Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Carpathian Cabin-Blowing Rock/Boone- Long Range View, Hiking, Canoeing, Tweetsie

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms2
Space 1,100 sq ft
Property type cabin
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights

Overview

About the property

2 bedroom, 2 bathroom cabin with long range mountain view

The Carpathian Cabin will become your favorite relaxation place in the Blue Ridge Mountains. The long range views of the Parkway can be enjoyed from the large deck, as well as from the kitchen, living room and main bedroom.

You will feel like home due to the cozy atmosphere and the fully equipped kitchen and be energized by the abundance of natural light in the living and dining room.

The cabin is in a beautiful mountain setting, away from busy streets and other vacation rentals. The few neighbors are very friendly. This is a perfect place for couples or families with children to take in the outdoors. Come swing on the tree tire swing, relax in the side yard or on the deck, watch birds or go on a hike nearby. Come fall or winter, spring or summer. Each season has its beauty up here and you might just pick a different favorite while here.

If you want to explore the area, Blue Ridge Parkway is about a mile away and Blowing Rock and Boone are about a 10 min drive. They offer restaurants, parks, playgrounds and shopping, to list a few points of interest.

Tweetsie Railroad and Mystery Hill are big attractions for children and less than 10 min drive from the cabin.

Appalachian Ski Mountain is about 15 min away and Tubing/Canoeing on New River is a 30 min drive.

Hiking can be done in the area Parks, off of Blue Ridge Pkway, as well as around the cabin.

Grandfather Mountain is about a 30 min drive.

More Details

Owner
Patricia Mate
Member since: 2014
Premier Partner

This VRBO partner has demonstrated and is committed to fast response times, the best rates, and a great guest experience.

Speaks: english
Response time:
Within a few hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
August 20, 2018

About Patricia Mate

Welcome to our story! We are a family of 5 and live in Charlotte, NC.

We fell in love with the Blue Ridge while vacationing at cabins in West Virginia and North Carolina and travelling the Blue Ridge Parkway. We decided to purchase our own cabin and had to have long range views, so we could enjoy the mountain feel every time. It also had to have surroundings safe for small children playing. We found this beautiful spot that reminds us of the mountains in the country we grew up in, Romania. The roads, the nature, the neighbors, it all feels like home. So we made it our second home! We come here a lot and relax and have fun every time. The fact that we are so close to both Boone and Blowing Rock, civilization and wilderness, was a big plus in our decision making.

Winter is our favorite season up here, as we enjoy sledding, skiing and skating. If it snows in the area, than this place will be the last to melt!

There are blooms around the cabin from spring to fall that delight us every year. We canoe on the New River in the summer and watch the Tweetsie’s fireworks on the 4th of Jul from the hill across the street.

This is really an inspirational place and we hope you will enjoy it as much as we do and decide to come back.

Thank you for reading our story.

Patricia Mate purchased this cabin in 2010

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for blessing us with a wonderful weekend! The cabin was exactly what we needed to find rest and enjoy the beauty of God's creation!

We love birds! So, it was fun watching the birds visit the feeders.

But, nothing was as beautiful as watching the sun rising over the mountain.
Oct 2014
  • 1 of 1

Amenities

Panorama Estates Cabin Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • cabin
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1100 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Max. adults: 4
  • Min. age of primary renter: 21
  • Children welcome
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets not allowed
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Mountain View
  • Rural
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace ...
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided
  • Washing Machine
  • Wireless Internet
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    Bedroom 2 - 2 twin/ single
    Living Room - 2 sleep sofa /futon
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games
  • Ping Pong Table
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Stereo
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Games
  • Video Library
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio
  • Golf ...
  • Kayak / Canoe ...
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
  • Tennis ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible
Attractions:
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • theme parks
  • winery tours
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • horseback riding
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • sledding
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • equestrian events
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • ice skating
  • kayaking
  • mountain biking
  • mountain climbing
  • rafting
  • rock climbing
  • skiing
  • snowboarding
  • snowmobiling
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water tubing
  • whitewater rafting

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(41 traveler reviews)

70% Complete
24% Complete
4% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Carpathian Cabin-Blowing Rock/Boone- Long Range View, Hiking, Canoeing, Tweetsie
average rating of 4.6585364 based on 42 reviews
4

Quiet Retreat

  • 4 of 5

Really enjoyed the cabin. It is off the beaten path but has everything needed for a peaceful retreat.

  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2018
  • Stayed: August 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

Super location, Average VRBO

  • 3 of 5

Hi Patricia,

Thank you so much for allowing us to rent your VRBO. The location was perfect for us as it was near to the many golf courses we wanted to play. The house itself was large enough for the two of us but had some challenges that really need to be addressed. First and foremost, the master bedroom bed MUST be changed as it is so very uncomfortable. A normal mattress and box spring would be advisable so a decent night's rest could take place. In addition, the futon sofa should have been repaired before our arrival. It could not be used to even sit on. We were also challenged with your lack of needed electrical power to run some of the appliances, such as the washer & dryer. We had power outage in the basement.

The interior of the home was clean and that was important to us. Thank you once again for sharing your mountain retreat.

  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2018
  • Stayed: July 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the feed-back. We are glad to hear you had a good time at our cabin. Regarding the bed in the master bedroom, it has a good mattress and a foam top, for extra comfort. Unfortunately when it comes to sleep, we are all so very different in what we find comfortable and we are sorry to hear this bed did not work for you. Majority of our guests are happy with their sleep there. One of the 2 sofa beds in the living room has been damaged by guests right before your stay, where the hinges were so bent that it would not stay in the correct position anymore. We have fixed it after you left and apologize we did not get to it before you came. Summer is very busy with guests at the cabin and things do get damaged sometimes. We always address them asap.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Durham
5

Perfect get-away place!

  • 5 of 5

The cabin is very cozy, comfortable and beautiful, certainly made with love and care! We enjoyed staying there with two kids and grandma.

The view is gorgeous, one can eternally sit there staring at the mountains day and night.. Our girls loved the swings on a huge tree, and set of games and movies in the kids room, and a tennis table downstairs. The street to the house goes right by the cliff, which also provides breathtaking views, and we all enjoyed that a lot.

Overall we've got amazing weekend staying there, and we really felt ourselves in a Carpathian cabin :)

That was a perfect get-away trip for us, and we certainly would love to get back!

  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2018
  • Stayed: June 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Fort Mill
5

Memorial Weekend

  • 5 of 5

We got to the cabin via Blue Ridge Parkway, stopping at several overlooks. Great view! The cabin is close to Boone and Blowing Rock, it is located in a very quiet neighborhood with lots of trees around. The view from the back porch is also great. We went hiking around the area, several state parks are in 45-minute drive. The cabin was clean, kitchen stocked with everything you needed, lots of DVD and games to choose from, cable TV and Wi-Fi. The kids had a lot of fun on the swing 😊 Overall, we had a good weekend!

  • Submitted: May 31, 2018
  • Stayed: May 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Nice view

  • 4 of 5

We liked the cabin, it was really cold when we were there so we could not use the 2nd bathroom downstairs because it was not heated down there so we were really cramped in one bathroom, the cabin had a lot of dust and it was not very clean, my son has an allergy and everytime we got to the cabin he was sneezing really bad, the view is beautiful in the morning, the gravel road was very scary to get in and out but we kind of get used to it after the 1st day, it snowed really hard when we were there so the kids had a good time with the sleds, the neighbourhood is very quite and safe, the kitchen is well stocked. The owners were responsive and helpful, we did not have any signal on my phone in the cabin so it was a little scary not to be able to call anyone but we were able to text message.

  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2018
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for all the positive feed-back on the cabin. We appreciate it. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with the cleaning aspect of our place. The cleaning crew goes promptly after each rental and does a great job bringing the place back to our high standards of cleaning. We apologize for the inconvenience to your son and your family. We assure all our future guests that our cabin is clean, inviting, cozy.
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great view and awesome room for the kids

  • 4 of 5

We really enjoyed our time at the cabin. It had a great room for the kids with toys and dvds. We loved the view and being able to watch the sunrise in the morning. We went to the tweensie railroad which was only 11 minutes away and it's definitely a must do!! We stay the week after Christmas and there was still snow on the back porch when we got there! Great place with a great view!

  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2017
  • Stayed: December 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Car: necessary

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75
Refundable Damage Deposit $150

Cleaning Fee is $75.

An additional charge of $15/adult/night applies if more than 2 adults in the renting group.
See full terms on Rental Agreement.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 7 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.

You might like these similar properties