Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Heavenly Mountain Lodge *HOT TUB* 7,200 sqft Blue Ridge PARADISE !

Sleeps30
Bedrooms 9
Bathrooms5
Space 5,000 sq. ft.
Property type lodge
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

6-7 Bedrooms (Expanding to 8-9 bedrooms by May), 4 Bathrooms, 30 Sleeps 30 max

Heavenly Mountain Family Lodge can accommodate up to 32+ guests. The Lodge offers a fun, serene individual and family vacation in a pristine Blue Ridge Mountain forest location. Just off the famous Blue Ridge Parkway yet 10 minutes from Boone we are close to Appalachian State, Blowing Rock & Banner Elk.

In this beautiful 2017 remodeled 7,200 sq ft two story property with luxurious 4 star and Reassurance Hotel furnishings. Upstairs we offer six two bed luxurious suites (expanding to 8-9 bedrooms by May, plus a extra master bathroom for $150 a night up-charge - call or email for more details).

Upstairs there are 2 King 1 queen Bed suites, 3 Queen 1 full bed Bed Suites & 1 two full bed suite. 4 full private bathrooms. 3 full bed fold out sleeper couches downstairs.

Granite counter tops in each upstairs room and in the huge eat in kitchen. For 2017 a new Kitchen with Granite island counter-top. Dine at the extended table with a 10ft & 6Ft table, seats up to 18. All stainless steel kitchen Appliances

2017 added a new hot tub and 600 sq-ft deck deck expansion with a huge granite topped cookout grill and granite top seating area. The existing 90 foot deck has several wicker seating areas.

We are close to sporting events that abound at nearby Appalachian State University. Vacation here with your children at college or take your children to ride at Tweetsie Railroad, Ski the 3 nearby resorts, Hike, bike, ride the river raft, tube, or sail down the zip lines nearby. See Grandfather Mountain & Linville Caves

Perfect for group & family vacation retreats. Surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains and forests.

Heavenly Mountain Lodge is an environment where individuals can relax, rejuvenate and unwind and slip effortlessly by discovering a happier, healthier, stress free vacation. Hot Tub, Pool Table, Direct TV, Internet, 10' projection TV, foosball table huge deck & Cookout area & more.

Call/Email EVEN IF WE ARE FULL as we have access to 2 more houses like ours are nearby that may be available. Pets welcome with advanced approval. Many family friendly games & toys.

More Details

Owner
Dr James & Lynn Weldon
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, Some Spanish and Hindi
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
November 21, 2017

About Dr James & Lynn Weldon

Lynn & James Weldon PhD, ND moved from Colorado to North Carolina in 2012 to retire and support several United Nation NGO's and their charitable activaties. Lynn is a retired early childhood MS Degree teacher and grew up in Ovid Michigan. Jim is a nationally known Holistic Physician and author and grew up in Cocoa Beach Florida. His father was an Air-force General who was instrumental in founding the space industry and early rocket launches prior to the founding of NASA.

Dr James & Lynn Weldon purchased this lodge in 2012

Why Dr James & Lynn Weldon chose Boone

We moved to the area to spend our retirement years supporting several charitable service & nonprofit organizations located here. Dr Weldon is also the founder of the Heavenly Mountain Community a support group for the 1,000 acre community he lives in that hosts several of these non-profit organizations and private home developments.

What makes this lodge unique

This is one of the most beautiful & pristine mountain locations in America. There is so much to do here. Summer, winter, fall and spring are all amazing here. Blue Ridge Mountain views from property. Boone is close, Ski, hiking, rafting. The Blowing Rock has a very strong artistic community. Boone is also home to Appalachian State University.

Guestbook comments from the owner

My family rented this house for a family reunion, we slept 26 people comfortably. We had a great time. The house is surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains, that offered breathtaking views and spectacular picture taking opportunities. The cabin was furnished well and very clean. It was very nice having all modern amenities so that we could cook and do laundry while we were there. The house felt warm and cozy with the communal areas ideal for family discussions. The cabin included everything we needed.. Bed linens and towels very provided, which was an added bonus because we had family members flying in to the reunion. Last thing they wanted to pack was bed linens and towels.

The house was very kid/children friendly. Plenty of toys, board games, activities, and electronic games for children of all ages. Within minutes of arriving kids were running around enjoying themselves playing "Hide n Seek."

Plenty of porch and decking to sit and enjoy family members talking and telling family stories. One of the family members utilize the fire pit on the porch. Which knock the chill off a cool night and allowed family members to enjoy the great outdoors.

We had such a great time staying there and would not hesitate to go back or to recommend this beautiful house to others. The property managers were very attentive, resourceful, and helpful. Our family was so blessed to stay here and we all have great memories of our time together in this beautiful place! You will have a good time here and you will have no regrets renting this home!



Submitted: October 19, 2017 Stayed: September 29-October 1, 2017 Source: VRBO, from HomeAway.
Oct 2017
  • 1 of 7

Amenities

Boone Lodge Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • lodge
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 5000 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 1:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 30
  • pets considered ...
  • Events Allowed
  • children welcome ...
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Mountain View ...
  • Resort ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Spa
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Fireplace ...
  • Fitness Room / Equipment ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 18 people
Bathrooms:
  • 5 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Jack & Jill between rooms 2 & 3
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Jack & Jill setup between rooms 4 & 5
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Between Bdrooms 1 &^& 6 open to upstairs lobby/foyer
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower , Downstairs recently remodeled shower enlarged by kitchen
    Bathroom 5 - toilet , jetted tub , Expansion Downstairs to be finished for MAY bookings
Bedrooms:
  • 9 Bedrooms, Sleeps 30
  • Bedroom 6 - 2 double
    Bedroom 7 - 2 sleep sofa /futon , Living room 1
    Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 1 double
    Bedroom 2 - 1 king , 1 double
    Bedroom 3 - 2 queen
    Bedroom 4 - 1 queen , 1 double
    Bedroom 5 - 1 king , 1 double
    Bedroom 8 - 1 sleep sofa /futon , TV Room has french doors
    Bedroom 9 - 1 king , Expansion Downstairs to be finished for MAY bookings
    Bedroom 10 - 1 queen , Expansion Downstairs to be finished for MAY bookings
  • 2nd Living TV Room
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player ...
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games ...
  • Music Library ...
  • Pool Table ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
  • Toys ...
  • Video Games ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles ...
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lanai / Gazebo ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • 1 bicycles
Suitability:
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Onsite Services:
  • Massage
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • eco tourism
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cross country skiing
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • fly fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hunting
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • mountaineering
  • racquetball
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting
Notes:
A large retreat center a few hundred yards away has excellent meals served breakfast lunch & dinner 7 days a week. The chef there cooks regularly for special presidential White House Events. Full spa services available at that retreat center by appointment or on call. Horse back riding available just down the road.

Reviews

Good! 3.9/5 -
(21 traveler reviews)

52% Complete
23% Complete
0% Complete
9% Complete
14% Complete
Heavenly Mountain Lodge *HOT TUB* 7,200 sqft Blue Ridge PARADISE !
average rating of 3.9047618 based on 28 reviews
5

Spectacular, great stay, can’t wait to go back!!

  • 5 of 5

This place is STUNNING!!! The pictures don't do it justice.

My family rented this house for a family reunion, we slept 26 people comfortably. We had a great time. The house is surrounded by the Blue Ridge Mountains, that offered breathtaking views and spectacular picture taking opportunities. The cabin was furnished well and very clean. It was very nice having all modern amenities so that we could cook and do laundry while we were there. The house felt warm and cozy with the communal areas ideal for family discussions. The cabin included everything we needed. Bed linens and towels very provided, which was an added bonus because we had family members flying in to the reunion. Last thing they wanted to pack was bed linens and towels.

The house was very kid/children friendly. Plenty of toys, board games, activities, and electronic games for children of all ages. Within minutes of arriving kids were running around enjoying themselves playing "Hide n Seek."

Plenty of porch and decking to sit and enjoy family members talking and telling family stories. One of the family members utilize the fire pit on the porch. Which knock the chill off a cool night and allowed family members to enjoy the great outdoors.

We had such a great time staying there and would not hesitate to go back or to recommend this beautiful house to others. The property managers were very attentive, resourceful, and helpful. Our family was so blessed to stay here and we all have great memories of our time together in this beautiful place! You will have a good time here and you will have no regrets renting this home!

Submitted: October 19, 2017 Stayed: September 29-October 1, 2017

  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2017
  • Stayed: September 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. Please come back and visit us again soon. Jim & Lynn Weldon Heavenly Mountain Lodge
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

We love Heavenly Mountain Lodge

  • 5 of 5

This is a great place to stay for peace and quiet and just to enjoy family. This was our first family vacation in over five years. There's plenty of space for privacy yet lots of activities for family time together. It was decorated throughout the house for the season and that added a home-like feel to the place. The house was full stocked if you needed anything. The expansion was extremely helpful because of a vision impaired relative who wouldn't have been able to maneuver the stairs well so being able to stay down stairs was plus. The only complaint I heard was a few cold showers but when you have 22 people in the house that's somewhat understandable. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the kind review. We've turned up the hot water heater to take care of the extra needs with much larger groups. Please come again. Jim and lynn Weldon Heavenly Mountain Lodge
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Loved this house!!

  • 5 of 5

Our group of 30 plus loved staying in Heavenly Mountain Lodge. It is very spacious and there was no trouble accomodating our group with each having their own space. The house was so very comfortable and well equipped with everything one would need for an enjoyable, relaxing stay. It was very clean, the beds were comfortable and plenty of blankets and pillows were provided. The children loved the pool table and foosball table, which gave the adults time to relax while they played. There is plenty of closet space, big nice bathrooms and the kitchen of my dreams!! I don't know how anyone could ever give this home anything but an excellent review! The location is convenient to Boone, Blowing Rock and the beautiful views from the parkway. Thank you to the owners for sharing your wonderful home with us!!

Sherry Harrison and Mt Pleasant Youth Group, Vass, NC

  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2017
  • Stayed: March 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind review. We have worked very hard this year adding the new rooms, the King and Queen beds, deck and cookout expansion & the new flooring and more. I think you will find it to be a Really Heavenly Experience stayin at our lodge.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fort Mill, SC
2

Not what we expected

  • 2 of 5

After spending a long weekend here, we decided we would not rent this house again. 1 roach found in Kitchen, and several bugs that we weren't even sure what they were. The house was not very clean, window sills, blinds etc... were very dirty. Windows were literally screwed shut so there was no way to have fresh air upstairs. This weekend was rather warm for the norm and so upstairs would get very hot. The house sleeps 30, however they do not have enough cookware to cook for that many people. There was no toaster, even though it was listed as an amenity. Also the owners portion of the house that was locked, had a cat in there and so it made the TV room smell of cat poop ect... Also we had some children allergic to cats so they could not sit in there with the rest of the kids to watch tv. Very disappointed.

  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2017
  • Stayed: February 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I was quite surprised by this review after so many 5 star ones. We have corrected all the suggestions here. And work very very hard to make things great. Including a new marble kitchen and a expanded deck, new larger king and Queen beds. Some of this we don't quite understand. The property is professionally cleaned always. It is possible after that after professional pest control for some hidden bug could be found. There is a toster right by the kitchen counter. With floor radiant heat if a window was left open at the top in the cold other rooms upstairs could possibly get hot I assume this is what happend. We were never contacted about this during the stay so did not have the chance to make this right immediately.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Toronto, Canada
5

Spacious, Peaceful & Friendly Resort

  • 5 of 5

We occupied 2 rooms with attached bath for 3 nights for a family of 4 adults. After a long drive from Canada reaching bit late in the evening we thought it would be hard to locate on the hill. This resort is well known in the area. To our luck the owner of the property appeared near the facility and couteous to help carry with our luggage for easy entry into our rooms.

To our surprise the rooms were quite large and well furnished. The bed and sheets were of top quality. Easily in one room 4 adults could have stayed.

Bathrooms were well designed w/c, wash basin and shower were separate for other users so that we are not locked up for all three in one as in other hotels.

Small lobby on the first floor with afditional sofa is an added advantage to relax.

Living area in the ground floor which is common for all 6 rooms is quite large and well furnished. Large TV screen on tge other side of the living room was enjoyable.

Kitchen is large enough for cooking. It is equiped with gas stove and many utensils / cultlery. The owners provided us with bread, milk and fruits for immediate use.

Last but not the least the resort is peaceful for meditators with least disturbance from any corner.

We are planning to be there again in summer 2017.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay at Heavenly Mountain Lodge. We take all the suggestions from our guests and work diligently to make improvements after each guest. 95% of our reviews have been 4.5-5 stars. With the new kitchen with granite countertops, bathroom remodel. 400 sqft deck expansion and granite cooking and seating area we know you will agree. Yu will love the improvements and Heavenly Mountain Lodge also. Call text or Email us if you have any questions.
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
California
4

Spacious and cozy retreat

  • 4 of 5

Had a very nice retreat at this spacious and comfortable mountain lodge. The hot tub on the porch is wonderful. The area is great, amidst the trees. We had a great time and I recommend this place for all those wanting to get away.

  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We will also be adding a new hot tub in Jan as well as multi colored lighting (you set the color) surrounding the porch. New floor tile to go in the new kitchen cabinets and marble countertops came in just in time for Christmas. Everyone loved the upgrades and new ceiling candle like ceiling lighting. Thanks for your review.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Mountain Aire Golf Club
Tweetsie Railroad
Art of Living Retreat Center
Appalachian Ski Mountain
"Nice ski resort near our Heavenly Mountain Lodge and B&B"
Nearest Airport
90 Miles
Charlotte
Nearest Barpub
6 Miles
Many on Blowing Rock Blvd Boone
Nearest Golf
5 Miles
Boone Golf Club
Nearest Motorway
2 Miles
Blue Ridge Parkway Bamboo Gap Exit
Nearest Restaurant
0.2 Miles
Dining at the Art of Living Retreat Center
Nearest Ski
10 Miles
Ski Applicanian
Nearest Beach
300 Miles
Myrtle Beach & North Carolina costal towns
Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $59
Cleaning $200 + Tax
Tax Rate 10.25%

Rates are subject to change until confirmed. Bookings do not include meals. The property and full kitchen is available for use. No smoking in property. Pets subject to owner approval. Not allowed withour prior approval.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties