check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

Kamp Knobcone Studio/Guesthouse

Sleeps2
Bedrooms Studio
Bathrooms1
Property type studio
Minimum Stay 2 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
studio
Sleeps
2
Bedrooms
Studio
Bathrooms
1
Minimum Stay
2 nights

About the property

Luxurious Studio Apartment - Old Tahoe Architecture

If you’re looking for romance, you’re in the right place. Soak in the comfortable bathtub as you gaze at the flames of the fireplace, sleep in a comfortable king sized bed and awake as the morning light shines through dramatic vertical windows (or close the blinds and sleep in).

For quick getaways to the ski slopes, hiking trails or Lake Tahoe visits, there’s a separate shower and a small kitchen where you can prepare a quick breakfast that will keep you going.

If you like staying around, you can listen to music, read a book or relax in the garden. Inside, enjoy original oil paintings, admire handcrafted building details or head back for another relaxing warm bath.

This is a perfect base for day trips. Emerald Bay, the restaurants of Tahoe City, Truckee’s boutiques, hiking trails winding through the wilderness, biking both on roads and off, adventures on the waters of Lake Tahoe…

You don’t need to worry about your frozen car. It’s in the garage, safe from the elements.

If you love quiet mountain retreats, cocktails with a view, contemplating the play of light as it flows across the emerald waters of Lake Tahoe, you deserve to stay here.

Book now, and dream of relaxation and romance!

More Details

Owner
Janet and Maclyn Morris
Member since: 2010
Speaks: english, spanish
Response time:
Within 12 hours
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 18, 2017

About Janet and Maclyn Morris

Maybe I spent too much time building this place. But I was having so much fun! Working out the details of the woodwork, the wrought iron, the dramatic soaring spaces, the lofty windows, the intricate details that run right down to how the wood flooring's boards meet. I think it's one of the nicer homes I've built, and I'm sure you will, too.

Janet and Maclyn Morris purchased this studio in 2000

Why Janet and Maclyn Morris chose Lake Tahoe West Shore CA

The home nestles into a woodsy lot, soaring up with the tree trunks to harmonize with its environment. It's far enough from the highway to be quiet, hiking trails are nearby so I can leave the car in the garage - or drive to the lake to paddle across the shining water.

What makes this studio unique

This studio was built for romance. Soak in the tub, watch the light move across the walls from a king sized bed, pop a bottle of Champagne out of the freezer and toast the moon as she rises above the trees to light the landscape in a serene glow... and when you want more adventure, it's all around you on the lake and in the forest.

Reviews

4/5 -
(3 traveler reviews)

Kamp Knobcone Studio/Guesthouse
average rating of 4.0 based on 3 reviews
5

One of the most wonderful vacation homes we have ever stayed in. We look forward to our return!

  • 5 of 5

When staying in the West Shore of Tahoe and you need to sleep 10-12, experience the incredible architecture of a beautifully built Tahoe home, love to cook for your family and friends and want to be close to the lake, hiking and walking/cycling paths, well then staying here is a must! A beautiful Tahoe neighborhood setting gives you the convenience and ease of driving right up and easily parking but the way the home is built, privacy once in the home, was obviously a consideration. Calling this one home for albeit a brief stay, was indeed a pleasure and something special that we truly enjoyed.

The homes amenities that especially pleased us were the chef's kitchen with nothing spared and the array of outdoor toys including paddle boards, beach gear, mountain bikes and lots of snow play gear! Coming to this home definitely gave us choice to simply enjoy the beauty of our surroundings or go out and really embrace the area and all it has to offer. The home is impeccably clean, lovingly maintained and the owner is eager to ensure your stay is a perfect one. This home and the experience it provides is not to be missed!

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2016
  • Stayed: Sep 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
Orange County, CA
2

Did not meet expectations

  • 2 of 5

Pros: 1) Nice location on the West Shore. 2) Good size for two people. 3) Prior to arrival the owners were very attentive. 4) Bed was comfortable. 5) Free Wifi

Cons: 1) The unit needed a thorough cleaning. Floors, blanket, fireplace and bathtub were visibly dirty. 2) In general, lighting was poor, but especially in the kitchenette and bathroom. 3) No hooks on which to hang towels in the bathroom. No wine glasses. No Kleenex. Insufficient spare toilet paper. 4) Window cleaners arrived unannounced in the morning, walking into our room without knocking. 5) In the mornings we had to negotiate the sprinklers by going around the back of the garage to avoid getting wet.

  • Submitted: Jun 28, 2016
  • Stayed: Jun 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: We apologize that your stay at our West Shore Guest House was not as you expected. My wife and I went up last weekend to do the yard work and to replace our living room upholstery. We thoroughly enjoy our cabin and do keep it nice. We as well were disappointed in the housekeeping services and have made other arrangements. We do want our home to be maintained exceptionally well. When we spoke on the phone, I told you that we had just seeded wildflowers in the yard thus the sprinklers were coming on twice a day. Please accept our apology and read our personal e-mail to you so that we can rectify the situation! Sunshine and smiles, Maclyn and Jan Morris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
San Diego
5

Kamp knobcone guest studio

  • 5 of 5

Very comfortable and cozy studio with beautiful high end appointments. We especially liked the Homewood location- it has a nice small town feel and it is a reasonably short drive to either south lake or incline village. The owners were great to deal with- I made a mistake on the dates and they were very helpful and understanding. The house is nestled in the trees and very close to sugar pine point park, which is wonderful. There is a good market with reasonable prices close by in Tahoma.

  • Submitted: May 20, 2016
  • Stayed: May 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: We were pleased that you were able to extend your stay! Sunshine and smiles, Maclyn and Jan Morris
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Map

Photos

Rates & Availability

Homewood Studio Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly Event
 
My Standard Rate
2 night minimum stay
$175
 

Additional information about rental rates

Cleaning Fee $75 + Tax
Refundable damage deposit $350
Tax Rate 10.0%

Owner's Cancellation Policy

100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Homewood Studio Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • studio
  • floor 2
Building Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
General:
  • Fireplace
  • Garage
  • Internet
  • Linens Provided
  • Parking
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided
Dining:
  • Dining Area
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , tub , shower , In Bathroom Fireplace, Original Oil Painting Nympham
Bedrooms:
  • Studio, Sleeps 2
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king
Entertainment:
  • DVD Player
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo
  • Television
  • Toys ...
Outside:
  • Bicycles
  • Lawn / Garden
  • Outdoor Grill
  • Ski & Snowboard ...
Suitability:
  • non smoking only
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair inaccessible

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties