Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Kamp Knobcone Studio/Guesthouse

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Overview

About the property

Luxurious Studio Apartment - Old Tahoe Architecture

If you’re looking for romance, you’re in the right place. Soak in the comfortable bathtub as you gaze at the flames of the fireplace, sleep in a comfortable king sized bed and awake as the morning light shines through dramatic vertical windows (or close the blinds and sleep in).

For quick getaways to the ski slopes, hiking trails or Lake Tahoe visits, there’s a separate shower and a small kitchen where you can prepare a quick breakfast that will keep you going.

If you like staying around, you can listen to music, read a book or relax in the garden. Inside, enjoy original oil paintings, admire handcrafted building details or head back for another relaxing warm bath.

This is a perfect base for day trips. Emerald Bay, the restaurants of Tahoe City, Truckee’s boutiques, hiking trails winding through the wilderness, biking both on roads and off, adventures on the waters of Lake Tahoe…

You don’t need to worry about your frozen car. It’s in the garage, safe from the elements.

If you love quiet mountain retreats, cocktails with a view, contemplating the play of light as it flows across the emerald waters of Lake Tahoe, you deserve to stay here.

Book now, and dream of relaxation and romance!

More Details

Owner
Janet and Maclyn Morris
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within a day
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
May 26, 2017

About Janet and Maclyn Morris

Maybe I spent too much time building this place. But I was having so much fun! Working out the details of the woodwork, the wrought iron, the dramatic soaring spaces, the lofty windows, the intricate details that run right down to how the wood flooring's boards meet. I think it's one of the nicer homes I've built, and I'm sure you will, too.

Janet and Maclyn Morris purchased this studio in 2000

Why Janet and Maclyn Morris chose Lake Tahoe West Shore CA

The home nestles into a woodsy lot, soaring up with the tree trunks to harmonize with its environment. It's far enough from the highway to be quiet, hiking trails are nearby so I can leave the car in the garage - or drive to the lake to paddle across the shining water.

What makes this studio unique

This studio was built for romance. Soak in the tub, watch the light move across the walls from a king sized bed, pop a bottle of Champagne out of the freezer and toast the moon as she rises above the trees to light the landscape in a serene glow... and when you want more adventure, it's all around you on the lake and in the forest.

Amenities

Homewood Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
House Rules:
  • Max. occupancy: 2
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , In Bathroom Fireplace, Original Oil Painting Nympham
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Reviews

4.4/5 -
(5 traveler reviews)

Kamp Knobcone Studio/Guesthouse
average rating of 4.4 based on 5 reviews
Rockford, Michigan
5

We'll be back!

  • 5 of 5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Kamp Knobcone Studio. Jan & Mac were gracious host and made awesome recommendations. There was plenty of space for the two of us. Really appreciated the heated floors and the gas fireplace that glows into the main room and the bathroom. Skied two days at Homewood Mountain Resort. What a gem - no lines and the panoramic views of Lake Tahoe were breathtaking. Had a hearty breakfast at the Fire Sign Cafe and a wonderful lakeside dinner at Sunnyside Restaurant & Lodge. Made a day trip to Truckee, an authentic and charming out-west ski town with a cool vibe for shopping, dining & drinking. Cheers to the Morris'. We sincerely appreciate your hospitality and the comfortable/affordable accommodations. See you again when the snow is piling up in Tahoe!

  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review. We had an epic last day ourselves at Homewood Mountain Resort! Our last day of skiing and snowboarding dropped fresh powder all morning! We are back in our beach house in Trinidad, Northern California. Please check it out. VRBO 880980 and 881014. Looking forward to seeing you again! Sunshine and smiles, Maclyn and Jan
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Cozy, convenient and top-notch hosts!

  • 5 of 5

The Guesthouse was spacious yet cozy and contained all the essentials including kitchen utensils, coffee-maker, microwave, etc. The location was convenient to local general stores, restaurants, ski resorts (especially the 5-minute drive to Homewood!) and of course the Lake itself. Janet and Maclyn were great hosts; responsive to initial inquiry emails and full of information on our trip and various site-seeing stops along the way. Once at the property, Janet and Maclyn were helpful and informative, but not intrusive - they were the ideal hosts! We can't wait to go back to Kamp Knobcone, but have told all our friends about how great the trip was, so we may need to rent out the Main house next time in order to accommodate our friends!

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the review! We are looking forward to the next couple of days closing out our snowboarding winter! We are especially excited about our destination Trinidad, whitewater rafting in Northern California with the high water run-offs!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

One of the most wonderful vacation homes we have ever stayed in. We look forward to our return!

  • 5 of 5

When staying in the West Shore of Tahoe and you need to sleep 10-12, experience the incredible architecture of a beautifully built Tahoe home, love to cook for your family and friends and want to be close to the lake, hiking and walking/cycling paths, well then staying here is a must! A beautiful Tahoe neighborhood setting gives you the convenience and ease of driving right up and easily parking but the way the home is built, privacy once in the home, was obviously a consideration. Calling this one home for albeit a brief stay, was indeed a pleasure and something special that we truly enjoyed.

The homes amenities that especially pleased us were the chef's kitchen with nothing spared and the array of outdoor toys including paddle boards, beach gear, mountain bikes and lots of snow play gear! Coming to this home definitely gave us choice to simply enjoy the beauty of our surroundings or go out and really embrace the area and all it has to offer. The home is impeccably clean, lovingly maintained and the owner is eager to ensure your stay is a perfect one. This home and the experience it provides is not to be missed!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Orange County, CA
2

Did not meet expectations

  • 2 of 5

Pros: 1) Nice location on the West Shore. 2) Good size for two people. 3) Prior to arrival the owners were very attentive. 4) Bed was comfortable. 5) Free Wifi

Cons: 1) The unit needed a thorough cleaning. Floors, blanket, fireplace and bathtub were visibly dirty. 2) In general, lighting was poor, but especially in the kitchenette and bathroom. 3) No hooks on which to hang towels in the bathroom. No wine glasses. No Kleenex. Insufficient spare toilet paper. 4) Window cleaners arrived unannounced in the morning, walking into our room without knocking. 5) In the mornings we had to negotiate the sprinklers by going around the back of the garage to avoid getting wet.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize that your stay at our West Shore Guest House was not as you expected. My wife and I went up last weekend to do the yard work and to replace our living room upholstery. We thoroughly enjoy our cabin and do keep it nice. We as well were disappointed in the housekeeping services and have made other arrangements. We do want our home to be maintained exceptionally well. When we spoke on the phone, I told you that we had just seeded wildflowers in the yard thus the sprinklers were coming on twice a day. Please accept our apology and read our personal e-mail to you so that we can rectify the situation! Sunshine and smiles, Maclyn and Jan Morris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego
5

Kamp knobcone guest studio

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable and cozy studio with beautiful high end appointments. We especially liked the Homewood location- it has a nice small town feel and it is a reasonably short drive to either south lake or incline village. The owners were great to deal with- I made a mistake on the dates and they were very helpful and understanding. The house is nestled in the trees and very close to sugar pine point park, which is wonderful. There is a good market with reasonable prices close by in Tahoma.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were pleased that you were able to extend your stay! Sunshine and smiles, Maclyn and Jan Morris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Homewood Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $350
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.

Enter dates for accurate pricing

Send a Message Send a Message
Available
Unavailable