Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Fall Openings, close to beach,,Heated pool, Private, Military&RepeatRenterD

Sleeps10
Bedrooms 4
Bathrooms4
Half Baths1
Space 2,368 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights

Overview

About the property

4 Bedrooms, 41/2 Baths, Heated Pool, Short Walk To Beach, Family Friendly

Our price includes everything except tax and pool heat. We are happy to offer 5% off to our military families and returning renters. Our turn day is Sunday so long weekends are possible! Located in the Plantation with 24/7 security, An Island Mooring is the perfect getaway for family, friends, or an event for up to 25. The house sleeps 10 comfortably with all bedrooms having private baths and opening to spacious, comfortable screened porches.

The well appointed kitchen will allow you to show off your culinary skills without being away from your friends as it is open to living and dining areas.

Room for two cars to park under the house and unload your luggage into new screened entry. Plenty of room to park your boat.

Built in 2001 and redecorated in 2013, the house has large living spaces with new flat screened HD TV with cable, Netflix WiFi in living room, BluRay DVD in every bedroom and the living room, DVD collection .

There are 3 king suites and one with two twin beds. The twin beds can be converted to a king. The queen sleeper sofa has its own half bath. The bedding is new and two new king mattresses have pillow tops and all pillows are hypo allergic. Each bedroom has a new flat screen HD TV and there are 5 BluRay DVDs (One in every bedroom and the living area).

All baths have handheld massaging shower heads and two have tubs for bathing little swimmers. There is a large laundry room with new washer and dryer.

Near the lighted, heated ($350/Wk) 12 x 32 pool there is an enclosed hot and cold shower Also there is plenty of both shaded and sunny space for entertaining. You'll have a great fish cleaning station and a park style charcoal grill.

The house is short easy walk to the beach along a well maintained path with no roads to cross. Enjoy our new sturdy beach cart, beach chairs, umbrella, beach towels, and toys as you play in the Gulf. Build sand castles and memories. Wet a line on the shore, charter a boat and guide, or walk to Sikes Cut for amazing fishing and breath taking sunsets.

There is a high chair, pack n play, and lots of toys and games for all ages.

Enjoy our 2 adult complimentary bicycles to ride along the paved bike trails or go to St. Geo. Island State Park and ride the off road trails. It has just been named the number 3 state park in the US. Rent kayaks, jet skis, sail, or power boats. You will probably see dolphins playing and perhaps one or more of our bald eagles soaring overhead. You are sure to see pelicans flying in formation and countless shorebirds. The star gazing defies description and the shelling is wonderful.

New world class golf is only 6 miles east of Carrabelle at St. James Golf Club. Uninhabited Little St. George is a short boat ride away and offers endless shelling and bird watching.

Historic Apalachicola is a short drive away and has many fun shops, art galleries, museums, and fabulous seafood. (Several who cater.) There are fish markets in Eastpoint and on the island if your prefer to cook your own or eat at one of several great restaurants on the island.

The house is not beach front, but there is a large open space in front. The only houses in front are those on the beach front road.

Cancellations:

100% minus credit card fees if cancelled within 90 days of confirmation unless that date is less than 90 days prior to Check-in Date.

50% if cancelled 89-45 days prior to the Check-in Date.

0% if cancelled less than 44 days from Check-in Date

If property is re-rented, guest will be reimbursed accordingly whenever possible.

An Island Mooring is a great place to call home for a week or a month!

More Details

Owner
Julie Mooring
Member since: 2013
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 17, 2017

About Julie Mooring

Two brothers and their wives. One from the San Antonio, TX area and one from Rome, GA.

Julie Mooring purchased this house in 2013

Why Julie Mooring chose St. George Island

Christmas of 2012, we spent time on St. George. After just a couple of days, we knew we wanted to own there. Searching tirelessly with a realtor, when we walked in this house, we immediately knew it was the one for us. It felt like home!

One of the couples had owned a home on another barrier island for 10 years and knew there was nothing to compare with the pristine beaches, fabulous shells, birds, stars, wildlife, water sports, and the people.

Now that we have young grandchildren, we realized that we wanted to be somewhere that is more accessible and with medical care readily available. St. George and the Plantation were exactly what we wanted.

What makes this house unique

The natural beauty of the lush tropical landscaping and no crowds drew us here.

Amenities

Plantation House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Housekeeping:
  • Housekeeper Included
Floor Area:
  • 2368 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 10
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View ...
  • Ocean View
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Child's Highchair
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 2 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , tub , shower
    Bathroom 5 - toilet
Bedrooms:
  • 4 Bedrooms, Sleeps 10
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king
    Bedroom 3 - 1 king
    Bedroom 4 - 2 twin/ single
  • All have flat screen TV with Blue Rays. Each opens to a screened porch and has its own bathroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • DVD Player
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Balcony ...
  • Bicycles ...
  • Boat ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Tennis ...
  • Water Sports Gear
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • churches
  • health/beauty spa
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • pier fishing
  • roller blading
  • sailing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Wonderful! 4.9/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

92% Complete
7% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Fall Openings, close to beach,,Heated pool, Private, Military&RepeatRenterD
average rating of 4.9268293 based on 41 reviews
5

Great vacation!!

  • 5 of 5

My family had a great vacation at this property. The shaded areas kept the summer temperatures comfortable and we loved the walking path to the beach. The screened porches were great in the evening and during the evening thunder showers. The full size pool was a plus. Bike paths and walking trails were very enjoyable. However, I would recommend yard guard spray for mosquitoes.

  • Submitted: Jul 23, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you and I'm so glad you had such a good time. The screened porches really are great places to drink coffee, eat, relax, and expand your living space. I love the downstairs one for an afternoon time to read and nap. We agree that Yard Guard is an easy way to deter the bugs which are in Florida to stay! Ours is a family of swimmers and we do enjoy that the pool is big enough to swim laps. Having a heater entends our swim season well into the fall and as early as April. We do hope you will spend another vacation with us in the future. Take care, julie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Berwick, Louisiana
5

Beautiful, comfortable, good location

  • 5 of 5

Four adults and two children and we spent a week July 21-29, 2017. The house accommodated us perfectly. Loved that each bedroom had its own bathroom. Made showering so much easier. Grandkids (and adults too) loved the pool! Pool was well maintained even while we were there without affecting our use. Beds were nice and comfortable. Kitchen had everything we needed for cooking. Enjoyed coffee on the screened porch every single morning! The beach was a very easy walk away and just beautiful! We have stayed some places where it was quite a haul to the beach, but this was a simple, easy, short walk!! Netflix on the living room TV kept the grandkids happy all week! They were able to watch their favorite shows when they weren't in the pool. Loved having beach towels there and not having to pack any which reduced bulky packing considerably. Only two drawbacks that I would mention is not having an outdoor bathroom (toilet) for the pool. Having to make a trip upstairs, dripping wet every time you need a bathroom break is a little inconvenient, but I guess a small price to pay for such a great place. The only other thing is the limited number of bath towels and wash cloths, necessitating laundering them everyday. All in all, it was a great stay; we loved the house and St. George Plantation, as well as the island. The plantation being a gated community made us feel very safe. A terrific place to kick back and relax!! You won't regret it!

  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We are so glad you enjoyed our home and St. George as much as we do. With our pool being one of the largest privately owned ones, it really is a great place to spend the day and keep cool. The screened porches are our favorite way to start and end our time there. We try to keep our supplies up to date and think the beach cart is one of our favorites. The Plantation keeps the pathways in great shape and it is such a short walk. We appreciate your suggestions and will certainly consider them. We hope you will stay with us again and next time you will receive a discount. Take care, Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful home with convenient access to the beach.

  • 5 of 5

Loved our stay at this home...very well decorated and supplied with everything needed for our comfort. Property is located in a gated community with bike trails and sidewalks just for bike riders or walking. Perfect family vacation...definitely will return for another visit in the future.

  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I'm so glad you had such a good time. We really enjoy not having to cross any streets to get to the beach. Walking and biking are even more relaxing because of the 24/7 security at The Plantation. St. George is the perfect place for families and friends to relax and celebrate! We certainly hope you will your crew and stay at An Island Mooring again. Take care, Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Beautiful beach home

  • 5 of 5

We loved St George Island and can't wait to come back!! Absolutely didn't want to leave!

  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! We try to make it an easy home away from home! Please do come back to our little piece of paradise soon. All the best, julie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Lovely beach home! Quiet beach; great pool & very clean!

  • 5 of 5

We loved our stay on St George Island at an Island Mooring. The island is nice & uncrowded as are the beaches! We loved having the option of the pool at the house. It's a nice size & we very much appreciated being able to use the owners beach & pool toys! I would recommend bug spray like the owners suggest as in the evening it is needed. The house itself is a comfortable size & was clean & well taken care of. Julie was a dream to work with & extremely helpful & accomodating. Overall we were extremely satisfied with our stay!

  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: I am so glad you enjoyed your time on our island. It is so nice to be away from crowds and have real family time. Since you left we have replaced the screened doors with hand made Brazilian walnut ones and are having the boardwalk to the pool redone tomorrow. Having just had the pool and deck resurfaced, we are ready for a wonderful year. I hope you and your family will come again. Take care, Julie
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great for a couples getaway.

  • 5 of 5

The house has a near perfect floor plan for several couples to share. Three bedrooms have king beds and en suite bathrooms. One is up and two are down at opposite ends of the hallway. So, there is plenty of privacy. The house is well furnished and the kitchen is well equipped for those who like to prepare the great local seafood at home. It's a very short and pleasant walk to the beach. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you! I really like that each bedroom opens to a screened porch. The twin beds in the fourth bedroom can be converted to another king. There is always the queen sleeper too. We do hope that you will come again anytime! Take care!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
3 Miles
Strip on SGI, Panama City 1+hr, Tallahasse 1+hr
Nearest Barpub
4 Miles
On the island
Nearest Restaurant
4 Miles
On the island
Car: necessary

The Forgotten Coast is exactly that. Quiet and peaceful with lots to do but with a relaxing feel and no crowds. Florida's oldest seafood festival is Nov 1st and so much fun. The March Chili Cook Off is a must. Art is very important to the Apalachicola community with a huge Plein Air Festival in May. There is always something to do, but only if you want to!

Photos

Rates & Availability

Plantation House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Late summer
Aug 6 2017 - Nov 18 2017
4 night minimum stay
$2,210
$3,320
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 19 2017 - Nov 25 2017
7 night minimum stay
$2,210
 
 
Late Nov - Mid Dec
Nov 26 2017 - Dec 16 2017
4 night minimum stay
$1,850
$3,220
 
 
Christmas and New Year's
Dec 17 2017 - Dec 30 2017
6 night minimum stay
$2,210
 
 
Winter, 2018
Dec 31 2017 - Feb 24 2018
4 night minimum stay
$1,850
$3,405
 
 
Early Spring
Feb 25 2018 - Mar 10 2018
4 night minimum stay
$2,260
 
 
Spring
Mar 11 2018 - Apr 7 2018
7 night minimum stay
$3,200
 
 
Late Spring
Apr 8 2018 - May 26 2018
4 night minimum stay
$2,260
 
 
Summer
May 27 2018 - Aug 4 2018
7 night minimum stay
$3,195
 
 
Late Summer
Aug 5 2018 - Nov 17 2018
4 night minimum stay
$2,260
$3,370
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 18 2018 - Nov 24 2018
7 night minimum stay
$2,260
 
 
Late Nov-Mid Dec
Nov 25 2018 - Dec 15 2018
4 night minimum stay
$1,900
$3,270
 
 
Christmas and New Year's
Dec 16 2018 - Dec 29 2018
6 night minimum stay
$2,260
 
 
Winter, 2019
Dec 30 2018 - Feb 23 2019
4 night minimum stay
$1,900
 
 
My Standard Rate
4 night minimum stay
$315
 

Additional information about rental rates

Damage Deposit $300

Deposit must be posted within 10 days in order to confirm reservation.
Rates are subject to change without notice until confirmation is received.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • Canceled bookings will not receive a refund
Available
Unavailable