Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Heavenly Mountain Lodge *HOT TUB* 7,200 sqft Blue Ridge PARADISE !

Sleeps30
Bedrooms 9
Bathrooms5
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

6-7 Bedrooms (Expanding to 8-9 bedrooms by May), 4 Bathrooms, 30 Sleeps 30 max

Heavenly Mountain Family Lodge can accommodate up to 32 guests. The Lodge offers a fun, serene individual and family vacation in a pristine Blue Ridge Mountain forest location. Just off the famous Blue Ridge Parkway yet 10 minutes from Boone we are so close to Appalachian State, Blowing Rock & Banner Elk.

In this beautiful 2017 remodeled 7,200 sq ft two story property with luxurious 4 star Reassurance Hotel furnishings. We offer six Luxurious suites (expanding to 8-9 rooms by May).2 King Bed suites & 3 Queen Bed Suites. 4 full private bathrooms (5 in May) Upstairs two Jack & Jill connected suites. Granite counter tops in each room and in the huge eat in kitchen. For 2017 a new Kitchen with Granite island counter-top. Dining extended dining room table with a 10ft & 6Ft table seats up to 18.

2017 a new hot tub and 600 sq-ft deck deck expansion with a huge granite topped grill and granite seating area. the existing 90 foot deck has new wicker furniture. We are close to sporting events that abound at nearby Appalachian State University. Vacation with your children at college. Take your children to ride Tweetsie Railroad, Ski the 3 nearby resorts, Hike, bike, ride the raft, tube, or sail the zip lines nearby. With 6-7 Bedrooms & 3 sleeper couches All New Stainless kitchen Appliances. Perfect for group & family vacation retreats. Surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains and forests. Heavenly Mountain Lodge is an environment where individuals can relax, rejuvenate and unwind and slip effortlessly by discovering a happier, healthier, stress free life. Hot Tub, Pool Table, Direct TV, Internet, 10' projection TV and 80" deck & Cookout area & more.

Call/Email EVEN IF WE ARE FULL as we have access to 2 more houses like ours are nearby that may be available. Pet Friendly & Family Friendly

More Details

Owner
Dr James & Lynn Weldon
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, Some Spanish and Hindi
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
April 17, 2017

About Dr James & Lynn Weldon

Lynn & James Weldon PhD, ND moved from Colorado to North Carolina in 2012 to retire and support several United Nation NGO's and their charitable activaties. Lynn is a retired early childhood MS Degree teacher and grew up in Ovid Michigan. Jim is a nationally known Holistic Physician and author and grew up in Cocoa Beach Florida. His father was an Air-force General who was instrumental in founding the space industry and early rocket launches prior to the founding of NASA.

Dr James & Lynn Weldon purchased this lodge in 2012

Why Dr James & Lynn Weldon chose Blue Ridge Mountains

We moved to the area to spend our retirement years supporting several charitable service & nonprofit organizations located here. Dr Weldon is also the founder of the Heavenly Mountain Community a support group for the 1,000 acre community he lives in that hosts several of these non-profit organizations and private home developments.

What makes this lodge unique

This is one of the most beautiful & pristine mountain locations in America. There is so much to do here. Summer, winter, fall and spring are all amazing here. Blue Ridge Mountain views from property. Boone is close, Ski, hiking, rafting. The Blowing Rock has a very strong artistic community. Boone is also home to Appalachian State University.

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thanks you for everything. It was a beautiful space to have our college RA retreat. First time in Boone. Love the house, hospitality...everything!
Mar 2017
  • 1 of 5

Amenities

Boone Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 30
  • non smoking only ...
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 18 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Jack & Jill between rooms 2 & 3
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Jack & Jill setup between rooms 4 & 5
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Between Bdrooms 1 &^& 6 open to upstairs lobby/foyer
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Downstairs recently remodeled shower enlarged by kitchen
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , jetted tub , Expansion Downstairs to be finished for MAY bookings
Bedrooms:
  • 9 Bedrooms, Sleeps 30
  • Bedroom 6 - 2 double
    Bedroom 7 - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Living room 1
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , 1 double
    Bedroom 8 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , TV Room has french doors
    Bedroom 9 - 1 king , Expansion Downstairs to be finished for MAY bookings
    Bedroom 10 - 1 queen , Expansion Downstairs to be finished for MAY bookings
  • 2nd Living TV Room
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
A large retreat center a few hundred yards away has excellent meals served breakfast lunch & dinner 7 days a week. The chef there cooks regularly for special presidential White House Events. Full spa services available at that retreat center by appointment or on call. Horse back riding available just down the road.

Reviews

Good! 3.8/5 -
(19 traveler reviews)

Heavenly Mountain Lodge *HOT TUB* 7,200 sqft Blue Ridge PARADISE !
average rating of 3.7894738 based on 24 reviews
5

Loved this house!!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 30 plus loved staying in Heavenly Mountain Lodge. It is very spacious and there was no trouble accomodating our group with each having their own space. The house was so very comfortable and well equipped with everything one would need for an enjoyable, relaxing stay. It was very clean, the beds were comfortable and plenty of blankets and pillows were provided. The children loved the pool table and foosball table, which gave the adults time to relax while they played. There is plenty of closet space, big nice bathrooms and the kitchen of my dreams!! I don't know how anyone could ever give this home anything but an excellent review! The location is convenient to Boone, Blowing Rock and the beautiful views from the parkway. Thank you to the owners for sharing your wonderful home with us!!

Sherry Harrison and Mt Pleasant Youth Group, Vass, NC

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review. We have worked very hard this year adding the new rooms, the King and Queen beds, deck and cookout expansion & the new flooring and more. I think you will find it to be a Really Heavenly Experience stayin at our lodge.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fort Mill, SC
2

Not what we expected

  • 2 of 5

After spending a long weekend here, we decided we would not rent this house again. 1 roach found in Kitchen, and several bugs that we weren't even sure what they were. The house was not very clean, window sills, blinds etc... were very dirty. Windows were literally screwed shut so there was no way to have fresh air upstairs. This weekend was rather warm for the norm and so upstairs would get very hot. The house sleeps 30, however they do not have enough cookware to cook for that many people. There was no toaster, even though it was listed as an amenity. Also the owners portion of the house that was locked, had a cat in there and so it made the TV room smell of cat poop ect... Also we had some children allergic to cats so they could not sit in there with the rest of the kids to watch tv. Very disappointed.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: Feb 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was quite surprised by this review after so many 5 star ones. We have corrected all the suggestions here. And work very very hard to make things great. Including a new marble kitchen and a expanded deck, new larger king and Queen beds. Some of this we don't quite understand. The property is professionally cleaned always. It is possible after that after professional pest control for some hidden bug could be found. There is a toster right by the kitchen counter. With floor radiant heat if a window was left open at the top in the cold other rooms upstairs could possibly get hot I assume this is what happend. We were never contacted about this during the stay so did not have the chance to make this right immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Toronto, Canada
5

Spacious, Peaceful & Friendly Resort

  • 5 of 5

We occupied 2 rooms with attached bath for 3 nights for a family of 4 adults. After a long drive from Canada reaching bit late in the evening we thought it would be hard to locate on the hill. This resort is well known in the area. To our luck the owner of the property appeared near the facility and couteous to help carry with our luggage for easy entry into our rooms.

To our surprise the rooms were quite large and well furnished. The bed and sheets were of top quality. Easily in one room 4 adults could have stayed.

Bathrooms were well designed w/c, wash basin and shower were separate for other users so that we are not locked up for all three in one as in other hotels.

Small lobby on the first floor with afditional sofa is an added advantage to relax.

Living area in the ground floor which is common for all 6 rooms is quite large and well furnished. Large TV screen on tge other side of the living room was enjoyable.

Kitchen is large enough for cooking. It is equiped with gas stove and many utensils / cultlery. The owners provided us with bread, milk and fruits for immediate use.

Last but not the least the resort is peaceful for meditators with least disturbance from any corner.

We are planning to be there again in summer 2017.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay at Heavenly Mountain Lodge. We take all the suggestions from our guests and work diligently to make improvements after each guest. 95% of our reviews have been 4.5-5 stars. With the new kitchen with granite countertops, bathroom remodel. 400 sqft deck expansion and granite cooking and seating area we know you will agree. Yu will love the improvements and Heavenly Mountain Lodge also. Call text or Email us if you have any questions.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
California
4

Spacious and cozy retreat

  • 4 of 5

Had a very nice retreat at this spacious and comfortable mountain lodge. The hot tub on the porch is wonderful. The area is great, amidst the trees. We had a great time and I recommend this place for all those wanting to get away.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We will also be adding a new hot tub in Jan as well as multi colored lighting (you set the color) surrounding the porch. New floor tile to go in the new kitchen cabinets and marble countertops came in just in time for Christmas. Everyone loved the upgrades and new ceiling candle like ceiling lighting. Thanks for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Southern California
5

Peaceful mountain retreat

  • 5 of 5

Me and my fiancé stayed in this lovely mountain top home for the holidays. We wanted to getaway to the east cost from busy LA and It was the perfect getaway with amazing views of nature from every window. The hot tub was a fantastic bonus on the large covered porch. It was super cozy and warm with the heated floors and comforters. The bathrooms and kitchen were clean and tidy. The landlord was super sweet and greeted us and told us all about the spiritual center near by where we were able to go eat and hike around. We will definitely return and recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful cozy nature retreat!

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review. We have recently added a new kitchen and countertops remodeled the downstairs bathroom as well a extended our huge deck another 400 sq fry with a marble top seating and cook out area.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
1

Very Dirty - Clean Freaks BEWARE

  • 1 of 5

This Cabin has a beautiful mountain view. The house is large enough to accommodate a large group. However, these are the only nice things I can say about it.

Once you spend a weekend at this cabin and see how utterly disgusting the conditions are, you will understand why this rental is such an incredible waste of money. The towel rack was literally falling off the wall. All of the ceiling fans have at least a half inch of dust (or more) on them and were covered in cobwebs. The lampshade that stood next to my bed was covered in mold. I found condom wrappers on the floor next to the bed a CHILD was sleeping in. We killed numerous roaches in the kitchen and turtle bugs everywhere else throughout the house. The Coffee Pots had mold in them. The carpets were covered in water stains, and the (one; not two like the pictures) kitchen table was LITERALLY propped up. I have pictures of all of this - Unfortunately, the site will not allow me to include in this review.

Also, the Owner claims to have "Radial Floor Heating & Cooling" that takes a long time to heat/cool the house. However, the system takes so long to heat and cool the house that the living room was well above 70 degrees throughout our stay even though the highest outdoor temps were in the 50's. The house can get so overheated at times that each room has a box fan (Dusty, as you imagine) in order to help circulate the air. Family Members were forced to bring their own box fans from home in order to accommodate the excessive heat.

The owner is in desperate need of a new maid staff, new exterminator, and MAJOR Reality Check.

  • Submitted: Nov 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Nov 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Our property is cleaned each stay by a professional staff and has been spotless with many 5 star spotless reviews for several years. The property has "Radiant" not "radial" heat which means the floor heats which everyone loves. However if multiple windows are left open when it is "50 degrees outside" as the travelers said, and apparently did, the rest of the house continues to heat. We did have a professional pest control company spray the house a week before the guest arrival and two weeks later which apparently brought some dying out ones out. We saw none coming out the week afterwords. Thank you for considering this other point of view. This summer was the hottest nationwide in the entire USA history and even though we are 15-20 degrees cooler in the summertime here so we bought extra new fans this summer for the first time which is apparently what this reviewer was talking about. Since this review the property has received a new granite kitchen and cabinets and bathroom remodel. we also added a 400 sq ft on to the already huge deck with a granite surrounded grill and seating area. New lights some, new carpets also so come stay with us you will love it.
Did you find this review helpful?
3 1

Map

Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Charlotte
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Many on Blowing Rock Blvd Boone
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Boone Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Blue Ridge Parkway Bamboo Gap Exit
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Dining at the Art of Living Retreat Center
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Ski Applicanian
Nearest Beach
300 Miles
Myrtle Beach & North Carolina costal towns
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Boone Lodge Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$495
$2,950
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning $200 + Tax
Property Damage Protection $59
Tax Rate 10.25%

Rates are subject to change until confirmed. Bookings do not include meals. The property and full kitchen is available for use. No smoking in property. Pets subject to owner approval. Not allowed withour prior approval.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties