expand arrow-rightsvg-balloonsvg-carsvg-dogsvg-fireplacesvg-flat-screensvg-heatersvg-laundry-washing-machinesvg-snowflakesvg-hot-tubsvg-swimming-poolsvg-wheelchairsvg-wifiarrow-right

Your Home Away From Home! 12 min. to SanDiego! Kids & Pets OK! Kitch/wifi/yard/

La Mesa, CA, USA
  • House800 sq. ft.
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • Bathrooms1
  • Half Baths0
  • Mininum Stay15 nights

2 Bedroom house, 12 minutes from San Diego! Freeway close! Kitch., yard, pets

This is a fun, nicely furnished and conveniently located house. Kitchen has a full size frig, toaster oven, hot plate and microwave. (no stove but there is a portable oven that fits a small turkey ) use 619.342.5960 for additional questions. There are 2 rooms upstairs, one 'closed' bedroom with a door and an open bedroom. There is a king size bed in the bedroom and two twins in the open bedroom. There would be room for six (with 5 in beds and one on the couch). There is a Gas Grill too! Also please note there is not a washer or dryer and while 7 guests may be a little squishy if that works for you it works for us :). Freeway close, 10 to 15 minutes to the zoo, San Diego State University (5 miles away), downtown San Diego, and 15 minutes to Coronado and beaches. We also allow pets and offer a pet sitting service if you need to drop your dog off at our home while you hit the town! This home has a kitchen which saves money from eating out all the time! There is a large enclosed backyard for 'hangin out, bbq or a place for your pet to roam! The yard is not fancy because we do allow dogs and therefore don't have to worry :) so it is mostly dirt :). Yes, we are pet friendly upon approval! The parking is right at your front door and the grocery store is a short drive! As the owners, we live about 7 minutes away and hope to make your stay AWESOME!! A short drive (5 minutes?) is the heart of the Village of La Mesa, an historic location known as the 'Jewel of The Hills' There are excellent restaurants, coffee shops, antique and specialty shops. Evenings are often filled with the sound of music from the local venues. The Friday Farmers Market bustles with activity year round. There is sunshine, sunsets, hilly vistas and ocean breezes. But you may be coming to San Diego for the famous attractions - the beaches, Sea World, San Diego Zoo, Coronado Island, San Diego Bay and events at Qualcomm Stadium. All those places are 10 plus or minus miles away from La Mesa and the freeways that take you there are just a half mile away from this duplex. The trolley is handy and provides easy access to downtown San Diego and everything between! Visiting San Diego State University? The trolley is the best way to get there because it drops you right on campus! Whether you are here to visit family or friends who live here or just to vacation on your own we hope you will make our vacation rental a part of your plans.

Owner

Linda and Bill Mackey

  • Member Since 2014
  • Response rate: 100%
  • Response time: within one hour
  • Speaks: english, spanish, finnish

Amenities

    • Internet
    • Pets Welcome
    • Air Conditioning
    • Heater
    • Satellite or Cable
    • Kids Welcome
    • Parking
    • TV
    • No Smoking

      Bedrooms

      • 2 Bedrooms, Sleeps 6
      • Bedroom 1
        1 king, This is a large bedroom with king size bed!
      • Bedroom 2
        3 twin/ single, 1 sleep sofa /futon, There are 3 twin beds and a sofa in the 'open' bedroo
      • There is an 'enclosed' bedroom with the king size bed and an open bedroom with three twin size beds. There is also room to put an air mattress as well. The couch also folds back into a full size bed.

      Bathrooms

      • 1 Bathroom
      • Bathroom 1
        toilet, combination tub/shower

        Theme

          • Adventure
          • Away From It All
          • Budget
          • Family
          • Romantic

            Meals

              • Guests provide their own meals

                General

                  • Air Conditioning
                  • Hair Dryer
                  • Heating
                  • Internet
                  • Iron & Board
                  • Linens Provided
                    yes
                  • Living Room
                    seating for 5 on couches. There are also extra chairs.
                  • Parking
                    room for 2 smaller cars tandem/ off street and outside front door.
                  • Telephone
                  • Towels Provided
                    yes

                    Kitchen

                      • Coffee Maker
                        yes
                      • Dishes & Utensils
                        yes
                      • Kitchen
                        Kitchen is fully stocked with a full size frig, microwaive, toaster oven, plates, coffee maker, crock pot, "portable oven" and hot plate. There is also a full size grill outside.
                      • Microwave
                      • Pantry Items
                        Spices
                      • Refrigerator
                        full size
                      • Toaster
                        toaster oven, and portable small oven, microwave, crock pot,

                        Dining

                          • Dining
                            yes
                          • Dining Area
                          • comfy seating for 4 people

                            Entertainment

                              • Books
                              • DVD Player
                                yes
                              • Games
                                if needed
                              • Satellite / Cable
                              • Television
                              • Toys
                                if needed
                              • Video Library
                                if needed

                                Outside

                                  • Deck / Patio
                                    has umbrella table that seats 4
                                  • Lawn / Garden
                                    large back yard with patio set.... :) perfect for pets, bbq, games :)
                                  • Outdoor Grill
                                    Full size grill and patio table out sliding glass door.

                                    Suitability

                                      • Long-term Renters Welcome
                                      • wheelchair inaccessible
                                        There are stairs and the bathroom is at the lower level and the entrance is at the upper level.

                                        Attractions

                                          • museums
                                          • botanical garden
                                          • cinemas
                                          • festivals
                                          • health/beauty spa
                                          • library
                                          • live theater
                                          • marina
                                          • churches
                                          • playground
                                          • recreation center
                                          • restaurants
                                          • synagogues
                                          • theme parks
                                          • water parks
                                          • winery tours
                                          • zoo

                                            Leisure Activities

                                              • outlet shopping
                                              • antiquing
                                              • bird watching
                                              • boating
                                              • gambling casinos
                                              • horseback riding
                                              • miniature golf
                                              • beachcombing
                                              • paddle boating
                                              • scenic drives
                                              • shopping
                                              • sight seeing
                                              • walking
                                              • whale watching

                                                Local Services & Businesses

                                                  • ATM/bank
                                                  • fitness center
                                                  • groceries
                                                  • hospital
                                                  • laundromat
                                                  • massage therapist
                                                  • medical services

                                                    Sports & Adventure Activities

                                                      • racquetball
                                                      • cycling
                                                      • fishing
                                                      • golf
                                                      • hiking
                                                      • hot air ballooning
                                                      • jet skiing
                                                      • mountain climbing
                                                      • pier fishing
                                                      • deepsea fishing
                                                      • sailing
                                                      • scuba diving or snorkeling
                                                      • skiing
                                                      • snorkeling
                                                      • snorkeling/diving
                                                      • swimming
                                                      • tennis
                                                      • water skiing

                                                        House Rules

                                                        Check-in: 3:00 PM

                                                        Check-out: 10:00 AM

                                                        Cancellation Policy

                                                        100% refund if canceled at least 60 days before arrival date. You must contact the owner directly to request cancellation.

                                                        15 Reviews

                                                        Excellent4.5/5

                                                        Latest reviews

                                                        Terrible

                                                        My family and I absolutely hated our entire stay at this location. It was our first time rented out someone else's home using vrbo. The home was not ready for us to move in even though the owner's stated that it was ready and had been cleaned. The home was dusty, the stairs was loose (safety hazard) I almost slipped and got injured, there was not adequate cooling only a single wall unit in living room, the shower curtain was disgusting, poor lighting in kitchen, and there was no stove.
                                                        Submitted:
                                                        Aug 09, 2017
                                                        Stayed:
                                                        Jul 2017
                                                        Owner's Response:I anticipated this nasty review and unfortunatly this was my worst experience with a guest. They booked for a month and we never heard one word about any concerns for over two weeks at which point they contacted vrbo (not me to discuss their concerns) and tried to get ALL their money back. Yes ALL their money back after staying on the property for over two weeks with not ONE word about ANY concerns. We had spoken with them during those two weeks and even picked up a phone left by another guest and still they never said one word. We met with them and adressed their concerns. We put in brand new carpets, a brand new couch, new shower curtain, tightened the steps etc. and received no mention in their review that we took care of these things or appreciation for anything we did. Please read my other reviews. We do everything we can to make our guests happy. These guests were never going to be happy...unless they stayed there for free. Please note all other reviews are four and five star :). Fun fact... they asked for more blankets in the middle of summer when they already had 5 blankets for three people? In the middle of summer? And said it wasn't cool enough? But needed more blankets?

                                                        Lovely, quiet and quaint

                                                        My family and I stayed here for 2 weeks while our house was in escrow and it was absolutely perfect for the occasion.
                                                        Submitted:
                                                        Apr 26, 2017
                                                        Stayed:
                                                        Apr 2017
                                                        Owner's Response:Thank you so much for this awesome review :). we appreciate your business and hope you or your family and friends can use us again sometime!!!

                                                        Great location and certain to meet all your needs!

                                                        I should start by saying that Linda and Bill are just fantastic. Quick to respond not only thru the booking process but also during the stay if any questions arise. The location of this property proved to be fantastic. Central to all and less than 15 minutes to any place we needed to go. Neighborhood is quiet, friendly, and nicely secluded. We stayed with Linda/Bill for just over 2 months while relocating to San Diego due to job transfer. It was exactly what we needed, budget friendly, all the amenities we could need, very pet friendly ( our dog is still missing the huge yard), and a very cozy and comfortable home. Beyond the home and the hosts extraordinaire must make mention of the proximity and access to shopping (Vons and Sprouts are less than a mile), Shopping Center, Targets, Wal-marts and certainly many great local eateries; Craft Kitchen still our favorite just blocks away and the many eateries in the Village. Highligh recommend staying with Linda and Bill....
                                                        Submitted:
                                                        Apr 09, 2017
                                                        Stayed:
                                                        Jan 2017
                                                        Owner's Response:Wow thank you so much for this fantastic review!!! It means a lot to us! Hope all goes well with your transition to our city ;).

                                                        In between homes

                                                        Linda and Bill were very responsive. We had a light go out and they came over the next day and fixed it. Our dogs really loved the yard. Overall a great experience.
                                                        Submitted:
                                                        Oct 02, 2016
                                                        Stayed:
                                                        Sep 2016
                                                        Owner's Response:You guys were awesome :). Thanks again for choosing my rental and come back any time!!

                                                        Great Value

                                                        This property was an excellent value. We stayed here with a large family for over two weeks, and really enjoyed our stay. The downstairs/daylight basement living area is comfortable and cozy, the bedroom on the upstairs/main level is excellent, and the outdoor cooking and eating area is great! The only minor complaints were with a bathroom doorknob that was very difficult to lock, and some of the cookware in the kitchen area in the basement (the house has an inductive heating hotplate, but several of the pots and pans were incompatible with induction heating and would not work. We had to transfer food to another pot, or use the burner on the outdoor BBQ grill). These minor items were communicated to the owners on checking out, and I am confident they will correct the issues as they were always very responsive and helpful. The kitchen is tiny, as expected, but is adequate for basic food prep. We brought a crock-pot and rice-cooker with us so that meals could be ready for us when we got home after a long day playing in San Diego, and this worked very well for us. When we tried to cook a full large meal, using the microwave, electric skillet, and hot plate all at the same time, the breaker tripped. The owners were very responsive and helped us to recover quickly- Thank you! Using the BBQ burner instead of the hotplate to finish cooking got our meal done just fine. While having a larger kitchen, an oven, and a washer/dryer would have made things better, any place that had those amenities were significantly more expensive. I believe we got our money's worth and then some with this property. Would recommend to friends, especially for short stays and small families.
                                                        Submitted:
                                                        Sep 13, 2016
                                                        Stayed:
                                                        Aug 2016
                                                        Owner's Response:Thank you again for choosing my rental :). This was a family of 8 so they were very creative in making this work :). I had exchanged the burner to induction but hadn't retested the pots :). All the pots are now working! I have also included a small portable oven that can cook a small turkey. I will look into adding a crock pot as that is an awesome idea!!

                                                        Extended stay

                                                        I'm not sure what I can say about Linda and Bill that would do them justice. They were very helpful anytime we needed anything, and made sure that we had everything we needed for a pleasant stay. My fiancee and I stayed at this location for a little over 2 months, (it was a weird scenario), but it was a blast. We were very centrally located, and never had too far to go to do what we wanted. The neighbors were great, the house was great, and Linda and Bill were amazing. I would definitely stay here again, and recommend this house to anyone traveling to San Diego.
                                                        Submitted:
                                                        Jul 29, 2016
                                                        Stayed:
                                                        May 2016
                                                        Owner's Response:Thank you for choosing my rental Hunter! Please come back any time!!

                                                        Location

                                                        La Mesa, CA, USA

                                                        San Diego is s

                                                        $67avg/night
                                                        15 Reviews

                                                        Excellent 4.5/5

                                                        Enter dates for accurate pricing
                                                        For booking assistance, call 888-829-7076

                                                        Property # 677757

                                                        x