Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled Family icon
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076
Book Online or call VRBO Booking Assistance: 888-829-7076

Just 2 mi. to Parris Island & Beaufort, Walk to Beach & Shops - Sleeps 6 - Wi-FI

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms1
Half Baths1
Space 1,300 sq ft
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Overview

About the property

Historic 3 BR home, 1 + 1/2 baths, 5 min. to Parris Island, walk to beach, Wi-Fi

Low Country living at its best! You’re just minutes from Parris Island to see your Marine graduate or to visit all the Lowcountry has to offer.

This charming, historic 2 story home is located in the heart of the Old Village of Port Royal. The history and heritage of Port Royal come together in this beautifully restored 100-yr. old home!

The 3 bedroom home sleeps 6 and features 1 queen-size bed and 2 full-size beds. The bedrooms are located on the second floor along with a large bathroom featuring a combination vintage claw foot tub and shower.

The master bedroom is spacious and provides access to the private second floor porch. The porch has wicker chairs and a rocker to enjoy your morning coffee. Like the master bedroom, the charming second and third bedrooms are furnished in antiques and feature vintage linens, quilts and lace window treatments. A full size washer and dryer are conveniently located on the second floor, adjacent to the bedrooms.

Tastefully appointed, the home blends local history with 21st century conveniences, including a 40" flat screen TV with cable access, Free Internet Wi-Fi and central heating and air conditioning. A spacious living room welcomes guests and a large kitchen and dining area is well-appointed with refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, microwave, blender, coffee maker and toaster. Additional 1/2 bath on first floor.

The historic home features double front porches shaded by a beautiful Spanish moss draped live oak tree. Both the upper and lower porches provide outdoor seating. This home is perfect for enjoying the mild southern climate and marsh breezes. Pull up a chair, sip on a glass of southern sweet tea and sit awhile.

The house provides one off-street parking spot in front of the house with additional parking in the rear of the property.

Located just 2 miles from the gates of Parris Island makes this home an ideal location for families and friends who are attending the graduation ceremonies at Parris Island.

The house is conveniently located in the Old Village of Port Royal, the heart of the town’s historic district. Visitors with a soft spot for natural outings and fantastic views will find plenty of local attractions to explore, starting with the Cypress Wetlands, a gorgeous slice of coastal environment that features snowy egrets, wood ducks, great blue herons, and a variety of other migrating shorebirds via a number of winding trails.

You can find antique and consignment shops and an eclectic mix of restaurants and coffee shops along Parris Avenue. The streets in this area are all named after the capitals of countries who, at one point or another, tried to claim the area. Visitors will stroll along London (where the vacation house is located), Paris, Madrid and even Edinburgh Streets.

A short walk from the house takes you to The Sands and Boardwalk, Port Royal’s own beach for stunning Battery Creek views. The Sands Beach, with its extensive long wooden pier and small sandy beach, is a popular spot for amateur archaeologists to dig for shark's teeth and other seaside treasures. A tower is also located on site, which is open for climbing visitors, and presents exceptional views of the Port Royal landscape. You can enjoy the public beach and climb the observation tower for spectacular panoramic views of the water, marshes and Parris Island. The Sands has a public boat launch if you want to bring your boat.

A one of a kind hidden jewel, Port Royal combines genuine southern hospitality and living with street music events and festivals, shops, restaurants, the Sands Beach, Cypress Wetland Preserve and much more! A picturesque coastal town that offers miles of views, entertainment and postcard-perfect charm!

If you can tear yourself away from Port Royal, a 10-minute drive will find you in Beaufort where you can explore quaint shops, art galleries, book stores and a variety of cares, bistros, coffee shops and fine restaurants. Shop along Bay Street, lunch at one of the waterfront restaurants and enjoy the spectacular views of the Beaufort River.

Traveling 30 min. from Port Royal is one of the most popular and beautiful beaches in South Carolina, Hunting Island State Park, a 5,000 acre park with 3 miles of natural beach. Charleston, SC and Savannah, Georgia are located approximately an hour from Port Royal.

A special place, come visit and make this 100-yr. old historic home, your “home away from home”.

More Details

Property Manager
Tina Griggs
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within 2 days
Response rate:
90%
Calendar last updated:
April 20, 2018

What makes this house unique

Love the small fishing village of Port Royal - it's quiet, charming but close to everything! 5 min. walk to the beach.

Amenities

Port Royal House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 1300 sq ft
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 4:00 PM / Check-out: 11:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Minimum Age Limit for Renters ...
  • pets considered ...
  • children welcome
  • non smoking only ...
Location Type:
  • Near The Ocean ...
  • Village ...
Theme:
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Historic
  • Romantic
  • Sports & Activities
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating ...
  • Internet ...
  • Linens Provided
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher
  • Kitchen
  • Microwave
  • Oven
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove
  • Toaster
Dining:
  • Dining
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 6 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower , Claw foot tub with shower head on upper floor
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , Half-bath on first floor with toilet and sink
  • Antique claw foot tub has been retrofitted so you can also use as shower. Full bathroom is located on second floor with bedrooms. Half bath is located on first floor.
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 queen , 2nd floor
    Bedroom 2 - 1 double , 2nd floor
    Bedroom 3 - 1 double , 2nd floor
  • The charming bedrooms are beautifully decorated with antique and vintage furniture, quilts and lace window treatments. Ceiling fans in each bedroom.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • restaurants
  • ruins
  • synagogues
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • basketball court
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • golf privileges optional
  • hiking
  • jet skiing
  • kayaking
  • parasailing
  • pier fishing
  • rafting
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • surf fishing
  • surfing
  • swimming
Notes:
Walk to Sands Beach from the house, beach towels available. Bring your boat - Sands Beach is a free, public launch.

Reviews

Excellent! 4.7/5 -
(11 traveler reviews)

81% Complete
9% Complete
9% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
Just 2 mi. to Parris Island & Beaufort, Walk to Beach & Shops - Sleeps 6 - Wi-FI
average rating of 4.7272725 based on 11 reviews
5

Great location in Port Royal..

  • 5 of 5

Clean house. Great location. Great access to Sands Beach and pier for a walk. We wanted quick access to Beaufort, Paris Island and Dataw Island and other islands. Peaceful setting. Very friendly neighbor's. Plenty of great restaurants in Beaufort. Good working washer and dryer was helpful. We would go back again.

  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Homey, comfortable home.

  • 5 of 5

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. The home was clean, nicely decorated and very convenient to Sands Beach, restaurants and walking and bike trail. It had all the conveniences of home and the description was accurate. We loved Port Royal and the wonderful people we met. This is a very friendly community. I would highly recommend this. Thank you so much........

  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2018
  • Stayed: January 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Hi Beverly, thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay here in our Port Royal home. Please keep us in mind for future visits! You are welcome back any time! Tina - Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

The home was very clean and well maintained.

  • 5 of 5

I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2017
  • Stayed: October 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Great location! Great home! Great hospitality!

  • 5 of 5

My brothers and fiancé travelled from the mountains of TN to the beaches of SC and could not have been more pleased with our stay at the London Ave. home. We arrived and the home was spotless, with all necessities included. The home was in a great location for visiting The Sands beach which provided a quite beach experience, as well as for visiting Huntington Island State Park for the more "normal" beach experience. There were board and card games provided in the home that entertained us during our stay and a wonderful balcony to relax and visit on in the evenings. I could not have been happier with our visit! Tina was wonderful, very responsive, and helpful! The whole experience from booking to checking out was great! We will definitely visit again!

  • Submitted: Aug 4, 2017
  • Stayed: July 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay. We would be more than happy to have you again! - Tina - Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
3

The property was very convenient to Parris Island. House is roomy but needs improvement.

  • 3 of 5

Loved the location. Especially if you're there for USMC Graduation. The house is quite nice downstairs. Lots of room and the AC works great downstairs. The downstairs half bath is convenient but the only full bath is upstairs and it's a claw foot tub/shower combo. So I wouldnt recommend this house for anyone with physical ailments or difficulties. The stairs would be somewhat strenuous for elderly and disabled. Also, AC DOES NOT COOL UPSTAIRS which is where the bedrooms are. I did purchase own fan. Sleeping was very unpleasant for everyone upstairs. With the laundry facility upstairs, in the only full bath, the person in the next room gets all that heat. And SC is definitely hot in June.

Other than that, the only complaint is no iron or we never found it. I'd suggest one be left for families who are there for graduation and don't travel with irons.

The owner is super nice and accommodating as is the lady who cleans. Zero complaints about the hospitality. And the house is cute and comfortable. The blue room bed is the most comfortable.

  • Submitted: Jun 19, 2017
  • Stayed: June 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for the kind things you said about our lovely property. I'm really sorry it was too hot for you upstairs. Due to this review, we are having the system checked out to make sure it's working properly. It's regularly serviced. This is the first time any guests have complained about the upstairs not getting cool enough. If you had contacted me while you were here, I would have gladly gotten someone over to check the unit out and also would have brought you some fans so you wouldn't have to buy your own. Again, thank you for your kind words, and thank you for choosing our home for your stay. We appreciate all feedback and hope you will keep us in mind for future visits. - Tina - Property Manager ****************************************************************************************************** Update on prior response: The owners are currently staying at the property and had the AC checked out and it's in proper working order. It was just a matter of adjusting the downstairs vents at night so that more cool air is directed upstairs. The guest instructions have been updated to include this information so that hopefully there are no further issues. Again, had you contacted me while you were here we would have made sure the issue was taken care of while you here and your stay would have been much more comfortable. All renters have my office number as well as my cell number in case there are any problems. - Tina - Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Great place & so convenient to stay for PI Graduation.

  • 5 of 5

Fabulous find! Having never been to PI or the area, I wasn't sure about the house location in comparison to the base although the description stated less than 5 miles that could mean 45 minutes in some places. The house is charming, we had 5 adults my Marine making 6 for one night, plus 2 yorkies and we had plenty of room. There is remodeling going on next door and across the street yet we were never bothered by either. The people driving & walking by were so friendly. I wish we had time to explore the area because what we saw was so beautiful and quaint. Places to eat out and night were easy to find as well. Tina was so helpful and responds very quickly...she ensured our stay here was enjoyable as well as simple and convenient from the initial request to the last day!! Great place to stay for PI Graduation!!

  • Submitted: May 3, 2017
  • Stayed: April 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit. Please come back and see us again when you have more time to explore. I will gladly recommend some fun "local" places to visit and eat. - Tina - Property Manager
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Nearest Airport
37 Miles
Hilton Head Airport
Nearest Barpub
0.8 Miles
The Carolina Tavern
Nearest Golf
3.3 Miles
Secession Golf Club
Nearest Train
28.4 Miles
Yemassee Amtrak Station, Yemassee, SC
Nearest Restaurant
0.1 Miles
Moondoggie's Cafe and Grill
Nearest Beach
0.5 Miles
The Sands Beach, Port Royal
Car: recommended

Located in the quaint Village of Old Port Royal, this home is less than a mile and walking distance to the closest beach, boat landing and boardwalk, as well as several diverse restaurants, including fresh seafood, pizza, BBQ, casual American, and Thai. Enjoy the quiet walking community, complete with several quaint shops The gates of Parris Island are just a short 2 miles away. Downtown Beaufort, with many restaurants, waterfront park, galleries, bookstores, eclectic shops and marina, is a short 10 minute drive. Savannah and Charleston are each less than a 2 hr drive.

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $50
Cleaning Fee $75
Refundable damage deposit $200
Tax Rate 6.0%

All major credit cards accepted. A 6% processing fee will be applied to all credit card payments.

Postponement and/or Cancellation Policy:

Our cancellation policy is as follows: If something happens and you just need to postpone your dates to a later date, we will change your dates at no extra charge as long as the home is still available. If you needed to cancel completely, if you cancel 30 days or more prior to your scheduled check in, you would be refunded all but the cost of 1 night ($200) and a 6% processing fee. If you cancel less than 30 days prior to your scheduled check in, there will be no refund given unless we are able to re-book the house for the dates that you reserved.

Manager's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.
  • Service Fee fully refunded on cancellations that qualify for 100% refund.