Verified Review icon check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit Default Owner Icon heart-filled
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927
Book Online or call HomeAway Booking Assistance 888-640-7927

Your Home Away From Home! 12 min. to SanDiego! Kids & Pets OK! Kitch/wifi/yard/

Sleeps6
Bedrooms 2
Bathrooms1
Space 800 sq. ft.
Property type house
Minimum Stay 15 nights

Overview

About the property

2 Bedroom house, 12 minutes from San Diego! Freeway close! Kitch., yard, pets

This is a fun, nicely furnished and conveniently located house. Kitchen has a full size frig, toaster oven, hot plate and microwave. (no stove but there is a portable oven that fits a small turkey ) use 619.342.5960 for additional questions. There are 2 rooms upstairs, one 'closed' bedroom with a door and an open bedroom. There is a king size bed in the bedroom and two twins in the open bedroom. There would be room for six (with 5 in beds and one on the couch). There is a Gas Grill too! Also please note there is not a washer or dryer and while 7 guests may be a little squishy if that works for you it works for us :). Freeway close, 10 to 15 minutes to the zoo, San Diego State University (5 miles away), downtown San Diego, and 15 minutes to Coronado and beaches. We also allow pets and offer a pet sitting service if you need to drop your dog off at our home while you hit the town! This home has a kitchen which saves money from eating out all the time! There is a large enclosed backyard for 'hangin out, bbq or a place for your pet to roam! The yard is not fancy because we do allow dogs and therefore don't have to worry :) so it is mostly dirt :). Yes, we are pet friendly upon approval! The parking is right at your front door and the grocery store is a short drive! As the owners, we live about 7 minutes away and hope to make your stay AWESOME!!

A short drive (5 minutes?) is the heart of the Village of La Mesa, an historic location known as the 'Jewel of The Hills' There are excellent restaurants, coffee shops, antique and specialty shops. Evenings are often filled with the sound of music from the local venues. The Friday Farmers Market bustles with activity year round. There is sunshine, sunsets, hilly vistas and ocean breezes.

But you may be coming to San Diego for the famous attractions - the beaches, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Coronado Island, San Diego Bay and events at Qualcomm Stadium. All those places are 10 plus or minus miles away from La Mesa and the freeways that take you there are just a half mile away from this duplex. The trolley is handy and provides easy access to downtown San Diego and everything between! Visiting San Diego State University? The trolley is the best way to get there because it drops you right on campus!

Whether you are here to visit family or friends who live here or just to vacation on your own we hope you will make our vacation rental a part of your plans.

More Details

Owner
Linda and Bill Mackey
Member since: 2014
Speaks: english, spanish, finnish
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
October 17, 2017

About Linda and Bill Mackey

We want to offer something affordable so that everyone can get a vacation! It's a great place to stay while enjoying all that San Diego has to offer! It has quick access to the 94 which gets you to all the other freeways. You can get to downtown San Diego in about 15 minutes. We are 15-20 minutes away from the airport as well! We live one mile away and look forward to making this vacation one you will remember! We are available to respond to those special needs you may have! We love animals and even offer pet sitting for those days that you need to be away for a long time.

Linda and Bill Mackey purchased this house in 1997

Why Linda and Bill Mackey chose San Diego County

This is a two story house with an 'closed bedroom' and an open bedroom (the open bedroom has a trundle twin bed (which means a second twin slides out from under the bed), has a couch that clicks open and an ottoman that opens up to a twin bed) ! It has a small back yard where guests can enjoy their pet or a good ole bbq with the full size gas grill! It offers the space you need to be comfortable on your vacation! There is a small kitchen with full refrigerator, toaster oven, microwave, hot plate, dining area, and living room.

What makes this house unique

The price is fantastic! And you can save money with not having to eat out all the time! It is near everything! We also offer a pet sitting service if you need to drop your pet off at our home for the day!

Guestbook comments from the owner

Thank you for providing a place for my family....everything was perfect!
Apr 2016
  • 1 of 3

Map

Nearest Airport
14 Miles
San Diego International Airport
Nearest Ferry
15 Miles
Coronado Ferry Landing
Nearest Train
1 Miles
Tolley
Nearest Motorway
1 Miles
94 Freeway
Nearest Restaurant
1 Miles
multiple restaurants
Nearest Ski
154 Miles
Big Bear
Nearest Beach
15 Miles
Coronado Beach
Car: recommended

San Diego is s

Amenities

La Mesa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Guests provide their own meals
Floor Area:
  • 800 sq. ft.
House Rules:
  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • /
  • Check-out: 10:00 AM
  • Max. occupancy: 6
  • Min. age of primary renter: 24
  • Children welcome ...
  • Parties/events not allowed
  • Pets considered ...
  • Non smoking only
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
General:
  • Air Conditioning
  • Hair Dryer
  • Heating
  • Internet
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Living Room ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone
  • Towels Provided ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Kitchen ...
  • Microwave
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 4 people
Bathrooms:
  • 1 Bathroom
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , combination tub/shower
Bedrooms:
  • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
  • Bedroom 1 - 1 king , This is a large bedroom with king size bed!
    Bedroom 2 - 3 twin/ single , 1 sleep sofa /futon , There are 3 twin beds and a sofa in the 'open' bedroo
  • There is an 'enclosed' bedroom with the king size bed and an open bedroom with three twin size beds. There is also room to put an air mattress as well. The couch also folds back into a full size bed.
Entertainment:
  • Books
  • DVD Player ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Television
  • Toys ...
  • Video Library ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
  • Outdoor Grill ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • wheelchair inaccessible ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • live theater
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • synagogues
  • theme parks
  • water parks
  • winery tours
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • beachcombing
  • bird watching
  • boating
  • gambling casinos
  • horseback riding
  • miniature golf
  • outlet shopping
  • paddle boating
  • scenic drives
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • fitness center
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • laundromat
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • cycling
  • deepsea fishing
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • hot air ballooning
  • jet skiing
  • mountain climbing
  • pier fishing
  • racquetball
  • sailing
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • skiing
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • swimming
  • tennis
  • water skiing

Reviews

Excellent! 4.5/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

73% Complete
20% Complete
0% Complete
0% Complete
6% Complete
Your Home Away From Home! 12 min. to SanDiego! Kids & Pets OK! Kitch/wifi/yard/
average rating of 4.5333333 based on 18 reviews
Salt Lake City Utah
5

Family get away

  • 5 of 5

Beautiful neighborhood, pictures don't do justice on how cozy and beautiful this home is! We are a family with 3 little ones and dreaded the thought of going to a hotel. We came across Linda's property and could not have chosen a better place for our family to stay! Very affordable, comfortable and close to everything! We loved our stay there. Owners are very reliable and made us feel like home! Thank you Linda and Bill! See you next time

  • Submitted: May 18, 2015
  • Stayed: May 2015
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: For having seven people you guys sure make this work. You guys were fantastic. Looking forward to your return. Bill and Linda
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
1

Terrible

  • 1 of 5

My family and I absolutely hated our entire stay at this location. It was our first time rented out someone else's home using vrbo. The home was not ready for us to move in even though the owner's stated that it was ready and had been cleaned. The home was dusty, the stairs was loose (safety hazard) I almost slipped and got injured, there was not adequate cooling only a single wall unit in living room, the shower curtain was disgusting, poor lighting in kitchen, and there was no stove.

  • Submitted: Aug 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jul 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: I anticipated this nasty review and unfortunatly this was my worst experience with a guest. They booked for a month and we never heard one word about any concerns for over two weeks at which point they contacted vrbo (not me to discuss their concerns) and tried to get ALL their money back. Yes ALL their money back after staying on the property for over two weeks with not ONE word about ANY concerns. We had spoken with them during those two weeks and even picked up a phone left by another guest and still they never said one word. We met with them and adressed their concerns. We put in brand new carpets, a brand new couch, new shower curtain, tightened the steps etc. and received no mention in their review that we took care of these things or appreciation for anything we did. Please read my other reviews. We do everything we can to make our guests happy. These guests were never going to be happy...unless they stayed there for free. Please note all other reviews are four and five star :). Fun fact... they asked for more blankets in the middle of summer when they already had 5 blankets for three people? In the middle of summer? And said it wasn't cool enough? But needed more blankets?
Did you find this review helpful?
0 1
5

Lovely, quiet and quaint

  • 5 of 5

My family and I stayed here for 2 weeks while our house was in escrow and it was absolutely perfect for the occasion.

  • Submitted: Apr 26, 2017
  • Stayed: Mar 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much for this awesome review :). we appreciate your business and hope you or your family and friends can use us again sometime!!!
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
5

Great location and certain to meet all your needs!

  • 5 of 5

I should start by saying that Linda and Bill are just fantastic. Quick to respond not only thru the booking process but also during the stay if any questions arise. The location of this property proved to be fantastic. Central to all and less than 15 minutes to any place we needed to go. Neighborhood is quiet, friendly, and nicely secluded.

We stayed with Linda/Bill for just over 2 months while relocating to San Diego due to job transfer. It was exactly what we needed, budget friendly, all the amenities we could need, very pet friendly ( our dog is still missing the huge yard), and a very cozy and comfortable home.

Beyond the home and the hosts extraordinaire must make mention of the proximity and access to shopping (Vons and Sprouts are less than a mile), Shopping Center, Targets, Wal-marts and certainly many great local eateries; Craft Kitchen still our favorite just blocks away and the many eateries in the Village.

Highligh recommend staying with Linda and Bill....

  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: HomeAway
Owner's Response: Wow thank you so much for this fantastic review!!! It means a lot to us! Hope all goes well with your transition to our city ;).
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
San Diego, CA
5

In between homes

  • 5 of 5

Linda and Bill were very responsive. We had a light go out and they came over the next day and fixed it. Our dogs really loved the yard. Overall a great experience.

  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: You guys were awesome :). Thanks again for choosing my rental and come back any time!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Great Value

  • 4 of 5

This property was an excellent value. We stayed here with a large family for over two weeks, and really enjoyed our stay. The downstairs/daylight basement living area is comfortable and cozy, the bedroom on the upstairs/main level is excellent, and the outdoor cooking and eating area is great! The only minor complaints were with a bathroom doorknob that was very difficult to lock, and some of the cookware in the kitchen area in the basement (the house has an inductive heating hotplate, but several of the pots and pans were incompatible with induction heating and would not work. We had to transfer food to another pot, or use the burner on the outdoor BBQ grill). These minor items were communicated to the owners on checking out, and I am confident they will correct the issues as they were always very responsive and helpful.

The kitchen is tiny, as expected, but is adequate for basic food prep. We brought a crock-pot and rice-cooker with us so that meals could be ready for us when we got home after a long day playing in San Diego, and this worked very well for us. When we tried to cook a full large meal, using the microwave, electric skillet, and hot plate all at the same time, the breaker tripped. The owners were very responsive and helped us to recover quickly- Thank you! Using the BBQ burner instead of the hotplate to finish cooking got our meal done just fine.

While having a larger kitchen, an oven, and a washer/dryer would have made things better, any place that had those amenities were significantly more expensive. I believe we got our money's worth and then some with this property. Would recommend to friends, especially for short stays and small families.

  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2016
  • Stayed: Aug 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Thank you again for choosing my rental :). This was a family of 8 so they were very creative in making this work :). I had exchanged the burner to induction but hadn't retested the pots :). All the pots are now working! I have also included a small portable oven that can cook a small turkey. I will look into adding a crock pot as that is an awesome idea!!
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0

Photos

Rates & Availability

Available
Unavailable
Taxes and fees are additional

Additional information about rental rates

Pet Fee $75
Cleaning fee $90
Administration fee $99

Rates are subject to change until dates are confirmed.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date.

You might like these similar properties