Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Octalope - Large Ocean Front House 6 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, 2 Kitchens and Arcade

Sleeps18
Bedrooms 6
Bathrooms4
Space 2,500 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights

Overview

About the property

Octalope - Large Ocean Front House 6 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, 2 Kitchens and Arcade

An ocean front house with 6 bedrooms, 4 baths, 2 separate kitchens and an arcade on a huge lot! This is a great place for a large extended family or for several families to share, or for smaller groups that just need a lot of bedrooms.

The house is located on a quiet, dead-end street in south Rockaway Beach about half a mile south of the Twin Rocks and 1.5 miles south of downtown Rockaway. It is a side-by-side duplex with interior doors that open to combine the 2 units. Each side has 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, open kitchen/living/dining areas.

The two main living areas (kitchen, dining and living) are upstairs to take full advantage of the views and there is a large deck that extends across the entire house that overlooks the ocean and Twin Rocks. Plus there are four bedrooms with queen beds and two bathrooms upstairs. Downstairs you will find two more large bedrooms, each with queen beds, sleeper sofas, full bathrooms and LCD televisions. The downstairs bedroom on the North side also has twin bunk beds in addition to the queen bed. There are also 2 fold down sleeper sofas, one in each living room. That’s enough room to sleep 14 people in beds and 4 more on sleeper sofas, for a total of 18.

Pets are permitted with owner approval (each pet must be approved and max of 2 pets total).

The 3/4 acre property is right on the beach and the house sits on the east side of the lot, about 500 feet from the ocean. A private path through our private yard leads you down some stairs, across a wooden bridge over a stream and through a small wooded area to a quiet beach with a great view of the Twin Rocks. Along the path, you will also pass our new Hobbit Hole play house for the kids (or adults) to enjoy when they get tired of the beach or the arcade.

There is a hot tub on the lower deck with a view of the ocean.

The two garages each have an arcade game room with air hockey, ping pong, foosball, Double Shot two player basketball games, Super Mario Bros multicade (with 19 different games including Mario Bros, Joust Defender and many more) and a Dig Dug multicade (with 60 games including Pac Man, Donkey Kong, Dig Dug and many more), Area 51 and Extreme Hunting 2-person shooting games. All games are set for free play, so no need to bring quarters. Please note that some arcade games may not be operational during your stay, these are older games that sometimes break and we can't always fix them right away.

There is enough room to park 6 vehicles. There is no additional on street parking because the house is located on a private dead end road.

Rockaway Beach is a small coastal resort town located only about 1.5 hours from Portland. It has a beautiful 7 mile continuous beach anchored by Tillamook Bay to the south and Nehalem Bay to the north. It’s a great location with everything you need within a short drive.

Other Things to Note:

Prices are subject to change and are not guaranteed until booking is confirmed.

Well behaved pets may be allowed with host's permission and a small fee. Please check with us if you plan to bring pets.

3 or 4 nights minimum stay in Summer, 4 nights for Summer holidays, 3 or 4 nights for Winter holidays and 2 nights the rest of the year.

Maximum occupancy for the property is 18 people.

An additional cleaning fee may be required if excessive trash is left in the house or yard. Rockaway Beach does not have curb-side recycling, so guest are required to take recyclables (glass bottles, cans, etc) to the local recycling centers in Rockaway or Tillamook.

We try our best to keep the arcade games working, but they sometimes break. We don't issue refunds for any arcade games that are not working.

Additional details and check-out procedures will be provided by the host in the house manual.

House Rules:

Please no...

no parties (without owner approval)

no fires (other than in the fireplace and on the beach when allowed)

no fireworks

no littering

no smoking

Quiet hours between 10 PM and 8 AM

Help us keep our place nice and clean for guests!

More Details

Owner
Rachelle
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
June 26, 2017

Why Rachelle chose Northern Coast

Why not? It's oceanfront and has an arcade. What more could you ask for!

What makes this house unique

Did we mention there's an arcade?

Amenities

Rockaway Beach House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 2500 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 18
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Location Type:
  • Beach View
  • Beachfront
  • Mountain View
  • Ocean View
  • Oceanfront
  • Water View
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room
  • Parking
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
  • Wood Stove
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 10 people
Bathrooms:
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , combination tub/shower
    Bathroom 3 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 4 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 6 Bedrooms, Sleeps 18
  • South Master with bath - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon
    North bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    North bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    South bedroom 1 - 1 queen
    South bedroom 2 - 1 queen
    North Master with Bath - 1 queen , 1 sleep sofa /futon , 1 bunk bed
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Foosball
  • Game Room ...
  • Games
  • Television ...
  • Toys
  • Video Games ...
Outside:
  • Balcony
  • Deck / Patio
  • Outdoor Grill
Pool / Spa:
  • Hot Tub ...
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • boating
  • paddle boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • groceries
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • freshwater fishing
  • golf
  • kayaking
  • sound/bay fishing

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(18 traveler reviews)

Octalope - Large Ocean Front House 6 Bedrooms, 4 Baths, 2 Kitchens and Arcade
average rating of 4.0555553 based on 18 reviews
5

Great place!

  • 5 of 5

We were very pleased with all the room for our family reunion. The house was clean and well supplied. Great beach access and the weather was lovely. Would definitely come again!

  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Portland, Or
5

Incredible family getaway

  • 5 of 5

We had a family get-together with ages from 3 - 64, and everyone loved it. Easy beach decor, fantastic views, the hot tub was a MAJOR hit, and such a pleasant stroll to the ocean. Great communication from the owners, and well equipped. We all had space to get together without feeling like we were on top of each other. Absolutely loved the location.

Having a washer and dryer was a real bonus.

  • Submitted: Jun 6, 2017
  • Stayed: Jun 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Wonderful large family gathering place. Sara May 19-22 2017

  • 4 of 5

Our family all 14 of us spent 4 days at Octalope for my husbands 80th Birthday. The property was a perfect match for a large group. It came with plenty of comfortable beds and everything needed in the kitchens except one side had the coffee maker and other side had the microwave, made for a little confusion at times but did not stop us from having a great time. Fires on the beach at night, baseball games during the day. Our 2 great grandchildren loved the Hobbit House. Would rent this property again.

  • Submitted: May 27, 2017
  • Stayed: May 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Good. Parking was very muddy

  • 4 of 5

The wi-fi did not work while we where here but it was windy and stormy. The out door play house is very cool, perfect for young kids but out of site from the main house. There was a few ants so be ready for that is a possibility.

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Apr 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
2

home needs serious updates for cost of rental

  • 2 of 5

The pictures looked great.....and were deceiving. For the cost of a night I expected more. The kitchens and bathrooms need some major updates. The outside of the home near the entrances were mud bogs! A truck load of gravel is very needed! If you have mini cooper cars or a Fiat you could park 4 vehicles. The worst part was that both sides of the home is infested with tiny sugar ants. They were in both kitchens and bathrooms and they were disgusting. Most of the arcade games didn't work. The basketball game would make a horrible sound when you plugged it in.

The beach access was wonderful! The private little trail was fun and a perfect distance to get to the beach but far enough that it protected the home from the harsh coastal winds. The hobbit house was adorable even though it's a little far and unable to be seen from the main house to let small children play in it alone.

Over all the cost for the home did not match what we received. This is the fifth home I've rented on the Oregon coast and unfortunately the most expensive with the biggest let down.

  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Malene, We are so sorry that you weren't satisfied with the home. We do understand that the house is muddy during the winter months and we bring in gravel several times a year. Sounds like it is time for another load. We'll also be sure to take care of the ants - these are especially troublesome during the rainy season. As for the kitchens and bathrooms, I'm sorry that they didn't meet your expectations. We did remodel, paint and put in new floors throughout the entire home the summer of 2015 and we chose to keep the 60's look and feel throughout the place so they were kept those colors/styles. I was notified of one broken game before your stay but hadn't heard from any guests about any others. We don't know if they're broken unless someone tells us but we are always prompt to reorder new parts and repair them when we are notified. My cleaner checked today and only the shooting game and one of the two pop a shots was broken so I'm wondering if maybe the games were not powered on? There's always ping pong, fussball and air hockey which are all working fine all the time :) Kind regards, Rachelle
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great place to stay to get away with a big group!

  • 5 of 5

We had a group of 12 of us (six couples) and this place easily provided individual rooms for each couple with beds to spare, which can be difficult to accommodate. The hot tub and game rooms gave us plenty of entertainment through the weekend, and the short path to the beach made for a pleasant wooded walk to a relatively isolated beach area. The duplex make up of the house ensured that we had a "social" room for hanging out and a "quiet" room for reading or getting away for a couple hours. We would absolutely consider going back to this place again in the future. In the interest of providing some constructive feedback, I would only say that not all the arcade games were working right (though we had super mario, basketball, ping pong and foosball, so we were plenty happy with those options) - but that's certainly not enough of a reason to pass over this little gem IMO.

  • Submitted: Dec 15, 2016
  • Stayed: Dec 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0

Map

Nearest Beach
0.05 Miles
Rockaway Beach

Photos

Rates & Availability

Rockaway Beach House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
Early Summer
Jun 9 2017 - Jun 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$360
From
$450
Fri,Sat
 
 
July 4th
Jul 1 2017 - Jul 6 2017
2 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Peak Summer
Jul 7 2017 - Aug 10 2017
2 night minimum stay
$675
 
 
Peak Summer 2017
Aug 11 2017 - Aug 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$675
 
 
Labor Day Weekend 2017
Sep 1 2017 - Sep 3 2017
3 night minimum stay
$720
 
 
Late Summer 2017
Sep 4 2017 - Sep 30 2017
2 night minimum stay
$340
From
$450
Fri,Sat
 
 
Thanksgiving
Nov 22 2017 - Nov 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$495
 
 
Christmas 2017
Dec 22 2017 - Dec 25 2017
4 night minimum stay
$495
 
 
New Years 2017
Dec 29 2017 - Dec 31 2017
3 night minimum stay
$495
 
 
MLK Weekend 2018
Jan 12 2018 - Jan 14 2018
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Presidents Day Weekend 2018
Feb 16 2018 - Feb 18 2018
3 night minimum stay
$350
 
 
Memorial Day Weekend 2018
May 25 2018 - May 27 2018
3 night minimum stay
$500
 
 
Early Summer 2018
May 28 2018 - Jun 30 2018
3 night minimum stay
$400
From
$500
Fri,Sat
 
 
July 4th 2018
Jul 1 2018 - Jul 7 2018
4 night minimum stay
$800
 
 
Peak Summer 2018
Jul 8 2018 - Sep 3 2018
4 night minimum stay
$700
 
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$295
From
$340
Fri,Sat
$1,800
 

Additional information about rental rates

Refundable damage deposit $500
Pet Fee $50
Cleaning fee $200
Tax Rate 11.0%

House rules
Please observe this house rules while on the property…
Music and (other loud noises) should be kept down after 10pm. Some folks on our street live here, so please be curteous to them when it gets late. And remember, we do not allow parties without prior guest approval.
No fires or fireworks on the property. Beach fires are permitted by the city of Rockaway, however.
Be nice to our home and arcade. We’ve spent a lot of time fixing up for your friends/family and ours to enjoy. Thank you!!

When you’re departing the house, please make sure to do the following:
Remove all trash from inside and outside of the house (we’re prone to ants) and place in the trash receptacle outside. Haul away any trash that doesn’t fit in the receptacle.
Clean up any trash or cigarette butts from outside.
Remove and haul out all recyclables.
Remove all your food from the refrigerator.
Wipe down counters or any surfaces with food remnants (again ants!!)
Load dishwasher and start or hand wash dishes
Strip linens from bed, place in washer and start. Please place additional linens and soiled towels in the laundry basket next to the washer.
Turn off all games and lights in the basement.
Turn off all heaters, lights and any other electronics in house.
Please close and lock all windows and doors. The lock on the sliding door in the North unit does not work, so please place the piece of wood in the track to prevent it from opening.
Place keys back in the lockbox

Please note that leaving additional trash/recycling/other, damage to the property, additional cleaning, or missing articles can result in loss of deposit! Thanks for understanding.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
Contact Owner
Available
Unavailable

You might like these similar properties