check navigate-up navigate-left navigate-right expand mail svg-lightning svg-24hr svg-house svg-sleeps svg-bedrooms svg-bathrooms svg-stay svg-toilet calendar svg-report-flag pet-dog svg-multiunit

2 Story Oceanfront Views/Pool/Whales/Sea Turtles Migrate Here/3bed+enc lanai bed

Sleeps8
Bedrooms 3
Bathrooms2
Property type house
Minimum Stay 3 nights

Pay with confidence

When you book through the VRBO checkout, your booking is backed by our Book with Confidence Guarantee™ offering comprehensive payment protection.

Learn more

Overview


Details
Property
house
Sleeps
8
Bedrooms
3
Bathrooms
2
Minimum Stay
3 nights

About the property

Walk Into Oceanfront Living In Paradise.. Pool artist reef design at ocean

ALoha... Oceanfront Pool. Sleeps 8 plus two futons. Includes 3 bedrm + BONUS ROOM.enclosed lanai has double bed. 2 story house open beam ceilings. Lots of Tommy bahama style furniture. Tile floors. Have coffee on the top floor with oceanviews forever. privacy, next to pool has a perch/sitting point to sit & meditate or do yoga overlooking the ocean, short ocean front trail to Kahakai park. Kapoho Tide Pools full of bright colored fish, float 10 ft above rainbow color coral that look like gigantic flowers in the ocean, or continue down to geothermal Hot Lagoon to swim in the size of a football field area, or drive farther towards Kalapana to Black Sands Beach. A short drive of 10 min to tide pools from house. The residents have a local NIGHT farmers market called Uncle Roberts, International food and Firedancing. Another adventure is to go north of Hilo to the Tropical Botanical Garden with a nice 1 hr walk through the Exotic that comes out at the ocean. Keaau has an open village market for farm papaya/ bananas/ & little mom & pop open restaurant for Thai & Philippine food. Plantain banana. Chicken adobo food great, see a lot of locals eating here & it's more than affordable. It's a one stop shop with the Best Water on the island from 400ft artisan well, not catchment. We have upgraded our bedrooms and will be posting some newer photos. Also the 2nd bedroom now has two twins and have moved the double bed out to the enclosed porch. Take an evening stroll you walk a block inland and you can hear the jungle birds celebrating . Tis a beautiful ambiance. Just heard that if you drive to jagger museum in the volcanic nat'l park. It is active. The locals call it , "lava lake". Like seeing the sun of a solar lights show . Telescope buffs. There is no light pollution here. Enjoy the cosmos. May the dove of peace always be by your side. Mahalo


Owner
Nancy Kuhn
Member since: 2015
Speaks: english
Response time:
Within an hour
Response rate:
100%
Calendar last updated:
January 20, 2017

About Nancy Kuhn

My Uncle bought this in 2002. He is 80 yrs old & is helping his grandson start a sustainable farm in northern California. He is a long time rancher & private pilot. He does live at his Hawaii residence through out the year.

Nancy Kuhn purchased this house in 2002

Why Nancy Kuhn chose Puna District

My uncle loves Hawaii. But this way he can live with his daughter while the vacation rental helps keep the maintenance going as he is under going surgery. We can block time as to have Family time in Aloha Land. We plan to come back

What makes this house unique

When you walk in its breathtaking to see the big blue from the second floor. Wide openbeamed wood ceilings.Windows everywhere. Just sit with your coffee & see the whales frolic. You can sit at the furthest point at the ocean by the pool and watch baby sea turtles frolic in the rollers. You have to drive 10 min south of house and swim your hearts content at the Kapoho tide pools. Global reviews about this place. Its acres of tide pools and safe from the breakers. Float about 10 ft above rainbow coral and plentiful bright colored marine fish. Need a snorkel and reef shoes. Open areas like caves with coral shaped like gigantic flowers in the ocean. The southeast of the island is less rain as well. Black sands beach, Hot geothermal lagoon, Jagger Museum to witness what locals are calling Lava Lake, like a solar sun light show, no light pollution see the stars. Shopping in Hilo also has a great farmers market with international shopping. I find the same products here 1/3 less than the other islands. We have the trade winds so we don't have mosquitos and it keeps the air flow cooler. Listen to the waves put you to sleep all night.

Guestbook comments from the owner

This upgrade makes the house an excellent natural way to have the cool ocean trade winds for you to control the temperature. The older small windows worked for 25 yrs with Grandpa unfortunately we need to remind guests that when they go to the volcano or swimming to please close all windows and slider doors as the rain gets in and damages the hardware to not close. The downstairs has 6 ft sliders and Yeah our new 6ft sliders came in by boat for the upstairs and the tradewinds can roar through the house so you can control the temperature upstairs as well. Thank you for listening and may you enjoy your stay. Its definitely cool.
Aug 2016
  • 1 of 1

Reviews

Very Good! 4.1/5 -
(15 traveler reviews)

2 Story Oceanfront Views/Pool/Whales/Sea Turtles Migrate Here/3bed+enc lanai bed
average rating of 4.133333 based on 16 reviews
3

Great view. Accomodations need work.

  • 3 of 5

The oceanfront views were great. The house had lots of room for a big family. The house in general is badly in need of a remodel. Some windows have been replaced but most either don't open or don't close. The new windows should not be left open if you have smaller children as they could easily fall through the screen. I realize the price of renting the home is quite a bit cheaper than some comparable houses but I would rather pay a little more for a well maintained home. The chairs in the living room have a great view but need to be replaced. The location of the house was extremely quiet and relaxing but we really missed not having a lanai to sit on from upstairs. The only access to the back yard is through the basement bedrooms. The BBQ is not a gas grill it is charcoal so bring your own supplies. The swimming pool does not have a heater so was extremely cold. Pahoa was a nice little town with several convenient shops and restaurants. Overall the house is comfortable and fairly clean but in the condition it is in I cannot give our stay a 5 star rating.

  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Living by the ocean makes home maintenance a challenge. We have made improvements and continue to plan improvements. This spring, I plan to discuss our future projects with our caretaker. I will also be looking into the possibility of a solar heating system for our pool. Safety is a huge concern, particularly for those with children. Constant supervision of children is required at our home.
Did you find this review helpful?
1 0
Victoria, BC
4

Nice ocean view!

  • 4 of 5

We spent three nights in this home. When we arrived, we were greeted by soft music, a very pleasant smell and a very, very clean home. This is an older house so it shows some wear but its very clean and very quiet. We enjoyed seeing and hearing the waves crash. We also appreciated the great location ... quite close to the Tide Pools, the Hot Baths, Lava Tree Park, Volcano Park, Hilo and black sand beaches. This is a nice place to stay while visiting this part of the Big Island.

  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2017
  • Stayed: Jan 2017
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
5

Relaxing Vacation

  • 5 of 5

Without a doubt, the most relaxing vacation ever! The location is beyond beautiful and the views from the house are spectacular. We enjoyed the sunrises while drinking delicious local Ka'u coffee and watching the waves from the comfy chairs just as much as we enjoyed listening to the birds after sunset while enjoying Kona Brewing Company beer. The house is clean, comfortable and the second floor living space feels open to the outdoors. The new windows allow you to really enjoy the Trade Winds and they keep the house very cool. The back yard is spacious, offers a good deal of privacy and the hammock is the perfect place for an afternoon nap. Dennis was extremely helpful with directions to the house and facilitating check in and check out.

All in all, a perfect stay. Thank you!

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2016
  • Stayed: Oct 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Magnificent Views and Hot

  • 4 of 5

The views from this property are magnificent! The backyard has plenty of room to sit in the sun, swing on the hammock, jump in the pool, and play catch. Check-in was easy. Upon arrival, the house was very hot inside. In addition, only 4 of the 10 windows were able to open. The remaining 6 crank-open windows were broken (unable to be opened) and were shut for the duration of our stay. This did not allow for any cross breeze to cool the large living area. In the handbook, it stated that "the tradewinds are your AC", so in our case, the AC was broken. Our family of six had sweat rolling down our backs most of the time we were indoors. They did have fans, but it only blew around the hot air. The refrigerator and freezer did not work properly. We bought ice cream during the day and put it in the freezer. That evening we took out the ice cream and it was SOUP! There was not an ice maker in the freezer and it took over 12 hours to form ice cubes in the trays. The thermostat in the refrigerator read 50 degrees. The towels and bedding were all very soft and absorbent. The beds were comfortable (but we were sweaty and hot). We wanted to be close to the Volcanoes National Park, so this location was fine. It is at least a 30 minute drive to any noteworthy destination.

  • Submitted: Aug 16, 2016
  • Stayed: Jul 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Owner's Response: Aloha, Our refrigerator is a sears and brand new under one year old. Our maintenance/Caretaker of the house lives down the street with his phone number on the refrigerator. With our refrigerator under a warranty I wish you would have made a phone call and let Dennis know to come look at the controls on the refrigerator or if sears needed to come out. A simple solution. If we had been notified we could have brought you a bag of ice from the local store for the ice cubes needed. The downstairs where I have slept has 6 ft sliders for the roaring tradewinds to come thru. I have had to use a light blanket as it cools off at night. The new special 6 ft sliders for the upstairs had to come by boat and were supposed to arrive in 4 weeks but were late by one week. We are so happy to report that our new 6 ft sliders upstairs open up the roaring tradewinds so YOU CAN CONTROL YOUR NATURAL AC TO YOUR HEARTS CONTENT. Dennis said you left the place so clean and with 4 children he was amazed. He also mentioned that you were happy with no complaints. Mahalo
Did you find this review helpful?
0 0
4

Very Relaxing Vacation

  • 4 of 5

Our stay at the Zabel's house in Pahoa was exactly what we needed. The beautiful ocean views, quiet streets and great living space allowed us to relax, unwind and spend time with our son who was living nearby.

With easy access to the Red Road, we were able to experience rugged tropical vegetation just minutes from the house.The little town of Pahoa had a great grocery store, fish market and a variety of restaurants. The hand drawn maps prepared by the owner were a great of information

If you want to get a taste of island life without touristy influences, this is the place.

  • Submitted: Apr 4, 2016
  • Stayed: Mar 2016
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0
5

Wonderful Family Vacation!

  • 5 of 5

Thank you so much for opening up "Grandpa's House" to us! Our stay was everything we could have hoped for. The trade winds cooperated, keeping a nice, cool breeze coming in off of the water. We happened to be there when there were "Extreme Surf" warnings, so, needless to say, the waves put on QUITE a show! Some of them even shook the house! The resident sea turtles had a wonderful time surfing on them. We were also able to see a mamma and her baby whale for many days….. even catching breeching and tail slapping. The amazing view from the house couldn't be beat for viewing all there was to see.

The home is older, priced accordingly……. which is perfect. Julie's generous pricing allowed for our family of four, plus grandma and grandpa to come and enjoy the Big Island together. Spacious enough for all six of us. There are some minor repairs that do need to be done, most noticeably, some of the windows do not open. Overall, the house was clean and welcoming. The kitchen was well stocked with all utensils, pots and pans - enabling us to prepare most of our meals at "home", which adds up to some major savings. There are coolers as well, so it was easy to pack a picnic lunch to take while we went on our daily explorations. The pool is such an "added bonus"….. and the kids absolutely loved having it right on site.

Julie, as well as Tanya (the local contact), were wonderful to work with. Communication was no problem and very prompt.

Many activities located within a short driving distance….. Volcanoes National Park, Kapoho Tide Pools, Warm Pools, the Red Road, Farmer's Markets, etc. We would highly recommend the guide book "Hawaii: The Big Island Revealed" by Andrew Doughty. This book has wonderful information and suggestions.

Thanks Again for making such a wonderful family vacation possible.

Mahalo….

The Meffert Family

  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2016
  • Stayed: Feb 2016
  • Source: HomeAway
Did you find this review helpful?
2 0

Map

Nearest Airport
20 Miles
Hilo
Nearest Golf
30 Miles
HILO
Nearest Motorway
5 Miles
130
Nearest Restaurant
5 Miles
Thai
Nearest Beach
10 Miles
Kapoho Tide Pools/Black Sand Beach/ Hot Lagoon
Car: recommended

HIDDEN HAWAII, KAPOHO TIDE POOLS WITH PLENTIFUL RAINBOW COLOR COLOR AND BRIGHT COLORED MARINE FISH, NEED SNORKEL AND REEF SHOES, BLACK SANDS BEACH AND GEOTHERMAL HOT LAGOON AS BIG AS A FOOTBALL FIELD. JAGGAR MUSEUM TO SEE WHAT LOCALS CALL LAVA LAKE AT HAWAII VOLCANO NATL PARK. OR FOR THE STARS A TRIP TO THE OBSERVATORY WITH THE BIG TELESCOPE FOR VIEWING

Photos

Rates & Availability

Pahoa House Rental Rates

Rental Basis:
per property
Owner accepts payment in:
USD
Convert Currency
Rate Period Nightly Weekend Night Weekly Monthly * Event
 
Spring/Whale Watching
Feb 1 2017 - Apr 30 2017
3 night minimum stay
$170
$1,000
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
Christmas
Dec 14 2017 - Jan 2 2018
3 night minimum stay
$175
From
$185
Fri,Sat,Sun
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest
 
My Standard Rate
3 night minimum stay
$160
$1,000
$3,500
 
Notes: Rates are based on 2 guests; add $15 per night, per additional guest

Additional information about rental rates

Property Damage Protection $99
Refundable damage deposit $300
Cleaning Fee $250
Tax Rate 13.41%

Please note that to get a full refund for cancellation a 30 day advance notice from your booking date arrival is needed. If advance notice of cancellation is given 14 days from your booking arrival date then a 50% refund will be sent.
Hawaii living is very different so we ask that you close your windows when you leave as it can rain for even a few minutes each day. We also have very special Hawaiian windows with crank casings that have a lever to unlock first before opening. Grandpa says please make sure you have teenagers dry off before coming in house as tile can be slippery if wet. We have a flight of stairs that is steep but well lighted and ask that you proceed slowiy. Our pool is 3/4 size about 5 ft deep. We have some float rafts, some snorkels. BRING AQUA SHOES HIGHLY RECOMMENDED for tide pools. There is a Longs in Pahoa. PLEASE NOTE RATES ARE BASED ON 2 GUESTS.

Owner's Cancellation Policy

  • 50% refund if canceled at least 14 days before arrival date.
  • 100% refund if canceled at least 30 days before arrival date.
Enter dates for accurate pricing
Contact Me Send a Message
Available arrival
Available stay (no arrival)
Unavailable

Amenities

Pahoa House Accommodation and Amenities

Property Type:
  • house
Meals:
  • Catering available
Floor Area:
  • 2100 sq. ft.
Location Type:
  • Downtown ...
  • Golf Course Front ...
  • Monument View ...
  • Ocean View ...
  • Oceanfront ...
  • Rural ...
  • Village ...
  • Water View ...
  • Waterfront
Theme:
  • Adventure
  • Away From It All
  • Budget
  • Family
  • Romantic
  • Tourist Attractions
General:
  • Air Conditioning ...
  • Clothes Dryer ...
  • Garage ...
  • Internet ...
  • Iron & Board
  • Linens Provided ...
  • Parking ...
  • Telephone ...
  • Towels Provided ...
  • Washing Machine ...
Kitchen:
  • Coffee Maker ...
  • Dishes & Utensils ...
  • Dishwasher ...
  • Microwave ...
  • Oven ...
  • Pantry Items ...
  • Refrigerator ...
  • Stove ...
  • Toaster ...
Dining:
  • Dining ...
  • Dining Area
  • seating for 12 people
Bathrooms:
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • Bathroom 1 - toilet , shower
    Bathroom 2 - toilet , shower
Bedrooms:
  • 3 Bedrooms, Sleeps 8
  • Enclosed Large Lanai - 1 double , This also has a very large table/seats 7/leads to pool
  • The master bedroom downstairs and has a king size bed. I have memory foam tops from Macy's for extra comfort. The 2nd bedroom has two single beds. The third bedroom upstairs has open beam ceilings and a double bed. We have a very large enclosed lanai/patio with slider glass door to ocean that has a double bed as well. Plus two fold out japanese tri cushions for wherever.
Entertainment:
  • Books ...
  • Games ...
  • Satellite / Cable
  • Stereo ...
  • Television ...
Outside:
  • Deck / Patio ...
  • Lawn / Garden ...
Suitability:
  • Long-term Renters Welcome
  • non smoking only ...
  • not suitable for children ...
  • pets not allowed
  • wheelchair accessible ...
Pool / Spa:
  • Communal Pool ...
  • Private Pool ...
Attractions:
  • botanical garden
  • churches
  • cinemas
  • festivals
  • health/beauty spa
  • library
  • marina
  • museums
  • playground
  • recreation center
  • restaurants
  • zoo
Leisure Activities:
  • antiquing
  • bird watching
  • outlet shopping
  • photography
  • scenic drives
  • shelling
  • shopping
  • sight seeing
  • walking
  • whale watching
  • wildlife viewing
Local Services & Businesses:
  • ATM/bank
  • Babysitter
  • groceries
  • hospital
  • massage therapist
  • medical services
Sports & Adventure Activities:
  • fishing
  • golf
  • hiking
  • rock climbing
  • roller blading
  • scuba diving or snorkeling
  • snorkeling
  • snorkeling/diving
  • sound/bay fishing
  • surf fishing
  • swimming

Learn more about this vacation rental at the owner's website:

Partner Offers

You might like these similar properties