Dishes & Utensils
                          5-star quality dishes and utensils provided
                        • Dishwasher
                        • Ice Maker
                        • Coffee Maker
                        • Microwave
                        • Oven
                        • Refrigerator
                          Ice maker, Full capacity
                        • Stove
                          Chef grade gas stove
                        • Toaster


                            • Dining
                              A Large family style Dinning table-seating 8/ with leaf to extend. Two 10 foot, Additional catering tables and chairs are available and are provided if parties expand.
                            • Dining Area
                            • comfy seating for 8 people


                                • Books
                                • Games
                                  Several FAMILY FRIENDLY board games located in large friendly Antique Pie Safe/Armoire in LIVING ROOM.
                                • Satellite / Cable
                                  HBO, CNN, WEATHER,ESPN
                                • Television
                                  TWO Flat Screen With Full 200 CHANNEL cable.


                                    • Balcony
                                      4 rocking chairs provided.
                                    • Golf
                                      Two Courses within 2 mile drive. SMOKY MOUNTAIN COUNTRY CLUB, and the CHEROKEE / SEQUOIA GOLF CLUB course. MAGGIE VALLEY and WAYNESVILLE COUNTRY CLUBS, , 20 minute drive.
                                    • Kayak / Canoe
                                      Put-in and Take-out off YOUR backyard. Dillsboro, NC, 15 min drive East up river/to put in and float home, (30 min paddle). OR/ Put in at Cabin rivers edge and float to Bryson City 30 min /Take out
                                    • Lawn / Garden
                                      Grass Lawn, Family style outdoor space, rivers edge access/Steps to rivers bed. Picnic Table/w benches, and Comfortable ADIRONDACK style LOUNGE chairs provided to circle Large WOOD burning Fire PIT!
                                    • Outdoor Grill
                                      LARGE Metal Park/Campground designed Charcoal/wood grill.


                                        • Long-term Renters Welcome

                                          Pool / Spa

                                            • jetted tub
                                              Interior custom designed, Native State lined, Jacuzzi jetted tub with UNLIMITED HOT WATER!.

                                              Onsite Services

                                                • Concierge
                                                • Massage
                                                • Private Chef
                                                • Staff


                                                    • playground
                                                    • churches
                                                    • festivals
                                                    • health/beauty spa
                                                    • library
                                                    • live theater
                                                    • museums
                                                    • cinemas
                                                    • recreation center
                                                    • restaurants
                                                    • ruins
                                                    • theme parks
                                                    • water parks
                                                    • winery tours
                                                    • zoo

                                                      Leisure Activities

                                                        • outlet shopping
                                                        • antiquing
                                                        • boating
                                                        • eco tourism
                                                        • gambling casinos
                                                        • horseback riding
                                                        • horseshoes
                                                        • miniature golf
                                                        • bird watching
                                                        • paddle boating
                                                        • photography
                                                        • scenic drives
                                                        • shopping
                                                        • sight seeing
                                                        • sledding
                                                        • wildlife viewing

                                                          Local Services & Businesses

                                                            • ATM/bank
                                                            • Babysitter
                                                            • fitness center
                                                            • groceries
                                                            • hospital
                                                            • laundromat
                                                            • massage therapist
                                                            • medical services

                                                              Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                                • mountain climbing
                                                                • cycling
                                                                • fishing
                                                                • fly fishing
                                                                • freshwater fishing
                                                                • golf
                                                                • golf privileges optional
                                                                • hiking
                                                                • hunting
                                                                • ice skating
                                                                • kayaking
                                                                • mountain biking
                                                                • equestrian events
                                                                • mountaineering
                                                                • racquetball
                                                                • rafting
                                                                • rock climbing
                                                                • ski lift privileges
                                                                • ski privileges optional
                                                                • skiing
                                                                • snowboarding
                                                                • snowmobiling
                                                                • swimming
                                                                • water tubing
                                                                • whitewater rafting



                                                                      House Rules

                                                                      Check-in: Flexible

                                                                      Check-out: Flexible

                                                                      Cancellation Policy

                                                                      Canceled bookings will not receive a refund

                                                                      64 Reviews


                                                                      Latest reviews

                                                                      ********* Buyer Beware **********

                                                                      Sharon M.

                                                                      I am writing this completely honest review, fully expecting a rude, snarky, "bless her heart" type of response from the owner, or the threat of attorney due to my non-apologetic attitude (her words). She will negate everything I say, and alas, I will not be able to counter her response due to the functionality of this site. Please know everything you are about to read is 100% true. I am a grown, well-educated, well mannered 51 year old woman. I have no need to lie. The owner sounds nice. Beware. Read the other reviews. You will see the southern shade in her responses. 1st, this cabin is not 2200 square feet. Maybe half of that. The cabin sleeps 8 if you put 2 on couches. Not couch beds, but couches. Lie 1-After being told to 'use as much wood as you need inside and outside' and confirming use of the firewood outside, we were accused of selling or stealing firewood. Owner calls me dishonest, disrespectful, and non apologetic all while threatening me with "You should feel lucky!" and "Warning-HomeAway's attorneys are copied." Oh ok Ms. Jillian. Care taker says we had 12 people stay (lie 2). We had 9. One extra person above the 8 originally booked. No biggie, I agreed, take it out of the deposit. Owner says we owe for one extra dog. I agreed. This means we are owed half of our deposit back. Southern charming sarcastic owner is refusing to return any of it. Lie 3- Owner says there was a "baby powder fight" in the bathroom that required extra cleaning services. There was no baby powder fight. There was a 47 year old adult female that probably used an excessive amount of baby powder. We did pay a $200 cleaning fee. Shouldn't that cover the vacuuming of baby powder? We were told the owner had to bring in more people to clean. Girl, you need better help. We left that place very clean. My mother, another grown well educated adult of age 74 is very particular about how she leaves a place. Note-We were without water for a several hours on one day, and 75 minutes another day. Normally we would not even mention this had this southern belle, bless her heart, decided to keep half of our deposit. Can I live without the $? Of course I can. I do however need to re-stock my baby powder. Lie 4-Owner claims we had a baby in the cabin and small children were running around the neighbor’s lawn. We did not even have small children. Our youngest is 14 and he is 6'1. He might have missed a football and had to cross the property line. Ooops. CLICK AWAY FROM THIS PROPERTY!

                                                                      Perfect getaway!

                                                                      Chris C.

                                                                      We enjoyed the cabin very much. The little details and decor were perfect. The flowing river was as soothing as any waves at the beach. Close enough to both Bryson City and Cherokee with plenty to do. All the kids enjoyed the hammock and fire pit.

                                                                      A cozy getaway that was worth every penny.

                                                                      Great place, great view

                                                                      Tommy A.

                                                                      This property was positioned perfectly on the Tuskegee river. The cabin inside was beautiful and was only minutes from Cherokee and other larger cities. The river was clear and we could fish along the river as well as a few other spots that we learned about thanks to the caretaker of the property, Jeff. The owner, Jillian as well as the caretaker who lives next door we’re super nice. They provided us with directions, maps, and instructions to get around the area. The Native American art and decor inside the cabin was a very nice addition. We loved the outdoor fire pit as well as the plenty of space we had in the yard to hang out and play cornhole. We all had a great expierence here and would definitely return for another stay.

                                                                      Beautiful property

                                                                      Pam F.

                                                                      We enjoyed staying on this property very much. The house was beautifully decorated and well equipped. Being right on the river was awesome. The fire places were beautiful, as were the black stone floors. Downside - there were 6 adults in our party and we were very crowded. The description said the house was 2,200 square feet. That probably includes the ground floor, which is occupied by the owner. The part of the house we were in was a little over 1,000 square feet total. The 3 bedrooms were very small, just enough room for a bed and room to crawl into it. The kitchen was also small. There is no pool table or hot tub, but no one said there would be. There is also no deck or porch to sit outside and look at the river. The only porch is small and on the side of the house near the road. The road is also very close to the house (maybe 20 feet). Overall, a great vacation. But if I had known the size of the space allotted to us, I probably would not have rented it.

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      Dear Guest,

                                                                      As the owner I wish to only please.

                                                                      I'm grateful you enjoyed your stay In our family's cabin. Yes, it is beautiful. Thank you.

                                                                      We are very proud of all we offer to our guests. Hope you enjoyed the fresh ground coffee, unlimited fire wood and spacious dinning/living space with our wall to wall windows (for magnificent view of the river bend) , 14 feet of relaxing sofa, armoire provide with numerous family activities and games and of coursed our grand rock fireplace.

                                                                      Yes , it is over 1000 ft. of family enjoyment with private French doors and vaulted ceiling. Blessed.

                                                                      Sorry the rest of the spacious 400 ft open aired loft with sofa, extra comfortable seating, private cable tv access , and a well stocked reading library, didn't aid in your family's separation and private comfort.

                                                                      The kitchen / foyer sitting area , is over 1000 square ft. With the cabin's 40ft. vaulted ceilings and a floor to ceiling window view of river bend, again I'm very disappointed this didn't feel spacious.

                                                                      The total living space, 2200 sq ft. (Plus)

                                                                      The down stairs is a garage space only for our private cabin storage and supply housing.

                                                                      It is not include in the description and is only accessible when owner or care-taking staff needs to restock supplies or handle cabin affairs.

                                                                      The cabin comfort designed, was built for family entertaining.

                                                                      I pray you return and have a better experience in our beautiful cabin Home.


                                                                      Owner, Jillian.

                                                                      Nice weekend!

                                                                      Gary N.

                                                                      We really enjoyed the location and watching the train (Polar Express) come buy in the evenings.. it was great . Doris was great . We did have a few issues and I have NO idea if they were addressed. 1- no wireless service.. sent care taker note and she had no idea what to do but reset.. did not work. 2- had water coming from ceiling below when shower was running. Water stains on ceiling tell me this is not the first time this has happened. Had to use downstairs garden tub for 7 people. Was a nightmare. Told Doris but have no idea if the plumber every came out! 3- before the spring kicks in someone need to clean up high. Many cobwebs ..

                                                                      Was hoping for some type of refund due to not having all the services but i guess not.

                                                                      Owner's Response:

                                                                      Appreciate your kind words of our caretaker Ms. Doris. She alerted handyman staff and me in Atlanta immediately.

                                                                      Our staff did meet with you to address water. Staff, Mr Bubby Fuller, did shared incorrect use of the shower curtain which may have cause water to pool out of tub and onto our traditional tongue and groove cabin 2nd floors. Our 2nd floor bathroom is not tiled!

                                                                      Once recomendation of a towel to be placed on the floor while you used shower with curtain in proper position, all stopped.

                                                                      At no time did you not have 2 properly running showers and tubs to enjoy during your stay.

                                                                      What you concluded as an "on going issue " by viewing old water stains on ceiling , was very incorrect.

                                                                      As for WIFI, I jillian owner, spoke with you directly from atlanta and dealt with issue personally. Zeto media concluded, Weather, cables down, signals defaulting with mountain repairs in place. This may have interfered with your tempary discomfort.

                                                                      My apologies these out-of-my-control issues may have temporarily occurred during your stay , but were in use by departure.

                                                                      Our very professional staff cared for you impeccably. Your stay did not warrant a refund.

                                                                      Absolutely perfect!

                                                                      Julia R.

                                                                      We loved every minute of our stay. Perfect cabin in a perfect location. We already can’t wait to get back!


                                                                      Whittier, NC, USA

                                                                      We are centrally located to the entrance of the Smoky Mountain National Park, Blue Ridge Parkway, Cherokee's Harrahs Casino & Golf course, Downtown Bryson City's shops, restaurants, and Smoky Mountain Railroad Train Depot. We are 15 minutes from the NOC-Nantahala Outdoor center with its Class 1-3 whitewater rafting, canoeing, kayaking, learning programs, zip lining, and world-class mountain biking trails. Hike the Smokies Appalachian Trail, the Nantahala Gorge, Joyce Kilmer Memorial forests, and the many waterfalls and adventures located at our cabin's back door. We are 45 min from Enchanting Downtown ASHEVILLE shops, The Biltmore Estate and Winery, Nationally Awarded Breweries, Antique Shops and Local Events and Conferences.

                                                                      Rates & Availability

                                                                      Additional information about rental rates

                                                                      Cleaning Fee
                                                                      Pet Fee
                                                                      Tax Rate

                                                                      IMPORTANT! WE HAVE A NO REFUND POLICY. PLEASE, suggest renters insurance.

                                                                      64 Reviews
                                                                      Excellent 4.4/5
                                                                      Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                                      For booking assistance, call 888-640-7927

                                                                      Property # 44019