Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Large Surfer Studio w BREAFAST n easy access ground floor location shared bath

Bedrooms 1
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights


About the property

Large Ocean Surfer Studio

shared bathroom..Largest unit ., peaceful hawaiian home with studios n hawaiian touch , very close to beaches, galleries, aloha live theater, many restaurants, downtown & chocolate/coffee farms - shared bath if caretakers are onsite

Some assembly required for curtousy breakfast- coffee , tea, fruit and oatmeal

Not a hotel or condo

We provide an alternative if you like the condo or hotel please pay more and book with them

We do not offer what they offer and they do not offer what we offer

Also can be made to 2b,3b,4b,5b

Whales can be seen jumping out of the ocean at times from the shared main deck, even paddlers,boats,and dolphins

Very convenient to town and beaches just 5-10 minutes by car

Overlooks magic sands beach from a thousand or 750 ft

Exotic tropical fruit, tips on local hot spots and old hawaiian history offered

Please read

An alternative country house in a rural neighborhood in town

Please do not stay with us if you prefer condos or hotels

Not a condo or hotel more rustic or simple

Deep cleaned outside 1 time a month and lightly weekly outside

Rooms deep cleaned 1 time a month and cleaned every time or guest , mopped , wiped down , swept scrubbed tub and toilet

Some repairs needed and ongoing and mold can discolor the grout if a previous guest does not open the curtain to allow air flow , weather and airflow a ongoing battle

Dust can form in 30-90 minutes as we are close to the sea

Many guests love the wild turkeys or geckos , butterflies, lizards and bugs that you find in Hawaii

Wild life program

Trash kept outside of rooms

Keeping the trash inside, leaving bright outdoor lights on or leaving the door open invites things in from outside

Invites guests

Quiet time

Before 8 and after 9

Quiet setting

Wifi internet


Micro- wave,



Gas stove or electric


Rice cooker/ steamer

Private baths & entrance

Covered lanais

Ocean & garden views

Beach chairs,

Towels &






Hair dryers

& ironing





Many towels, high tread count sheets, cooking gear, table gear, ap enable triabite wifi and ethernet, free parking , in town of kona, ocean view, and more, tucked away but still in town , quiet place less than 5 minutes to restarants/ beaches , and shopping

The host

John or gio- short for giovanni is an inspiring and aspiring, kona historian, chef, massage therapist, pilot, entertainer, exotic tropical fruit explorer, micro scale farmer and aspiring world traveler. He likes to let you know about some of the secrets; of kona, hawaii, tropical fruit, healthy living, massage, and tai chi. He is available for various sessions

Massage, bodywork, structural integration, tarot, eternal being readings, and interpersonal exploration

Above all he is interested in meeting many good people from around the world and helping them explore hawaii’s island paradise

Lots of towels cooking set up

Private studio & bath with

Tropically decorated king-sized bed, toilet with shower/ closable, all not shared

Refrigerator, cooking areas. Sun warmed hot water.

The place- da inside scoop

Not a commercail hotel, condo,or apartment building and does not have a pool, toxic good looking landscape or ocean front or down town oreintation.

It is a rustic 30 year old house with separate private lockable studios,


Passion fruit or, papaya, or dragon fruit or banana - ice cream / honey - or lady finger

Local macnuts, enjoy micro tropical garden, mini tropical fruit trees, papas, veggies, herbs and cherry trees.

Shared another lanai, car parking, wifi, and there is a washer/dryer for you to use (quarters needed)... Shared cooking oven, gas stove, microwave

Compare available studios

All studios are lockable and have private sleeping and bath areas

Except large studio with a shared bath with our onsite caretakers/ they do not leave anything in the bathroom and its lockable

Some of the differences are

The dolphin

Has a dolphin theme, hard wood floors, outdoor dish sink 1closet and a tube, a view

The whale

Has carpet, large dish sink in the bathroom, more windows, it has more sound near the parking area, as it has many windows and is near the parking area and above another unit, better view

Jungle garden

A microcosuim or micro-ecosystem / garden has hard wood floors, has a more private deck, cooking area and dining area, but does not have the shared frig and deck close by,

Ocean studio

Is the largest and has a full kitchen and a lockable shared bathroom


12 stairs aprox with railing for the dolphin and whale

The jungle garden only has 3-4 but less of a view and more private , less of a bathroom

The dolphin has the biggest bathroom and 2 closets and the veiw


Prepaid only / guaranteed reservations only

Check-in time

By appiontment only; and is no earlier than 3 pm and no later than 6pm (as this is a residental community) unless you make specail arrangements with the host

With international flights and individual circumstances

We cannot always accommodate early check-in. Some solutions to deal with early arrival; a guest could reserve the day before or go get a bite to eat , even go for a swim year round and then check-in after. Thanks for your consideration


Extra services requested or contracted for cost extra

We do not offer commercial credit or charge accounts

Guest room materials

Room items are included for use in the rental and not as take home items. They can be purchased separately in advance


It's a ground floor unit

One star or less just has linoleum tile

No frills unit at a very low cost with the high value of the king bed

Location in town 1 mile to the beach

The bathroom connects to the temporary garden helpers room

We get help from time to time to help with cleaning and gardening locks are on both sides of the door

So the bathroom is lockable

The care taker is not to leave items in the bathroom

We do not always have a caretaker

More Details

Owner/Property Manager
Member since: 2012
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 16, 2018


Kailua-Kona House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • pets considered
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only
  • Internet
  • Dining Area
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 1 Bedroom, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , 1 sleep sofa /futon
  • Television
  • wheelchair accessible


2/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

0% Complete
33% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
66% Complete
Large Surfer Studio w BREAFAST n easy access ground floor location shared bath
average rating of 2.0 based on 3 reviews

The property is not well maintained, has clutter everywhere, lacks some basics and is pretty dirty.

  • 1 of 5

My heart sank as I walked around the property, saw the algae green pool, and searched the property for the person with whom I could check in. When I found him and he showed me around the room we had reserved, it was a little smaller than we thought and lacked some basic cleanliness that disappointed us greatly. The fact we had to share a dingy bathroom with insufficient locking mechanisms was the last straw that really made me feel uncomfortable. We didn't end up staying here as we just felt uncomfortable with the place. I would not recommend for cleanliness, bathroom sharing and size.

  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: The first trip to Hawaii can be a little stressful and full of expecations combined with the stress of having a very large family too We always recommend travel insurance and planning well before you travel The guest voiced to us that it was not big enough after they left 8 people in a room is about much We Only charged for two If it where me I would have gotten a larger room with more than two beds Each room is moped and wiped down every time And our pool is green/black installed to make the pool hot for Hawaiians as below 80 is cold for us Standard locks used It takes practice to ask for help or bring things to a host or managers attention Most managers will go beyond what is asked if given a chance to help This guest could have just asked for more beds on site and that would have likely solved the issue for her the guest did not give us a chance to help her address her needs or concerns, a person was there to give them assistance as needed And they turned help down for the secound bed From our 24/7 onsite crew We do clutter the side of the house with beach chairs and boogie boards for guests to use It is always best to find a room that best fits your needs then go for price not the other way around As a guest Myself I make sure that comes first In this case this guest picked out of the size, shared bathroom, describtion, pictures, no frills , low cost bargain room @ 1/3 the hotel cost, turned down help, did not ask for more beds and then left a review to mislead other guests In trueth our place is a low cost high value bargain for this area at 1/3 the coast at the time . With clean rooms, King sized bed, hot pool, kitchen, tv, and easy access Please Always ask for help and most people will want to help make things good for you Happy travels John Senior reviewer 68,000 followers and Innkeeper Kona Hawaii Guest House Ps For example We could have brought more beds , recleaned an area , brought fresh fruit , upgraded her to a room 4x the size with 4-8 beds and we have treats we give our guests from gift certificates to activity passes She could have had it all I hope she will ask next time I hope the best for her and you Every property wants people to enjoy themselves Happy travels Aloha
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Bad experience

  • 1 of 5

This property was the worst we have ever stayed in. Bugs and worm in bed. Within 24 hours our food was infested with cockroaches and another small hard shelled beetle type bug. We occupied one night only. Retrieved our goods after the second night. Requested a refund and told we would receive one. Our reservation was for 9 days and we received a $100.00 refund. Would not recommend to anyone.

  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2017
  • Stayed: January 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hawaii is alive with life we are so lucky, and wild life is part of Hawaii. We tried to help the guest prevent and avoid and even get rid of any inconvenience at the lowest cost no frills ground floor unit he was in. We have house rules to help and gave reminders to not leave trash, food out , the door open with the light on at night . This guest wanted to do it his own way . We offered to help him , clean his room and get the one bug he reported to us and he refused our help. Food Trash was left around the room when he left , food trash was stored in the room and we found no evidence of the one bug during our deep clean of the room. We ask every guest to not leave food out or store food trash in their rooms to not attract them in from out side . The next guests where asked if they saw anything in the room and they reported the room did not have a problem. Refund We have a no refund policy for people that walk away from their guaranteed reservations, and we do try to do our best to help guests and this guest refused our help and was inappropriate around other guests and to the staff that tried to help him., and was then asked to leave. We are all guests in the jungle home of the wild life of Hawaii and Aloha, patience, asking for help, go far here . Giving the host a chance to help, not leaving food out and trash in the room could have prevented or minimalized any issue. Also getting a second floor standard unit with a better view also could have helped as well. Cabins or rooms near the garden on the ground floor are not the best to get if you have big fears about the common wild life in tropical areas. Aloha John Innkeeper
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Review for ocean room

  • 4 of 5

My family had been living on a farm on the north shore in Oahu and wanted to see the big island before we went back to the mainland. We had spotty internet so I couldn't access my room details but found John's number. We chatted and he said he could text me all the details! Great! He made the pull out bed before arrival for my boys so we didn't have to worry about that. He was very nice, and accommodating. He had basics for breakfast i.e. Some oatmeal, spices, oil, coffee and fresh papaya (from the property). He even let my 5 year old help him pick some fresh papayas! So fun! My only request would be to get comfy fluffy pillows but that's a personal preference. The place was in good condition and clean! I would recommend staying here to see the kona side of the island. Bonus from the deck on the second level you can see the ocean and its spectacular!! Happy travels!

  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2016
  • Stayed: October 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0





Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $100
clean room $40 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 13.42%

checkin by appiontment only , extra fee for early checkin or late check out
see website for terms and conditions, and house rules

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties