Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Hawaiian Cottage-Seconds away from beach access- air conditioning

Bedrooms 2
Space 500 sq. ft.
Property type apartment
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights


About the property

2 Bedroom, AC, Full Kitchen, Steps away from the beach

This is a great little two bedroom, one bath nestled between the mountains and the ocean. Just a short, 20-second walk to a beautiful secluded beach, across the street from Kenekes grill, and close to a grocery store and Kahana Bay.

The kitchen is stocked with everything you need to feel at home and was recently updated with new cabinets and granite countertops. Enjoy a flat-screen TV with DVD player and a Roku for streaming. Air conditioning in the bedrooms and ceiling fans in the living room and kitchen. WiFi and washer/dryer available on site.


Bedroom 1-King bed

Bedroom 2- Queen Bed

ACTIVITIES: Polynesian Cultural Center, LDS Temple, multiple beaches (Kahana, Pounders, Castle, Hukilau, etc) all with 8-10 miles. There is golf, horseback riding, hiking, every possible island activity. Keneke's Grill conveniently located across the street.

More Details

Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
Calendar last updated:
March 21, 2018

About MaryKathryn

We taught at Brigham Young University. Business owners. Large family. Happy people.

MaryKathryn purchased this apartment in 2015

Why MaryKathryn chose Hauula

We came to teach at BYU Hawaii and fell in love with this area. There is an amazing spirit of peace and Aloha here. We immediately started to look for a property to buy. After living on Laie Point for two years, we became very tired of the congestion, crowded parking, loud noise and some safety issues. Then we found this home in Punaluu 10 minutes away. It is a peace of heaven with our own sandy, secluded beach and majestic lush mountains on the other side. Every sunset is a picture. This truly is a slice of "old Hawaii" with every activity close by.

What makes this apartment unique

Air conditioning, located by beach access, full size kitchen, VERY CLEAN, upgraded furniture and linens.

We also offer personalized activity planning. Find more info at to get help with making the most of your vacation!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Nine glorious days in Laie! Despite the threat of Hurricane Ana, we couldn't have asked for a more wonderful vacation.

Laie is a beautiful community. Love walking to the temple each morning.
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 10


Hauula Apartment Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • apartment
  • floor 1
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 4
  • children welcome
  • pets not allowed
  • non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beachfront ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine ...
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven ...
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 5 people
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 4
  • Living room - 1 sleep sofa /futon , Futon in the living room
    Bedroom 1 - 1 king
    Bedroom 2 - 1 queen
  • DVD Player
  • Television ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • wheelchair inaccessible
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • library
  • restaurants
Leisure Activities:
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • luaus
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • kayaking
  • mountain climbing
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • wind-surfing


Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(23 traveler reviews)

78% Complete
4% Complete
8% Complete
4% Complete
4% Complete
Hawaiian Cottage-Seconds away from beach access- air conditioning
average rating of 4.478261 based on 33 reviews

Great location with darling, updated house.

  • 5 of 5

This house was perfect for our family of 4. The beach is just steps away. Every morning we watched the sunrise. The owners went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. We’ll definitely stay here again.

  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2018
  • Stayed: February 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Can't Recommend

  • 1 of 5

We can't agree that this accomodation is Lux. Firstly, after the initial booking, for 4 nights, communication with Jean became very difficult. We had mentioned that we were travelling with our son and his fiancee, who would be arriving on the first day and we would arrive on the second day. When our son did arrive after 3pm check in time, the condo was unlocked. There was food, garbage and even underwear laying around. When contacted about this, Jean suggested they leave thier luggage, go for a walk/drive and she'd have the place cleaned. This was not really acceptable to our son. There were no hotels in the area so he and his fiancee drove back to

Honolulu (1hr drive) and stayed there until the next day when my husband and I arrived. At that time we confirmed that the place was now ready.

The condo is on the highway and very noisy so sleep is difficult. The sheets,bedding and towels were fresh and clean but the pullout is terrible with springs poking everywhere. The kitchen is not well stocked (just salt and pepper?) and several cupboard doors are falling off.

In the end we paid for 4 nights; only stayed 3 because the place wasn't ready and had to spring for another night elsewhere. Jean is aware if this and has not offered compensation. As a group, we pretty much determined this was not a place we would ever recommend.

  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2016
  • Stayed: March 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Dear Colleen and family: I think there has been a misunderstanding. You had booked to stay 3 nights and then wanted to change to 4 nights but as I remember you weren't sure and it went back and forth a couple of times. You finally decided on 4 nights and called me. I should have had you resubmit your offer for the correct dates and things would have gone smoothly. As it was, I tried to remember the exact dates. Your son arrived before check in and the apartment was not ready for him. I told your son that we could have a full cleaning crew in the apartment immediately and it would be ready for him by the usual check in time. Your son did not want to do this and said he preferred to stay in a hotel in Honolulu. We were very sorry for this misunderstanding and wanted to make it right for him. Another big misunderstanding is whether you had paid for 3 or 4 days. When I checked the booking with VRBO it says that you only paid for 3 days so I wasn't concerned that you had paid for this extra day that you didn't stay. When I received your letter above, I rechecked with VRBO. Although it says that you only stayed 3 days, you were actually billed for 4 days. When I found this out, I immediately gave you a full refund for the night your son did not stay. I am very sorry for this misunderstanding. I should have had you resubmit the correct dates. Thank you for letting us know about a problem with a hinge in the kitchen. We did indeed find one hinge that was not working and it has been replaced. We remodeled this kitchen within the last 6 months putting in marble floors, granite counter tops and new appliances. It is a spacious full kitchen with lots of cupboards which is unusual for an apartment on the North Shore of Hawaii. The pull out couch is a double size and meant for smaller children. It probably isn't that comfortable for adults although we just had 4 adults staying in the apartment for the last 10 days who reported that everything was perfect and very comfortable. All of the windows to reduce the noise have not been replaced as the apartment has been in high demand. We hope these will be finished soon. I know that your family had a wonderful stay in Hawaii as we got their response when we returned the gold earrings that your daughter in law left in the apartment. We are very sorry for the misunderstanding and any inconvenience. We hope the refund satisfies your concerns. Thank you for staying with us in Paradise. Jean Brown Owne
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Frente al mar

  • 3 of 5

La casa es muy linda, muy cómoda, pero el agua caliente funciona mal, los baños deben ser muy cortos, es extremedamente ruidoso, dado q esta pegado a la ruta, pero te acostumbras...

El barrio es muy lindo y si no queres ir a surfear a los points de Pipeline o Sunset, tenes la playa pegada...

Si vas a surfear, tene en cuenta q son 20/30 min de viaje...

  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2016
  • Stayed: January 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 2
Castaic, California

A Hard Night's Sleep

  • 2 of 5


1. The place is immaculate and very functional.

2. You can see the ocean from the front porch.

3. The owner is very nice and responsive.

Very Bad:

1. The apartment is right on Kamehameha Hwy. There is no sound barrier and the highway traffic is very loud 24-7. We live near a major interstate and this was even louder. We tried closing all the windows, air conditioning on high and ear plugs. Nothing worked. In our 4 nights there, I did not get one good night's sleep. When the rains came at night it actually got worse from the wet tire noise and splashing. You can also hear the people down below. The noise even drowned out the tv. You certainly cannot hear the ocean or keep your windows open. We have stayed "on the highway" before, but always with something between the highway and where we were staying. I would not stay here again.


  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2015
  • Stayed: October 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We appreciate that Dave mentioned that we have a lovely one bedroom apartment with beautiful upgraded interior and in a peaceful, quiet part of the island. You get the beauty of old Hawaii and yet are 10 minutes from major activity. The apartment is located next to two-lane road that runs around the North Shore. This road can get busy when people are going to work or coming home. It definitely is not an interstate nor the sound of one. The windows in the apartment were the original Hawaiian windows that have glass louvers which open wide to the out of doors. This does not give any sound proofing. Since receiving this guests comments, we are replacing those windows which makes the apartment much quieter and blocks the sounds of the traffic. Thanks for your helpful comment. Jean
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Peace, Love, & the Beach!

  • 5 of 5

We had a great time visiting this quieter side of the island! The surroundings are beautiful. The rental was recently remodeled so everything was nice & clean. The beach is just a few minutes away and is a beautiful and quiet place to relax! The owners were great to work with and were available for any questions or problems that arose. It does sit near the road, so you can hear that traffic from that, but it's not really bad when the AC is on (which works well)!

  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2015
  • Stayed: September 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

north shore house, jul 31(it won't let me change the date at the top of the page)

  • 3 of 5

Nice place, but no laundry, and parking was a pain when all vehicles were there. Steep stairs to pack your luggage up, so would be hard for older people, view out the back window was great, but not always quiet at night, as you are above someones garage. They gave us fresh towels the first day and that was it, also had to go buy our own tp and paper towels, and I haven't gotten my refundable cleaning deposit back yet, and have emailed about it, with no response.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2015
  • Stayed: July 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Tyann: We are now renting at 53-155 Kamehameha in Punaluu. This is a beautifully appointed one bedroom apartment in a quiet, peaceful part of the island. There is plenty of parking and we will make sure you have plenty of TP and towels. We returned your deposit as stated in our agreement within the timed you agreed to. We try to get the deposit back to guests within 30 days. We always pay our refunds. We hope you will stay with us again in our new apartment. Jean
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0


Nearest Airport
29.5 Miles
Nearest Motorway
0.04 Miles
Kamehameha Highway
Nearest Restaurant
Keneke's Grill (across the street)
Nearest Beach
apartment located on beach
Car: recommended

We are located in Punaluu which is 10 minutes from Laie. We are 5.9 miles from the Polynesian Cultural Center, BYU Hawaii and the LDS Temple.

The area is quiet and beautiful, the "traditional, old Hawaii." You have sandy, secluded beach plus high towering green mountains and lush, flowered foilage and palm trees. It is peaceful and heavenly. This location has it all. It has the "outer island" experience yet you can get to Honolulu (Waikiki, Pearl Harbor, Hanauma Bay Snorkeling) within 45 minutes. Golf at Turtle Bay resort in 20 minutes. Horeseback riding and adventure tours at Kualoa Ranch in 20 minutes.

You are located on a sandy, secluded beach. You can paddle board, snorkel, swim or kayak from your doorstep. Two popular beaches, Kahaha Beach Park and Punaluu Beach are 2 blocks away. Nine popular beaches for bogie boards and surfing are within 10 miles. Winter brings high surf to North Shore but your beach is swimmable year round. Gorgeous sunsets with colors that use the entire palette of red, orange and blue. Spend a night under the stars.

This is an air conditioned, fully renovated one bedroom apartment with a balcony. Marble floors in the full size kitchen and bathroom with granite counter tops, full oven, microwave, blender, utensils. Full size king mattress. Large bathroom with full size marble/granite tub/shower. Pull out couch in the living room

Minimum stay: 2 days


Pets considered:No

Wheel chair accessible:No




Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning fee $200
Refundable damage deposit $100
Tax Rate 13.9%


Additional guests are $25 per night

Owner's Cancellation Policy

Please ask the owner or check their rental agreement when booking the property.

You might like these similar properties